Absolute Escapes

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 345
Reviews accepted: 345
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
323
Good
18
Average
4
Poor
0
Terrible
0

west highland way 2017 - our first long distance walk experience - great joy

By Rincewind on 19 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

As for the walk; this was our first long distance walking experience; and we loved it…. We have been lucky on most days regarding the weather. On 2 ½ days we had to pack out the rainproofs. we did not expect so much of the distance to be walked in the forest, which was a pleasent surprise.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have been very pleased with the choice of hotels and guesthouses that you guys did for us. Especially the Glengary guesthouse in Tyndrum and the Allt-na-Leven guesthouse in Kinlochleven were outstanding. Luggage transport worked out extremely well too, makes the experience even more of a pleasure.

Fantastic holiday in a beautiful country!

By David on 18 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our two-week custom road trip started in Glasgow, then took us through Oban, Skye, Inverness, Aberdeenshire, The Trossachs, and Edinburgh, before returning to Glasgow for our flight home. We packed a lot of touring into a relatively short period of time, but it gave us the opportunity to experience so much of what Scotland has to offer – and we were never disappointed.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes put together an outstanding custom itinerary for us. We visited so many beautiful places and met many wonderful people along the way, and the accommodations were truly spectacular. Our experience far exceeded our expectations, and much of that can be attributed to the exceptional service provided by the team at Absolute Escapes.

England Coast to Coast a Fun Experience for a Couple

By LINDA&MARK on 15 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We walked 300 km Coast to Coast across England over 16 days with 2 rest days. It was fantastic and a great experience as a couple. We loved meeting hikers along the way.
We loved our B&Bs and it all went off without a hitch. Weather and navigation were challenging at times but brought us together as a couple! Pictures we took look great and daily emails we sent home were appreciated by family! Our second Absolute Escapes holiday - will not be our last! Love this style of holiday. Best way to leave work behind and explore the world together!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

All arrangements through Absolute Escapes were fantastic with no issues whatsoever.

East Highland Way Walk

By Bird Nerd on 5 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

A wonderful walk through the highlands! Our feet got sore, as we expected. But I liked the variety of landscapes the route took us through and the accommodations were wonderful. Our time was limited so we had to do the walk in 6 days, but I would recommend 7. That would give more time for recovery after the 20-mile walk on day 3, and more time for exploring some of the interesting sights and places along the way.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We had absolutely no problems with Absolute Escapes. Lodging was comfortable and and described with big breakfasts to keep us fueled for each day. Hosts were warm and friendly and provided all the services described in the brochure and customized itinerary. I would recommend Absolute Escapes.

West Highland Way Walk

By walking_sisters on 3 Jul 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My sister and I decided to do the WHW to celebrate our graduations. We had a great time - some rain, some midges - but also beautiful scenery, and neat places to stay. We were impressed with how smoothly everything went, from having prebooked reservations to the baggage transfer.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes was excellent - they were very responsive over email to itinerary tweaks and questions, and all of the logistics were pretty smooth once we were there.

Scottish Castle to Castle trip

By edgarmsmith on 27 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our honeymoon was fantastic, and we cannot thank Absolute Escapes enough. Each castle you booked for us was different enough for us to appreciate the differences from the prior castle. Dalhousie was steeped in history, and Stonefield gave us the most amazing views over the loch. Mansfield's location in the town of Tain, made for easy walks to town and the train station. Fonab was as if we were in a brand new metropolitan hotel in any large city. They were perfect. Likewise, we took you up on several of the recommendations in our itinerary. The recommendations for food and sights were spot on. Throughout the trip, we did not have a single bad experience. It was amazing. I will post a few of our almost 1500 pictures on twitter.

We can't thank you enough, and we can't wait to do it again.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes does a terrific job of helping us set up our honeymoon itinerary. They helped early in the process to allay any concerns about international travel - especially driving in a foreign country. The castle hotels they booked for us were perfect in every way.

John Muir Way Adventure

By DB on 27 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My wife and I enjoyed a walking holiday on the John Muir Way and spent 3 days on Isle of Skye. We had an opportunity to experience Scotland in a way that is different than merely touring the normal tourist attractions.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes did an excellent job of making our arrangements and handling the logistics of our holiday. They went above and beyond in providing assistance for some minor issues. Especially Andy Gabe who provided assistance over the phone to my wife Chrisi in finding help to address a minor injury. We both would highly recommend Absolute Escapes to book a holiday.

A nice walk but not dramatic.

By Duck on 26 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Good

This is the first walk that my husband and I have done in Great Britten. We chose the low tear of accommodation to fit our budget and enjoyed all of them. Our least favorite was the the hostel in Inverness as it was large and impersonal. All of the other places were small, comfortable and intimate. We had steller food along the way, much to our surprise, and the prices were very low compared to food in the U.S.
Much of the Great Glen Way travels through tree plantations in various phases of growth or extraction which isn't very exciting. There were highlights like the little town of Invermoriston that has a gorgeous river with stone bridges and a nice park, and some great views of the various lakes as you go along.
The baggage service was great and there was never a hiccup. I would use the Absolute Escapes company again but would choose a different walk.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute escapes did a great job, even retrieving a pair of shoes for us that my husband had left behind at a hostel. We would use them again.

Arran and Edinburgh

By Johnson and Boswell on 25 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We picked up a car in Glasgow and drove to the Isle of Arran, which we would not have discovered without Absolute Escapes (AE). Hotel was divine. Loved the distillery. The hike up Goatfell etched in my mind forever. In a word, Arran was magical.

We then drove to Edinburgh where we spent 4 nights and had a great time touring the city, riding bikes, eating in fabulous restaurants (many farm to table). Again, AE's recommendations and hotels selections were spot on.

We plan to return to the islands next summer for a more extended stay and will certainly reach out to AE.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The AE team tailored our 6-night trip to our passions and needs and made marvelous suggestions that allowed us to both relax and enjoy a lot of outdoor activity. AE listened and work with us to get to just the perfect itinerary, making suggestions and tweaking until we were happy. Couldn't be more happy with their services.

Rob Roy Way

By Margreet on 23 Jun 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a very nice holiday! All arrangements were excellent. The weather was okay, apart from occasional showers.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Accommodations and luggage transfers excellent.