AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 578
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 603
Reviews Accepted: 603
Reviews Rejected: 0
603 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Les Pelerins, 5 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Really well organised and hugely enjoyable

We walked the Offa’s Dyke Path and Absolute Escapes organised it at only 3 weeks’ notice (COVID had meant we had to cancel a walking holiday in France). All accommodations, information and arrangements worked really well.

We walked the Offa’s Dyke Path and Absolute Escapes organised it at only 3 weeks’ notice (COVID had meant we had to cancel a walking holiday in France). All accommodations, information and arrangements worked really well.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, communicative and thorough - good documentation, sensible choices of overnight stops and comfortable accommodation with friendly hosts.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Oct 2020:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Mike. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on Offa's Dyke Path and that you were pleased with our arrangements. If we can be of assistance in planning future adventures, we would love to hear from you again. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Bill, 3 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding

We walked 8 days on the Southern Upland Way from west of Moffat to the eastern end at Cockburnspath, then from Lindisfarne to Melrose for 4 days on the St Cuthbert's Way. Weather was generally good, the scenery is lovely and the accommodation excellent. The only slight downside was some long sections of tarmac and hard farm track ,especially from Lindisfarne to Wooler, but that is not the fault of the operator

We walked 8 days on the Southern Upland Way from west of Moffat to the eastern end at Cockburnspath, then from Lindisfarne to Melrose for 4 days on the St Cuthbert's Way. Weather was generally good, the scenery is lovely and the accommodation excellent. The only slight downside was some long sections of tarmac and hard farm track ,especially from Lindisfarne to Wooler, but that is not the fault of the operator

Rating for tour operator:

it organised all the accommodation, baggage transfers, some taxi journeys and provided maps and all necessary information. Everything ran smoothly

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your feedback Bill, it is greatly appreciated, you certainly took on a challenging walk and we're glad we could help with the planning and arrangements. If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by the J's, 29 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

one off the bucket list!!!

We have just walked the West Highland Way in uncertain times Absolute Escapes were brilliant always keeping us updated of the most recent changes. All the accommodation was clean and all abiding by the current rules. Absolute Escapes provided us with a very good info pack and our baggage handler and return taxi were also well organised.

We have just walked the West Highland Way in uncertain times Absolute Escapes were brilliant always keeping us updated of the most recent changes. All the accommodation was clean and all abiding by the current rules. Absolute Escapes provided us with a very good info pack and our baggage handler and return taxi were also well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were always in contact with us during the forever changing current climate, always quick to respond to our emails and help solve our questions.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 29 Sep 2020:

Thank you for such a lovely review, Dale. It's great to hear you enjoyed the West Highland Way so much, especially during these challenging times. We would love to help you with any future walks, so please do let us know if we can be of any assistance. Best wishes, Dawn Spence

Absolute Escapes by Cateran, 28 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Self guided multi day walk on the Cateran Trail.

Self guided 5 day / 6 night programme.. Absolute Escapes arranged itinerary, accommodatio, baggage transfer and taxi transfers. At this difficult time (Covid 19) it all worked without a hitch.

Self guided 5 day / 6 night programme.. Absolute Escapes arranged itinerary, accommodatio, baggage transfer and taxi transfers. At this difficult time (Covid 19) it all worked without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

They are excellent. We got what we paid for. Friendly and accommodating.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 29 Sep 2020:

Thank you for your kind review, David. We are very happy to hear you had a great time on the Cateran Trail and you enjoyed all of your arrangements. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do let us know. Best wishes, Dawn Spence

Absolute Escapes by nancymac, 20 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Amazing trip! We WILL be back!

Absolute Escapes helped us plan our trip and it was fantastic - they worked with us to come up with a tailor-made experience with as much as could be fit into our schedule. The trip was partly hike through, and partly on public transportation and the entire adventure went off without a hitch. Oh wait, one small hitch, but they fixed everything quickly and we were totally pleased. If I could rate them higher than EXCELLENT, I would! They are ...

Absolute Escapes helped us plan our trip and it was fantastic - they worked with us to come up with a tailor-made experience with as much as could be fit into our schedule. The trip was partly hike through, and partly on public transportation and the entire adventure went off without a hitch. Oh wait, one small hitch, but they fixed everything quickly and we were totally pleased. If I could rate them higher than EXCELLENT, I would! They are THAT GOOD.

Rating for tour operator:

we did independent travel, exquisitly planned.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Sep 2020:

Thank you for your glowing review and high praise Nancy. We were delighted to hear from you and that you were pleased with our service, we always aim provide the best experience possible. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future. Best regards, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Coast to Coast walker, 8 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

We walked the Coast to Coast trail knowing that at the end of each day we could be confident we were staying in good accommodation, an evening meal would be available locally and that our bags would be waiting for us on our arrival each day which mad

We had a fantastic experience walking the Coast to Coast in probably what will be one of the quietest years ever with the absence of foreign travellers due to COVID. All hosts in every place we stayed took care to ensure all safety requirements were in place as a result of COVID. Everyone worked extremely hard to ensure things were as "normal" as possible in unusual times.

We had a fantastic experience walking the Coast to Coast in probably what will be one of the quietest years ever with the absence of foreign travellers due to COVID. All hosts in every place we stayed took care to ensure all safety requirements were in place as a result of COVID. Everyone worked extremely hard to ensure things were as "normal" as possible in unusual times.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes had to organise our holiday twice as a result of it being cancelled the first time due to the COVID lockdown. They did this at no extra cost. They listened to us about the type of accommodation we preferred and whenever possible tried to source this and when not available offered good alternatives. The arrangements all worked very smoothly with regard to accommodation, bag transfers and taxi pick ups and drop offs. They provided a lot of additional information about what we could expect each day in terms of the walk, local facilities etc. They were accessible throughout the walk at the end of the phone or by email whenever required. They responded and resolved very quickly a problem with one bag transfer which was not their fault.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 Sep 2020:

Thank you for your feedback Helen it is greatly appreciated. We always look to provide the best experience for our clients possible and always work hard to make sure every holiday package is as perfect as can be. During these challenging times, we're trying to be as flexible as possible and glad to hear accommodation suppliers were safe and responsible. If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Tiredfeet, 4 Sep 2020
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Great Glen Way

We spent 7 days walking in Scotland. The scenery was breathtaking. The weather was perfect for walking. All the accommodation was excellent and the arrangements for transport and luggage transfer worked well. Sadly we didn’t spot Nessie.

We spent 7 days walking in Scotland. The scenery was breathtaking. The weather was perfect for walking. All the accommodation was excellent and the arrangements for transport and luggage transfer worked well. Sadly we didn’t spot Nessie.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time I have used Absolute Escapes and very time they have been efficient, friendly and have provided an excellent all round service. All the information they provide is accurate and helpful. Everything worked well.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Sep 2020:

Many thanks for your review, Leonora. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Great Glen Way - it's certainly a lovely walk. We really appreciate your repeat custom, although we're just sorry that we couldn't include a Nessie sighting for you! Thank you again for your comments and please do let me know if we can assist with another walking holiday. Best wishes, Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by JM from Toronto, 21 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Path--A Spectacular Experience

My sister and I walked the Hadrian's Wall path in September 2019. All aspects of the trip were absolutely wonderful. The scenery was beyond beautiful, the history was fascinating, and all the accommodations were excellent with very friendly hosts everywhere.

My sister and I walked the Hadrian's Wall path in September 2019. All aspects of the trip were absolutely wonderful. The scenery was beyond beautiful, the history was fascinating, and all the accommodations were excellent with very friendly hosts everywhere.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes was superb in all their services--planning/logistics, information, recommendations, bookings--everything was first rate. We are already thinking of another trip and would absolutely use them again. I would recommend them to anyone planning a similar trip.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your review Joel, we're delighted to hear you and your sister enjoyed your time on the Hadrian's Wall Path, it is an excellent trail with a fascinating story to tell. If you need assistance planning your next trip please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by AMGAL , 3 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great Glen Way

This was our first long distance walk and it exceeded all of our expectations!

This was our first long distance walk and it exceeded all of our expectations!

Rating for tour operator:

They arranged everything perfectly for us, the bed and breakfasts were great to stay in and the restaurant recommendations they made made our vacation effortless and delicious:)

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your great review, Anne Marie. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your first long-distance walk. We hope your time on the Great Glen Way has sparked a love of long-distance walking and should we be able to assist with your next adventure, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Nancy W, NSW Australia, 1 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Personalised tour of Scotland using mainly travel by rail

We enjoyed a Personalised itinerary visiting areas of Scotland we had visited previously, with Absolute Escapes booking our accommodation and travel arrangements. We dis not hire a car.

We enjoyed a Personalised itinerary visiting areas of Scotland we had visited previously, with Absolute Escapes booking our accommodation and travel arrangements. We dis not hire a car.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our feedback to our tour operator, Jason at Absolute Escapes I am pleased to say that our holiday went very well. We did have rain at Glenfinnan which made viewing there rather difficult. The Rail Pass worked well. It could have been a help, in retrospect, if it had actually started one day earlier for us, as it started on Sept 1 and we had to travel from Edinburgh, where we left our Rabbies Tour, to go to Glasgow on the train, on Aug 31, so we had to pay extra for that trip! All the B&Bs were of good standard. The train journey we perhaps enjoyed most was the Strathspey Steam Railway with High Tea. Although quite a short trip, the service and food provided for the High Tea made it very enjoyable. We did not attend a Scottish Show as such. We did enjoy the Skye Pipe Band giving a performance in the open air at Portree. Held in the Town Square most Tuesday evenings. . We do not have any comments as to improving your level of service. All the information you supplied was very comprehensive. In our case receiving the info a little earlier would have made it easier to absorb it all. Our Skye Tour was enjoyable with our helpful and informative driver. We would be very happy to recommend your service to future travellers. Nancy W NSW AUSTRALIA

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your review Nancy and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time on our Scotland by Train itinerary, it's a very enjoyable way to explore Scotland. It's great to hear about all the activities you did while travelling. If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin