AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 634
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 659
Reviews Accepted: 659
Reviews Rejected: 0
659 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by buckowens, 26 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

On the path again, finally

Superb hiking along the Hadrian's Wall :-). We had excellent weather, not too warm and no rain (due to quite strong headwinds in some areas). Wonderful landscapes, nice people on the path, very nice local beers - we enjoyed it 110%. Absolute Escapes booked the perfect accommodation for us and we liked all the guesthouses and the landlords very much the best was definitely Oakwood Park in Brampton with its huge and comfortable room and the excellent ...

Superb hiking along the Hadrian's Wall :-). We had excellent weather, not too warm and no rain (due to quite strong headwinds in some areas). Wonderful landscapes, nice people on the path, very nice local beers - we enjoyed it 110%. Absolute Escapes booked the perfect accommodation for us and we liked all the guesthouses and the landlords very much the best was definitely Oakwood Park in Brampton with its huge and comfortable room and the excellent cuisine.

Rating for tour operator:

Hadrian's Wall Path with Absolute Escapes was already booked when borders in Europe got closed in 2020, so the kind people at Absolute Escapes had all the work to cancel our booking. Unfortunately, the same happened in 2021, so we were very excitet when we finally could fly to Newcastle in May 2022. Everything was very well organized, baggage transport, transfers and the accommodation was perfect.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 May 2022:

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback Juerg. We were thrilled that, after 2 years of waiting, you could finally go ahead with your walking holiday on the Hadrian's Wall Path! Great to hear that you enjoyed the walk, and that you appreciated our help & services. If we can be of any assistance in the future please do get in touch. Very best wishes, Rebecca Meacham.

Absolute Escapes by Hannah, 24 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Scotland Road Trip

Great support from start to finish from Absolute Escapes - they have helped reschedule the holiday twice without any problems, and have always been an email away from any questions we've had. The holiday itself was brilliant - 2 nights in each of Ballater, Dufftown, Lossiemouth & Cruden Bay - all very different which made for an enjoyable holiday. All B&Bs suited our needs, and we visited all sorts of places such as Balmoral Castle, Cairngorm ...

Great support from start to finish from Absolute Escapes - they have helped reschedule the holiday twice without any problems, and have always been an email away from any questions we've had. The holiday itself was brilliant - 2 nights in each of Ballater, Dufftown, Lossiemouth & Cruden Bay - all very different which made for an enjoyable holiday. All B&Bs suited our needs, and we visited all sorts of places such as Balmoral Castle, Cairngorm Reindeer Herd, Macallan Distillery, North 58 Sea Adventures, Peterhead Prison Museum, Aberdeen Maritime Musuem & St Andrews Golf to name but a few! Restuarants that were recommended were all good too

Rating for tour operator:

see above

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 May 2022:

Thank you very much for your feedback Hannah, it is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the North East 250, and hope to be able to welcome you back to Scotland soon! Very Best wishes, Rebecca Meacham

Absolute Escapes by Physiomum , 23 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Offa’s Dyke Heaven

It really was an amazing holiday. The scenery was spectacular, we only had 3 hours of rain the whole 14 days and we met some lovely people. The B and Bs were all great but we especially liked Siobhan at Inglewood, Mary at Rest for the Tired, Lynne at Oakley, Rob and Melissa at the Chilton and the Squirrels. Ali at the Walking Hub was lovely and her granola was amazing but we probably wouldn’t have chosen to stay there as conditions were quite ...

It really was an amazing holiday. The scenery was spectacular, we only had 3 hours of rain the whole 14 days and we met some lovely people. The B and Bs were all great but we especially liked Siobhan at Inglewood, Mary at Rest for the Tired, Lynne at Oakley, Rob and Melissa at the Chilton and the Squirrels. Ali at the Walking Hub was lovely and her granola was amazing but we probably wouldn’t have chosen to stay there as conditions were quite cramped. We couldn’t get our suitcases upstairs and we were sharing a bathroom with 2 other rooms. She was very welcoming and the beds were really comfy though. I think we probably liked it more when we were staying right next to the Offa’s Dyke path but appreciate that it wasn’t always possible. In terms of a favourite day or stage, we would find it difficult to select as each day was so varied and fantastic in it’s own way. Some highlights for me were Longtown village and castle, Hergest Ridge, the Three Tuns in Hay on Wye, White Castle, the route from Trefonen to Llangollen ( as i lived there when I was training as a physio 30 years ago), the detours to Tintern Abbey and Montgomery, the Clwydian range and the Angel at Abergavenny. The least enjoyable part was the early miles of the route from Buttington Bridge as it went through large and boring fields with lots of lively cows but it may have been because that was the time it was raining heavily. All of the hosts were so friendly and helpful and there were some real characters. Every place was very clean and tidy. We were really spoiled at the Chilton with the roll top bath and boudoir style design. We were so happy with the organisation of our trip and both feel that it was one of the best holidays we’ve ever had.

Rating for tour operator:

Really friendly and informative. Loved the information pack full of lots of advice and every detail we would need. Will keep it as a souvenir

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 May 2022:

Thank you for your lovely comments, Ruth, we're delighted to hear that you were happy with our services and enjoyed your holiday and met such welcoming hosts along the Offa's Dyke Path! Please don't hesitate to get in touch again if we can be of assistance in the future. Best wishes, Charlotte Ballantyne

Absolute Escapes by EricaB, 20 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fife Coastal Path and Tailor Made Drive Tour

I booked two back-to-back trips with Absolute Escapes. I had arranged to walk the Fife Coastal Path from 24 to 30 April, then pick up a rental car and do a self-driving holiday from 1-10 May. Every detail of the trip was laid out in my travel pack and I had zero issues with any aspect of the tour. I had opted for the premium accommodations add-on during booking and the accommodations were top notch! Absolute Escapes was able to arrange everything ...

I booked two back-to-back trips with Absolute Escapes. I had arranged to walk the Fife Coastal Path from 24 to 30 April, then pick up a rental car and do a self-driving holiday from 1-10 May. Every detail of the trip was laid out in my travel pack and I had zero issues with any aspect of the tour. I had opted for the premium accommodations add-on during booking and the accommodations were top notch! Absolute Escapes was able to arrange everything I could have possibly needed. Originally, I had planned this tour for May 2021. We all know COVID destroyed many travel plans for many months. I had to rebook not once, but twice. First to September 2021, and then again to May 2022. I know it was a real headache for Absolute Escapes to book and then rebook everything. I cannot express enough how helpful the team was. They did their best to answer every question I had, even though there was not that much information to give. Once the dates were finalized and Scotland was good to travel to again, the Travel Specialists at Absolute Escapes made sure I had my travel packs mailed to me way before my holiday so that I could review all information and be comfortable with the trip. The entire team was available to answer any questions I had. I have done many similar tours over the last few years, and this was my first time booking with Absolute Escapes. I am already looking at booking another tour with them. They are by far the best and most knowledgeable tour operators in the area.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour had to be postponed a couple of times due to COVID, so I worked with a few separate Travel Specialists at Absolute Escapes. However, every single one was extremely helpful and accommodating to my many questions and concerns. Most emails were answered the same day, even though I know the team was swamped with other travelers needing to rearrange their plans as well. Daisy, Lottie, Andy, Dawn and James were all fantastic. Forgive me if I forgot anyone, as I originally inquired about this tour in 2019.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 23 May 2022:

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, Erica. It was a pleasure to arrange your holiday and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time exploring Scotland. If we can assist with any future travel plans please do not hesitate to reach out. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Vindolanda , 12 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Walk Hadrian's Wall Path

A delightful and wonderful week walking Hadrian's Wall Path with fantastic scenery and 2000 years of history at our fingertips. Our accommodation and dining was excellent our hosts went over and beyond in seeing to our every need and made us most welcome.

A delightful and wonderful week walking Hadrian's Wall Path with fantastic scenery and 2000 years of history at our fingertips. Our accommodation and dining was excellent our hosts went over and beyond in seeing to our every need and made us most welcome.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were excellent and very informative as to every detail on our holiday itinerary communications and map details their choice of our accommodation first first class / excellent I have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 13 May 2022:

Thank you for your comments, Paddy. We are delighted that you enjoyed Hadrian's Wall Path and that your hosts provided such a high standard of hospitality. Please do bear us in mind for any future walking adventures and I hope we can be of assistance. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Lincolnshires Last of the Summer Wine Group , 11 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way

A group of 4 of us booked this walk 3 years ago but due to covid have only been able to do it this year. Absolute Escapes moved it for us and held the price. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodations were excellent and to a very high standard with a warm welcome at each stop. The weather over the 8 days was superb with outstanding scenery I would recommend this company to anyone that is thinking of doing the walk. Apart from my Son ...

A group of 4 of us booked this walk 3 years ago but due to covid have only been able to do it this year. Absolute Escapes moved it for us and held the price. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodations were excellent and to a very high standard with a warm welcome at each stop. The weather over the 8 days was superb with outstanding scenery I would recommend this company to anyone that is thinking of doing the walk. Apart from my Son the rest of us are mid seventies and have not hardly done much walking in the last 2 years so don't be put off just go for it you will not regret doing it.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolutely first class. Have used other companies in the past but this one is the best one.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 May 2022:

Thank you very much for your review, David, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your West Highland Way walk - it's been a long time coming! It was a pleasure to arrange your holiday. Please feel free to get in touch if you have any future travel plans and we would be delighted to assist. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Broken ankle not spirits, 9 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Making the Best of Things

We have been working on this holiday for over 2 years. Covid postponed us several times but Andy and team were right with us every step of the way making sure we had as much information as possible and felt comfortable in our booking. We FINALLY made it and after 3 amazing days trekking through Edinburgh abs up to the Trossachs I broke my ankle. The entire team jumped to our aid to make sure our accommodations were informed, that we were able ...

We have been working on this holiday for over 2 years. Covid postponed us several times but Andy and team were right with us every step of the way making sure we had as much information as possible and felt comfortable in our booking. We FINALLY made it and after 3 amazing days trekking through Edinburgh abs up to the Trossachs I broke my ankle. The entire team jumped to our aid to make sure our accommodations were informed, that we were able to manage the rest of our trip, and checking in on me to make sure I was alright! They provided directions for us, and kept in touch often to not only make sure our accommodations were suitable, but to just check on me. This company TRULY cares about their clients, and it shows!

Rating for tour operator:

Andy was amazing from day 1. I feel like I know him because over 2 years he kept in touch, making sure we had all the right abs up to date covid information, giving us recommendations on best time to travel if we had to postpone. He really made us feel like even though we had to postpone, we were going to have a wonderful time. On our last postponement a manager jumped in to apologize and tell us the bad news, but he was so nice and again, making sure we had all the information. When I hurt myself James swooped in while Andy was on holiday to be my liaison and to check in on us. I couldn’t be more pleased with the level of professionalism and compassion that every single team member showed from day one!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 May 2022:

Thank you so much for your very kind review and comments, Stephanie. We're just so glad that you were still able to enjoy your holiday despite your ankle. After waiting so long for this trip I was delighted to hear that Scotland delivered in every way! I'm just pleased we were able to play our part in helping facilitate it. Thank you again for your kind words and please don't hesitate to let us know if you decide to return to these shores. Best wishes for a speedy recovery. Andy

Absolute Escapes by cherry, 3 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cleveland Way (partial)

We only had 4 days available due to work commitments, so Absolute Escapes adapted one of their walks (Cleveland Way) to design a bespoke 4 day walk consisting of the first 4 days, plus a little of the 5th, and taxi return. We were lucky with the weather and. the standard of the accommodation and efficiency and promptness of the luggage and taxi transfers made for a superb 4 days.

We only had 4 days available due to work commitments, so Absolute Escapes adapted one of their walks (Cleveland Way) to design a bespoke 4 day walk consisting of the first 4 days, plus a little of the 5th, and taxi return. We were lucky with the weather and. the standard of the accommodation and efficiency and promptness of the luggage and taxi transfers made for a superb 4 days.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were SO helpful. They were perfectly happy. to design a bespoke trip to match our requirements, and the information pack including a personalised itinerary, guidebook and map was very helpful. They were very quick to reply to emails beforehand, and every request/question was treated with the utmost promptness and politeness - even though I now realise one or two of them were totally pointless!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 May 2022:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, Cherry. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time on your walking holiday and enjoyed all of the arrangements. It was our pleasure to help you plan your walk, and I hope we can be of assistance with another trip in the near future! Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Tate, 28 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stunning Northumberland Coastal Path

A trip by 4 friends (in 60's) to walk 3 legs of the Northumberland Coastal Path. Starying in Craster and ending in Berwick with stopovers in Seahouses and on Lindisfarne. Also incorporated a boat trip to Inner Farne islands.

A trip by 4 friends (in 60's) to walk 3 legs of the Northumberland Coastal Path. Starying in Craster and ending in Berwick with stopovers in Seahouses and on Lindisfarne. Also incorporated a boat trip to Inner Farne islands.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was too much trouble. The organisation was first rate and evrything ran 100% smoothly. Great value for money and would not hesitate to use AE again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 28 Apr 2022:

Thank you very much for your review, Alex. We're delighted you enjoyed walking this section of the Northumberland Coast Path, and a great idea to add a trip to the Farne Islands - a perfect addition to your walk. Please do let us know if you and your friends are planning any other walking adventures and we'd be happy to help. Best wishes, Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Heather, 18 Apr 2022
Holiday Rating:

Well organized and appropriate amount of information to allow safe and comfortable walk

I went with my husband , two daughters and don in law We are healthy but not walked this much - it was a push physically for all of us but we enjoyed it immensely

I went with my husband , two daughters and don in law We are healthy but not walked this much - it was a push physically for all of us but we enjoyed it immensely

Rating for tour operator:

Answered all my questions within a day. Very kind when I needed to cancel last years walk

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 19 Apr 2022:

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the challenge of the West Highland Way, especially after having to cancel the walk last year. Please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can assist with any more walking adventures. Andy Gabe