Equestrian Escapes

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall company rating
4 97%
Reviews submitted: 69
Reviews accepted: 69
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
65
Good
1
Average
0
Poor
3
Terrible
0

Brilliant Last Minute UK Riding Break

By KKJ on 8 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Riding Holiday >

I just wrapped a 3 day Equestrian Escapes holiday in Cheshire and had the most amazing time. When I contacted EE on Monday morning, I had some fairly specific requests - novice lessons, traveling solo, no car so need be able to get there by train and/or taxi and availability for the upcoming weekend. EE responded right away and by that afternoon the whole trip was arranged with a very detailed confirmation. The whole experience was was pitch perfect - from the lovely hotel to the stables right next door to the fantastic instructor and gorgeous horses. I’m fairly new to riding and to the UK so I really appreciate feeling so looked after. Can’t wait to do this holiday again and also see where else I can go with EE.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Equestrian Escapes was very quick to respond to my initial inquiry and just as fast to offer a spot on suggestion for my last minute request. I had no idea where I wanted to go - I just provided my wish list and they delivered. I really appreciated the destailed confirmation and all check ins went smoothly.

A refreshing and invigorating break in stunning surroundings!!

By Horsesthankyou on 5 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Riding Holiday >


I booked a very last minute trip 48 hours prior to departure and Lyndsey was extremely efficient and got me exactly what I wanted straight away!!

I arrived to an instructed lesson at a gorgeous riding school with excellent horses and had one of the best lessons I've ever had. For the next 3 days I felt pampered in the excellent spa, dined on scrumptious food and adventures around stunning Delemere forest on horseback.

I'll be booking the exact same trip very soon as it blew me away really - friendly people and clearly the team at Equestrian Escapes have researched the country for the BEST riding schools, idyllic surroundings and top class hotels.

I can't recommend them enough, you are really in great hands...

Thanks so much EE team xx

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Lyndsey was informative, well researched and prompt with my last minute trip.

Superb time in Wiltshire. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed her break - Thank you!

By Mrs J A-T on 3 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Riding Holiday Wiltshire >

Our 14 year old daughter is an experienced rider and was looking for a tailored and more personal riding holiday and this met her needs. She had lost of time on the yard, lots of "hands-on" experience with the horses and plenty of riding. she was well cared for had great fun and was made to feel very welcome. we felt reassured that she was in very safe and caring hands and enjoying herself.

Mrs A-T, Harpenden, Herfordshire

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Helpful, knowledgeable, professional, a positive can do attitude. Could not have asked for more!

4 days in Constancia

By Kerry on 1 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Ride in the sun close to Lisbon >

Absolutely brilliant holiday, can not wait to return! Antonio, his family and Ingrid could not have been more welcoming and hospitable. Everything from the moment I enquired about the trip to getting off the plane and returning again was seamless. Equestrian Escapes were very helpful in finding me the right trip to suit a solo traveller and Antonio did a great job showing us the sights of Portugal and teaching us well! Horses are beautiful and well bred and perfect weather topped it all off.
As a solo traveller I was worried about being alone, but was well looked after by both the travel opperator and the riding school. Well recommended by me!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very helpful and friendly, quick to respond to emails and questions and very professional.

Horse riding in Almeria, Spain at Rancho Luz Del Sol

By Em on 22 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Horse Riding in Almeria >

Hi Lindsey and the team at Equestrian Escapes.
Having just returned from an unforgettable riding holiday in Almeria we wanted to thank you for arranging our trip and opening our eyes to a new adventure!
We stayed in a beautiful little Villa which was just five minutes away from the yard and had everything we needed including a lovely pool to cool off in after our rides. Our hosts Erika and Jay were so thoughtful, they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We were collected from the airport and greeted by Nick at the villa with lunch awaiting us and a well stocked fridge of food and drink for breakfasts and lunches. After settling in by the pool we headed to the yard for a sunset ride. We were introduced to Erika and the team of horses, dogs and Ronnie the pot bellied pig, who together made our stay so memorable. Every animal had its own story, many involving a sad start but a happy and unbelievable turn around after being rescued by the team and friends of Rancho Luz Del Sol. Erika showed us pictures of some of the dogs and horses and we couldn't believe we were looking at the same animals. It really was eye opening to see.
The horses were lovely and we enjoyed coming down everyday a bit early to help groom and feed. Erika let us choose our horses and was very flexible asking where we wanted to ride and what we wanted to do. We generally rode every morning and evening. We chilled in the sunshine by the pool in the afternoons then after our evening ride we joined Erika, Jay and the family for a lovely meal. Jay is a fantastic cook and made some wonderful meals including a BBQ and Sunday roast, and soon caught onto our love of desserts too!
We fell in love with the dogs who also all had special rescue stories. 'Blue' and 'Wilma' joined us on many of our rides adding lots of entertainment!
We had dinner in the local village on two nights which was great. We also did a lunch ride where Erika took us to Cantoria. We untracked and left the horses to graze whilst we went for a lovely lunch at a Spanish bar, then headed home along the Ramblas (dried river beds). The scenery was spectacular, especially at sunset with endless mountains surrounding us and many panorama vistas! We got some great photos and videos along the way!

Some things are difficult for the yard to get in Spain and so if you have extra room in your suitcase I am sure the yard would be extremely grateful for any bits and pieces. Perhaps contact Erika and Jay before you set off to see if there is anything they need. We certainly would have done if we had known and are planning to get some bits together to send.
Overall we had a brilliant week and are already missing the whole team at Rancho Luz Del Sol and cannot thank them enough for their kindness and hospitality. We definitely hope to return! We recommend this holiday wholeheartedly, it was a unique and heartwarming experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very efficient at responding to our requests and booking the holiday for us.

Fantastic week at Rancho Luz del Sol

By KarenB on 18 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Horse Riding in Almeria >

Have just got back from a week at Rancho Luz del Sol with my 13 year old daughter.

We flew to Almeria airport so that the drive to the ranch was approximately 1h 20.

The 3 bed villa (with pool) was comfortable, clean and spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The cupboards and fridge were well stocked with food and drinks for breakfast, lunch and snacks. We ate our delicious (home cooked by Linda) evening meals with Erika at the main house.

Erika and her team do amazing work in very difficult conditions. The animals are top priority always. The horses (and dogs) are extremely well cared for and loved. Some have truly been through a horrific time and they receive extra special care and attention to help regain their trust in humans and nurse them back to health.

The riding was amazing. We hacked out with Erika morning and evening to avoid the hottest part of the day but the choice was ours to make.
The landscape around the ranch is incredible and there is so much variety that we hacked on different routes each time we went out.

We hired a car for the week (which I strongly recommend) so that we could explore the Almeria area in between riding. Highlights were the natural thermal lake near Baza and the beach resort of Mojacar.

All in all it was an amazing week with wonderful people and we will definitely be booking again for next year.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Quick responses to emails

Pure bliss

By LTR on 17 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Ride in the sun close to Lisbon >

I just wanted to say a massive thank you to Equestrian Escapes for an amazing trip to Portugal I have recently been on. Antonio and his wife are outstanding hosts and the horses were amazing to ride!

The hotel with Ingrid was also perfect and made for an altogether perfect few days… my only issue being that I didn’t book to stay for long enough!

I will be 100% be booking with Equestrian Escapes on a regular basis and am trying to work out dates to be able to go back to Portugal before the end of the year!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I found the tour operator to be incredibly easy to contact and always on hand to answer any questions I had about the holidays they had - there were a lot of questions!

Fantastic service, very attentive and really friendly

By Emma D on 13 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Having got back into riding this year, I have always wanted to ride on a beach and googled it, Equestrian Escapes caught my eye because of the pure range of holiday that they offer - plus the reviews were great. Having lost 7.5 stones I wanted to treat myself and indulge in a horse riding passion The holiday itself was epic in every sense of the word and my dream of riding on the beach was fulfilled - not surprisingly I have booked again for next year.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I contacted via the website and I got an speedy reply from Chessy. Chessy was fantastic in explaining everything and organising each element for me - a real asset to your team. The whole process was effortless from beginning to end and it was really reassuring that I could just ask any question, no matter how silly it may have seemed - nothing was too much trouble. As I was travelling alone it made me feel very relieved and worry free.

Yet another perfect riding holiday organised by Equestrian Escapes

By Nick G on 10 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

I am a non horse riding dad with a horse mad teenage daughter - so organising horse riding holidays for her are challenging - or at least was until I discovered Equestrian Escapes! Sarah and her team have now been arranging fantastic trips for us for nearly 10 years and each one seems better than the last! Great locations, first class horses and trainers, superb variety of accommodation to suit all tastes and pockets.
Sarah will only offer trips to places and people they have been to and got to know themselves, and that level of care shines through. Her passion is contagious and clearly percolates throughout her knowledgeable team. Always happy to bespoke trips and cater for all levels of ability from expert (my daughter) to useless (me!).
This time we went to Northern Spain, but we have been all over with Equestrian Escapes and as well as the horse experiences have loved discovering interesting new places and the non riding events Sarah so cleverly weaves into the holidays to make them even more memorable. Here's to the next 10 years, and beyond!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I am a non horse riding dad with a horse mad teenage daughter - so organising horse riding holidays for her are challenging - or at least was until I discovered Equestrian Escapes! Sarah and her team have now been arranging fantastic trips for us for nearly 10 years and each one seems better than the last! Great locations, first class horses and trainers, superb variety of accommodation to suit all tastes and pockets.
Sarah will only offer trips to places and people they have been to and got to know themselves, and that level of care shines through. Her passion is contagious and clearly percolates throughout her knowledgeable team. Always happy to bespoke trips and cater for all levels of ability from expert (my daughter) to useless (me!).
This time we went to Northern Spain, but we have been all over with Equestrian Escapes and as well as the horse experiences have loved discovering interesting new places and the non riding events Sarah so cleverly weaves into the holidays to make them even more memorable. Here's to the next 10 years, and beyond!

Fantastic riding holiday just North of Lisbon

By GM on 9 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Ride in the sun close to Lisbon >

After a break of a few years I discussed with Sarah what were the best options for me and the few days I had to take a break. After thinking about it I went for a 3 day break at Ride and Escape just north of Lisbon, Portugal. The team at Equestrian Escapes were excellent and organised. They advised on many aspects even the recommendation to take the train back to Lisbon - I did and it was the right choice!
As for the holiday a definite 5 stars. The stables, instruction and horses were fabulous. Antonio was an great instructor plus the rides out in the river or in the hills were amazing. The pictures you see are exactly what you do I've got my pictures of myself with a splashing grey horse! In 3 lessons I felt an improvement and anyone would benefit regardless of your riding level. Antonio and his wife Marisa took us to different local restaurants for lunch and dinner. We learnt a lot about horses and history of the area. The accommodation with Ingrid and Hans is excellent just a 5 minute walk from the stables. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
One of the reasons I chose here was Sarah and the team plus all the repeat visits Antonio's clients make I now understand why!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Organised, friendly and extremely honest and helpful. They listened to what your riding ability was and advised. They also took into account where you wanted to go. Their match for me was spot on.
Thank you!