AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Equestrian Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 122
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 128
Reviews Accepted: 128
Reviews Rejected: 0
128 reviews
Sort by:
Luxury Riding Holiday by colliejanie, 13 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing last-second riding experience in Cheshire

thank you so much for your swift and direct organisational skills. I had a fab time in Cheshire. BnB owner was LOVELY. I massively recommend that you send single travellers to her as she made me feel so welcome. The dogs do have quite a loud bark so I'm not sure it would be suitable for small children or those wary of dogs! The breakfasts are great. The Stables were FAB! It was a fabulous Trio of horses that they put together for me...

thank you so much for your swift and direct organisational skills. I had a fab time in Cheshire. BnB owner was LOVELY. I massively recommend that you send single travellers to her as she made me feel so welcome. The dogs do have quite a loud bark so I'm not sure it would be suitable for small children or those wary of dogs! The breakfasts are great. The Stables were FAB! It was a fabulous Trio of horses that they put together for me. I had half an hour without stirrup on my first day - hooray! The instructors were great, horses superb and the welcomeness good. Your efficiency and friendliness with my last-second booking was first rate! Thank you Thank you J

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly. Superb use of FBook - not too much 'in your face' marketing - just inspirational. Real human beings who know what they are talking about.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 May 2015:

We are delighted to have helped!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 13 May 2015:

Thanks again - we all ride horses and I am an instructor and we are completely passionate about horses and riding.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Debbie, 11 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Well planned holiday!

Lovely hotel, superb stables, perfect holiday.

Lovely hotel, superb stables, perfect holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient service, tailored to my needs.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 May 2015:

Many thanks for the feedback, this break has first class reviews!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 11 May 2015:

We really try to listen carefully to our customers needs as we are as passionate about horses and riding as you are!

Equestrian Escapes by Zara , 27 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Emily's 30th birthday riding holiday

We had the best time staying with Angie, riding Rocky and Sam, my friend was thrilled with her birthday present and we will be returning without a doubt.

We had the best time staying with Angie, riding Rocky and Sam, my friend was thrilled with her birthday present and we will be returning without a doubt.

Rating for tour operator:

The ladies I dealt with at Equestrian Escapes were very helpful, prompt and effiencient, I would most certainly book with them again.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 27 Apr 2015:

This is a very popular break, there arent many places where you can ride on a private estate on private horses in the UK!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 27 Apr 2015:

We really do try to match our customers to the perfect horse riding holiday for them, thank you for your kind feedback we really appreciate it!

Tailor made riding Algarve by Vanessa25, 8 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely Brilliant!

I have stayed with Katharine twice now in Portugal on Equestrian Escapes "Tailor made Algarve" holiday. The first time in 2013, was an exciting adventure for me - escaping the family for a few days alone to indulge my passion for horse-riding somewhere new! Not sure quite what to expect, I was immediately put at ease when Katharine picked me up from the airport I knew that I was in for a treat! A lovely home-cooked meal was waiting for me along ...

I have stayed with Katharine twice now in Portugal on Equestrian Escapes "Tailor made Algarve" holiday. The first time in 2013, was an exciting adventure for me - escaping the family for a few days alone to indulge my passion for horse-riding somewhere new! Not sure quite what to expect, I was immediately put at ease when Katharine picked me up from the airport I knew that I was in for a treat! A lovely home-cooked meal was waiting for me along with a chilled glass of wine; we discussed my riding aims and objectives in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The accommodation was very comfortable and after a good night's sleep, I got up in my own time to start the day. After a lesson on lovely "Lady", I got involved in turning out/grooming (my choice.. could have sat in the sun!!!) then went for a hack on handsome "Pedro" in the afternoon and finished my day schooling the lovely "Gucci"! The whole holiday was totally "tailor made" - Katharine is an excellent rider herself and gave me so much food for thought in terms of what I could achieve with my own horse - equally she has lots to offer less experienced riders. The holiday really is all about "you!" Needless to say I couldn't wait to book for a second time - it really felt like home from home. The wonderful horses, beautiful climate and scenery, superb hospitality; who could ask for more? Thank you Katharine! Can't wait for my next visit!

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes have been helpful and efficient in all my dealings with them - they offer a fantastic range of holidays and I would not hesitate to recommend them to riders of all levels - there is something to suit most budgets!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 08 Mar 2015:

We love Katherine too, she is genuinely one of the kindest ladies I have ever met! She is completely natural with her horses and the atmosphere in her house and in her stable is one of peace and tranquility - add the sunshine and it must be close to heaven!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 08 Mar 2015:

Thank you, we try really hard in the office, we love horses and all we want is to find a perfect break for each and every customer!

Tailor made riding Algarve by Sarah, 6 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Relaxed riding in beautiful open countryside with top class accommodation and catering.

My sister and I had a great time in Portugal. We shared our cottage with two like-minded ladies whom we had not met previously. We all got on really well and are hoping to repeat the experience soon! Katharine's hospitality was excellent, as were the stable yard facilities. I really enjoyed riding a few different horses (who were all real individuals!) in the beautiful open countryside of the Alentejo. The Equestrian Escapes website and ...

My sister and I had a great time in Portugal. We shared our cottage with two like-minded ladies whom we had not met previously. We all got on really well and are hoping to repeat the experience soon! Katharine's hospitality was excellent, as were the stable yard facilities. I really enjoyed riding a few different horses (who were all real individuals!) in the beautiful open countryside of the Alentejo. The Equestrian Escapes website and Katharine's stable will definitely be my first stop next time I book a riding holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes offered an efficient yet individual service. Their website is accurate and informative. I would have no hesitation booking with them again.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 08 Mar 2015:

We agree, our tailor made ride in Portugal is a real treat; Katherine has a natural easy way with her horses and clients which means you can slip so easily into a more tranquil and natural life style!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 08 Mar 2015:

Many thanks, we really try to listen carefully to our customers and advise them from our firsthand experience on the perfect horse riding holiday for them. We look forward to you travelling with us again.

Equestrian Escapes by Joanne_Teesside, 27 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exellent Horse Riding Holiday in Cheshire

I booked a weeks stay at the Macdonald Portal Hotel with two days horse riding at the Willington Hall Riding School all through Equestrian Escapes who handled my holiday booking with friendly professionalism having recommended Cheshire due to the fact the riding school were very child friendly and I couldn't have wished for a better riding experience for my 10 year old daughter. The trainers at the riding school were amazing, offering encouragement ...

I booked a weeks stay at the Macdonald Portal Hotel with two days horse riding at the Willington Hall Riding School all through Equestrian Escapes who handled my holiday booking with friendly professionalism having recommended Cheshire due to the fact the riding school were very child friendly and I couldn't have wished for a better riding experience for my 10 year old daughter. The trainers at the riding school were amazing, offering encouragement which really boosted Hannah's confidence on a horse which I saw paid dividends on our final hack.

Rating for tour operator:

As stated above they were professional and friendly and were able to suggest a much better alternative to my original enquiry.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Jill, 25 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes Luxury in Cheshire

Equestrian Escape’s riding break in Cheshire proved to be one of the best choices that I have ever made for a short break. I was nervous booking a horse riding break, both as I was travelling alone but also as I was a very rusty rider. The stable in Cheshire is first class and I would recommend it whole heartedly. The instructors are all British Horse Society approved and trained and you could tell from the first moment you stepped on the yard ...

Equestrian Escape’s riding break in Cheshire proved to be one of the best choices that I have ever made for a short break. I was nervous booking a horse riding break, both as I was travelling alone but also as I was a very rusty rider. The stable in Cheshire is first class and I would recommend it whole heartedly. The instructors are all British Horse Society approved and trained and you could tell from the first moment you stepped on the yard what a professional and well run establishment it was. I fell in love with their beautiful horses and learned so much from my lessons that I am now taking instruction locally on a weekly basis. The hacking was a joy and I must also mention my lovely hostess Catherine who runs the B&B where I stayed, she really added to what was a really memorable experience. Thanks to all!

Rating for tour operator:

Having recently returned to riding after a 20 something year break......I was delighted to have found Equestrian Escapes. The ladies in the office are all extremely helpful and listened with understanding as I explained to them exactly what sort of break I was looking for. I suspect like many ladies of a certain age safety was paramount to me and although I didn’t want to ride an old plod I did want a well behaved school master. They suggested their riding break in Cheshire (I had read the testimonials on their site and they proved to be absolutely right). The riding tuition was of a very high standard, approved by The British Horse Society with qualified instructors and horses that behaved like saints. After my stay I was cantering again with confidence and on the last day I even did a small jump. Thank you so much this really was everything and more than I could have hoped for. I have just booked for Mallorca and will let you know how I get on there!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 25 Feb 2015:

We were delighted to read your review of our Cheshire riding break, we pride ourselves on working with only the very best riding stables. We have a wide directory of venues across the UK where we can offer training in all equestrian disciplines and we specialise in creating a tailor made experience for each individual customer.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 25 Feb 2015:

We love talking about horses and horse riding here in the Equestrian Escapes office you can call us for a horsey chat anytime!

Beach Riding Holiday Devon by Cazza, 23 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes North Devon

Riding holiday was fantastic...... Riding over rolling downs, overlooking a spectacular coastline, Beach rides along one of North Devon's finest & largest beaches. Accommodation was superb, breakfast delicious & only a short walk to town & beach. The team at Equestrian Escapes did us proud. Thanks Sarah & Lindsay, we'll be back! Carol & Jill Richards Sent from my iPhone

Riding holiday was fantastic...... Riding over rolling downs, overlooking a spectacular coastline, Beach rides along one of North Devon's finest & largest beaches. Accommodation was superb, breakfast delicious & only a short walk to town & beach. The team at Equestrian Escapes did us proud. Thanks Sarah & Lindsay, we'll be back! Carol & Jill Richards Sent from my iPhone

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional throughout, courteous , friendly & nailed confidence throughout the booking process & beyond. Brilliant choices & can't wait to book another short break with them

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 23 Feb 2015:

We love Devon too, the beach riding is wonderful and tha tracks alongside the beach afford spectacular views too!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 23 Feb 2015:

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your holiday, we look forward to you travelling with us again from all in The Equestrian Escapes team.

Equestrian Escapes by HorseyWill, 20 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wiltshire Wonderland

My girlfriend and I went on a weekend break to Wiltshire with Equestrian Escapes this month. I am a novice rider, she is more advanced, so I was apprehensive about choosing an equestrian themed holiday, but I am thoroughly delighted that I took the plunge. The Rushmore estate where our accommodation was based was absolutely spectacular, a truly romantic, peaceful setting which felt like something from a fairy tale. We chose the B&B accommodation, ...

My girlfriend and I went on a weekend break to Wiltshire with Equestrian Escapes this month. I am a novice rider, she is more advanced, so I was apprehensive about choosing an equestrian themed holiday, but I am thoroughly delighted that I took the plunge. The Rushmore estate where our accommodation was based was absolutely spectacular, a truly romantic, peaceful setting which felt like something from a fairy tale. We chose the B&B accommodation, which was very comfortable and the staff were hugely welcoming. The riding itself was fantastic! Whether it was trotting through the dense woodland, or climbing up to soak in the awesome views, the entire experience was captivating. We felt like knights of the realm exploring the land. My particular highlight was riding up close and personal with the wild deer of the estate, this immersion in nature was spectacular.

Rating for tour operator:

Equestrian Escapes were very friendly and helpful from the moment I first enquired about the break, until the moment we returned home. Any queries we had were responded to quickly and efficiently and we really felt that our special holiday was the top of their priority list. They are extremely knowledgable about British tourism, as well as all things equestrian and they were fantastic in advising me as to which trip would be ideal, given the difference in riding ability between my partner and I.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 20 Feb 2015:

Thank you for your kind words, you may like to know that this was King John's hunting ground, maybe it was no coincidence that you felt like knights of the realm!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 20 Feb 2015:

We really do try very hard to steer our clients towards the very best riding experience for them. We are passionate about horses and riding and it is our aim to use our knowledge to enable others to enjoy the sport as much as we do.

Luxury Riding Holiday by Beth, 18 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Best horse riding break in Cheshire ever

I have just come back from the best weekends riding of my life from your home base of Cheshire. I stayed in the farmhouse B&B with Catherine and she was delightful from start (the home made cakes) to finish. My room was lovely and had views on beautiful countryside studded with horses grazing peacefully in the fields. My instructors at the stables were the best, Chris had improved my canter within minutes and by my last lesson I was jumping ...

I have just come back from the best weekends riding of my life from your home base of Cheshire. I stayed in the farmhouse B&B with Catherine and she was delightful from start (the home made cakes) to finish. My room was lovely and had views on beautiful countryside studded with horses grazing peacefully in the fields. My instructors at the stables were the best, Chris had improved my canter within minutes and by my last lesson I was jumping small fences with confidence. The hacking in the forest and on the woodland tracks was so tranquil, I can’t wait to come back.

Rating for tour operator:

A big thank you to the lovely ladies in the Equestrian Escapes office who helped me to choose my perfect riding holiday – you were great and you really understood what I needed from my break!!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 18 Feb 2015:

Hello Beth, Lindsey and I were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break so much, we felt confident that Cheshire was the place for you! Catherine is a wonderful hostess and her farm house is a real treat. The mix of lessons and riding out has proved to be a firm favourite with our customers and we hope that we will see you back here soon!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 18 Feb 2015:

As qualified riding instructors and all round horse enthusiasts it really does matter to us that we find all of our customers the very best riding break for them. We understand how important it is that guests leave feeling confident and relaxed in the saddle, this is our ultimate aim.