AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Equestrian Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 125
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 131
Reviews Accepted: 131
Reviews Rejected: 0
131 reviews
Sort by:
Beach Riding Holiday Devon by Granny Annie, 6 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

We booked at half-term as a three generation family and voted it one of the best holidays ever. Two months later our teenagers are still talking about it! The tuition at the stables was first class and we all improved our skills. A bonus was the hack on the common leading to a spectacular view of the Devon coastline. Plenty for non-riders to do too. The spa hotel was so spacious wiith a huge indoor pool we all made full use of. Well done Equest...

We booked at half-term as a three generation family and voted it one of the best holidays ever. Two months later our teenagers are still talking about it! The tuition at the stables was first class and we all improved our skills. A bonus was the hack on the common leading to a spectacular view of the Devon coastline. Plenty for non-riders to do too. The spa hotel was so spacious wiith a huge indoor pool we all made full use of. Well done Equestrian Escapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes are very knowledgeable and experienced at making a holiday to suit clients' individual needs and riding experience. They provide a genuinely personal service which is rare nowadays. I have used them successfully for more years than I can remember.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 06 Aug 2022:

Thank you. We really appreciate your lovely words.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 06 Aug 2022:

If you could see inside we have horseshoe shaped hearts! We love sharing our passion for horses and really appreciate that you can feel it!

Horse Riding in the Lakes by Miss H S 22, 8 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic children’s riding camp experience

Thank you to Sarah at Equestrian Escapes who organised a very last minute get away for myself and two children’s (10,8), at Witherslack Hall Farm. The kids had a fantastic time learning stable management, grooming, tacking up and riding skills. Huge thanks to Deana, Janet (who made amazing home made food for the kids and adults every day), Honour and all the team who made the stay such a special experience and memories for them. Thanks and we’ll ...

Thank you to Sarah at Equestrian Escapes who organised a very last minute get away for myself and two children’s (10,8), at Witherslack Hall Farm. The kids had a fantastic time learning stable management, grooming, tacking up and riding skills. Huge thanks to Deana, Janet (who made amazing home made food for the kids and adults every day), Honour and all the team who made the stay such a special experience and memories for them. Thanks and we’ll be back.

Rating for tour operator:

Super friendly and experienced in her knowledge of the riding camps.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 Apr 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to write to us we really appreciate customer feedback.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 Apr 2022:

Many thanks.

Equestrian Escapes by FlossyD, 18 Feb 2022
Holiday Rating:

Riding holiday in the New Forest

Just wanted to thank you for arranging our fantastic riding holiday in the New Forest, Arniss stables was the perfect setting for my daughter’s first hack, really professional yard so we felt in safe hands immediately. Horses and ponies were well looked after which is very important to us. The first lesson with Julie was absolutely brilliant, getting me back into the saddle and progressing my daughter’s canter, we couldn’t ask for a more perfectly ...

Just wanted to thank you for arranging our fantastic riding holiday in the New Forest, Arniss stables was the perfect setting for my daughter’s first hack, really professional yard so we felt in safe hands immediately. Horses and ponies were well looked after which is very important to us. The first lesson with Julie was absolutely brilliant, getting me back into the saddle and progressing my daughter’s canter, we couldn’t ask for a more perfectly matched pony and horse with a brilliant instructor. The 2 hour hack the next day led by Amy was a real highlight of the trip, Amy really took care to ensure we were safe and gave instructions when needed, she made it so much fun and also pointed out areas of historical interest and shared her knowledge of the natural landscape and the wild ponies, we couldn’t have asked for a more perfect ride! Thank you so much we would love to return.

Rating for tour operator:

Riding and hotel arranged by Equestrian Escapes.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 21 Feb 2022:

Many thanks for the wonderful feedback.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 21 Feb 2022:

Thank you again we really try to choose the very best fit of horse riding holiday for our customers.

Horse Riding in the Lakes by Ammi77, 8 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A perfect riding break

From the first moment I set foot in the cosy farmhouse at Witherslack Hall I felt completely at home. A few years ago I came solo and this time I returned with two friends. Everything was great - the warm welcome from Deana and Janet, lovely horses, good food, and the delightful rooms. The view from my bedroom down the wooded valley, across to the imposing Whitbarrow Scar and best of all, of ponies grazing in the paddock underneath my window ...

From the first moment I set foot in the cosy farmhouse at Witherslack Hall I felt completely at home. A few years ago I came solo and this time I returned with two friends. Everything was great - the warm welcome from Deana and Janet, lovely horses, good food, and the delightful rooms. The view from my bedroom down the wooded valley, across to the imposing Whitbarrow Scar and best of all, of ponies grazing in the paddock underneath my window were like my favourite childhood dreams come true! The rides were through extensive private woodland, pretty hamlets and up to fine viewpoints with plenty of canters and interesting terrain. If this is typical of other places in the Equestrian Escapes collection I wouldn’t hesitate in trying other establishments too, but somehow I think that I shall be returning to Witherslack time and again! Thanks everyone!

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes dealt considerately with altering our booking which had to be postponed owing to the difficult Covid situation. Communication was good throughout, both by telephone and email. Excellent company, able to give detailed information about suitability of holidays for clients, I shall definitely be a returning customer.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your kind words

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jul 2021:

Thank you Hatty, Chessy and Sarah always work very hard to match our customers with their perfect horsey holiday.

Luxury Riding Holiday by kivy 66, 20 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful break

I would just like to say that my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break in Tarporley last weekend. The hotel was lovely and the pool was excellent at resting and revitalising our weary legs from riding. I cannot recommend Willngton Hall Riding School enough. Our instructor Chris was welcoming and put us at ease straight away. The quality of her teaching was first class. The hacks were lovely set in pretty countryside and off the ...

I would just like to say that my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break in Tarporley last weekend. The hotel was lovely and the pool was excellent at resting and revitalising our weary legs from riding. I cannot recommend Willngton Hall Riding School enough. Our instructor Chris was welcoming and put us at ease straight away. The quality of her teaching was first class. The hacks were lovely set in pretty countryside and off the road as much as possible enabling us to relax more. The horses were beautifully schooled and responsive, we both made rapid progression in the two hour lessons each day. All the staff were extremely friendly. It was a lovely first weekend away in a very long time !! Thanks again

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication all the way through. They chose an excellent riding establishment andhotel that tailored our needs perfectly.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2021:

Thank you so much it's great to hear you!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2021:

Thank you again, Hatty, Chessy and Sarah work really hard to match our customers with their dream riding break whether it be instruction, riding out or confidence building.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Scottish girls, 13 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excllent Horse riding holiday

This is the second holiday at Willington Hall Equestrian Centre. 3 night stay at the Willington Hall Hotel and riding centre only couple minutes walk from hotel. Stables were imaculate Brilliant riding experience with great instruction from Chris and fabulous horses which were all well schooled and all had great natures. We chose to have 6 lessons and by the end of our holiday our riding skills had improved greatly thanks to our instructor Chris's ...

This is the second holiday at Willington Hall Equestrian Centre. 3 night stay at the Willington Hall Hotel and riding centre only couple minutes walk from hotel. Stables were imaculate Brilliant riding experience with great instruction from Chris and fabulous horses which were all well schooled and all had great natures. We chose to have 6 lessons and by the end of our holiday our riding skills had improved greatly thanks to our instructor Chris's great patience with us. :-) Both the hotel and riding centre complied fully with the covid protocal and we felt very safe at all times. Cant wait to go back.

Rating for tour operator:

Cannot fault all the staff at Equestrian Escapes. Always there to help. Very professional and always friendly. On return from holiday they contact you to enquire about your holiday experience. We have enjoyed 3 amazing Horse riding holidays booked through Equestrian Escapes. They organise everything. All we needed to do was enjoy which we certainly did. Looking forward to our next holiday booked with them. Definately recommended.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 Nov 2020:

Thank you for your feedback, this is an exceptional riding centre which has proved very popular now over many years.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 Nov 2020:

Thank you. It is our aim to provide first class horse riding holidays.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Riding Granny, 12 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Learn and improve riding holiday

Great few days riding at Willington Hall Stables.

Great few days riding at Willington Hall Stables.

Rating for tour operator:

Very easy to organise exactly what I wanted everything to a high standard. Equestrian escapes were most helpful and great when I wanted to change arrangements due to covid.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

Thank you for letting us know!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

Thank you again!

Equestrian Escapes by Maz50, 10 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Suffolk beach riding

Fab 3 days. Riding school was very well organised but friendly. Lovely horses and staff, nothing too much trouble. Wonderful accommodation in seafront B&B, beautiful room, warm hospitality and delicious breakfast. Thank you Equestrian Escapes, for arranging a great holiday for me, a mature solo traveller with rusty riding skills. Would be terrific also for friends or families to enjoy whatever their riding level. Great experience.

Fab 3 days. Riding school was very well organised but friendly. Lovely horses and staff, nothing too much trouble. Wonderful accommodation in seafront B&B, beautiful room, warm hospitality and delicious breakfast. Thank you Equestrian Escapes, for arranging a great holiday for me, a mature solo traveller with rusty riding skills. Would be terrific also for friends or families to enjoy whatever their riding level. Great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes were helpful. The information was clear and organisation first class.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 Oct 2020:

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 Oct 2020:

Thank you again we do try hard to design the perfect break for all our riders.

Equestrian Escapes by Mazzy, 23 Aug 2020
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing with a spirit of adventure

I went on a sea side riding holiday via Equestrian Escapes. From arriving at the hotel, I had a great time as the room given to me had the sea side view. The horsey center was very close in walking distance and the instructors were fantastic. I was impressed that the horses are so well kept and the ambiance was so welcoming. I truly enjoyed my time, the long rides on the beach - as most of the posters go, I mainly had sandy toes and salty kisses! ...

I went on a sea side riding holiday via Equestrian Escapes. From arriving at the hotel, I had a great time as the room given to me had the sea side view. The horsey center was very close in walking distance and the instructors were fantastic. I was impressed that the horses are so well kept and the ambiance was so welcoming. I truly enjoyed my time, the long rides on the beach - as most of the posters go, I mainly had sandy toes and salty kisses!

Rating for tour operator:

Hatty has been fantastic in helping me organising this. She is very responsive and I had a great, smooth experience.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you so much for your feedback we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your horse riding holiday in Suffolk so much!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you for your kind words. It has been a tough year this year and so a bit of encouragement goes a long way! Thank you.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Benview, 18 Aug 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic riding holiday experience

Just returned back from weekend riding break in Cheshire organised by Equestrian Escapes. Hatty and Sarah organised this trip and were always on hand to answer any enquiries. Pleasant professional and helpful. We had lessons and hacks at Willington Hall Riding Centre. What a wonderful place this was. Excellent standard of instruction lessons with Chris and those that took us out on the hacks. Chris assessed our abilities and tailored our ...

Just returned back from weekend riding break in Cheshire organised by Equestrian Escapes. Hatty and Sarah organised this trip and were always on hand to answer any enquiries. Pleasant professional and helpful. We had lessons and hacks at Willington Hall Riding Centre. What a wonderful place this was. Excellent standard of instruction lessons with Chris and those that took us out on the hacks. Chris assessed our abilities and tailored our lessons to suit and inspired confidence in our riding. Sandra and her team made us so welcome and we were provided with beautiful horsed to suit our needs. The stables were immaculate and it was evident that they loved their horsed which were exceptionally well schooled. We all definitely left feeling much more confident riders. All riding equipment was cleaned before and after use loved it so much booked again to return for mid-week 3 night stay in October. We stayed at McDonald Portal Hotel needing a little TLC but overall accommodation etc was good and staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. However, during out stay the rooms were not cleaned and would have like a change of towels. This may have been due to the current covid situation but was not informed if this was the case.

Rating for tour operator:

Whole trip organised by Hatty and Sarah and always on hand for any enquiries. So pleasant helpful and professional.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you for the feedback it has certainly been a difficult year to be running holidays! We were pleased that you enjoyed the holiday and especially the riding!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you for the kind words, they have been much appreciated amidst such a difficult year for tour operators!