AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 561
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 586
Reviews Accepted: 586
Reviews Rejected: 0
586 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Together, 22 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

an exciting and wonderful experience - giving us a great sence of achievement

This was our Trip Of A Lifetime. We, mother and daughter, made it to the very end in 7 days and had a great experience. The first three days we had lovely sunny weather. We loved walking through fairy-tale woods and lovely nature. Our feet felt more and more stronger - as we tackled the road, although in the evenings we were awfully glad to put our feet up. Going over Conic Hill, which was quite a steep climb and walking down to the ...

This was our Trip Of A Lifetime. We, mother and daughter, made it to the very end in 7 days and had a great experience. The first three days we had lovely sunny weather. We loved walking through fairy-tale woods and lovely nature. Our feet felt more and more stronger - as we tackled the road, although in the evenings we were awfully glad to put our feet up. Going over Conic Hill, which was quite a steep climb and walking down to the Rowardennan Hotel was lovely in sunshine. Our third day to Beinglas Farm was quite an experience - high over Lough Lomond with spectacular views, but very rocky and we thought a wee bit dangerous - taking our backsides to get over some very steep rocks. The Beinglas Farm accommodation was wonderful - the food lovely and the fellow walkers quite inspiring. It was good to see them clapping their hands, when we entered. Perhaps they thought we would not be able to make it. But we did. The next three days we had highland weather with sleet, snow, wind, rain and also sun. We were well equipped and the rain did not yet wet the insides of our shoes. The long walk to Kings House Hotel across the Moor was spectacular and somehow for us very special. The hotel was lovely nice and quaint. On top of Devils Staircase - with some sun - we enjoyed the wonderful views of the snowy highlands all around us. This was a real highlight for us. Then the weather changed to scottish weather with strong winds and continuous rain. We felt extremely proud of ourselves for braving the elements and walked on and on and on. When we arrived in Fort William we were soaked to the bone and our feet swimming in our shoes. But we were so very happy that we had arrived at last. We embraced Mr. Sore Foot and the passers by cheered us too, which we thought was wonderful. Before going to our B&B the two of us enjoyed a hot whisky - a wonderful ending to a spectacular walking tour.

Rating for tour operator:

everything went beautifully, the accommodations were perfect and the bar meals in the restaurants which were recommended good and tasty. The documentation we got was informative and very helpful. We were very grateful for all the help given before the tour.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 25 Apr 2015:

Thank you very much for your review - we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the West Highland Way so much. Your description has made us want to walk it again ourselves! So glad the Fort William locals applauded you on the last leg to meet Mr Sore Feet! Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Walking Pals, 20 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful Scotland

We walked the West Highland Way. We had great weather, beautiful scenery and comfortable accommodation with good food

We walked the West Highland Way. We had great weather, beautiful scenery and comfortable accommodation with good food

Rating for tour operator:

We got good information, all arrangements worked very well. On day two we would have liked our breakfast a bit earlier to allow more time for the long day ahead. The accommodation only offered breakfast from 8am. The luggage transport was excellent

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 20 Apr 2015:

Thank you for your comments and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed walking the West Highland Way. Thank you also for your comments about an early breakfast on Day 2, and we will certainly pass this feedback onto the Guest House. Best wishes, Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Jleganbainbridge, 17 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful

We traveled from Edinburgh, Isle of Skye, Ullapool, Inverness, Pitlochry and on to St Andrews. The accommodations were fabulous, every hotel/guest house was great. Every detail of the tour was attended to, everything went of without a hitch. We even received notice during the trip that a ferry had been cancelled and that we would need to make different arrangements to get to Skye, then we were notified that we could be compensated for the ...

We traveled from Edinburgh, Isle of Skye, Ullapool, Inverness, Pitlochry and on to St Andrews. The accommodations were fabulous, every hotel/guest house was great. Every detail of the tour was attended to, everything went of without a hitch. We even received notice during the trip that a ferry had been cancelled and that we would need to make different arrangements to get to Skye, then we were notified that we could be compensated for the additional cost for transportation I cannot say enough good things about Absolute Escapes and the trip they prepared for us.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 17 Apr 2015:

Thank you very much for your comments, Jennifer. We were delighted you enjoyed your Scotland by Train holiday and if we can ever tempt you back to try the Skye ferry when the wind has dropped a little please don't hesitate to let us know.

Best wishes,

Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Walking at 60!, 14 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

A smooth operation with1st class service and accommodation!

Walking the great glen although arduous in points was made a wonderful experience by the stunning scenery and first class accommodation provided In some cases the accommodation was so luxurious it was a real effort to don the boots and start walking

Walking the great glen although arduous in points was made a wonderful experience by the stunning scenery and first class accommodation provided In some cases the accommodation was so luxurious it was a real effort to don the boots and start walking

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute escapes provided very comprehensive itinerary No details were omitted Brilliant accommodation was sourced Service was impeccable Luggage transfers all ran very smoothly At one point we thought we had a problem and we were able to contact tour operator who immediately attempted to address the problem it transpired there was no problem at all and our luggage was in another room Service brilliant

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 15 Apr 2015:

Thank you very much for your kind comments, Ann Marie. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodation that was reserved for you.

Absolute Escapes by lucia, 13 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

St Cuthbert's way

Very enjoyable, beautiful scenery, well organized. The weather was rather cold and very windy but it didn't rain.

Very enjoyable, beautiful scenery, well organized. The weather was rather cold and very windy but it didn't rain.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organized, extremely good service, good choice of B&Bs. If anything, next time I will request a bath, to help recovering from hard walk.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 15 Apr 2015:

Many thanks for your feedback and we were delighted that you enjoyed the St Cuthbert's Way.

A bath can certainly ease the muscles after a long day's walking and we'd have been happy to request one if available. We often find that a lot of Guest Houses these days are offering more showers than baths in their en-suites, but we can certainly request one if we can tempt you back to another walk in the future.

Thanks again for choosing to book with us!

Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by jillsteve, 10 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

We enjoyed all our walks. The B&B was excellent.

We enjoyed all our walks. The B&B was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Average slow to reply. But back was excellent.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Apr 2015:

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your Isle of Skye walking holiday. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the holiday - the Isle of Skye is certainly a spectacular place to visit and enjoy the many varied walks.

I was sorry to hear that you found some of our responses slow. We do try to respond to all of the enquiries we receive as soon as possible, but I noticed that it was several days before we provided you with a quote. My apologies for this and we will certainly take your feedback on board to improve this in the future. Thank you once again for your comments.

Andy Gabe