AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 630
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 655
Reviews Accepted: 655
Reviews Rejected: 0
655 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Peggy Sue, 23 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Well organized

We enjoyed everything, even the rough ferry crossing! The accommodation was excellent and the landladies very helpful. Lovely restaurants , and wonderful sea views from all over the island. Quiet roads and friendly people.

We enjoyed everything, even the rough ferry crossing! The accommodation was excellent and the landladies very helpful. Lovely restaurants , and wonderful sea views from all over the island. Quiet roads and friendly people.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Oct 2021:

Thank you very much for your comments Janet. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Shetland and Orkney (despite the windy conditions!). It was our pleasure to assist with the arrangements for your holiday and we'll be looking forward to helping you plan your next trip on the NC500. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Bob, 21 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Terrific Trekking Holiday on the Southern Upland Way

The holiday was an 8 Day trekking holiday with 9 nights accommodation and baggage transfer with taxi pick ups.

The holiday was an 8 Day trekking holiday with 9 nights accommodation and baggage transfer with taxi pick ups.

Rating for tour operator:

The booking was quick and efficient, the guidance was clear, concise and accurate. So, overall I am very happy with the holiday I've had.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Oct 2021:

Thank you so much for your comments, Bob. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time on the Southern Upland Way this autumn and would be delighted to hear from you in the future if we can be of assistance with your next walking adventure. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Mike Sensei, 19 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfect

I went on a 1 week walking holiday from Newquay to Penzance along the South West Coastal footpath. Stayed at B and Bs each night with luggage transfer between each overnight stop The weather was good, the organisation and accommodation excellent. As for the walking and scenery the word that comes to mind is fantastic

I went on a 1 week walking holiday from Newquay to Penzance along the South West Coastal footpath. Stayed at B and Bs each night with luggage transfer between each overnight stop The weather was good, the organisation and accommodation excellent. As for the walking and scenery the word that comes to mind is fantastic

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes organised all the accommodation and luggage transfers for all 8 nights of the holiday. All went smoothly to plan They also provided a detailed walking guide and maps as well as clear guidance as to location of each evenings B and B, as well as advice re the best options each evening for meals in the successive destinations

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 20 Oct 2021:

Thank you for your lovely comments, Michael. We are delighted to hear you were happy with our services and that you enjoyed your time on the South West Coast Path. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any help with future walking adventures. Best wishes, Rebecca Meacham

Absolute Escapes by Alan, 12 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Great scenery, well organised and excellent hosts at stopovers.

We did the North Coast 500, plus Skye and Orkney. Everything went smoothly, there were no hiccups or problems along the way, and the accommodation (and hosts) were excellent all the way round. Even the weather was good (most of the time).

We did the North Coast 500, plus Skye and Orkney. Everything went smoothly, there were no hiccups or problems along the way, and the accommodation (and hosts) were excellent all the way round. Even the weather was good (most of the time).

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 13 Oct 2021:

Thank you very much for your feedback Alan. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the NC500, Skye & Orkney, and hope to be able to welcome you back to Scotland soon! Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Happy Walker, 4 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Planned to perfection

We walked the West Highland Way and it was so relaxing having all the arrangements made for us. All the accommodation was great and the luggage transfers very efficient.

We walked the West Highland Way and it was so relaxing having all the arrangements made for us. All the accommodation was great and the luggage transfers very efficient.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were very efficient and very flexible with changing things to suit our requirements. Also very easy to contact and I felt I was dealing with an individual which is really quite unusual these days.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 05 Oct 2021:

Many thanks for your feedback, Daphne, we really appreciate it! Wonderful to hear you had a relaxing time on the WHW, and do let us know if you consider another walking holiday in the future. All the best, James Fathers

Absolute Escapes by Becca, 2 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking the West Highland Way

Loved every step we took - beautiful and varied scenery, with good weather. The Way was busy, as were the overnight locations, but that was to be expected due to Covid and didn’t detract from the great experience.

Loved every step we took - beautiful and varied scenery, with good weather. The Way was busy, as were the overnight locations, but that was to be expected due to Covid and didn’t detract from the great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second time Absolute Escapes has organised our holiday. Everything went smoothly - I can’t fault them. Staff were efficient, helpful and friendly.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Oct 2021:

Thank you for your lovely comments, Rebecca. We are so pleased to hear you were happy with our services and that you enjoyed your time on the West Highland Way. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any help with future walking adventures. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Yomping Steve, 1 Oct 2021
Holiday Rating:

Autumn on the Pembroke Coast Path

An excellent walk on the Pembroke Coast Path - only spoilt by the army closing the Castlemartin Artillery Range. Accommodation of a very good standard, planning and information from Absolute Escapes excellent, weather mainly good = a fine holiday experience!

An excellent walk on the Pembroke Coast Path - only spoilt by the army closing the Castlemartin Artillery Range. Accommodation of a very good standard, planning and information from Absolute Escapes excellent, weather mainly good = a fine holiday experience!

Rating for tour operator:

This is the sixth National Trail I have completed with Absolute Escapes - I think that says enough about how pleased I am with them!!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Oct 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Steve. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Best wishes, Shivani Patel

Absolute Escapes by PLODDER, 30 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful and interesting walk

With the information given everything went like clockwork

With the information given everything went like clockwork

Rating for tour operator:

We found the this company has a very personal touch in the way the business is run

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 01 Oct 2021:

Thank you very much for your feedback Robin. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip on the Dales Way & hope to welcome you back for another walking holiday soon. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Chris, 29 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Comprehensive tour information

e used the information you sent us every day and it was very informative and helpful. Edinburgh A really good couple of days and the hop on hop off bus gave us a good tour and we managed to see everything we wanted to. Dufftown We did visit the Kelpies and the Falkirk wheel on the way to Dufftown I think this would be a good addition to your itineraries, it was not a major detour. The advice for pre booking was useful and we did this ...

e used the information you sent us every day and it was very informative and helpful. Edinburgh A really good couple of days and the hop on hop off bus gave us a good tour and we managed to see everything we wanted to. Dufftown We did visit the Kelpies and the Falkirk wheel on the way to Dufftown I think this would be a good addition to your itineraries, it was not a major detour. The advice for pre booking was useful and we did this for the distillery tour at Dallwhinne The accommodation Gowanbrae B&B was our favourite accommodation. The owners were extremely friendly and informative, they booked our meal for the second night for us and a Glenfiddich tour. Steve shared his whisky selection through tasting each evening. The breakfast was all local produce and the award winning Black pudding was incredible. I can not recommend this B&B to highly. We had followed your advice to pre book dinner at the Seven Stills. The lamb shank and crème brulee flambee is amazing. I can not recommend this restaurant to highly. We visited several other distilleries but felt we had enough tours and just visited the coffee shops and bought taster sets to try in the evening. Knockando wool mill is definitely worth a visit. We needed the 3 nights in this area so thanks for booking this. Isle of Skye The views from the Dunborrodale Guest House B&B were amazing. the rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts were good. The advice to pre book restaurants was good, we did however manage to get in at 6..00 in the Taste of India in Portree. This is a hidden Gem and we would recommend this curry house. We looked at the 10 top things to do in Skye along side your suggestions and mapped out a day touring. This worked very well and covered your recommended sight seeing. However many of the museums were still closed and/or needed pre booking. It was good to arrive in Skye via the bridge and leave via the ferry. Callander Lubnaig Guest House The rooms and breakfast were good and very attractive but when reading the guest information it was a bit daunting stating £100 fines for damage or spillage in the rooms, etc. We were glad we were only there for 1 night, we spent the evening in the garden drinking our wine under a tree in the rain. The accommodation/ rooms were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Always answered queries quickly and was very helpful and flexible to ensure our needs were met.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 29 Sep 2021:

Many thanks for your review, Chris, wonderful to hear you had such an enjoyable trip! Best wishes, James Fathers

Absolute Escapes by SgtMaj, 28 Sep 2021
Holiday Rating:

Kerry Way in 10 days

Walking holiday in Kerry Co. Ireland; excellent accommodations and superior service at all locations; great views and mostly decent weather highlight this trip as well as meeting fellow travelers.

Walking holiday in Kerry Co. Ireland; excellent accommodations and superior service at all locations; great views and mostly decent weather highlight this trip as well as meeting fellow travelers.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent support both pre-trip and during; zero issues or concerns while executing the prepared itinerary. Have used them before and will again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Oct 2021:

Thank you for your wonderful comments James! We're delighted to hear that you had such a great time in Ireland and were pleased with all of the arrangements of your trip. We'll be looking forward to helping you arrange your next walking holiday. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo