AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 615
Good 30
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 650
Reviews Accepted: 650
Reviews Rejected: 0
650 reviews
Sort by:
Experience Travel Group by mathan, 31 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Travelling in Thailand and Laos

A fabulous holiday exceeding all our expectations. Gave a real flavour of both countries, historically, clturally, socially, economically and the culinary experiences were brilliant. Would thoroughly recommend these countries and the interesting itineries devised by experience travel group.

A fabulous holiday exceeding all our expectations. Gave a real flavour of both countries, historically, clturally, socially, economically and the culinary experiences were brilliant. Would thoroughly recommend these countries and the interesting itineries devised by experience travel group.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator helped plan us to plan a holiday in Laos and Thailand that met with all our interests .All the hotels booked were excellent and their respective differences, which accorded by their location, were fully appreciated. There was a good balance between location, comfort and facilities available. The guides arranged by the tour operator were all passionate about their respective countries and regions and whilst they gave us educational information, which was fascinating, they were attentive to all our questions and went out of their way to help us enjoy our holiday. The whole holiday was very well planned and all transfers were smooth and problem free and the drivers provided were friendly and attentive. I would thoroughly recommend Experience Travel group for anyone wanting an amazing holiday in South East Asia.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 31 Mar 2014:

Hi Jane,

Fantastic to hear you had such a good time. Speaking to you just now I know that the trip totally exceeded your expectations and what a great idea - trying to get Liverpool football club to send out those old kits. We'd be really pleased to help organise the transportation!

Regards,

Matt

Experience Travel Group by veryhappycustomer.com, 29 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

An exceptional experience

Our holiday provided a wonderful blend of culture, education, relaxation with informative and considerate guides - in whom we had confidence and felt safe. From the history and stunning visual delights of Angkor Wat to the very disturnbing legacy of Pol Pot in Cambodia and the American War in Vietnam - plus some vibrant city life - this holday had it all.

Our holiday provided a wonderful blend of culture, education, relaxation with informative and considerate guides - in whom we had confidence and felt safe. From the history and stunning visual delights of Angkor Wat to the very disturnbing legacy of Pol Pot in Cambodia and the American War in Vietnam - plus some vibrant city life - this holday had it all.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience travel are knowledgeable about the areas we wanted to visit and extremely attentive to the detail of our holiday. They take their time to get to know their client over the phone and so can make suggestions that improve the planned itinery. There was not one hitch in 3 weeks. Even the planes were on time and all tour guides wating for us upon arrival - everything was incredibly efficient. The level of customer service was outstanding.

Experience Travel Group by Blue Pumpkin, 27 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

A memorable experience every day.

we spent 3 fantastic weeks in Cambodia,Laos and Vietnam. All arrangements ran like clockwork, standard of hotels was excellent, travel was comfortable,and the itinerary was very well planned and relevant to what we asked for. Last but not least our guides and drivers were lovely, efficient ,and caring.

we spent 3 fantastic weeks in Cambodia,Laos and Vietnam. All arrangements ran like clockwork, standard of hotels was excellent, travel was comfortable,and the itinerary was very well planned and relevant to what we asked for. Last but not least our guides and drivers were lovely, efficient ,and caring.

Rating for tour operator:

We had excellent service, very good relevant itineraries and information,and a very persomal feel to all communications.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 27 Mar 2014:

Hi Christine,

Thanks so much for great feedback, it was a pleasure to help organise this holiday for you, and so happy to hear all ran like clockwork.

Hope to help you again in the near future,
Matt

Experience Travel Group by Octo-Explorer., 25 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful overview of Sri Lanka combining history and current culture and development.Our

Our holiday was expertly tailored to fit the mobility and enjoyment of an 80 year old and partner who still want to explore without dying in the attempt! We had a great time with a good balance between activity, leisure and new experiences. Experience Travel did a great job for us and lived up to expectations from our friend's recommendations.

Our holiday was expertly tailored to fit the mobility and enjoyment of an 80 year old and partner who still want to explore without dying in the attempt! We had a great time with a good balance between activity, leisure and new experiences. Experience Travel did a great job for us and lived up to expectations from our friend's recommendations.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour company's knowledge of Sri Lanka resulted in a well planned holiday suited to our needs and ability. Experience Travel provided very good advice in planning our trip, with a variety of good hotels and sites to visit. The programme gave us a relaxed and memorable holiday. We would have every confidence in using the again.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 25 Mar 2014:

Hi Tony

I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip and glad that we managed to get the balance right between seeing things and having a good break.

I will look forward to hearing from you soon.

Nick

Experience Travel Group by Green hippo, 24 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Culture and leisure combination in beautiful Sri Lanka

Three weeks of interesting cultural sites and luxurious accommodation in boutique hotels. Qualified English speaking guide / driver and a made to measure itinerary that took in the lesser known sites away from the main tourist trail. Last year was the conventional itinerary.

Three weeks of interesting cultural sites and luxurious accommodation in boutique hotels. Qualified English speaking guide / driver and a made to measure itinerary that took in the lesser known sites away from the main tourist trail. Last year was the conventional itinerary.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and totally reliable.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 25 Mar 2014:

Thanks Helene, glad your enjoyed yourself. Looking forward to meeting at The Luxury Travel Show again to discuss your next adventure!

Nick

Experience Travel Group by Marj, 21 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful holiday with a very varied range of memorable experinces

Our holiday was tailor made for us with excellent hotels, informative tour guides who gave above and beyond to help us to have a truly magical experience, delicious food and exciting boat trips

Our holiday was tailor made for us with excellent hotels, informative tour guides who gave above and beyond to help us to have a truly magical experience, delicious food and exciting boat trips

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel will tailor make your holiday with the right mix of travel activities yet sufficient relaxation so that you don't feel exhausted but refreshed after each new experience.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 22 Mar 2014:

Dear Joyce,

That's great to hear - just the sort of balance we strive for. Thank you taking the time to post the review.

Regards,

Melissa

Experience Travel Group by Bomber, 19 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Tailored the visit to our tastes in a positive, speedy and friendly way.

We had 14 days which showed the wide ranging wild life and cultural sites of Sri Lanka from the tailored visits. The selected locations for our stay added the diversity of agriculture, terrain and climate.

We had 14 days which showed the wide ranging wild life and cultural sites of Sri Lanka from the tailored visits. The selected locations for our stay added the diversity of agriculture, terrain and climate.

Rating for tour operator:

From the initial contact they were listening and changing the tour to suit our needs. They were further checking with our driver and local tour operator that all was progressing smoothly and that we were happy with the small changes to the itinerary during our stay.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 19 Mar 2014:

Dear Tom,
Thank you so much taking the time to write this public review. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
Regards,
Sam

Experience Travel Group by Christopher, 18 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Diverse and thought-provoking

Bespoke holiday to Sri Lanka. Some time spent in the national parks, other time looking at the cultural heritage that the country offers. We used our car and driver to visit many areas of the southern end of the island with three days spent in a lovely beach hotel on the south coast. Some time was spent living very simply with a farming family in the Knuckles Mountains. We were made very welcome and shared what limited resources the community ...

Bespoke holiday to Sri Lanka. Some time spent in the national parks, other time looking at the cultural heritage that the country offers. We used our car and driver to visit many areas of the southern end of the island with three days spent in a lovely beach hotel on the south coast. Some time was spent living very simply with a farming family in the Knuckles Mountains. We were made very welcome and shared what limited resources the community possessed.

Rating for tour operator:

Holiday was put together partially to suit my requirements, but the company made some excellent suggestions that were incorporated. The agents were helpful and working with them was easy and pleasureable.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 18 Mar 2014:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your trip so much, particularly the Knuckles part, which we agree is a special experience which few people get to participate in.

Cambodia and Vietnam Classic by Sal, 14 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Cambodia & Vietnam-so well organised.

Must admit that we were apprehensive that there was the potential for something to go wrong with the complications of many hotels etc & transfers during our tour of Cambodia & Vietnam. However, the holiday ran like clockwork & it was impeccably organised. All that we asked for was provided & we cannot fault the organisation from start to finish. Would use Experience Travel again without hesitation.

Must admit that we were apprehensive that there was the potential for something to go wrong with the complications of many hotels etc & transfers during our tour of Cambodia & Vietnam. However, the holiday ran like clockwork & it was impeccably organised. All that we asked for was provided & we cannot fault the organisation from start to finish. Would use Experience Travel again without hesitation.

Rating for tour operator:

Valuable extensive knowledge of the countries means the best possible planning & impeccable organisation of the tours. Inside knowledge is used to the full.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 14 Mar 2014:

Sally - thank you so much for taking the time to write this brilliant review for us. It is hugely appreciated and we're so pleased your holiday went well.

Experience Travel Group by BVA33, 13 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Exploring Sri Lanka off the tourist trail

Touring the N of Sri Lanka, which has been off limits for tourists for many years due to the war with the Tamils, was a fascinating experience. Damage both to the infrastructure as well as to the economy in the north were still obvious and Jaffna is not an obvious tourist destination right now. But arriving at the local Hindu temple just as morning prayers were starting was amazing. Visiting the furthermost island of Delft, with its "dry stone ...

Touring the N of Sri Lanka, which has been off limits for tourists for many years due to the war with the Tamils, was a fascinating experience. Damage both to the infrastructure as well as to the economy in the north were still obvious and Jaffna is not an obvious tourist destination right now. But arriving at the local Hindu temple just as morning prayers were starting was amazing. Visiting the furthermost island of Delft, with its "dry stone effect" coral rocks, was another highlight. The journey there on a crowded local ferry was an experience in itself. Our tour started and ended with a stay in a comfortable beach resort: Bar Reef in Kalpitiya to start and Nilaveli Beach Hotel near Trincomalee to end, thus giving us the best of both worlds. A really well planned tour for those of us wanting to combine something off the beaten track with some traditional sea and sun

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel have real expertise in creating tailor made tours and holidays. I have travelled with them both as an individual and as part of a small group. On each occasion they were able to create a holiday which suited my preferences and requirements, visiting some exquisite off beat destinations as well as some of the more popular sites. Guides and drivers are carefully chosen and without exception have been excellent.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 13 Mar 2014:

That's brilliant - thanks so much Ann.