Absolute Escapes

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 371
Reviews accepted: 371
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
349
Good
18
Average
4
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Great way to explore while someone else takes care of the details.

By Fiona on 6 Nov 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

I had an absolutely wonderful time. Knowing that Amanda and the team at Absolute Escapes had taken care of accommodation and baggage transport left me free to enjoy the walking. I was lucky to have great weather as well, especially considering it was October.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The team at Absolute Escapes were great. They were in regular contact with my before my trip, making sure I had the info I needed and keeping me up to date with progress. I highly recommend them.

Rediscovering the Border Country

By St. Cuthberts pilgrim on 25 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

I approached Absolute Escapes because I wanted to walk St Cuthberts's Way to my own agenda. From my first contact they were very pro- active and encouraging in planning an itinerary for me.
I started at St Boswell's and finished at Linisfarne, taking seven days. I was brought up in Northumberland many years ago but had forgotten how beautiful the Border country is. A lot of my time was spent admiring the views and reflecting. My mother died earlier this year so as well as being a walk, it was quite a spiritual experience for me, the fact I was walking alone allowed this luxury.
Despite being alone, I never felt lonely as everyone along the Way was very kind to me. This includes my accomadation hosts, hospitality staff at hotels and pubs, taxi drivers and people I met along the Way..
However my overriding memory will be of the magnificent countryside and the views of the Cheviots.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

From my very first email contact(from Australia) the staff were very prompt in replying and encouraging me to go ahead to the point that this is why I DID go ahead with my walk.
They understood and seemed to have an empathy for what I requested.
The itinerary they prepared proved to be perfect for me and my accomodation was suitable.
All the information given proved invaluable.

A great holiday experience!

By pima on 17 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The West Highland Way was a good warm up to walking in Scotland. We enjoyed it very much and it was easy, but it did rather have a lot of people. The Skye Trail, however, was absolutely perfect for us. We so loved the scenery and on some days, we didn’t even meet another person. A few times, finding the way was a little bit challenging, but it always worked out well in the end. Our favourite was stage 2 over the Trotternish Ridge, it was a beautiful and sunny day – just perfect! Very close after the Trotternish Ridge comes the stage through Glen Sligachan. On this day we also had perfect, sunny weather and just loved it.

We enjoyed walking in Scotland so much that we will definitely be back!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We were very happy with Absolute Escapes!

When we planned our holiday, the consultant gave us a lot of information, came on with own ideas and helped us with his experience. Emails were always replied to within 2 days and all questions were answered immediately.

During our holiday, all worked out very well and was perfectly organized. The baggage was always where it had to be, all accommodation and all pickups and transfers were booked and we found it very useful to have the evening meal suggestions provided in the information pack. The picked accommodation was very good and the hosts always very friendly and helpful.

The documentation was written with care, very detailed and contained a lot of useful information.
A few days after we returned home, Absolute Escapes contacted us to ask whether we were happy with our holiday. We were!

Exactly as I'd hoped!

By KellyS2017 on 14 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

My walking holiday through West Highland Way was wonderful. I was a solo female walker and while I'd done other walks abroad, never by myself. The baggage transfer service was great and it was a truly stress-free experience. The only thing I had to think about was walking and relaxing. The scenery was incredible and the accommodations were fair value.

There were no hiccups; everything was as good or better than expected.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes was great. I've done other walking tours with other operators in other countries. None were as quick to reply to my initial inquiry nor with follow-up communications. The info sheets provided for each day were very helpful and full of great tips. The guidebook and map were the most accurate, engaging and easy-to-follow of any of the ones I've ever used.

Absolute was great -- I would definitely recommend them and use them again. Cheers!

Hiking along Hadrian's Wall

By TessaG on 13 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

For many years I have been reading about Hadrian's Wall and was intrigued by the idea to walk across England. I was fortunate that I was able to fulfill this dream this past September. This hike was great - history, culture, nature, stunning landscapes, cities and towns, and the people - all contributed to making this a very special time. Even with time constraints, we were able to visit some of the museums which proved excellent and provided context while hiking along the Wall. We started in Newcastle upon Tyne and really enjoyed touring the city. We ended in Bowess and really enjoyed that quaint town. Everything in between was really enjoyable too. A truly wonderful vacation.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

It was a real pleasure to retain the services of Absolute Escapes. After researching numerous guide books and online sites and an initial email contact, I decided that Absolute a Escapes could provide the service and support I thought I needed to have a successful hiking adventure along Hadrian's Wall. I am so glad I chose Absolute Escapes. Right from the first email exchange with Absolute a Escapes I was impressed by their helpfulness and knowledge of the Wall. Absolute Escapes booked our accommodations and handled the transport of the luggage. Each of the accommodations was wonderful and the transport of the luggage was efficient. Their website was easy to navigate and the actual processing was easy as well. The hard copy information and supporting documentation was very good. The flawless logistics made my time along the Wall very enjoyable.

A most wonderful trip around Scotland!

By Tracy and Wally on 9 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

I just want to say THANK YOU to everyone at Absolute Escapes for our wonderful vacation to Scotland.

Jeff and I enjoyed every moment!
The train travel was efficient and easy and I thank you for providing the timetables for each leg of our journey.

All of the B&B’s, Guesthouses and Inns that we stayed had great rooms, breakfasts and hostesses.

I’m very happy that we started out in Edinburgh, as we saw a lot of the historic and “touristy” areas. But, we both loved the town of Pitlochry. It was quite a nice town to walk around, do the whisky walk to Edradour Distillery and had some good restaurants. And, the Poplars Guest House is absolutely gorgeous!

Our favorite place to visit was Portree!. Both, the Medina B&B and the area made that visit special. The harbor view is breathtaking!. We also found some great restaurants there.

I also want to mention the Taxi Driver that picked us up at Portree and brought us to Armadel (his name was Kenny), was very helpful. Because of the higher winds that day, he called ahead to make sure the ferry to Mallaig was still running. If it wasn’t, he was going to drive us to Kyle of Locklash. I hope you’ll continue using him and his service.

We’ll definitely be using your service again, as there’s more to see in Scotland.

We haven’t uploaded our photos yet, but I can certainly send you a few of our favorites when we get that done (hopefully this weekend).



Thank You

Tracy and Jeff Walters

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I just want to say THANK YOU to everyone at Absolute Escapes for our wonderful vacation to Scotland.

We truly enjoyed every moment and it feels like we were gone for a month due to all the things sights we saw and places we went.

The train travel was efficient and easy and I thank you for providing the timetables for each leg of our journey.

All of the B&B’s, Guesthouses and Inns that we stayed had great rooms, breakfasts and hostesses. They all very helpful if we needed any ideas or assistance

I’m very happy that we started out in Edinburgh, as we saw a lot of the historic and “touristy” areas. But, we both loved the town of Pitlochry. It was quite a nice town to walk around, do the whisky walk to Edradour Distillery and it had some good restaurants. And, the Poplars Guest House is absolutely gorgeous!

Our favorite place to visit was Portree!. Both, the Medina B&B and the area made that visit special. The harbor view is breathtaking!. We also found some great restaurants there.

I also want to mention the Taxi Driver that picked us up at Portree and brought us to Armadel (his name was Kenny), was very helpful. Because of the higher winds that day, he called ahead to make sure the ferry to Mallaig was still running. If it wasn’t, he was going to drive us to Kyle of Locklash. I hope you’ll continue using him and his service.

We’ll definitely be using your service again, as there’s more to see in Scotland.


Thank You

Tracy and Jeff

Awesome self guided walking holiday of the Great Glen Way- Scotland

By ART on 5 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This trip was very special to me, because I planned it as a celebration of beating breast cancer earlier this year......I was diagnosed in March 2017 and went through surgery, plus a 4 week course of daily radiation, which concluded at the beginning of August. I'm now cancer free and we chose a self guided walking holiday as a means for me to reclaim my body, energy and spirit. 7 walking days and 77 miles later through the beautiful Scottish Highlands, mission accomplished. Lovely hospitality, people, scenery and countryside.......and it only rained a little bit to boot! Amazing experience!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The planning and bookings that the crew at Absolute Escapes did for us was flawless. 10 out of 10. This was our first walking holiday ever and I was a little apprehensive that all the logistics could be pulled off perfectly, but you guys pulled it off. We found that all of the accommodations were terrific and we really appreciated all of your great suggestions on where to eat and what to see on our planned off days. The info package that you sent to our first accommodation was great.....we used it extensively. And I'll never cease to be amazed that the Loch Ness Travel Company can shuttle bags and people along the Way with 100% accuracy. George is the best!

Outstanding Independent Tour

By David and Lyn on 4 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

As independent travellers, we have never had someone organize our travel plans for us, so this was a first for us. Based on our experience, we would definitely book with Absolute Escapes again.
We started in Glasgow and travelled by train in a circle route up to Thurso and ended up in Edinburgh. Absolutely everything on our tour was planned perfectly. We wouldn't change a thing.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes did an outstanding job of planning our itinerary, making all the necessary reservations, adjusting things to meet our needs and making changes based on our specific requests. We were totally impressed with the communication we received from them every step of the way in the planning process and with the detailed package we received outlining all the arrangements.

Everything they organized for us was first rate and in most cases exceeded our expectations. We will definitely book with them again and have already recommended them to others.

Oban - Coll - Tiree - Oban

By aclJohn on 4 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Thank you, Absolute Escapes, for all you did to make this Holiday run as smoothly as it did. The places we stayed in were excellent! The choice and quality of food available was also excellent.
Thank you again for everything you did.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Wow! Difficult to put into words our wonderful experience of both Col and Tiree; we can't thank Absolute Escapes enough for the excellent places they arranged for us to stay. The information, maps and more, provided prior to the trip made everything run smoothly.
Thank you Absolute Escapes!

Imaginative itinerary and perfect accommodations!

By Rachel M. on 3 Oct 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent three weeks in Scotland with an itinerary planned by Absolute Escapes. It was exactly what we wanted! They knew that my husband was primarily interested in single malt whisky and that I wanted to see castles and learn more about Scotland's history. They started us out in Edinburgh for two days, then arranged for us to pick up a rental car. We traveled to the Isle of Arron for two nights, then to the Isle of Islay for three nights, then to Oban for one night, over to the Isle of Mull for two nights, then to the Isle of Skye for three nights, then to Wester Ross for two nights, on to Dufftown for two nights, then Pitlochry for two nights and finally to Glasgow for our last night before flying home the next morning. When reviewing this suggested itinerary with Caitlin Richmond from Absolute Escapes, I questioned her suggestion that we spend two nights in Wester Ross as I did not see any whisky distilleries or castles close by our destination there and she encouraged me to consider it as it has "some of the most beautiful scenery in Scotland". She was so right!! It was one of the highlights of our trip. I really appreciate all the time Absolute Escapes spent with us to make sure that we were going to have the Scotland trip of our dreams. It was a joy working with that professional travel agency.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous three week holiday in Scotland that was meticulously planned by Absolute Escapes. They asked just the right questions about what we wanted to see and do and then came up with a marvelous itinerary. We were never rushed and had all the time we needed at each destination to really explore and enjoy our time there. We also really enjoyed the accommodations arranged for us by Absolute Escapes. Each one was perfectly lovely! It was obvious to us that Absolute Escapes had taken the time to personally visit these B&Bs to make sure they would meet the needs of their clients. It was one of the best parts of our trip....while we hated to leave one place it was always exciting to look forward to the next charming B&B. They also provided us with everything else we needed for a hassle-free holiday, from booking all our ferry trips to providing us with maps, directions, emergency numbers, and suggested site seeing spots and restaurants. While we worked primarily with Caitlin Richmond, everyone at Absolute Escapes treated us as if we were their most important client. All our questions were answered promptly....if Caitlin was out of the office, someone else would monitor her email and fully answer our questions. I would not hesitate to recommend Absolute Escapes to anyone planning a trip to Scotland.