AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 561
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 586
Reviews Accepted: 586
Reviews Rejected: 0
586 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Andrew33, 12 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Absolute Escapes put together a Fly Drive Tour of the western highlands and isles, we had a fabulous 10 days touring around and exploring the area.

Absolute Escapes put together a Fly Drive Tour of the western highlands and isles, we had a fabulous 10 days touring around and exploring the area.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes are a First Class agent, extremely professional and cater for your every need, going above and beyond

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 13 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments and photos Andrew. We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Scotland and the arrangements that we made for you. If we can be of any assistance in future please don't hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Bob, 11 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Idyllic Borders countryside.

Trekked from Melrose to Lindisfarne on the St Cuthbert Way and then up Berwick on Tweed. We were two married couples in our mid 70's. We did a bit of walking in our neighborhood beforehand so as to not be totally out of shape. This is a great hike to observe history, culture, farms and domestic animals. Accommodations and food options along the way were excellent. We were provided with excellent maps and the trail was way marked.

Trekked from Melrose to Lindisfarne on the St Cuthbert Way and then up Berwick on Tweed. We were two married couples in our mid 70's. We did a bit of walking in our neighborhood beforehand so as to not be totally out of shape. This is a great hike to observe history, culture, farms and domestic animals. Accommodations and food options along the way were excellent. We were provided with excellent maps and the trail was way marked.

Rating for tour operator:

These guys were great! We might try something in Ireland with Absolute Escapes next time.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your review Bob! We were delighted to hear you and your walking companions enjoyed your time on the St Cuthbert's Way. It's wonderful to hear you were pleased with all the accommodation and your personalised information pack. If we can be of assistance in Ireland please let us know, there are some great trails there! All the best, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Mrs R S 19, 11 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Challenging but exhilarating

We were a group of 4 persons, two couples, who ambitiously wanted to walk the WHW. We were moderately fit 65year old...plus maybe a few extra years fro a couple of us. Absolute Escapes made this happen for us.

We were a group of 4 persons, two couples, who ambitiously wanted to walk the WHW. We were moderately fit 65year old...plus maybe a few extra years fro a couple of us. Absolute Escapes made this happen for us.

Rating for tour operator:

From my first email to the last, Fern was quick with her responses and always helpful with her advice. Absolute Escapes are a very professional and a well run organisation.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Robyn. We are so pleased to hear you were happy with our services and enjoyed your time on the West Highland Way, a great achievement. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Happy Walkers, 10 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Simply an amazing week walking The Ridgeway

Everything worked out brilliantly. B&B’s were super (I particularly liked Helen Browning’s Organics!). The delightful lady, Rose, at Melrose in Goring, was very sweet – a wonderfully old-fashioned B&B (with the best breakfast of the trip). We did get lost once (we took our eye off the ball) on the first day (!) and did a slightly longer first day than planned. Concentrated a little harder after that on the guide book and maps! Our walk ...

Everything worked out brilliantly. B&B’s were super (I particularly liked Helen Browning’s Organics!). The delightful lady, Rose, at Melrose in Goring, was very sweet – a wonderfully old-fashioned B&B (with the best breakfast of the trip). We did get lost once (we took our eye off the ball) on the first day (!) and did a slightly longer first day than planned. Concentrated a little harder after that on the guide book and maps! Our walk along on the Ridgeway was wonderful, thank you. You even managed to arrange one of the hottest September weeks for years for us! We got through over half a bottle of sunblock!

Rating for tour operator:

We booked through Absolute Escapes and they were superb to deal with ... from start to finish. Guide books, routes, maps and itinerary were wonderful. All we had to do was pop on our walking boots and walk. Everything else was sorted out and we didn't have to worry about a thing ... just enjoy our holiday. Can't recommend them highly enough. Would definitely book through them again!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Dec 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Cheryl, we're so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Ridgeway and were pleased with the arrangements we made for you. We look forward to making the arrangements for your next walking holiday for you. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by ClanMacFie, 28 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Stress free

The itinerary and accommodations were just perfect. I had issues with my international phone service and the driving instructions provided in our information packet were so helpful. Our plans altered slightly when a ferry trip was cancelled on Colonsay due to storms. It was so great that all I had to do was simply email you to notify our next stop of the delay. I was actually thrilled to be "stranded" on the island another day! All our hosts ...

The itinerary and accommodations were just perfect. I had issues with my international phone service and the driving instructions provided in our information packet were so helpful. Our plans altered slightly when a ferry trip was cancelled on Colonsay due to storms. It was so great that all I had to do was simply email you to notify our next stop of the delay. I was actually thrilled to be "stranded" on the island another day! All our hosts were so friendly and knowledgable of their area. Thank you for making our trip a stress free holiday!

Rating for tour operator:

It was so enjoyable working with Absolute Escapes. We had a specific location we wished to have added to the basic itinerary and Pippa made sure everything fit just right. I also was looking to purchase DuBarry boots on my trip and she was so helpful in sending me possible locations that carry the boots. It truly was like emailing a friend! Everyone I dealt with in the office was just great!!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 29 Nov 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Betsy. We were so delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip and even got a bit more time to enjoy Colonsay. I hope your boots will join you on many more adventures, and that we can welcome you back to Scotland soon. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Seafood, 21 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Glenn Way

We walked the Great Glenn Way in october from Fort William to Inverness. This trek is very easy. The landscape is beautiful.

We walked the Great Glenn Way in october from Fort William to Inverness. This trek is very easy. The landscape is beautiful.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escape organized our trip. They did a great job. I recieved a detailed information kit about the Great Glen way., where are groceries, restaurants, about B&Bs and so on. We enjooyed our trek.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Nov 2019:

Thank you very much for your lovely review András. We're really pleased to hear that you had a great holiday along the Great Glen Way and that our information helped make your walk more enjoyable. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays! Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Thomas, 13 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

St Cuthbert's Way

I had a walking holiday from Melrose to the Holy Island that I booked through Absolute Escapes. It was wonderful. The days were superb. I will never forget some of the beautiful landscape through which I walked. I extended my holiday an extra day on Holy Island at the end as well as a day in Edinburgh before I flew back to Boston, which were great experiences.

I had a walking holiday from Melrose to the Holy Island that I booked through Absolute Escapes. It was wonderful. The days were superb. I will never forget some of the beautiful landscape through which I walked. I extended my holiday an extra day on Holy Island at the end as well as a day in Edinburgh before I flew back to Boston, which were great experiences.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes helped me select an week for my holiday, advising me that my original dates might be more problematic and another would be better. They were correct given the tide table to Holy Island and their advice saved me much disappointment. The luggage transfer they arranged was prompt and careful. My bags were always waiting when I arrived the next day. The literature they sent helped me make the most of my walk (and kept me for becoming sidetracked or losing my way with their maps). I found the B&Bs they selected were excellent. The staff helpful. The rooms comfortable. Their recommendations about where I might eat and what other sites along the way that I might enjoy visiting were invaluable and saved me much wasted time and kept me from overlooking some sites that I would have been disappointed to miss. I shall certainly to using them again for my next walking holiday.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 14 Nov 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, Thomas. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday, and could experience a little extra time on Holy Island and in Edinburgh too. It was our pleasure to be able to assist with the arrangements for your journey on the St Cuthbert's Way. Please do get in touch again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays! Best wishes, Charlotte Wood

Absolute Escapes by TimB, 1 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Scenery & Interesting Locations

After a ferry delay at Oban (Absolute escapes rearranged everything quickly) once we arrived at Lochmaddy there were no problems, though the ferry back to Aberdeen was a rough ride (thank goodness we could lie down in the cabin. Weather did brighten a little in Lewis and was really poor in the Orkney’s but we really enjoyed the whole trip nevertheless. The accommodation & hosts chosen were perfect and we would rate all of it favourably however ...

After a ferry delay at Oban (Absolute escapes rearranged everything quickly) once we arrived at Lochmaddy there were no problems, though the ferry back to Aberdeen was a rough ride (thank goodness we could lie down in the cabin. Weather did brighten a little in Lewis and was really poor in the Orkney’s but we really enjoyed the whole trip nevertheless. The accommodation & hosts chosen were perfect and we would rate all of it favourably however we particularly warmed to Elaine & Keith in Kirkwall and also to Anna in Durness (Smoo) – they were wonderful hosts. Catherine in Selibost was also fantastic and interesting (most beautiful location and view). Linda at Lochmaddy was also good company – we appreciated her stories. Sarah at Aird Uig was also great and the meal there was fantastic, and it was clear afterwards that while remote this is an interesting location. Even the extra location stays at Skye and Sollas were great. In terms of attractions and locations some we really enjoyed were: Nth Uist: Crab sandwichs/Langostines at the rather hidden but beautiful Kallin Seafood Café were fantastic and beautiful location Cake & Coffee and Langrass Lodge (we didn’t have meal there as they had restricted hours) Westford Inn – Nth Uist – great meal Uig area scenery - Lewis Golden Road – Harris but glad we were there a quiet time and the seafood van at St Clements – was fantastic Skara Brae and Skaill house – though weather was appalling & freezing Merkistar Hotel near Dounby Orkney – beautiful meal (locals recommended it) Museum – Stornaway Pies at Lochinver – awesome, lunch at Kylsku hotel

Rating for tour operator:

Would certainly recommend your company and itinerary, all things you recommended were as you described – we meet another Australian couple at Merkistar hotel having lunch – they had self-organised and were very unhappy with their accommodation and had missed some interesting things, so it reinforced your value in our minds. Also all our hosts spoke favourably about Absolute Escapes.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Nov 2019:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Tim. We are so pleased everything went to plan after a disruptive start due to the weather! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with your hosts in each location, this certainly makes such a difference to a holiday and allows you to get a real feel for a location. Thank you again for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back to Scotland one day soon. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart.

Absolute Escapes by Eleanor, 29 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Speyside Way - in the sun!

I have walked several of the long distance routes in Scotland and the Speyside Way is by far my favourite - I absolutely fell in love with it! I blog whenever I travel (https://theburkablog.com/) so you can check out my trip along the Speyside Way there along with some photos. And so impressed was I with Absolute Escapes that I've asked them to book another trip for me next October - I've decided to walk the Fife Coastal Path in 2020.

I have walked several of the long distance routes in Scotland and the Speyside Way is by far my favourite - I absolutely fell in love with it! I blog whenever I travel (https://theburkablog.com/) so you can check out my trip along the Speyside Way there along with some photos. And so impressed was I with Absolute Escapes that I've asked them to book another trip for me next October - I've decided to walk the Fife Coastal Path in 2020.

Rating for tour operator:

Attentive, timely and arranged everything that I asked them to!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 30 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for the lovely comments, Eleanor. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful time on the Speyside Way and consider it one of your favourite walks! We look forward to organising your next trip on the Fife Coastal Path. Best wishes, Helen McLaren.

Absolute Escapes by buckowens, 25 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful West Highland Way

Hiking the West Highland Way was a marvellous experience for my wife and me. All the Guest Houses and Hotels our operator booked were very good, clean and comfortable. Even though at some times the weather made it through our rain gear, we knew that there was a nice, warm and dry place waiting for us somewhere.

Hiking the West Highland Way was a marvellous experience for my wife and me. All the Guest Houses and Hotels our operator booked were very good, clean and comfortable. Even though at some times the weather made it through our rain gear, we knew that there was a nice, warm and dry place waiting for us somewhere.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes prepared a very detailed and comprehensive information package for us. The luggage transport worked perfectly.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 28 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback Juerg. It's great to hear that you had such a great time on the West Highland Way despite some wet weather and that you enjoyed all your accommodation. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you are ever thinking of another walking holiday. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush