AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 578
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 603
Reviews Accepted: 603
Reviews Rejected: 0
603 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by KB, 25 Jan 2021
Holiday Rating:

Walking the East Highland Way.

It was a 6 day walk from Fort William to Aviemore. Our travel company, Absolute Escapes, organised our accommodation and local transport where necessary. This was not an easy task given the ever changing Covid regulations.

It was a 6 day walk from Fort William to Aviemore. Our travel company, Absolute Escapes, organised our accommodation and local transport where necessary. This was not an easy task given the ever changing Covid regulations.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes performed very well given the Covid restrictions. We were contacted on a number of occasions regarding the changes being implemented by the Scottish government. The accommodation chosen for us was perfect for our walking needs.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Feb 2021:

Thank you very much for your kind comments Kevin. We are glad you enjoyed your walking holiday last autumn, despite the challenges involved due to Covid-19. I hope we can help you arrange another walking holiday in the future. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Mrs B, 5 Jan 2021
Holiday Rating:

Just as good as last year!

Holiday in Outer Hebrides September 2020 All 5 hotels/guest houses were very clean and comfortable and 'Covid aware' in a variety of different ways.. We would happily recommend all the accommodation providers but would particularly like to thank the Heathbank Hotel (lovely family-run hotel with friendly service) and Ceol na Mara (also lovely people and a lot of thought had gone into the accommodation and breakfast provided

Holiday in Outer Hebrides September 2020 All 5 hotels/guest houses were very clean and comfortable and 'Covid aware' in a variety of different ways.. We would happily recommend all the accommodation providers but would particularly like to thank the Heathbank Hotel (lovely family-run hotel with friendly service) and Ceol na Mara (also lovely people and a lot of thought had gone into the accommodation and breakfast provided

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes provided excellent service in difficult times.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Jan 2021:

Thank you for your review Julie, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time around the Hebrides. If we can help plan another adventure in the UK please just let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Wetwetwet, 11 Dec 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great escape in difficult times

I walked the hadrians wall path for the second time, this time with a friend. Also this journey in august was a great time. Organisation was perfect again by absolute escapes. They checked all the difficulties for us because no one knew if pubs or restaurants were open because of covid. Everything as just great and we were always informed very well. And actually... it rained the whole two weeks, almost every day, the whole day... we were wet, ...

I walked the hadrians wall path for the second time, this time with a friend. Also this journey in august was a great time. Organisation was perfect again by absolute escapes. They checked all the difficulties for us because no one knew if pubs or restaurants were open because of covid. Everything as just great and we were always informed very well. And actually... it rained the whole two weeks, almost every day, the whole day... we were wet, tired,... but more than happy!

Rating for tour operator:

As expected just great, all of them who organised everything

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 14 Dec 2020:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Christina - it's great to hear that you really enjoyed your walk on Hadrian's Wall Path again despite some rainy weather! Please do not hesitate to get in touch again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Fin, 13 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

The St Cuthbert's Way during Covid

The St Cuthbert’s Way under Covid - October 2020 Having travelled to Spain and Italy over the last few years for walking holidays in October, it has to be said that our St Cuthbert’s Way trip with Absolute Escapes was just as enjoyable and we are already thinking about a similar walk in the future in the UK. The time of year meant less hours of daylight so the relatively short walking distances suited us well. It also meant we did not feel ...

The St Cuthbert’s Way under Covid - October 2020 Having travelled to Spain and Italy over the last few years for walking holidays in October, it has to be said that our St Cuthbert’s Way trip with Absolute Escapes was just as enjoyable and we are already thinking about a similar walk in the future in the UK. The time of year meant less hours of daylight so the relatively short walking distances suited us well. It also meant we did not feel the need to be up and away early but had lovely relaxed breakfasts. We expected rain and indeed our waterproofs were needed on 3 of the 6 walking days but it truly didn’t matter as we just enjoyed the simple pleasure of being outside and away from it all. There was definitely something special about starting in the Borders of Scotland and ending on a little English Island. One of my favourite places ever is Iona and I loved the connection between these 2 wee islands, Lindisfarne and Iona. The walk during Covid restrictions can be summarised by saying we felt safe, really welcomed and loved the varied walking and scenery everywhere we went. The hospitality along the way was fab -good food at all stops to suit both our palates. Day 1 - Travel to Melrose The train from Edinburgh to Tweedbank is a really nice journey and we decided to walk from Tweedbank into Melrose along the Tweed as we didn’t have much baggage. The only regret was not stopping at the Tempest Brewery for a few samples. Melrose was a nice place to wander in the afternoon with its wee independent shops. In the gloaming we strolled round the cathedral and the footbridge over the Tweed that was a nice start to our holiday. Our accommodation (The Dunfermline Guest House) was really cosy and had one of the best breakfasts of the week. We ate dinner in Burt’s Hotel -in an outside, heated marquee. The food was great- best ever arancini and we had wine with our meal (a novelty at that time in Scotland!) Day 2 - Melrose to Jedburgh Highlights: Following the majestic river Tweed and the associated wildlife. A really varied day of walking in sunshine and showers. The first stretch uphill out of Melrose afforded great views over the valley even in the morning mist. The autumn colours were beautiful especially by the river. We arrived at our accommodation in pouring rain but had a warm welcome and a gorgeous, spacious room waiting for us. We were too late to get a restaurant booking (Covid restrictions in place) but our host furnished us with takeaway menus and we were invited to eat in the cozy dining room. However we ended up going to the local Coop for a picnic dinner and bottle of wine that we had in our room that felt quite romantic. Top Tip: Make time to cross the Tweed and soak up the atmosphere at Dryburgh Abby. Accommodation: Allerton House: Lovely hosts, setting and room. Fab breakfast choices (advocado and poached egg on toast for me) and really good coffee. Day 3 - Jedburgh to Morebattle Highlights: We started to head up uphill and were able to look back on our journey from the Eildon hills. My favourite photo of our trip is in this section (tree in a field) - captured the feeling of the light and landscape perfectly. Top Tip: Enjoy the views across rolling hills and farmland. Accommodation: Templehall Hotel: Hazel our hostess was really welcoming and immediately put or boots into the drying room. They were soooo cozy to put on the next morning. Our room had just been refurbished and had a great shower. We had a nice dinner in the dining room and a glass of wine and beer as a night cap in our room. Day 4 - Morebattle to Kirk Yetholm Highlights: It began to feel more remote although we enjoyed the company of inquisitive cows watching us sweat our way uphill- safely separated by a good drystone dyke! This was relatively short day so we just dawdled along- just enjoyed being. Top Tip: We were glad of our gaiters as the ground was heavy and muddy in parts. Accommodation: The Border Hotel: Warm and welcoming. We enjoyed our evening meal in the bar (no alcohol) and for the first time met other walkers. A glass of wine and wee whisky in our room served as a wee night cap. Day 5 - Kirk Yetholm to Wooler (across the border) Highlights: It felt like another world and century as we walked over the hill into England in the drizzling rain. We heard the sound of a horn and saw a pack of hounds on the far hillside hunting with two riders on horseback. Top Tip: It's all about the views -that change all the time depending on what the weather allows you to see. I love that. We got our first glimpse of the sea. Accommodation: The Old Courthouse: We had a huge and very comfortable room and bathroom. The coffee in the morning was especially good. We ate in an Italian restaurant (Milan) that had a nice buzzy atmosphere and had the novelty of wine at the table! Day 6 - Wooler to Fenwick Highlights: Aside from the walk to Lindisfarne this was probably the easiest days walking underfoot- passing lots of tidy livestock farms on the way. St Cuthbert’s Cave looks like a film set and you half expect Fred Flintstone and his family to appear. Top Tip: Stop at the rocky outcrop just past St Cuthbert’s cave for a bite to eat and soak in the views. We stayed there for ages basking in the autumn sun. You can see where you’ve been and where you are going - Lindisfarne! Accommodation: The Black Bull, Lowick. A lovely hotel that was staffed by a relatively young and enthusiastic staff. The friendly bar manager picked us up in Fenwick and returned us there the next day that was great for us. The room was perfect and we had a lovely dinner -in fact Fin’s favourite meal of the trip. Day 7 - Fenwick to The Holy Isle Highlights: The end of our journey. We didn’t walk over the sand bare foot but stuck to the road and it felt no less special. Hardier fellow walkers did follow the pole markers and found themselves up to their knees in estuary mud in some sections. It was lovely to explore the island without the crowds when the day trippers were forced to leave. Top Tip: Visit the castle on The Holy Isle but make sure you go beyond to the stony beach. At tide change the seals are fishing and watching you watching them. Accommodation:The Crown and Anchor: A perfect place to end our holiday. The staff were lovely and we had a nice room with a wee window seat looking out to the ruined Abby. The food, in my view was the best of the trip. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious and the place had a great atmosphere. Day 8 - The Holy Isle to home! Two weeks on and we both reflect that this has been a great experience that has nourished our souls and quietened the nonsense in our brains - giving us lots of good memories to help fuel us through winter.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes Excellent from start to finish. Great accommodation, great tips about where to eat and a high class experience in all ways.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Nov 2020:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Findlay and Morag. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday on St Cuthbert's Way, as well as the accommodation we booked for you. If we can be of assistance in planning future adventures, we would love to hear from you again. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by EleyM, 9 Nov 2020
Holiday Rating:

Very wet, very windy, but brilliantly organised!

I did a solo five day walk along the south west coast path at very short notice just before the end of the season.

I did a solo five day walk along the south west coast path at very short notice just before the end of the season.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were an excellent company to deal with: prompt, timely, professional, friendly and reliable. The information provided in advance, the accommodation booked, and the support along the way were all of a very high standard. Sadly, they couldn't fix the weather! I would definitely use them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Nov 2020:

Thank you very much for your kind words, Eley. It was a pleasure to assist with the planning of your trip and I am delighted that you had such a good time on the South West Coast Path (despite the rain..). I hope we can help you arrange your next walking adventure. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Jim,N Yorks, 21 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

North Coast 500

The holiday went very well. We were impressed by the rigour which all the guesthouse owners showed in complying with the Covid restrictions. We always felt very safe.

The holiday went very well. We were impressed by the rigour which all the guesthouse owners showed in complying with the Covid restrictions. We always felt very safe.

Rating for tour operator:

The booking arrangements went smoothly and communications before and during the tour were very good.The itinerary was comprehensive with very useful recommendations for places to eat and sources of additional information.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your review James, we were delighted to hear you had an excellent time on the NC500. If we can be of assistance with a future trip please let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Stewart, 20 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Well organised.

All stopovers more than adequate.

All stopovers more than adequate.

Rating for tour operator:

Responsive to queries. Extensive information available on website and in correspondence.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your review Stewart, it's much appreciated. If we can be of assistance in the future please let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Caroline HB, 14 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful week walking the West Highland Way

We flew to Glasgow and then walked the West Highland Way to Fort William over 5 days staying at different hotels each night with our luggage transported between each stop. All the hotels/B and B's were great and coped with Covid restrictions remarkably well. It was a great trip.

We flew to Glasgow and then walked the West Highland Way to Fort William over 5 days staying at different hotels each night with our luggage transported between each stop. All the hotels/B and B's were great and coped with Covid restrictions remarkably well. It was a great trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent in all respects. Communication was brilliant, organisation of the trip was faultless and price very competitive. Would highly recommend and have no hesitation to book with them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 15 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your review, Caroline, we were delighted to hear you had a great time on the West Highland Way and were pleased with all the arrangements. We appreciate your comments and if we can be of assistance in the future please do let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by epurvis, 14 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

brilliant organisation

we used absolute escapes for our recent 5 day adventure on the West Highland way. Everything worked perfectly and even when there was an accommodation issue for one of our nights due to uncertain times, we were catered for perfectly and taxis arranged to pick us up . All of our accommodation was perfect and some even outstanding (for budget). Thank you Caitlin and all the team for looking after us and would highly recommend .

we used absolute escapes for our recent 5 day adventure on the West Highland way. Everything worked perfectly and even when there was an accommodation issue for one of our nights due to uncertain times, we were catered for perfectly and taxis arranged to pick us up . All of our accommodation was perfect and some even outstanding (for budget). Thank you Caitlin and all the team for looking after us and would highly recommend .

Rating for tour operator:

Fantastic organisation and first class communication with us

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 15 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your review, Elaine, we were delighted to hear you had a great time on the West Highland Way and were pleased with all the arrangements. If we can be of assistance in the future please do let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Our holiday in Scotland, 7 Oct 2020
Holiday Rating:

Best ever adventure in West Scotland

Here is what we wrote to Jason and Andy of Absolute Escapes: "We just wanted to thank you both for all your arrangements for our Scotland adventure. Everything worked beautifully and we can truly say we had the most wonderful time. Each of the guest houses and hotels you’d booked for us was splendid, and the timing of all the ferries worked very well indeed. We particularly valued the very detailed day by day notes you so very kindly provided ...

Here is what we wrote to Jason and Andy of Absolute Escapes: "We just wanted to thank you both for all your arrangements for our Scotland adventure. Everything worked beautifully and we can truly say we had the most wonderful time. Each of the guest houses and hotels you’d booked for us was splendid, and the timing of all the ferries worked very well indeed. We particularly valued the very detailed day by day notes you so very kindly provided - they were a real boon. "It goes without saying that we’d very happily recommend your expertise to anyone in future who is thinking of traveling in Scotland."

Rating for tour operator:

They helped us plan our self-drive holiday with enormous attention to detail as to our route, the types of accommodation, the timings of ferries, things to see, places to eat. You name it, they had it covered. The result was a truly relaxing and exciting holiday that "just worked" on all levels. No need to go to New Zealand now - Scotland has it all, and more!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Oct 2020:

Thank you for your very kind review, Michael. We're delighted you and your group had an excellent time, Scotland is blessed with amazing scenery! If we can be of assistance in the future please do let us know. Best wishes, Jason Martin