AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 595
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 620
Reviews Accepted: 620
Reviews Rejected: 0
620 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Christine Jones, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

Thank you for arranging a perfect holiday for us in the Outer Hebrides. Each hotel and bed and breakfast more than met our needs and your restaurant recommendations were as varied as they were delicious. We could not quite believe how stunningly beautiful the islands were. The En-route sightseeing suggestions made the holiday a day to day adventure. It has been a delightful experience that will live long in our memories.

Thank you for arranging a perfect holiday for us in the Outer Hebrides. Each hotel and bed and breakfast more than met our needs and your restaurant recommendations were as varied as they were delicious. We could not quite believe how stunningly beautiful the islands were. The En-route sightseeing suggestions made the holiday a day to day adventure. It has been a delightful experience that will live long in our memories.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful and considerate

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your lovely review, Christine. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time exploring the Outer Hebrides and enjoyed all of the arrangements. Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Yvonne, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfect self-drive tour of Scotland

Six nights self drive holiday. Took the train to Edinburgh, collected hire car and went on to Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. Each hotel and guest house was welcoming and of a high standard. The weather was kind, the scenery was stunning and during our week in July we’re not troubled by midges ! Altogether a fantastic experience and very enjoyable holiday.

Six nights self drive holiday. Took the train to Edinburgh, collected hire car and went on to Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. Each hotel and guest house was welcoming and of a high standard. The weather was kind, the scenery was stunning and during our week in July we’re not troubled by midges ! Altogether a fantastic experience and very enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Arranged our holiday at very short notice and delivered a perfect itinerary which covered everything in detail day by day. All the accommodation was of a high standard and we felt confident that Absolute Escapes were one of the best companies we could have chosen.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, Yvonne. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time on your holiday and enjoyed all of the arrangements. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future holidays. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by FM, 22 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Highland experience

We did the 7 day West Highland Way trip and stayed in excellent accommodation in stunning locations. We chose bag transport which was seamless, and the whole trip was free of any hiccups. Would 100% recommend

We did the 7 day West Highland Way trip and stayed in excellent accommodation in stunning locations. We chose bag transport which was seamless, and the whole trip was free of any hiccups. Would 100% recommend

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes - very thorough and professional and great value for money

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 23 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely review Fay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time walking the West Highland Way and enjoyed all your accommodations. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Silver Fox, 20 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

All that we could have hoped for!

It has been a long held ambition to of my wife and I to walk the Pennine Way. Thanks to the very helpful and highly efficient staff at Absolute Escapes, we have now managed this, at the ages of 72 and 68. At a time of Covid, we put all the route planning / accommodation booking and baggage transportation in the hands of the company. As a result, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience of this potentially challenging long distance trail during ...

It has been a long held ambition to of my wife and I to walk the Pennine Way. Thanks to the very helpful and highly efficient staff at Absolute Escapes, we have now managed this, at the ages of 72 and 68. At a time of Covid, we put all the route planning / accommodation booking and baggage transportation in the hands of the company. As a result, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience of this potentially challenging long distance trail during difficult times for the holiday industry. Information in advance of setting off was clear and very helpful, the perfect preparation. When an accommodation problem arose en route, this was resolved before we were even aware of it. Almost all of the accommodation was very comfortable and entirely suited to long distance walkers.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly from first contact. Well informed and encouraging. Highly supportive at every stage of planning, organisation and walking. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we always knew we were in good hands, should any problems arise. This takes so much potential stress out of the enterprise of long distance walking.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jul 2021:

Many thanks for your review Malcolm, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the Pennine Way so much, and if we can be of any assistance with your future travel plans then please don't hesitate to get in touch. All the best, Jason Martin.

Absolute Escapes by Megan, 19 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way Walking Week

I spent 7 days walking the West Highland Way, staying in B&B's and having my luggage transferred between each of them. All was arranged by my tour operator, Absolute Escapes.

I spent 7 days walking the West Highland Way, staying in B&B's and having my luggage transferred between each of them. All was arranged by my tour operator, Absolute Escapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent - everything worked really well, from B&B accommodation and baggage services. Great recommendations for places to eat at each stop and excellent, comfortable accommodation. Really good information about the walk - including a great guide book and map. Although I knew of the Covid 19 restrictions (living in Scotland), the information provided would be really useful for those coming from other parts of the UK.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 20 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your kind comments, Megan. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday on the West Highland Way and were pleased with all of the arrangements and recommendations we made. If we can ever be of assistance in planning future adventures, we would love to hear from you again! Best wishes, Charlotte Wood

Absolute Escapes by Pathasmu, 16 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

NC500 Scotland

We have had one of the best driving holidays in Scotland. The whole itinerary was well presented and easy to follow. Apart from one B&B, which I am sure you guys are aware of, the rest of the stay in each place was excellent. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Our best stay was at Ullapool where the whole experience was wonderful. We all wished we had stayed there slightly longer. If I had to change the itinerary, it would have been ...

We have had one of the best driving holidays in Scotland. The whole itinerary was well presented and easy to follow. Apart from one B&B, which I am sure you guys are aware of, the rest of the stay in each place was excellent. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Our best stay was at Ullapool where the whole experience was wonderful. We all wished we had stayed there slightly longer. If I had to change the itinerary, it would have been couple of extra days in the Cairngorms. Our stay in Ballater was very memorable. All in all a wonderful Scottish experience made extra special due to the itinerary prepared by Absolute Escapes. We will definitely come back to Absolute Escapes for future driving holidays. From the four of us a very heartiest thank you.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and helpful throughout. We will definitely be using them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Hasmukh. It was a pleasure to assist with the arrangements for your North Coast 500 holiday and it's great to hear that you had a fantastic time. We hope that you get a chance to return to Ullapool and the Cairngorms soon. Please do get back in touch if we can be of assistance with any future travel plans! Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Biffy, 9 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful West Highland Way

A wonderful West Highland Way walking holiday on my own. I took 9 days to walk through stunning scenery, stay in lovely B&B's and meet other fellow walkers(and cyclists) clocking up the miles! Grateful for baggage transfer, a big thank you to AMS! I have blistered feet, aching legs and sunburn 😱... Oh and a million bites from the dreaded midge(the apex predator in Scotland) but hey ho, I did this trip in June. Loved every minute of it and didn't ...

A wonderful West Highland Way walking holiday on my own. I took 9 days to walk through stunning scenery, stay in lovely B&B's and meet other fellow walkers(and cyclists) clocking up the miles! Grateful for baggage transfer, a big thank you to AMS! I have blistered feet, aching legs and sunburn 😱... Oh and a million bites from the dreaded midge(the apex predator in Scotland) but hey ho, I did this trip in June. Loved every minute of it and didn't want it to end!

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent company! Friendly and approachable. They have gone above and beyond to arrange my walking holiday, especially through the current covid issues. Kept me updated, excellent information pack, excellent accommodation, excellent baggage transfer. Kept me updated through my walk of any issues that arose. Thank you!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your feedback Elizabeth, we're delighted to hear that even through the blistered feet, aching legs, sunburn, and midges you still had an excellent time! We're glad we could help in making your walk memorable, if you ever want to take to the trails again just let us know. Best regards, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by The Downhill Appreciation Society, 8 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable journey over beaches and hills.

8 people; 6 walking, 2 in car. 6 day trek from Lindesfarne to near Hexham on St Oswald's Way. Walking up to 13miles a day.

8 people; 6 walking, 2 in car. 6 day trek from Lindesfarne to near Hexham on St Oswald's Way. Walking up to 13miles a day.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes, Edinburgh. Excellent job organising accomodation in a v busy COVID period. All info provided promptly.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 15 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments John. We're delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their walk on St Oswald's Way. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Mrs Blake, 3 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

A great ‘Highland Honeymoon’ road trip around Scotland!

We had a wonderful time on our ‘Highland Honeymoon’ organised through Absolute Escapes. All the materials sent to us in advance and the information we received were very helpful. Also the professionalism of the interactions we had with the booking staff was great as well as feeling like there was a personal touch. All the accommodation arranged and booked for us was lovely but we were particularly taken with the Avalon Guest House in Inverness ...

We had a wonderful time on our ‘Highland Honeymoon’ organised through Absolute Escapes. All the materials sent to us in advance and the information we received were very helpful. Also the professionalism of the interactions we had with the booking staff was great as well as feeling like there was a personal touch. All the accommodation arranged and booked for us was lovely but we were particularly taken with the Avalon Guest House in Inverness which was particularly plush and much more than we expected for a guest house. We also had a lovely day at Dunrobin Castle near Inverness which was recommended. Skye was very beautiful but this was on the back of travelling through some of the most dramatic scenery we had ever seen in the Cairngorms and Trossachs so we were very spoilt!

Rating for tour operator:

We would certainly recommend Absolute Escapes and will be thinking about a return to Scotland again when we can!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your lovely review Katharine! We’re delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time in the Highlands and that you enjoyed your accommodation. It was an absolute pleasure to organise your honeymoon and please don't hesitate to get back in touch if we can help with any future travel plans. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Paul B, 2 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Dales Way holiday provided by Absolute Escapes

As keen walkers and cyclists, we booked The Dales Way holiday to be completed in 6 days with our friends, and were not disappointed. It was best walking holiday we have done in the UK. The walking was relatively easy, being mostly by rivers and becks, with an ever changing landscape going through small hamlets and villages. The accommodation was excellent, with a variety of mostly quality country inns and a couple of B & B’s. We hardly saw any ...

As keen walkers and cyclists, we booked The Dales Way holiday to be completed in 6 days with our friends, and were not disappointed. It was best walking holiday we have done in the UK. The walking was relatively easy, being mostly by rivers and becks, with an ever changing landscape going through small hamlets and villages. The accommodation was excellent, with a variety of mostly quality country inns and a couple of B & B’s. We hardly saw any people or cars - in fact on the short sections of road you could walk in the middle most of the time. We saw a wide variety of wildlife including several red squirrels up close, herons, birds of prey, dippers and others too numerous to mention. As we left Yorkshire and crossed the M6, the gentle pastoral landscape gave way to views of The Lake District giving a sense of achievement as we progressed to the finish. We would definitely recommend this walk to others who value great changing scenery and getting away from civilisation. This walk is achievable in 6 days by any average walker, with the majority of the route being either flat of gentle gradients.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first enquiry, Absolute Escapes proved to be quick with their response to any questions and made booking easy. When we asked about small changes, these were quickly accommodated. We have no complaints.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 05 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Paul. We're delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their walk on the Dales Way and that you so enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo