AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Equestrian Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 122
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 128
Reviews Accepted: 128
Reviews Rejected: 0
128 reviews
Sort by:
Horse Riding in the Lakes by Ammi77, 8 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A perfect riding break

From the first moment I set foot in the cosy farmhouse at Witherslack Hall I felt completely at home. A few years ago I came solo and this time I returned with two friends. Everything was great - the warm welcome from Deana and Janet, lovely horses, good food, and the delightful rooms. The view from my bedroom down the wooded valley, across to the imposing Whitbarrow Scar and best of all, of ponies grazing in the paddock underneath my window ...

From the first moment I set foot in the cosy farmhouse at Witherslack Hall I felt completely at home. A few years ago I came solo and this time I returned with two friends. Everything was great - the warm welcome from Deana and Janet, lovely horses, good food, and the delightful rooms. The view from my bedroom down the wooded valley, across to the imposing Whitbarrow Scar and best of all, of ponies grazing in the paddock underneath my window were like my favourite childhood dreams come true! The rides were through extensive private woodland, pretty hamlets and up to fine viewpoints with plenty of canters and interesting terrain. If this is typical of other places in the Equestrian Escapes collection I wouldn’t hesitate in trying other establishments too, but somehow I think that I shall be returning to Witherslack time and again! Thanks everyone!

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes dealt considerately with altering our booking which had to be postponed owing to the difficult Covid situation. Communication was good throughout, both by telephone and email. Excellent company, able to give detailed information about suitability of holidays for clients, I shall definitely be a returning customer.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your kind words

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jul 2021:

Thank you Hatty, Chessy and Sarah always work very hard to match our customers with their perfect horsey holiday.

Luxury Riding Holiday by kivy 66, 20 Jun 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful break

I would just like to say that my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break in Tarporley last weekend. The hotel was lovely and the pool was excellent at resting and revitalising our weary legs from riding. I cannot recommend Willngton Hall Riding School enough. Our instructor Chris was welcoming and put us at ease straight away. The quality of her teaching was first class. The hacks were lovely set in pretty countryside and off the ...

I would just like to say that my friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break in Tarporley last weekend. The hotel was lovely and the pool was excellent at resting and revitalising our weary legs from riding. I cannot recommend Willngton Hall Riding School enough. Our instructor Chris was welcoming and put us at ease straight away. The quality of her teaching was first class. The hacks were lovely set in pretty countryside and off the road as much as possible enabling us to relax more. The horses were beautifully schooled and responsive, we both made rapid progression in the two hour lessons each day. All the staff were extremely friendly. It was a lovely first weekend away in a very long time !! Thanks again

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication all the way through. They chose an excellent riding establishment andhotel that tailored our needs perfectly.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2021:

Thank you so much it's great to hear you!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2021:

Thank you again, Hatty, Chessy and Sarah work really hard to match our customers with their dream riding break whether it be instruction, riding out or confidence building.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Scottish girls, 13 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Excllent Horse riding holiday

This is the second holiday at Willington Hall Equestrian Centre. 3 night stay at the Willington Hall Hotel and riding centre only couple minutes walk from hotel. Stables were imaculate Brilliant riding experience with great instruction from Chris and fabulous horses which were all well schooled and all had great natures. We chose to have 6 lessons and by the end of our holiday our riding skills had improved greatly thanks to our instructor Chris's ...

This is the second holiday at Willington Hall Equestrian Centre. 3 night stay at the Willington Hall Hotel and riding centre only couple minutes walk from hotel. Stables were imaculate Brilliant riding experience with great instruction from Chris and fabulous horses which were all well schooled and all had great natures. We chose to have 6 lessons and by the end of our holiday our riding skills had improved greatly thanks to our instructor Chris's great patience with us. :-) Both the hotel and riding centre complied fully with the covid protocal and we felt very safe at all times. Cant wait to go back.

Rating for tour operator:

Cannot fault all the staff at Equestrian Escapes. Always there to help. Very professional and always friendly. On return from holiday they contact you to enquire about your holiday experience. We have enjoyed 3 amazing Horse riding holidays booked through Equestrian Escapes. They organise everything. All we needed to do was enjoy which we certainly did. Looking forward to our next holiday booked with them. Definately recommended.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 Nov 2020:

Thank you for your feedback, this is an exceptional riding centre which has proved very popular now over many years.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 Nov 2020:

Thank you. It is our aim to provide first class horse riding holidays.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Riding Granny, 12 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Learn and improve riding holiday

Great few days riding at Willington Hall Stables.

Great few days riding at Willington Hall Stables.

Rating for tour operator:

Very easy to organise exactly what I wanted everything to a high standard. Equestrian escapes were most helpful and great when I wanted to change arrangements due to covid.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

Thank you for letting us know!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 12 Oct 2020:

Thank you again!

Equestrian Escapes by Maz50, 10 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Suffolk beach riding

Fab 3 days. Riding school was very well organised but friendly. Lovely horses and staff, nothing too much trouble. Wonderful accommodation in seafront B&B, beautiful room, warm hospitality and delicious breakfast. Thank you Equestrian Escapes, for arranging a great holiday for me, a mature solo traveller with rusty riding skills. Would be terrific also for friends or families to enjoy whatever their riding level. Great experience.

Fab 3 days. Riding school was very well organised but friendly. Lovely horses and staff, nothing too much trouble. Wonderful accommodation in seafront B&B, beautiful room, warm hospitality and delicious breakfast. Thank you Equestrian Escapes, for arranging a great holiday for me, a mature solo traveller with rusty riding skills. Would be terrific also for friends or families to enjoy whatever their riding level. Great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes were helpful. The information was clear and organisation first class.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 Oct 2020:

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 Oct 2020:

Thank you again we do try hard to design the perfect break for all our riders.

Equestrian Escapes by Mazzy, 23 Aug 2020
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing with a spirit of adventure

I went on a sea side riding holiday via Equestrian Escapes. From arriving at the hotel, I had a great time as the room given to me had the sea side view. The horsey center was very close in walking distance and the instructors were fantastic. I was impressed that the horses are so well kept and the ambiance was so welcoming. I truly enjoyed my time, the long rides on the beach - as most of the posters go, I mainly had sandy toes and salty kisses! ...

I went on a sea side riding holiday via Equestrian Escapes. From arriving at the hotel, I had a great time as the room given to me had the sea side view. The horsey center was very close in walking distance and the instructors were fantastic. I was impressed that the horses are so well kept and the ambiance was so welcoming. I truly enjoyed my time, the long rides on the beach - as most of the posters go, I mainly had sandy toes and salty kisses!

Rating for tour operator:

Hatty has been fantastic in helping me organising this. She is very responsive and I had a great, smooth experience.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you so much for your feedback we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your horse riding holiday in Suffolk so much!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you for your kind words. It has been a tough year this year and so a bit of encouragement goes a long way! Thank you.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Benview, 18 Aug 2020
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic riding holiday experience

Just returned back from weekend riding break in Cheshire organised by Equestrian Escapes. Hatty and Sarah organised this trip and were always on hand to answer any enquiries. Pleasant professional and helpful. We had lessons and hacks at Willington Hall Riding Centre. What a wonderful place this was. Excellent standard of instruction lessons with Chris and those that took us out on the hacks. Chris assessed our abilities and tailored our ...

Just returned back from weekend riding break in Cheshire organised by Equestrian Escapes. Hatty and Sarah organised this trip and were always on hand to answer any enquiries. Pleasant professional and helpful. We had lessons and hacks at Willington Hall Riding Centre. What a wonderful place this was. Excellent standard of instruction lessons with Chris and those that took us out on the hacks. Chris assessed our abilities and tailored our lessons to suit and inspired confidence in our riding. Sandra and her team made us so welcome and we were provided with beautiful horsed to suit our needs. The stables were immaculate and it was evident that they loved their horsed which were exceptionally well schooled. We all definitely left feeling much more confident riders. All riding equipment was cleaned before and after use loved it so much booked again to return for mid-week 3 night stay in October. We stayed at McDonald Portal Hotel needing a little TLC but overall accommodation etc was good and staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent. However, during out stay the rooms were not cleaned and would have like a change of towels. This may have been due to the current covid situation but was not informed if this was the case.

Rating for tour operator:

Whole trip organised by Hatty and Sarah and always on hand for any enquiries. So pleasant helpful and professional.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you for the feedback it has certainly been a difficult year to be running holidays! We were pleased that you enjoyed the holiday and especially the riding!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 24 Aug 2020:

Thank you for the kind words, they have been much appreciated amidst such a difficult year for tour operators!

Equestrian Escapes by Granny Anne, 13 Apr 2020
Holiday Rating:

Two Generations Enjoyed Equestrian Escapes

I had long promised my granddaughter a weekend riding together and did a big internet search. I found Equestrian Escapes the most helpful in narrowing down my options and meeting my needs. Discussing directly on the phone was wonderful as they proposed three alternatives for a ten year old. a dog and a granny. We settled on the New Forest because it wasn't far to travel. The Arniss Riding Stables was fantastic, situated right on the edge ...

I had long promised my granddaughter a weekend riding together and did a big internet search. I found Equestrian Escapes the most helpful in narrowing down my options and meeting my needs. Discussing directly on the phone was wonderful as they proposed three alternatives for a ten year old. a dog and a granny. We settled on the New Forest because it wasn't far to travel. The Arniss Riding Stables was fantastic, situated right on the edge of the beautiful forest so there was no road work. The staff were highly professional, safety conscious and good fun. My granddaughter had a lovely time on a horse called Pippin, hacking out and enjoying lessons in the ring, where she learned to jump. I was cautious, having not ridden for quite sometime, but I had a lovely hack out and am smitten again. The rest of the time I was able to walk freely with my dog, while my granddaughter was occupied. We stayed at a nearby caravan park which was great for young children with swimming pool, cafés and shops. I would certainly go back to these stables and am very tempted by the other opportunities that Equestrian Escapes offer elsewhere.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes specific skill was tailor-making a three-day break over the phone, whereas going through other web sites didn't offer me the flexibility I needed. They also inspect and verify the quality of all the riding establishments and associated accommodation that are on their books.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 May 2020:

Many thanks we love The New Forest too!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 May 2020:

Many thanks, it really matters to us to tailor make riding experiences that meet and hopefully exceed expectations.

Equestrian Escapes by Hilary, 6 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Suffolk beach riding

Suffolk beach riding. A magical weekend away. A beautiful Sea-Front hotel with stunning sunrises and night skies from the comfort of our bed. Gorgeously kind hosts and delicious breakfasts. A lift in the hotel / very useful as I can’t climb stairs easily. Out of season free parking in the car park opposite the hotel. The riding school a few minutes away from the hotel, had so much on offer. My daughter had lessons, private & group, poke ...

Suffolk beach riding. A magical weekend away. A beautiful Sea-Front hotel with stunning sunrises and night skies from the comfort of our bed. Gorgeously kind hosts and delicious breakfasts. A lift in the hotel / very useful as I can’t climb stairs easily. Out of season free parking in the car park opposite the hotel. The riding school a few minutes away from the hotel, had so much on offer. My daughter had lessons, private & group, poke work, skills, jumping, dressage, a woodland hack and a magical beach ride. Everything perfectly organised for us to the letter, with love and kindness, by the lovely ladies at Equestrian Escapes. All we had to do was turn up and let the magic happen. Simply perfect 🥰 (we were even invited in for a sandwich/cake reception and a cup of tea, when the local MP visited to see the disabled facilities the riding school had on offer)

Rating for tour operator:

I’m so glad we have found Equestrian Escapes. The ladies will go the extra mile to make sure your trip is perfect. They clearly care about their customers and want everything to run perfectly. We will be back for sure

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

It is a lovely part of Suffolk and thank you for your lovely comments - we are so glad it worked so well for your family and look forward for your daughter joining our childrens' riding camp.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Thank you very much

Equestrian Escapes by eyupsharpy, 25 Feb 2020
Holiday Rating:

If you don’t like having fun. Don’t read this.

This Malaga Retreat was a great find from Equestrian Escapes. We stayed at an amazing location in Andalucia. Here are a few highlights... From the minute you arrive at this Malaga Retreat prepare to be delighted.
 Darren and Sarah the owners have created a holiday experience that is centred about the guest enjoyment, and having as much fun as possible. We stayed here for three days at the end of February 2020. It was my daughters 18th ...

This Malaga Retreat was a great find from Equestrian Escapes. We stayed at an amazing location in Andalucia. Here are a few highlights... From the minute you arrive at this Malaga Retreat prepare to be delighted.
 Darren and Sarah the owners have created a holiday experience that is centred about the guest enjoyment, and having as much fun as possible. We stayed here for three days at the end of February 2020. It was my daughters 18th Birthday and as Inez loves horse riding this is what she wanted to do. I’ve done some riding in the past, but was super rusty having had just a couple of refresher lessons in the UK the week before. My wife booked the trip for us, so like most blokes I arrived in Spain not really knowing what had been arranged, only that at some point we were going riding. The minute Darren collected us at the airport I started to realise this wasn’t going to be an ordinary experience. He started to tell me what was arranged for the next few days and I was thinking wow this is going to be great. The highlights of our three days are below. Darren’s experience and stories 
Darren was a Jockey for 20 years. So his experience fills you full of confidence when you are out riding. I soon felt at ease with my riding. Darren has a natural love and understanding of horses. Plus his many stories of jockey life are cracking. Beer with Brad Pitt anyone? Sara’s hospitality
 When you stay here you are part of the family. Sarah has created a welcoming atmosphere at this Exclusive Malaga Retreat and whether you want to hang out in your apartment, in the pool area, or just chill with their super friendly dogs, you can feel comfortable to just please yourself. It’s like staying at a family or friends house. Quite a special experience. Alyesha and Leah
 Darren has an experienced and knowledgable team who are brilliant with horses and expert riders too, so when you are out on the trails you feel confident that you are in good hands. Plus the banter between Leah, Alyesha and Darren is an added, and entertaining part of the ambiance. The riding We did two rides. The first was a morning ride. We rode through wonderful countryside winding its way up the mountain to a plateau where Sara was waiting with a fully laden breakfast table. The horses were tied into the shade of the trees whilst we sat in the sun, had breakfast and enjoyed the far reaching mountain views. Our second ride was an afternoon ride to a bar in a local village. Once again we rode through amazing landscapes of orange and olive groves, climbing up to a traditional village for a few drinks outside a local bar before heading back. The eating 
On our first night Darren, Sarah and their son took us out for dinner. The second night Sarah cooked a lovely Paella and we all had a family meal and sat by the fire in the bar area chatting till well after midnight. On the third night we had the pleasure of heading to Lorenzo’s at the top of the mountain above the local village. The food was off the scale amazing and all I can say about the experience is that this is a must do trip if you stay here. The accommodation We stayed in the one bedroom, two single beds apartment, and it was luxury personified. From the thoughtful decor to the futuristic shower, lovely kitchen and chill out lounge we could not have asked for more. Lovely views from the windows and an outdoor terrace made it complete. The location The location is idyllic. Incredible mountain views all round. Orange, lemon and avocado trees all in the extensive grounds. Plus a huge lake of fish. We flew into Malaga and the transfer to our holiday couldn’t have been easier. It was pretty much one road all the way. Getting involved If like my daughter Inez, you love horses and want to get involved then you are encouraged to do do so. Inez fed and cleaned the horses with Darren and his team and got them ready for our rides. She loved every minute of it. The laughing 
This is a holiday with plenty of laughing. It’s clear to me that Darren, Sarah, Alyesha and Leah have two hobbies. And those are Riding and Laughing (and they quite like a few beers too!). I can’t quite believe I have written so much. But there is so much to say to recommend this holiday Darren and Sarah have created something really unique, and from what I heard from them this is just the start, and I have a feeling that the Luxury Malaga Retreat experience we booked through Equestrian Escapes at Cortijo el Chenil will just get better and better.

Rating for tour operator:

My wife did the booking and she says everything was spot on. Certainly the holiday itself was brilliant, so I would recommend them to future travellers.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 25 Feb 2020:

Thank you for the brilliant reviews, these guys are clearly going over and above to make sure each holiday is a unique and memorable occasion!

Reviewer's images:
Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 25 Feb 2020:

Thank you, we always try to match customers with their own equestrian dream holiday!