AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Equestrian Escapes

Equestrian Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Equestrian Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 122
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 128
Reviews Accepted: 128
Reviews Rejected: 0
128 reviews
Sort by:
Equestrian Escapes by , 30 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes review

Extremely helpful - quickly discerned just what we wanted and found it for us! And when we got to our holiday destination, we found it even more amazing than we'd expected. What a find! would definitely go back to this tour operator for another holiday.

Extremely helpful - quickly discerned just what we wanted and found it for us! And when we got to our holiday destination, we found it even more amazing than we'd expected. What a find! would definitely go back to this tour operator for another holiday.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 17 Feb 2015:

Many thanks for your kind comments from everyone in the Equestrian Escapes office. As equestrian experts and instructors we work really hard to ensure that all of our holidays reach the expectations of our discerning horse loving clientele and we really appreciate it when you tell us how we are doing!

Luxury Riding Holiday Spain by , 29 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes review

I had a wonderful trip with Equestrian Escapes, the riding was perfect for my daughter and I and the lovely girls in their office made sure we were looked after as it was my first time abroad! I would recommend them to anyone.

I had a wonderful trip with Equestrian Escapes, the riding was perfect for my daughter and I and the lovely girls in their office made sure we were looked after as it was my first time abroad! I would recommend them to anyone.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 18 Feb 2015:

Thanks for your kind comments Pip, this holiday was rated by The Times as one of the top 100 holidays on the planet and we are delighted by the reports received from our customers. Here at Equestrian Escapes we work really hard to ensure that we only offer the very best riding experiences to our customers, as horse lovers and instructors ourselves we understand how important it is that you return from your holiday full of confidence and wanting to climb back into the saddle at the very next available opportunity!

Tailor made riding Algarve by , 28 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes review

Equestrian escape were very kind and looked after all y needs in terms of helping me feel set up ready for my Taylor made holiday in Portugal. On arrival I was taken to my beautiful accommodation and made to feel right as home with Katherine preparing a lovely lunch. Her horses were beautiful and so well trained to the voice it was amazing not to ride worn out school horse's.the horses are so well looked after it was a pleasure seeing them canter

Equestrian escape were very kind and looked after all y needs in terms of helping me feel set up ready for my Taylor made holiday in Portugal. On arrival I was taken to my beautiful accommodation and made to feel right as home with Katherine preparing a lovely lunch. Her horses were beautiful and so well trained to the voice it was amazing not to ride worn out school horse's.the horses are so well looked after it was a pleasure seeing them canter off into green fields. Katherine was a great teacher making us feel at home,at the cottage food was stocked up incase I was pekish (even a bisquit draw)and she took me for the most amazing steak! the trails were beautiful plenty of canters and a suprising dip in a lake! I loved my holiday with Katherine and my favorite horse hope in Portugal.I was lucky to meet Sarah and her husband of equestrian escapes its great to know they visit all the places they advertise!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 17 Feb 2015:

Thanks Melissa for your kind words, we really do appreciate feedback. Our tailor made Algarve riding holiday has been a firm favourite with our customers for a number of years now. Personally I love visiting Katherine as her horses are such a pleasure to work with and her cooking is out of this world!!!! Thank you for your video testimonial I think it really helps future customers to hear first hand from someone who has actually taken the holiday; you can watch it here if you haven't already spotted it!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvlal7FUo4E

Equestrian Escapes by , 28 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes review

We worked with Equestrian Escapes late last year. They provided our clients with World Equestrian Games packages - for a total of ten clients. The feedback from the clients was very positive. They said that the staff of Equestrian Escapes were outstanding and spoke about six different languages (between them). Also they commented on the 'availability' of the EE staff stating that they were able to find staff to assist with information and

We worked with Equestrian Escapes late last year. They provided our clients with World Equestrian Games packages - for a total of ten clients. The feedback from the clients was very positive. They said that the staff of Equestrian Escapes were outstanding and spoke about six different languages (between them). Also they commented on the 'availability' of the EE staff stating that they were able to find staff to assist with information and directions from early in the morning to late at night. In fact Equestrian Escapes had drivers available to ensure that clients were taken if necessary in private 4 X 4 vehicles to their venues. The same clients have already contacted us to ask about using EE services for the next World Equestrian Games - which I believe is in 2018.

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 17 Feb 2015:

With over 1000 guests from more than 10 different countries choosing to travel with Equestrian Escapes to the World Equestrian Games in Normandy last year we certainly had two weeks of intense work. As you will have read in the press our efforts were not helped by the French traffic police who completely under estimated the volume of traffic that would be on their roads - particularly on the route to Haras du Pin! However, we were delighted that the majority of our customers loved every minute of it and the moment when Valegro performed his record breaking test to win gold in the freestyle to music you could here a pin drop in the 22,000 capacity stadium in Caen.

Malaga Riding Retreat by , 28 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes review

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 17 Feb 2015:

Thank you for recommending our holiday to Almeria in Southern Spain. We love the riding from this ranch and the accommodation is great too!

Tailor made riding Algarve by , 28 Jan 2015
Holiday Rating:

Equestrian Escapes review

Katherine was the perfect host. I was collected from the station by her partner Martin and his lovely dog Willow, who was to accompany us on most of our rides the rest of the week. The cottage that we stayed in was cosy with a wood burning stove going 24/7 making you forget that it was mid winter. All the rooms had electric blankets, fleecy blankets and spare heaters so we did not get cold at night and Katherine made sure we had everything we needed

Katherine was the perfect host. I was collected from the station by her partner Martin and his lovely dog Willow, who was to accompany us on most of our rides the rest of the week. The cottage that we stayed in was cosy with a wood burning stove going 24/7 making you forget that it was mid winter. All the rooms had electric blankets, fleecy blankets and spare heaters so we did not get cold at night and Katherine made sure we had everything we needed. The riding was fantastic. On my first day, I rose Paloma, a sweet bay pony who is not only a confidence giver but fantastic fun to jump as I found out later in the week. All the horses are kept immaculately. They may not be sparkling white from being groomed 100 times a day and kept in stalls but they are happy, healthy and well cared for. I can vouch for their quality of life not just as someone who has been around horses for many years but as an equine veterinarian too. Katherine has reduced a number of horses and unless you were told this, you would never know as they are in such good condition and such a pleasure to ride. The one on one days were certainly my favourite part, getting a dressage lesson in the morning on a Lusitania stallion followed by a hack and a jumping lesson all before lunch was great. The highlight of my trip has to be when we set up a jump cross course through the olive groves and Katherine and I rode Hope and Paloma round. I would 110% recommend someone to go stay with Katherine. Just don't expect Portugese winters to be hot! Bring plenty of layers and waterproofs if you go in January as the weather was very changeable!

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 18 Feb 2015:

Thanks for the feedback Lydia, it is great when you have a horse vet travelling as your opinion is a professional one as well as a personal one! I love Katherine's house and the new stables are brilliant it was great to see everyone jumping and the hacking out looked spectacular! Your video review is on you tube under Equestrian Escapes reviews if you want to have a look.

Equestrian Escapes by Roxy, 3 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

World Equestrian Gamespoor organisation

We booked a 6 day package with Equestrian Escapes to Normandy for the WEG and found the overall organisation was appalling. Because of their lack of ability to plan pick ups some events were missed. The WEG themselves were fantastic

We booked a 6 day package with Equestrian Escapes to Normandy for the WEG and found the overall organisation was appalling. Because of their lack of ability to plan pick ups some events were missed. The WEG themselves were fantastic

Rating for tour operator:

Coach drivers were brilliant but directions and instructions they had were poor hence we spent a lot more time on the coach than we should have. No company rep available for the duration of our stay. Phone calls had to be made to the UK to find out pick up times from our hotel. Didn't stick to the itinerary produced, I could go on and on. Company has denied any failure on their part and have so far not even compensated us for phone charges, would never book with them again

Equestrian Escapes responded to this review on 19 Feb 2015:

Hello Jean, we were sorry to read your comments and somewhat surprised, I was personally out at WEG the entire 2 weeks and we had 10 additional members of staff available plus a stand and meeting point in The Horse Village. We were certainly not aware of any of our customers missing any of the events. It is fair to say that the exceptionally heavy traffic on the roads around Caen did seem to take the French police by surprise, although we were quick to react when we realised that it may take longer to reach venues than we had been previously advised. Times were immediately altered so that customers were collected from their respective accommodation earlier, I know that this didn't please everyone but our primary aim was to ensure that all Equestrian Escape's customers saw all of the events. The change to timings may have made us look disorganised but on the contrary, it was us reacting to a situation that could not have been foreseen (according to the French traffic police!). We certainly enjoyed some fantastic competition over the two weeks and hope that this in some way made up for your disappointment with the change to timings.

Equestrian Escapes by sarah, 29 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

did not recieve what we had paid for

I booked a 2 night b+b with this company and was informed prior to the booking that due to a hunt on the weds we would have to have 2 rides on the thursday rather than 1 x 2hr ride on weds thurs and friday. The friday hack was unchanged. we were offered the right to cancel but we felt we could manage 2 rides on the thursday and needed a break so went ahead. on arrival we were put in cottage on visit (we were informed this was an upgrade but ...

I booked a 2 night b+b with this company and was informed prior to the booking that due to a hunt on the weds we would have to have 2 rides on the thursday rather than 1 x 2hr ride on weds thurs and friday. The friday hack was unchanged. we were offered the right to cancel but we felt we could manage 2 rides on the thursday and needed a break so went ahead. on arrival we were put in cottage on visit (we were informed this was an upgrade but as we had only been told b+b we really cannot judge this) breakfast was sliced bread eggs and porridge from cupboard if we wanted. we accepted this but were a little concerned and aggreived as we felt breakfast meant it would be prepared and cleared away in a b+b. On thursday for our first ride we were told we would not be doing afternoon ride as she felt it would be too much for us-she sent us off to a cafe that she paid for lunch BUT we were not given a chance to dispute this and possibly would have been better to ask us how we felt about doing a second ride after we had done the first. I have requested a refund for the 2 of us for the cost of the cancelled hack. the stable owner claims the horses were booked for the 2nd ride BUT that we had made alternative arrangments! she also claims she offered to come and cook our breakfast! this is completely incorrect the company though have decided to state that they can do nothing! this is appalling, 1) why would we arrange to continue with the break when we were offered the chance to cancel therefore why would we make alternative arrangments for the afternoon! I feel as though we have been completely fleeced. The company are not replying to my emails.

Rating for tour operator:

see above