AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Equestrian Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 122
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 128
Reviews Accepted: 128
Reviews Rejected: 0
128 reviews
Sort by:
Luxury Riding Holiday Spain by Angie, 8 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience

Amazing place with excellent staff and horses. So good at integrating solo travellers with groups and families, that at no point did I feel like a solo traveller! The accommodation and excellent food that was served simply added to the overall experience.

Amazing place with excellent staff and horses. So good at integrating solo travellers with groups and families, that at no point did I feel like a solo traveller! The accommodation and excellent food that was served simply added to the overall experience.

Rating for tour operator:

My first experience of going solo, and thanks to the help and advice of staff at Equestrian Escapes, it will be an experience that I am looking forward to repeating!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 May 2016:

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your holiday in Malaga, we certainly agree with you that this riding holiday is a truly exceptional experience!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 May 2016:

This holiday is set up in a particularly social manner making it a must for both those travelling alone and for those wanting to make new friends. We always say to our clients that we get so many single travelers not because we haven't got any friends but more precisely we haven't got any friends that ride horses!!

Luxury Riding Holiday by Holland , 26 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Horse/Spa weekend

Excellent choice of hotel and riding establishment.

Excellent choice of hotel and riding establishment.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Establishments understood the brief well and were accommodating when we had to change our booking unexpectedly.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Apr 2016:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we do genuinely appreciate customer feedback.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Apr 2016:

We do try to accommodate changes to holidays including dates wherever possible; that's one of the benefits of booking with a small independent tour operator unlike some of the internet giants that don't even answer the phone we do care!

Equestrian Escapes by Loubee, 20 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous time!

My son and I booked a 2 day riding experience through equestrian escapes. The stables were lovely. Jessica has 31 horses. She is very patient and tailored our hacks to our ability. Her English is very good and she was happy to correct my French. On our first day we rode on the banks of the Loire and on the second we ride through apple orchards. Very picturesque! The accomodation was outstanding. Cora was the perfect host. Dinner (optional) ...

My son and I booked a 2 day riding experience through equestrian escapes. The stables were lovely. Jessica has 31 horses. She is very patient and tailored our hacks to our ability. Her English is very good and she was happy to correct my French. On our first day we rode on the banks of the Loire and on the second we ride through apple orchards. Very picturesque! The accomodation was outstanding. Cora was the perfect host. Dinner (optional) was of a high standard and included quail, foie gras and homemade ravioli on the menu. Breakfast was outstanding. Thoroughly tecommended😊

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised. Prompt reply a to any emails. Personal service.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 20 Apr 2016:

Thank you for your feedback. We agree that riding in The Loire Valley is a real treat and when you combine this with first class accommodation and wonderful French cuisine you are sure to enjoy a first class experience.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 20 Apr 2016:

It is our aim to ensure that all of clients enjoy a wonderful holiday that has been designed and tailored exactly to their hopes and wishes. Thank you for choosing to travel with Equestrian Escapes.

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Gill, 14 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Could not be bettered

My daughter , grand daughter and I gravelled on Easter Saturday to Portugal for a 5 day riding holiday, I was a non rider. We were met at the airport and taken to lunch with another couple who were also on holiday. Every day the girls had 2 hours riding and an hour lesson in the afternoon. Every lunch and evening we were taken out to a local restaurant for lunch. Mostly a different restaurant every day. Antonio's wife mostly accompanied ...

My daughter , grand daughter and I gravelled on Easter Saturday to Portugal for a 5 day riding holiday, I was a non rider. We were met at the airport and taken to lunch with another couple who were also on holiday. Every day the girls had 2 hours riding and an hour lesson in the afternoon. Every lunch and evening we were taken out to a local restaurant for lunch. Mostly a different restaurant every day. Antonio's wife mostly accompanied him , so it was like a family outing. The local village had a festival on and we enjoyed the music and the stalls, with fireworks on the Monday.This helped to make it special

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes were very helpful, , any query by email was dealt with promptly . Nothing was too much trouble.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 14 Apr 2016:

We cannot recommend Ride in the Sun in Portugal highly enough, the accommodation overlooks a stunning valley, the horses are the most beautiful Lusitanos and eating out in different restaurants everyday gives you the authentic 'taste' of Portugal. We couldn't agree more with you it is impossible to better this short break!!!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 14 Apr 2016:

Many thanks, we work really hard to make sure that the programmes we offer are absolutely first class!

Luxury Riding Holiday by GemLW, 6 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

An excellent way to get back in the saddle!

I have recently returned from the 3 day Adult Intensive Riding Break in Cheshire. From the moment I arrived at my B&B I felt very welcomed and at home. I was greeted by the lovely Frimp who welcomed me tea and biscuits whilst my room was being finialised. The stables I went to for my lessons & hack were just wonderful, probably one of the best I have been to. The staff were all very friendly and Chris who taught me was fantastic and I wish ...

I have recently returned from the 3 day Adult Intensive Riding Break in Cheshire. From the moment I arrived at my B&B I felt very welcomed and at home. I was greeted by the lovely Frimp who welcomed me tea and biscuits whilst my room was being finialised. The stables I went to for my lessons & hack were just wonderful, probably one of the best I have been to. The staff were all very friendly and Chris who taught me was fantastic and I wish I had a 'Chris' at my local stables who could help me improve even more. Overall this break gets a 10/10 from me and I now cant wait to put my new riding position into more practice back at home. Thank you Equestrian Escapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes are always great to book with, this was my second break and both times everything has been arranged professionally and quickly. Lindsey answered all my questions/concerns and informed me of any changes.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 06 Apr 2016:

The standard of instruction and riding out in Cheshire is exceptionally high and has been a firm favourite with our customers for many years now. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 06 Apr 2016:

We really try our best to ensure that all trips run as smoothly as possible and that they are tailored to our customers needs and wishes. As Cheshire is our home base we are particularly proud of the standards that we offer here - we agree everyone needs a Chris on their yard!!! If you feel brave enough to venture abroad we have a ride in Malaga and one in Portugal that offers the same standards that we do here.

Luxury Riding Holiday by pjtw, 9 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

Above and beyond my expectations

The whole experience was above and beyond. The BnB host was incredible and the pictures of the BnB house do not do it justice. We were amazed with the size of living space and the breakfast was incredible. Brilliant horses at the riding school and not “school horses” at all, they were all impeccable and very happy! Instructors and all yard staff were so kind and knowledgeable too. We even got some photos from Helen of me and my Husband’s ...

The whole experience was above and beyond. The BnB host was incredible and the pictures of the BnB house do not do it justice. We were amazed with the size of living space and the breakfast was incredible. Brilliant horses at the riding school and not “school horses” at all, they were all impeccable and very happy! Instructors and all yard staff were so kind and knowledgeable too. We even got some photos from Helen of me and my Husband’s first ride together!

Rating for tour operator:

he booking team answered all of my questions and put together the perfect package for an experienced rider and absolute novice. THANK YOU!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Feb 2016:

Cheshire is our home base and as such it is so important to us that this break goes over and beyond expectations. Frimp's B&B is a beautiful Cheshire farmhouse loveingly restored to the very highest of standards, a real treat! As the yard is a competition yard the instructors are of the highest possible standards and the horses are free moving and obedient making it easy to learn, gain confidence and progress.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Feb 2016:

Thank you for your kind words; it is our aim to advise you of the best possible break to suit your requirements in terms of riding level and ambition. We take pride in the fact that we know all of our holidays inside out and as instructors and all round horsey girls it gives us great satisfaction to share our knowledge. Please come again!!

Luxury Riding Holiday Spain by MegMog, 26 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Heaven on earth for horse lovers

Found this lovely stable near Malaga through Equestrian Escape last year, and we absolutely loved it! Traditional Spanish mansion been beautifully converted into a lovely B&B, with stable and riding arena attached to the accommodation. All horses are friendly and very well looked after, and enjoyed the amazing view when we went for a hack in the morning. Lots of rescued dogs are there, and these furry friends made us feel welcomed with lots ...

Found this lovely stable near Malaga through Equestrian Escape last year, and we absolutely loved it! Traditional Spanish mansion been beautifully converted into a lovely B&B, with stable and riding arena attached to the accommodation. All horses are friendly and very well looked after, and enjoyed the amazing view when we went for a hack in the morning. Lots of rescued dogs are there, and these furry friends made us feel welcomed with lots of wiggles while we stayed. We just booked our holiday there for the 3rd time, and looking forward to their home made paella!

Rating for tour operator:

We have booked this particular riding holiday through this operator 3 times, and found them pleasant to deal with. They are always friendly and very helpful, and with no exception, we got a response promptly. Information provided prior to the holiday was helpful as well.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jan 2016:

Thank you for taking the time to write we love to receive feedback from our customers. We agree this is a fabulous place!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jan 2016:

Thanks again, we try very hard to ensure that each and every customer gets concise and accurate information. We are riders and instructors so we really do have the specialist knowledge required to make your riding holiday memorable for all the right reasons!

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Duke box, 24 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

The place were dreams are made

Myself and a friend booked our holiday through equestrian escapes and we really have had the time of our lives, the horses couldn't be better cared for and was very happy in their work. Our host in Portugal was the owner of the riding centre and he really couldn't do enough for us. He was very knowledgeable in all areas of riding, he gave us some interesting techniques to use at home with our own horses. Sarah and Lindsey at equestrian escapes ...

Myself and a friend booked our holiday through equestrian escapes and we really have had the time of our lives, the horses couldn't be better cared for and was very happy in their work. Our host in Portugal was the owner of the riding centre and he really couldn't do enough for us. He was very knowledgeable in all areas of riding, he gave us some interesting techniques to use at home with our own horses. Sarah and Lindsey at equestrian escapes were extremely helpful making our whole holiday run very smoothly and successful. We are with out a doubt retuning next year. If your thinking of going on a horse riding holiday equestrian escapes are amazing. Thank you so much for an amazing adventure

Rating for tour operator:

Sarah and Lindsey at equestrian escapes were extremely helpful making our whole holiday run very smoothly and successful. We are with out a doubt retuning next year. If your thinking of going on a horse riding holiday equestrian escapes are amazing. Thank you so much for an amazing adventure

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jan 2016:

Thank you for writing we love this ride too; the horses are brilliant and the instruction and riding out is first class and that's before we get talking about the accommodation and meals.....lunch and dinner at different restaurants every day....heaven!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jan 2016:

Thanks again we really do try our very best to only offer first class breaks, places where we want to spend our own holidays!

Equestrian Escapes by KH, 3 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

disappointing riding but lovely accommodation

We were very disappointed with the riding aspect of our holiday. This was booked as a treat while our children were on an activity holiday. When we turned up, Angie, who was in charge of riding said she thought we had cancelled. No-one had made any contact wiht us or our hotel (part of package). Eventually we had our 2 hour ride. Our main day (4 hr ride) was then cancelled by Angie owing to the weather despite the forecast being positive ...

We were very disappointed with the riding aspect of our holiday. This was booked as a treat while our children were on an activity holiday. When we turned up, Angie, who was in charge of riding said she thought we had cancelled. No-one had made any contact wiht us or our hotel (part of package). Eventually we had our 2 hour ride. Our main day (4 hr ride) was then cancelled by Angie owing to the weather despite the forecast being positive for mid-morning onwards. We ended up spending the day elsewhere in glorious sunshine (we took pictures of people out riding to prove our point!). Angie was very difficult and rude about our riding equipment. Despite being informed in advance that I hadn't ridden for a long time, she did nothing to put me at my ease, but rather told me that my horse might bolt if I kicked it! We ended up having to return for our final day, swopping our main ride for our children's riding and accommodation. Our hacks out consisted of one small canter in two hours with a few trots. We had to walk through wonderful open fields which cried out for a canter! We have ridden much better since at a standard riding school. Wonderful horses they may be, but hacking out at a walking pace for most of the time was not exactly what we expected.

Rating for tour operator:

We were criticised for not getting in touch sooner (We complained on the Saturday afternoon of a Fri-Mon tour). As it was meant to be a luxury, well looked after holiday, it took us a while to realise we were being ripped off and pushed about. No contact was made by the tour operator to check all was well, despite Angie saying she thought the whole tour had been cancelled prior to our arrival. An alternative was then worked through which we explained was the best that could be arranged in the circumstances but we were not happy. We were told we should have complained earlier and she just wanted to get on with making some alternative not discuss what had gone wrong. No contact was ever made afterwards to find out what had gone wrong.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Feb 2016:

Dear Mrs Hammond

We were both surprised and disappointed to read your poor review of one of our best-selling riding holidays. Unfortunately during the weekend that you and your husband David travelled we experienced some extremely poor weather conditions which as a result affected your riding itinerary. Sadly the weather pays a substantial part when riding; this aside we always try to keep our schedules flexible to allow for poor weather and often we’ll change ride times so as to avoid a heavy downpour for example. As I’m sure you can understand we have a strict rule that we do not ride out in thunder and lightning, this could result in all sorts of havoc.

With regards to the riding itself we always take it steady on the first ride to allow our customers to get used to riding a new horse, the environment/terrain, and also for the guides to establish what standard of rider each person is. Heath and safety is paramount on all our riding holidays and as such our guides and instructors need to be confident that riders are 100% in control before moving onto trot and canter.

On the Sunday in question we spoke to both you, David and Angie and understood that between the 3 of you, you had come to an agreement on site in that you would forego your riding on Sunday and Monday and return the following week with your children to take the rest of the holiday. Having spoken to Angie after you wrote to us on the 3rd January 2016 (over 5 months after you had travelled) she confirmed that you did return and that neither you nor your husband David voiced any concern/complaint upon your return. See the below email from Angie stating exactly what has happened during the weekend you had originally booked and the weekend that you returned:

“Kate and David Hammond arrived on Saturday 22nd August. They rode on Saturday afternoon for 2.5hrs. Just as the ride returned to the yard it started to poor down with rain and the forecast was looking very bad for the weekend - we were expecting storms/thunder/lightning etc. On Sunday morning as predicted there was terrible thunder and lightning which we could obviously not ride in for health and safety reasons. It was due to clear about 1ish. Kate Hammond was phoned at 12.30pm and asked whether she and David wanted to ride out but they were away from the B&B walking. They updated me on the weather for Monday (it wasn’t looking good) so I asked them instead whether they wanted to come back to me the following week as I knew they would be coming back from Cornwall with their children who had been away on a summer camp. They had already expressed an interest in the children’s camps that we run during the summer holidays so I suggested that they came back to me on Tuesday 1st Sept. I offered the Hammond family (Kate, David and their twins) 1 free night of accommodation in my two bedroom cottage plus the 4hr hack (that they missed on Sunday 23rd August) and instead of the 2hr hack they should have had on Monday 24th August I swapped this for a pony day for the twins running from 10am-4pm - they were over the moon with this solution and when they returned the following week the weather was much better. I also gave them all free lunch on Wednesday 2nd September, they departed that afternoon. They were all happy and didn’t express any concerns to me.”

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Feb 2016:

Dear Mrs Hammond

I am surprised to read these comments as we spoke to both you and David on Sunday 23rd August. We were keen for the situation to be resolved on site and as such also called Angie to discuss what we could do as a form of compensation for your missed ride due to the poor weather. As per my comments above and the email from Angie confirming, a solution was agreed on site and you returned the following week with your two children. I feel that this is above and beyond in terms of suitable compensation. You were given 1 free night of accommodation in a two bedroom cottage (this alone would have cost over £200) plus the 4hr hack that you and David had missed on Sunday 23rd August, and instead of the 2hr hack you and David should have had on Monday 24th August your children we given a pony day amounting to 6hrs each. You were also given a free lunch before you departed. At no point did we hear from either you or David between Sunday 23rd and Monday 24th August expressing any concern that you weren’t happy with the service you had received.

As such I feel bemused that 5 months after the event you should write such a poor review when the solution and compensation had been agreed promptly and later taken by yourself and David.

Equestrian Escapes by Khush, 26 Nov 2015
Holiday Rating:

Best holiday ever!

Thank you so much for organising the riding holiday for me and Roshni last week, we had an absolutely amazing time and can honestly say neither of us have ever been anywhere so relaxing! Angie and her team were brilliant hosts and we had so much fun with Eve riding Sovereign, Tamara & Merlin! We are already making plans to go back to Wiltshire in 2016 

Thank you so much for organising the riding holiday for me and Roshni last week, we had an absolutely amazing time and can honestly say neither of us have ever been anywhere so relaxing! Angie and her team were brilliant hosts and we had so much fun with Eve riding Sovereign, Tamara & Merlin! We are already making plans to go back to Wiltshire in 2016 

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Nov 2015:

We are delighted to read your comments and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Wiltshire next year.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Nov 2015:

Thank you!