AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Equestrian Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 114
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 120
Reviews Accepted: 120
Reviews Rejected: 0
120 reviews
Sort by:
Equestrian Escapes by Hilary, 6 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Suffolk beach riding

Suffolk beach riding. A magical weekend away. A beautiful Sea-Front hotel with stunning sunrises and night skies from the comfort of our bed. Gorgeously kind hosts and delicious breakfasts. A lift in the hotel / very useful as I can’t climb stairs easily. Out of season free parking in the car park opposite the hotel. The riding school a few minutes away from the hotel, had so much on offer. My daughter had lessons, private & group, poke ...

Suffolk beach riding. A magical weekend away. A beautiful Sea-Front hotel with stunning sunrises and night skies from the comfort of our bed. Gorgeously kind hosts and delicious breakfasts. A lift in the hotel / very useful as I can’t climb stairs easily. Out of season free parking in the car park opposite the hotel. The riding school a few minutes away from the hotel, had so much on offer. My daughter had lessons, private & group, poke work, skills, jumping, dressage, a woodland hack and a magical beach ride. Everything perfectly organised for us to the letter, with love and kindness, by the lovely ladies at Equestrian Escapes. All we had to do was turn up and let the magic happen. Simply perfect 🥰 (we were even invited in for a sandwich/cake reception and a cup of tea, when the local MP visited to see the disabled facilities the riding school had on offer)

Rating for tour operator:

I’m so glad we have found Equestrian Escapes. The ladies will go the extra mile to make sure your trip is perfect. They clearly care about their customers and want everything to run perfectly. We will be back for sure

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

It is a lovely part of Suffolk and thank you for your lovely comments - we are so glad it worked so well for your family and look forward for your daughter joining our childrens' riding camp.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Thank you very much

Equestrian Escapes by eyupsharpy, 25 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

If you don’t like having fun. Don’t read this.

This Malaga Retreat was a great find from Equestrian Escapes. We stayed at an amazing location in Andalucia. Here are a few highlights... From the minute you arrive at this Malaga Retreat prepare to be delighted.
 Darren and Sarah the owners have created a holiday experience that is centred about the guest enjoyment, and having as much fun as possible. We stayed here for three days at the end of February 2020. It was my daughters 18th ...

This Malaga Retreat was a great find from Equestrian Escapes. We stayed at an amazing location in Andalucia. Here are a few highlights... From the minute you arrive at this Malaga Retreat prepare to be delighted.
 Darren and Sarah the owners have created a holiday experience that is centred about the guest enjoyment, and having as much fun as possible. We stayed here for three days at the end of February 2020. It was my daughters 18th Birthday and as Inez loves horse riding this is what she wanted to do. I’ve done some riding in the past, but was super rusty having had just a couple of refresher lessons in the UK the week before. My wife booked the trip for us, so like most blokes I arrived in Spain not really knowing what had been arranged, only that at some point we were going riding. The minute Darren collected us at the airport I started to realise this wasn’t going to be an ordinary experience. He started to tell me what was arranged for the next few days and I was thinking wow this is going to be great. The highlights of our three days are below. Darren’s experience and stories 
Darren was a Jockey for 20 years. So his experience fills you full of confidence when you are out riding. I soon felt at ease with my riding. Darren has a natural love and understanding of horses. Plus his many stories of jockey life are cracking. Beer with Brad Pitt anyone? Sara’s hospitality
 When you stay here you are part of the family. Sarah has created a welcoming atmosphere at this Exclusive Malaga Retreat and whether you want to hang out in your apartment, in the pool area, or just chill with their super friendly dogs, you can feel comfortable to just please yourself. It’s like staying at a family or friends house. Quite a special experience. Alyesha and Leah
 Darren has an experienced and knowledgable team who are brilliant with horses and expert riders too, so when you are out on the trails you feel confident that you are in good hands. Plus the banter between Leah, Alyesha and Darren is an added, and entertaining part of the ambiance. The riding We did two rides. The first was a morning ride. We rode through wonderful countryside winding its way up the mountain to a plateau where Sara was waiting with a fully laden breakfast table. The horses were tied into the shade of the trees whilst we sat in the sun, had breakfast and enjoyed the far reaching mountain views. Our second ride was an afternoon ride to a bar in a local village. Once again we rode through amazing landscapes of orange and olive groves, climbing up to a traditional village for a few drinks outside a local bar before heading back. The eating 
On our first night Darren, Sarah and their son took us out for dinner. The second night Sarah cooked a lovely Paella and we all had a family meal and sat by the fire in the bar area chatting till well after midnight. On the third night we had the pleasure of heading to Lorenzo’s at the top of the mountain above the local village. The food was off the scale amazing and all I can say about the experience is that this is a must do trip if you stay here. The accommodation We stayed in the one bedroom, two single beds apartment, and it was luxury personified. From the thoughtful decor to the futuristic shower, lovely kitchen and chill out lounge we could not have asked for more. Lovely views from the windows and an outdoor terrace made it complete. The location The location is idyllic. Incredible mountain views all round. Orange, lemon and avocado trees all in the extensive grounds. Plus a huge lake of fish. We flew into Malaga and the transfer to our holiday couldn’t have been easier. It was pretty much one road all the way. Getting involved If like my daughter Inez, you love horses and want to get involved then you are encouraged to do do so. Inez fed and cleaned the horses with Darren and his team and got them ready for our rides. She loved every minute of it. The laughing 
This is a holiday with plenty of laughing. It’s clear to me that Darren, Sarah, Alyesha and Leah have two hobbies. And those are Riding and Laughing (and they quite like a few beers too!). I can’t quite believe I have written so much. But there is so much to say to recommend this holiday Darren and Sarah have created something really unique, and from what I heard from them this is just the start, and I have a feeling that the Luxury Malaga Retreat experience we booked through Equestrian Escapes at Cortijo el Chenil will just get better and better.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife did the booking and she says everything was spot on. Certainly the holiday itself was brilliant, so I would recommend them to future travellers.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 25 Feb 2020:

Thank you for the brilliant reviews, these guys are clearly going over and above to make sure each holiday is a unique and memorable occasion!

Reviewer's images:
Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 25 Feb 2020:

Thank you, we always try to match customers with their own equestrian dream holiday!

Equestrian Escapes by Gill, 5 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great equestrian centre in nottinghamshire

We had fantastic time on a Nottinghamshire ride Nd spa break. The hotel was good but the equestrian centre made it great - high quality and personalised, caring service. We were looking forward to a relaxing enjoyable few days but felt like we achieved something too. It was fab! I would definitely recommend.

We had fantastic time on a Nottinghamshire ride Nd spa break. The hotel was good but the equestrian centre made it great - high quality and personalised, caring service. We were looking forward to a relaxing enjoyable few days but felt like we achieved something too. It was fab! I would definitely recommend.

Rating for tour operator:

Easy to contact and accommodating to changes requested.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 05 Feb 2020:

Great to hear that your trip was a success, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 05 Feb 2020:

Thank you again, we do try really hard to match everyone with their perfect break.

Equestrian Escapes by Nick, 7 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Monastery Trail

Bulgaria Spa and Ride September 2019: This year my wife and I decided to try the Spa and Ride Trail in Bulgaria – a country we knew nothing about. From the moment we came through the arrivals at Sofia to our departure we were extremely well looked after by the team in Plovdiv. They were keen to help us know more about their culture and history and so as well as riding superb horses we enjoyed a journey through the unspoilt countryside with ...

Bulgaria Spa and Ride September 2019: This year my wife and I decided to try the Spa and Ride Trail in Bulgaria – a country we knew nothing about. From the moment we came through the arrivals at Sofia to our departure we were extremely well looked after by the team in Plovdiv. They were keen to help us know more about their culture and history and so as well as riding superb horses we enjoyed a journey through the unspoilt countryside with regular reference to the Roman, Thracian and Communist past. The icing on the cake for this trail were the quality spa hotels each night with great value G&T! We experienced long canters across cultivated land and walks through magical forests on mountain sides. It was hard to believe that by the time we returned to our start point after 6 days riding we had covered nearly 130 miles. Great hosts, great horses – Bulgaria is full of surprises!

Rating for tour operator:

From being able to talk to the team about the best holiday for us, booking, being given advice on what to bring, to being met at the airport - all the travel arrangements were spot on.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 07 Dec 2019:

Great feedback for this excellent ride.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 07 Dec 2019:

Thank you, all of the team try hard to please.

Equestrian Escapes by Chlolyn, 3 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Beach ride in Wales

My daughter ride twice a day and I followed on foot, as I am a non rider! The beach was beautiful and a pleasure to experience. This was our first equestrian holiday and a great success. The staff at the stables were very friendly and welcoming. My daughter was matched to a lovely horse called Miller and loved each day - the rain was no problem on our final day.

My daughter ride twice a day and I followed on foot, as I am a non rider! The beach was beautiful and a pleasure to experience. This was our first equestrian holiday and a great success. The staff at the stables were very friendly and welcoming. My daughter was matched to a lovely horse called Miller and loved each day - the rain was no problem on our final day.

Rating for tour operator:

They made sure we were well informed about our accommodation and directions to get there. Also let us know what we might need to take with us.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 04 Dec 2019:

We love beach riding too and this beach is exceptionally beautiful!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 04 Dec 2019:

Thank you, we really try to listen carefully to our customers and to then advise them on the very best riding experience for them.

Luxury Riding Holiday Spain by Gary0305, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Riding Holiday Malaga

Equestrian Escapes Rose Cottage, Common Ln, Tarporley CW6 0HG Tour operator Gary Smith 110 points   49 minutes ago Being both a single traveller and a novice rider I spoke to Equestrian Escapes who recommended their Malaga riding holiday. I can't recommend this place enough, I was made to feel so welcome from the off and instantly part of the group. I was expertly assessed by the fantastic and patient instructors who ...

Equestrian Escapes Rose Cottage, Common Ln, Tarporley CW6 0HG Tour operator Gary Smith 110 points   49 minutes ago Being both a single traveller and a novice rider I spoke to Equestrian Escapes who recommended their Malaga riding holiday. I can't recommend this place enough, I was made to feel so welcome from the off and instantly part of the group. I was expertly assessed by the fantastic and patient instructors who offered the perfect mix of hacking in the beautiful hills and olive groves and schooling on amazing horses. The accomodation is superb with great food and the staff really can't do enough for you. I can honestly say when the time came I didn't want to leave such a beautiful place, but did so a far more confident rider. It's definitely a place I'll visit again.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes were so helpf and knowledgeable, they recommend the perfect holiday... superb

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Nov 2019:

Thank you

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Nov 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments, we do try very hard!

Ride in the sun close to Lisbon by Gigi, 26 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Portugal - Golega Horse Festival

This was our third trip to Portugal at Antonio's place. We went this year to enjoy the riding and for Golega Horse Festival. It was an absolutely amazing experience - horses everywhere! And the riding was - as always - exceptional. Antonio is a fantastic host and caters for all riders. Highly recommend.

This was our third trip to Portugal at Antonio's place. We went this year to enjoy the riding and for Golega Horse Festival. It was an absolutely amazing experience - horses everywhere! And the riding was - as always - exceptional. Antonio is a fantastic host and caters for all riders. Highly recommend.

Rating for tour operator:

Booking through Equestrian Escapes has always been quick and easy - probably why we keep coming back. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about all the holidays available.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Nov 2019:

Golega Horse Festival is a fabulous spectacle, you are absolutely write there are horses everywheere! We are so pleased that you enjoyed it!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Nov 2019:

Many thanks for your kind words, we really do appreciate your feedback. We always try our best to listen carefully to our customers requirements and then match them with the perfect break.

Luxury Riding Holiday by AXM, 27 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cheshire Riding break

This was a fabulous riding break at a very professional, yet very friendly yard. Sandra, all her team, and the wonderful, happy and healthy horses inspired confidence and fun. With the excellent standard of instruction, the stables being minutes away from the accommodation and lots of lovely countryside to hack in, this is a perfect break for every level of rider.

This was a fabulous riding break at a very professional, yet very friendly yard. Sandra, all her team, and the wonderful, happy and healthy horses inspired confidence and fun. With the excellent standard of instruction, the stables being minutes away from the accommodation and lots of lovely countryside to hack in, this is a perfect break for every level of rider.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was arranged for me within 24 hours of requesting a ( last minute) break and went off without a hitch !

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 27 Oct 2019:

Thank you for letting us know, we hope to see you again.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 27 Oct 2019:

We try really hard to make sure that we meet (or exceed!) expectations. Thank you!

Horse Riding in Mallorca by Victoria, 26 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

An equestrian adventure in Mallorca

An exciting - and at times challenging for us - beautiful three day ride in the Tramuntana mountains in Mallorca. Lorenzo and Mareike were great people to spend time and their horses were exceptional. We really loved that the horses were ridden without bits, were forward going, brave, sure-footed as mountain goats and with the kindest of temperaments. We were very well looked after and my daughter's confidence had soared by the end of the trip...

An exciting - and at times challenging for us - beautiful three day ride in the Tramuntana mountains in Mallorca. Lorenzo and Mareike were great people to spend time and their horses were exceptional. We really loved that the horses were ridden without bits, were forward going, brave, sure-footed as mountain goats and with the kindest of temperaments. We were very well looked after and my daughter's confidence had soared by the end of the trip. It was a proper adventure in a stunning landscape.

Rating for tour operator:

I wanted an equestrian adventure with my 13 year old daughter and discussed at length with Equestrian Escapes the sort of experience that we were after. Everyone on the Equestrian Escapes team were really helpful, answering my questions on the phone and email with patience and consideration.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Oct 2019:

This is a great ride and a challenge! Well done, especially your daughter at such a young age you must be very proud.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 26 Oct 2019:

Thank you, we really do everything possible to help our customers to find their perfect equestrian escapes.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Ellis, 8 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Cheshire ridingbreak 29.9-2.10.19

My third time in Cheshire! And I cant get enough of this magical place, you just want to come here for more and more times!!! Everything was first class, from the beautiful horses that I rode, Alfie and Charlie, excellent tution from the instructors and the cozy countryhouse hotel next door to the stable! I really enjoyed my time. Everybody were so friendly and helpful, both at the hotel and stable! Just wish that i would live a bit closer so ...

My third time in Cheshire! And I cant get enough of this magical place, you just want to come here for more and more times!!! Everything was first class, from the beautiful horses that I rode, Alfie and Charlie, excellent tution from the instructors and the cozy countryhouse hotel next door to the stable! I really enjoyed my time. Everybody were so friendly and helpful, both at the hotel and stable! Just wish that i would live a bit closer so that I could come here to ride every week!!! This place is truly magical!

Rating for tour operator:

Can really recommend to travel with equestrian escapes. This was my third time! Greetings from Finland.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Thank you so much, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Lovely feedback, thank you so much.