AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 387
Good 18
Average 4
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 409
Reviews Accepted: 409
Reviews Rejected: 0
409 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Rik, 13 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful scenery and excellent service

The ridgeway is really a very nice way to walk. We enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful scenery. Also all the accomodations where very nice and comfortable.

The ridgeway is really a very nice way to walk. We enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful scenery. Also all the accomodations where very nice and comfortable.

Rating for tour operator:

Unfortunately I had to stop because of knee-injury, but the tour operator assisted excellent in finding solution for transport etc. Also the communication before our trip was very fast and correct.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 15 Aug 2018:

Thank you very much for your comments Rik. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed walking the Ridgeway and that you found our services helpful. We do hope your knee is all better now! Please don't hesitate to contact us if you fancy another walking holiday in the UK. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Elsie, 7 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Jaw dropping scenery and fascinating historical sites.

This was a driving and discovery tour of Orkney and Shetland.

This was a driving and discovery tour of Orkney and Shetland.

Rating for tour operator:

Here are some of the comments we made to our tour operator when we got home Particularly liked - your detailed notes all bookings made in advance and hassle free you interpreted our original enquiry well and pitched the accommodation standards at the right level hotels in Lerwick and Kirkwall in good central locations Lerwick Hotel- friendly helpful staff and consistently good quality restaurant outer cabin on overnight ferry very comfortable Overall - Thank you for doing a good job arranging everything for us. We were able to relax and enjoy ourselves without the worry of finding accommodation or having to research ferry timetables and make bookings. We had a lovely holiday; we would certainly use you again and recommend you to any friends planning a similar trip.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Aug 2018:

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback Linda. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time on Shetland and Orkney and that you appreciated our help & services. If we can be of any assistance in the future in planning your next Scottish adventure, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Mathilda, 6 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best Walk ever

Home again, and it’s a lot warmer over here than on the hills of the Southern Upland Way. First of all I want to thank you for arranging this walk, it was very much after my likings. It’s nice to know AE is easy to access when you feel you need some advice or support. Thanks, for answering my e-mails so kindly and promptly.

Home again, and it’s a lot warmer over here than on the hills of the Southern Upland Way. First of all I want to thank you for arranging this walk, it was very much after my likings. It’s nice to know AE is easy to access when you feel you need some advice or support. Thanks, for answering my e-mails so kindly and promptly.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything went as planned and I enjoyed this walk so much that I wish I could walk it again tomorrow! Definitely I would choose AE again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Aug 2018:

Thank you very much for your fantastic review Yttje. Walking the Southern Upland Way is certainly a challenge, so we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much! Please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can help with any future walking holidays in the UK. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by claireg, 30 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great trip with amazing hosts!

Unfortunately I had a previous injury flare up on day 3 of the hike and we had to take a bus on day 4-5 so couldn't do that part of the hike. Although we were only able to do part of the hiking trip, we had an amazing time at each B&B that we stayed at. All of the hosts were so friendly and accommodating and we had such a great experience meeting everyone. We're very happy that we booked through Absolute Escapes and were placed at such great ...

Unfortunately I had a previous injury flare up on day 3 of the hike and we had to take a bus on day 4-5 so couldn't do that part of the hike. Although we were only able to do part of the hiking trip, we had an amazing time at each B&B that we stayed at. All of the hosts were so friendly and accommodating and we had such a great experience meeting everyone. We're very happy that we booked through Absolute Escapes and were placed at such great accommodations because we probably wouldn't have found these places on our own.

Rating for tour operator:

We were given all of the information very quickly and I was appreciative that Great Escapes was flexible when I had to change the dates of my trip.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 01 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your great review Claire! We're so glad you had a wonderful time on the Great Glen Way despite the unfortunate timing of your injury, and delighted you were able to experience some great Scottish hospitality. We wish you a speedy recovery and would love to help with any future adventures. All the best, Megan Bruce

Absolute Escapes by Hadrians Wall Path with Family, 25 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Hike

We had a great time with AE on this holiday. As always the accommodations were superb and the booking all around easy. AE sends great materials ahead of time too. Not one glitch in the booking, planning or execution of this trip.

We had a great time with AE on this holiday. As always the accommodations were superb and the booking all around easy. AE sends great materials ahead of time too. Not one glitch in the booking, planning or execution of this trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We love AE....this was our third holiday with them and we would book with them again. They handle all the details well and have helped with outside events too (e.g. tickets to the Tattoo).

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thank you very much for your lovely review Paula. We are delighted that you enjoyed your third holiday with us! Thank you for your brilliant photos too, it's great to see the sun was shining for you. If we can be of assistance with any future adventures please do not hesitate to get in touch. All the very best, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Katrin, 25 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Perfect holiday

Walking the West Highland Way was by far the highlight of my holiday. I enjoyed the 2nd and 3rd day the most as the views on Loch Lomond were spectacular. We wanted especially to thank you for the accomodation at Fort William. That was a real treat after the hike. The rooms were lovely and staff very friendly.

Walking the West Highland Way was by far the highlight of my holiday. I enjoyed the 2nd and 3rd day the most as the views on Loch Lomond were spectacular. We wanted especially to thank you for the accomodation at Fort William. That was a real treat after the hike. The rooms were lovely and staff very friendly.

Rating for tour operator:

I will definetly suggest Absolute Escapes to my friends and you will be our first choise if we ever decide to hike in Scotland again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thank you very much for your fantastic review Katrin. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the West Highland Way so much. If you do return to Scotland please get in touch and we can help plan your next adventure! All the best, Caitlin Richmond.

Absolute Escapes by West Highland Way Challenge 2018, 24 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way Adventure

Sis friends and I recently completed the West Highland Way in five days - the whole experience was fantastic - apart from several blisters! All accommodation that Absolute Escapes arranged ( a mixture of small hotels and B&B's) was nothing but 1st class - everyone was very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble, as well as an excellent Scottish breakfast each morning!

Sis friends and I recently completed the West Highland Way in five days - the whole experience was fantastic - apart from several blisters! All accommodation that Absolute Escapes arranged ( a mixture of small hotels and B&B's) was nothing but 1st class - everyone was very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble, as well as an excellent Scottish breakfast each morning!

Rating for tour operator:

During my preparation for our forthcoming trip, I came across Absolute Escapes, and Jason has been fantastic from start to finish with arranging everything and basically taking all hassle away from me, despite one member of our team having to pull out of the trip at late notice.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 25 Jul 2018:

Many thanks for your review Jon, we're glad you and your group had a great time along the West Highland Way and we were happy to assist. If we can help plan future walks, please don't hesitate to contact us. All the very best, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Mandolia, 23 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyed the Great Glen Way with Absolute Escapes

I completely enjoyed my holiday. The B&Bs I was booked in were all delightful. The owners at each place were very helpful and the houses were very comfortable. The one in Laggan Lock was a bit more of a hike off the route but it was worth it! I did enjoy the Great Glen Way, though to be honest, not quite as much as I enjoyed the Rob Roy Way. That is merely due to the busyness of the route and the pathways. I am glad, however, that I did it...

I completely enjoyed my holiday. The B&Bs I was booked in were all delightful. The owners at each place were very helpful and the houses were very comfortable. The one in Laggan Lock was a bit more of a hike off the route but it was worth it! I did enjoy the Great Glen Way, though to be honest, not quite as much as I enjoyed the Rob Roy Way. That is merely due to the busyness of the route and the pathways. I am glad, however, that I did it. I took a side trip to the Clan Cameron Museum which was interesting and came back to the GGW on the Mile Dorcha – I would definitely recommend this. I can’t recommend all the places I would encourage people to stop at along the route, but my most favourite scenic spot other than the high point above Loch Ness was the at the falls below the Old Bridge in Invermoriston. Beautiful! I took the high routes and am very glad I did. I will admit to questioning my life decisions in a couple spots but those thoughts were quickly wiped away within minutes when the views hit. I was lucky enough to have excellent weather though it was a bit warm on the last two days. The luggage transfer is an excellent feature in doing things this way. I enjoyed the scenery much more as I did not become focused on having 40 pounds on my back. I would suggest that people who stay in Spean Bridge have dinner at the Old Station Restaurant!

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes - they were extremely easy to communicate with. The entire trip was very well organized. The one little hiccup where my luggage transfer was missed was rectified in an hour. The information packets provided were very helpful. They did include a lot of information that you don't find by searching the internet. A wealth of contact information for travel, food, accommodations, etc was greatly appreciated. I love that their package included both the rucksack reader as well as a weatherproof traditional map. I communicated mostly with Pippa but everyone was very nice and helpful. Even after I was all booked and paid, they kept in contact with me. My sister and I are already working with AE to book our Arran Coastal Way trip in 2019.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 25 Jul 2018:

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback Mandie. We were thrilled to hear that you had a great time on the Great Glen Way and that you appreciated our help & services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Scotland for the Arran Coastal Way next year. Warmest regards, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Wiki, 20 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Follow your dreams

Gave myself a challenge. Walk the Skye-trail. Absolute escapes helped me fullfill this. There are a lack of B&B’s in the more remote areas on Skye. But absolute escapes arranged daily pickup and drop-off to the trail. The information pack was very informative as allways.

Gave myself a challenge. Walk the Skye-trail. Absolute escapes helped me fullfill this. There are a lack of B&B’s in the more remote areas on Skye. But absolute escapes arranged daily pickup and drop-off to the trail. The information pack was very informative as allways.

Rating for tour operator:

Allways very quickly response to questions. Very friendly.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 23 Jul 2018:

Thank you for your wonderful review Wiki. We're so glad we were able to help you and Jette with the arrangements for walking the Skye trail - a challenge if ever there was one! We look forward to hearing where your next adventure will be. Best wishes, Megan Bruce

Absolute Escapes by kultakala, 20 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Great Glen Way on my own - but never alone

I had an excellent walking holiday and enjoyed my time on the Great Glen Way very much. The weather was great and I was very lucky to get so many sunny days. Walking the Great Glen Way was a new and exciting experience for me. Although I was walking alone, I never felt alone. I met awesome people, made new friends along the way and enjoyed faboulus company. I found the distances perfect. I did the Great Glen Way in seven days, which allows ...

I had an excellent walking holiday and enjoyed my time on the Great Glen Way very much. The weather was great and I was very lucky to get so many sunny days. Walking the Great Glen Way was a new and exciting experience for me. Although I was walking alone, I never felt alone. I met awesome people, made new friends along the way and enjoyed faboulus company. I found the distances perfect. I did the Great Glen Way in seven days, which allows you not only to walk but also explore the villages and sights. I was able to take a cruise on Loch Ness in Fort Augustus and I was happy I had an extra night in Drumnadrochit, as there was enough time to visit the castle and the Loch Ness Visitor Centre. I always took the high route which was really worth the variety and the nice views. This was my first walking holiday and sure it wasn't the last. I can't wait to plan a new adventure.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes did a great service. I was very happy with all their documentation, arrangements and bookings. The provided documents and information material was great. I was happy I received a new copy of the map. I met some people along the way with maps from 2007 and although only a few things changed, it gives you a better feeling to be uptodate. I also liked to read the booklet along the way which gives you a very detailed overview what to expect. The detailed itinerary I got from Absolute Escapes was great. I was happy about their restaurant and pub recommendations. The accommodations they booked for me were perfect. Everything was so well arranged and organised, I didn't need to worry about anything.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Jul 2018:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Anja. We were thrilled to hear that you had a great time on the Great Glen Way and that you met some lovely people along the way. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Scotland for another walking adventure soon. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart