AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 561
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 586
Reviews Accepted: 586
Reviews Rejected: 0
586 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Maaikees, 26 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

We could focus on enjoying our walks and didn't have to worry about luggage and sleeping arrangements

My friend and I decided to book via Absolute Escapes so we didn't have to worry about our luggage and where we would sleep while walking the West Highland Way. Although this costs more than arranging it yourself, it was sooooo convenient. Our luggage arrived safely at every new hotel / Bed & Breakfast, so that was awesome. The quality of the sleeping locations was good, with some extremes to good and bad. Bad = The Kings House Hotel. This ...

My friend and I decided to book via Absolute Escapes so we didn't have to worry about our luggage and where we would sleep while walking the West Highland Way. Although this costs more than arranging it yourself, it was sooooo convenient. Our luggage arrived safely at every new hotel / Bed & Breakfast, so that was awesome. The quality of the sleeping locations was good, with some extremes to good and bad. Bad = The Kings House Hotel. This hotel's location is awesome, but the rooms themselves are quite dated, ours was a bit dirty and you could literally hear the people in the next room talking. Considering they charge 100 pounds for a night I was a bit shocked. Awesome = the bed and breakfast in Kinlochleven, Brevins Guesthouse. The amount of comfort in the room was insane and we got spoiled with all the good food. Best scone I had during the holiday was made by them.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes gave us all the info we needed, including a nice book about the West Highland Way and a daily itinerary. We went into the holiday feeling relaxed: everything was arranged for us. Nothing went wrong, so nothing to complain!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 30 May 2015:

Thank you for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your walk along the West Highland Way. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Chris + Isa, 22 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Wall

1 week for walking the Hadrian Wall from Newcastle to Carlisle. Good organisation and perfect execution.

1 week for walking the Hadrian Wall from Newcastle to Carlisle. Good organisation and perfect execution.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent choice for Hotels and B&B (with a very special note for Leazes Head B&B and Oakwood Park Hotel). Good food, even for our French standards Good program and timing for the walk, Luggage transfer with no worries. Weather just fine !

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 May 2015:

Thank you for your review and feedback on your Hadrian's Wall Path walk. We were delighted to hear that the arrangements went well and that the food lived-up to French standards! Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Waughy, 21 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful five days spent on Arran.

My sister and I walked 50 miles over 3 days of The Arran Coastal Way. From the start to the finish we stayed in excellent accommodation, ate delicious food, saw some spectacular scenery, had some lovely weather and met some wonderful people. The last day we had a pamper at The Auchrannie Hotel and Spa and an overnight stay. From the beginning to the end our holiday was amazing!

My sister and I walked 50 miles over 3 days of The Arran Coastal Way. From the start to the finish we stayed in excellent accommodation, ate delicious food, saw some spectacular scenery, had some lovely weather and met some wonderful people. The last day we had a pamper at The Auchrannie Hotel and Spa and an overnight stay. From the beginning to the end our holiday was amazing!

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second walking holiday I have booked using Absolute Escapes. I have found them ,both times ,to be approachable and as efficient and helpful as you could want. Both times they helped customise our holidays to suit us which was brilliant. The accommodation they booked for us was always faultless and our luggage was always where we wanted it when we wanted it. The information and walking packs given for each holiday were always comprehensive and easy to follow even for novices like ourselves and the restaurant recommendations were always spot on. Using Absolute Escapes to book our holidays was so easy and brilliant value for money. I will certainly use them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 May 2015:

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Isle of Arran - it's certainly a fabulous place to spend a walking holiday. We were glad to tailor the holiday to suit your needs and I'm sure Auchrannie made a very comfortable end to your walk. Please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can help with any more walking adventures. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Jim P, 15 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

My daughter and I spent 4 nights in Edinburgh and also did the 3-day Speyside Malt Whisky Trail tour.

My daughter and I spent 4 nights in Edinburgh and also did the 3-day Speyside Malt Whisky Trail tour.

Rating for tour operator:

Duncan our tour operator for Rabbies could not have been more accomodating, caring, informative and entertaining. He certainly made our Whisky Trail tour everything that we could have hoped for and then some.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 18 May 2015:

Thank you for your feedback and we will certainly pass your comments onto Duncan at Rabbies. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by TMaerz, 8 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Second time we travelled with Absolute Escapes, there will be a third

We already travelled with Absolute Escapes, when we walked the West Highland Way. Now we walked the Great Glen Way. The provided information package was again really useful. We didn't listen just once to the recommendations for the evening and regretted it deeply. So we stuck to our info-sheets (we called them our Lonely Planet :) ) and we weren't disappointed on our walk again. Everything was as described, no bad surprises.

We already travelled with Absolute Escapes, when we walked the West Highland Way. Now we walked the Great Glen Way. The provided information package was again really useful. We didn't listen just once to the recommendations for the evening and regretted it deeply. So we stuck to our info-sheets (we called them our Lonely Planet :) ) and we weren't disappointed on our walk again. Everything was as described, no bad surprises.

Rating for tour operator:

fast responses, always nice

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 May 2015:

Thank you very much for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed the Great Glen Way. We're very touched that you referred to the Information Sheets as your Lonely Planet - praise indeed! We'd be delighted to assist with your 3rd walking trip and really pleased to hear that you'd be keen to book again. Many thanks. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by lornagordon, 6 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Week. Got the bug

We had a fabulous week walking the west highland way. Absolute escapes had arranged everything very well. Accomodation and baggage handling went very smoothly.The stops were fab and the weather was great. We had one extreme to another. Scorching days at the beginning of the week and snow at the end.

We had a fabulous week walking the west highland way. Absolute escapes had arranged everything very well. Accomodation and baggage handling went very smoothly.The stops were fab and the weather was great. We had one extreme to another. Scorching days at the beginning of the week and snow at the end.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything went like clockwork. Accomodation was fabulous.Very professional from the first enquiry through to sending out all the information and itinery. Very informative itinery, had everything that we needed or wanted to know.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 May 2015:

Many thanks for your comments and delighted to hear you had a great week on the West Highland Way. Sun and snow all in the same week sounds like a typical walking holiday in Scotland! Really glad you enjoyed the experience. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Sue, 29 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way

We had an excellent trip with ideal weather. We did hike to the summit of Ben Nevis at the end, which was a fun way to finish. The Way was not very crowded, which was superb, with only about a dozen people walking the route with us on most days. We really enjoyed the B&Bs/lodgings you selected. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the hosts were great. We had an older guide to the route, which provided more information on Munros along ...

We had an excellent trip with ideal weather. We did hike to the summit of Ben Nevis at the end, which was a fun way to finish. The Way was not very crowded, which was superb, with only about a dozen people walking the route with us on most days. We really enjoyed the B&Bs/lodgings you selected. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the hosts were great. We had an older guide to the route, which provided more information on Munros along the way. We had a superb day to go up Ben Lomond, but we hadn’t checked the ferry service times before we left for Scotland and the hotel did not have internet service at the moment, so we were not sure if we’d be able to get transportation to our next destination, if we went to the peak. Therefore, we skipped this summit on an outstanding day. We did hike another Munro near Bridge of Orchy, which we enjoyed. So, I’d include a bit more information about the nearby peaks, if people want to take side trips to summits during their walk. It was nice to alternate between hill walking and the Way. Otherwise, our week was excellent. I haven’t finished downloading my photos, but I’ll forward a few, if they are decent.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes picked wonderful places for us to stay and provided plenty of contact information for use during our trip.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 May 2015:

Thank you very much for your feedback, and many congrats on climbing some of the Munros along the way (incuding Ben Nevis) - very impressive! We'll certainly look to add some more information on these hills in our Information Packs in the future. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by THE WISHY WANDERERS, 28 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

A parrty of 5 walked the West Hgihland Way, all arranged by Absolute escapes, we had a wonderful adverture

We wlaked 100 miles in 5 days staying at different locations on the way, Milngavie to Fort William via Balmaha, Ineranan, Bridge or Orchy

We wlaked 100 miles in 5 days staying at different locations on the way, Milngavie to Fort William via Balmaha, Ineranan, Bridge or Orchy

Rating for tour operator:

Their attention to detail is the real key to their sucess,every aspect of our holiday was catered for and everything went like clockwork. As we stayed in 6 differnt twons in 6 nights, with luggage transfer, there was alot that could have went wrong. We wouldn't even consider using another company

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 28 Apr 2015:

Thank you very much for your kind comments, Gary - it really is much appreciated by the whole team! We were delighted to hear that all went well with your walk and please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can assist with any future walking adventures. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Vallum Aelium, 28 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday along Hadrian's Wall

From the initial organisation through to the actual trip, Absolute Escapes really came up trumps. The Romans did a pretty good job, too! The accommodation en route was perfect - all really good B&Bs, very welcoming, excellent food suggestions. The baggage transfer worked seamlessly. The pace of the walk worked really well with clearly inside knowledge of organising each day in relation to the terrain. The information provided by Absolute Escapes ...

From the initial organisation through to the actual trip, Absolute Escapes really came up trumps. The Romans did a pretty good job, too! The accommodation en route was perfect - all really good B&Bs, very welcoming, excellent food suggestions. The baggage transfer worked seamlessly. The pace of the walk worked really well with clearly inside knowledge of organising each day in relation to the terrain. The information provided by Absolute Escapes was really informative and helped plan each day, as well as providing all the maps and books for the trip. The walking itself was fantastic and we were rewarded with stunning views. To top it all, we were walking mostly for 7 days in sunshine, not a hint of rain or strong winds! Couldn't be better.

Rating for tour operator:

My comments have been included above but essentially their organisation was excellent, good email responses, lots of information provided which was really helpful and nicely condensed into the personal itinerary. Great choice of B&Bs by Absolute Escapes. No complaints at all.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 28 Apr 2015:

Many thanks for your comments after your walk along Hadrian's Wall Path. It sounds like you had a great trip and glad to hear all of the accommodation and arrangements went well. We'll do our best to pass your comments onto the Romans as well! Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by ed, 26 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great walk walk with my sister Harriet on Lady Anne's Way England.

Excellent information from Absolute Escapes assisted in making this a very enjoyable experience. The walk took us through some beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and the Eden Valley. The accommodation along the way was in B&Bs which were clean friendly and provided good breakfasts. We had great weather almost every day which was a nice surprise considering it was the middle of April.

Excellent information from Absolute Escapes assisted in making this a very enjoyable experience. The walk took us through some beautiful countryside of the Yorkshire Dales and the Eden Valley. The accommodation along the way was in B&Bs which were clean friendly and provided good breakfasts. We had great weather almost every day which was a nice surprise considering it was the middle of April.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes based in Scotland, provided us with everything we needed including maps an excellent guide of the route and good directions and information on each B&B.Our baggage was transferred each day without a hitch. I would definitely use Absolute Escapes again and would not hesitate in recommending them.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Apr 2015:

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Yorkshire, and that you'd consider booking another walking holiday with us. We'll do our best to ensure the sun shines for you next time too! Andy Gabe