Absolute Escapes

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall company rating
4 98%
Reviews submitted: 357
Reviews accepted: 357
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
335
Good
18
Average
4
Poor
0
Terrible
0

West Highland Way & Great Glen Way Walking Holiday

By swiss hiker on 21 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

I had an unforgettable walking holiday and I thank you so much for the perfect organisation. The itinerary and the program were ideal and I could very much rely on all the information you gave me and the B&B's were great.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The service was very personal and they provided me a customized itinerary. The program was very detailed and reliable and the response time was always very prompt.

Walking the great glenn way

By Nicolas & Koen on 17 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Last week I made an album with the pictures and I wanted to go straight back!

The weather was really great and we had a wonderful holiday.
It was the first time we visited Schotland but it wont be the last!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything was in order and I can't find anything to complain about.

Wonderful walking holiday in Scotland along the Cateran Trail

By ghislain on 14 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The Cateran Trail is kind of a synthesis of the scottish inland landscapes : small villages, fields, forests, large heather expanses, moors, mountains, wildlife and welcome ...

About the walk itself we used the Loch Beanie variant despite the rain (and to avoid tarred roads), but it was a real fun to find our way in this isolated glen. It remembered to us the isolated landscapes of Northwest Sutherland where we did many walks a couple of years ago.

In the end we did not use the shorter option from Alyth to Blairgowrie via Drimmie Wood, as we wanted to pay a visit to Bamff and to meet Mr Paul Ramsay for discussions about beavers in Scotland and in Belgium. We thus walked from Alyth to Bridge of Cally (about 16 km). From there we took the Stagecoach bus 874 to reach Blairgowrie and we walked back to Glenshieling House for a quiet evening.

The weather was good as we had only one day with rain (from Spittal of Glenshee to Kirkton in Glenisla), otherwise we generally got blue or partially overcast skies. No midges !



Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything was superbly organised, and even for the longer stages we arrived at their end in perfect synchronism with the arrival of the taxi. No problem with the transfer of luggage. The map and guide were of good use.
We were very happy with the accomodations: Louise and Richard at Glenshieling House were perfect hosts and we were warmly welcomed at both the Bridge of Cally and Alyth hotels.

Scottish Tour

By Janice on 12 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a marvellous time in Scotland.
We were very pleased with the accommodation that was booked for us. All were excellent, particularly the setting in Pitlochry.
Our main expeditions to the Tattoo, Royal Yacht Britannia, Birnam Highland Games and Jacobite train were all something we have wanted to do for a long time and were looking forward to. All of them met and exceeded our expectations and along with general sightseeing, a spectacular walk in the Highlands and dining/wining, have given us many remarkable memories.
The travelling wasn't too irksome. It might have been easier if we took less luggage, we had clothing for every possibility, but in the end the weather was very good (most of the time!)
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Scotland and are sure your planning and advice made it a lot easier for us and we would have no problem recommending you.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We had a marvellous time in Scotland.
We were very pleased with the accommodation that was booked for us. All were excellent, particularly the setting in Pitlochry.
Our main expeditions to the Tattoo, Royal Yacht Britannia, Birnam Highland Games and Jacobite train were all something we have wanted to do for a long time and were looking forward to. All of them met and exceeded our expectations and along with general sightseeing, a spectacular walk in the Highlands and dining/wining, have given us many remarkable memories.
The travelling wasn't too irksome. It might have been easier if we took less luggage, we had clothing for every possibility, but in the end the weather was very good (most of the time!)
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Scotland and are sure your planning and advice made it a lot easier for us and we would have no problem recommending you.

the Great Glen walk from North to South - a great experience

By Dave on 10 Sep 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We walked from Inverness to Fort William in 6 days.
It's a very nice walk with great views and wide landscapes.
It's forth the effort.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Our tour operator was always very helpful and experienced, so that we could concentrate on the walk itself as well as the beautiful landscapes of the Highlands.

Faultless

By Mick from Loughton on 30 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The accommodation was again excellent and the distances every day were just right, taking into account stops highlighted in the info provided. Scenery perfect.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Communication from the Company was excellent. The information provided was very useful and easy to follow

Excellent walking holidays experience

By Jaasi on 18 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Great walking experience in Scotland, with awesome scenery and great food!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Perfect organisation of our walking tour, everything worked perfectly!
The B&Bs were all great, wonderful and very friendly hosts!

So much more than just a holiday, more a life recalibration.

By Galaxy on 18 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent


Scotland was amazing, better than we could have hoped. The service and hospitality of the people were incredible, as was the quality of accommodation and the kindness/welcome of all our hosts.

Stand out stays were the Manor House Hotel in Oban, Peinmore House on Skye (best breakfast ever!) and the Glenelg Inn.

Highlights – 1. The Scenery. 2. CafeFish on Mull 3. White-tailed eagles trip. 4. Sea kayaking (and seeing eagles, seals and otters!) 5. Sandaig (Gavin Maxwell.)

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Absolute Escapes itinerary and guide notes were superb. From my initial inquiry to the follow-up their service has been exemplary. All the accommodation was of the highest standard and the restaurant recommendations were excellent. Of particular note was the effort they went to in securing us accommodation in the Glenelg Inn, to enable us to visit Sandaig, where Gavin Maxwell wrote Ring of Bright Water and his ashes are buried - An extremely moving experience.

A once in a lifetime experience

By Ms K O 17 on 10 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

An achievement, time and space for inner stillness & peace while surrounded by stunning scenery, bird song, the kiss of history and the ever changing dramatics of the weather.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Staff were friendly and helpful. The service was reliable and efficient.
I made enquiries, organized and booked my holiday from Australia with no issues.

The information provided was excellent. The directions were correct and easy to follow and additional information in regards to various places and its history made the journey even more interesting.
There was also a handy list of emergency contacts details and suggest clothing to take which proved to be just the right amount.
The various B&Bs were great will obliging hosts, comfortable bed and hot showers.
My bags were picked up and delivered to my next B7B each day without issues.

John Muir Way

By Bain Family on 6 Aug 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We used Absolute Escapes to plan a 7-day self guided walking holiday along the John Muir Way. We were very pleased with their travel services. The John Muir Way was well marked, the accommodations were very nice, the breakfasts were great, our luggage was always waiting for us when arrived at the next destinations, and our pre-arranged taxi pickup was on time and at the right place! We would definitely use Absolute Escapes services again and would recommend them to other travelers.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Very thorough and dependable