AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 419
Good 18
Average 4
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 441
Reviews Accepted: 441
Reviews Rejected: 0
441 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Eileen F., 16 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walk on the Great Glen Way

Four of us from the US traveled to the Scottish Highlands to walk the Great Glen Way in early October. The landscape was absolutely beautiful, the walking was peaceful and invigorating, and we enjoyed the trip immensely. Over seven days of walking we had two with sunshine, even the wind and rain made the trip memorable.

Four of us from the US traveled to the Scottish Highlands to walk the Great Glen Way in early October. The landscape was absolutely beautiful, the walking was peaceful and invigorating, and we enjoyed the trip immensely. Over seven days of walking we had two with sunshine, even the wind and rain made the trip memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Espaces provided excellent service in securing accommodations, walking notes/guides and transferring our luggage, and the logistics all went off without the slightest hitch. Fantastic. They were excellent communicators and as someone booking from the US, payment was easy to handle too. We loved them.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 18 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Eileen. We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time walking the Great Glen Way. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Scotland and hope that one day we can welcome you back for another walking adventure. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by West Highland Way Walking Holiday, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way Hiking Holiday

7 day trip, walking the West Highland Way..

7 day trip, walking the West Highland Way..

Rating for tour operator:

Great communication all the way through the booking process. When it appeared I might have a scheduling issue due to a family emergency, they immediately got back to me. All of the logistics of the trip performed as expected. All my luggage was in the right place at the right time for each nights accommodation. Accommodations selections were very good. Absolute Escapes provided a personalized approach to setting up my Holiday and I felt like a valued customer from the beginning to the end.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your excellent review, Larry. We were delighted to hear you had an excellent time walking the West Highland Way (and for a very worthy cause) and all the arrangements went smoothly. We aim to make all our customers feel valued and we're delighted you felt like this. If we can ever assist you in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Benjhas, 11 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A once in a lifetime experience in the highlands

We spent 6 days hiking along the Great Glen Way in Scotland. From Fort William to Inverness. Three close child hood friends celebrating our fiftieth birthdays. (We have known each other since 1975). It was our first time in Scotland and were amazed by the majestic scenery of the Lochs and Hills. It was without doubt A once in a lifetime experience in the highlands.

We spent 6 days hiking along the Great Glen Way in Scotland. From Fort William to Inverness. Three close child hood friends celebrating our fiftieth birthdays. (We have known each other since 1975). It was our first time in Scotland and were amazed by the majestic scenery of the Lochs and Hills. It was without doubt A once in a lifetime experience in the highlands.

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operator was very helpful in booking the guest houses along the way and supplying information regarding the route and transferring the baggage from one guest house to the other. As the whole trip was well planned and without any problems, I can't say much else

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your review, Benjamin, we were delighted to assist you and your friends in celebrating your joint milestones. If we can ever assist in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by Ally T., 8 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

A distillery tour in western Scotland and the Isles

3 senior Canadian women on a road trip through western Scotland. Rental car troubles day 1 and 2, but the wonderful Scottish people we met helped all along. Great unique B&Bs with lovely hosts and enormous breakfasts. Detailed instructions and suggestions for places to go and to eat. Immediate help when ferries were cancelled due to high winds. We always felt that someone was there to help out when needed.

3 senior Canadian women on a road trip through western Scotland. Rental car troubles day 1 and 2, but the wonderful Scottish people we met helped all along. Great unique B&Bs with lovely hosts and enormous breakfasts. Detailed instructions and suggestions for places to go and to eat. Immediate help when ferries were cancelled due to high winds. We always felt that someone was there to help out when needed.

Rating for tour operator:

Pre-planning went smoothly, any changes we wanted were done. During the trip there was always support.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your kind review, Ally. We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your time in Scotland and hope that one day we can welcome you all back. Best wishes, Caitlin Richmond.

Absolute Escapes by Lee, 6 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Castle to Castle Tour in Scotland

We had an amazing vacation in Scotland! Thank you! It was perfect. What a beautiful country and friendly people. The castles were great, the driving went well, the directions and suggestions regarding activities and restaurants perfect. Absolute Escapes did a great job arranging everything and there we had no problems with any of the arrangements.

We had an amazing vacation in Scotland! Thank you! It was perfect. What a beautiful country and friendly people. The castles were great, the driving went well, the directions and suggestions regarding activities and restaurants perfect. Absolute Escapes did a great job arranging everything and there we had no problems with any of the arrangements.

Rating for tour operator:

They arranged a castle to castle tour with 4-5 star accommodations in castle hotels and then a driving route through Scotland. They provided a detailed itinerary for everyday that gave us our choice of activities from hiking, sightseeing,historical sites, museums etc and provided suggestions for excellent restaurants.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Harry. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time in Scotland and were able to experience our wonderful country and the Scottish hospitality. It was a pleasure planning your trip for you. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Alan, 5 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Very satisfying

we rented a vehicle as organized by Absolute Escapes and drove nearly 1000 miles around Scotland, staying in B&B's organized by Absolute Escapes.

we rented a vehicle as organized by Absolute Escapes and drove nearly 1000 miles around Scotland, staying in B&B's organized by Absolute Escapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Megan. our contact person at Absolute Escapes, was wonderful. She answered all of our questions plesantly and efficiently and gave good advice that helped immensely with the planning. I would recommend her services to anyone going to Scotland or the UK.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 05 Oct 2018:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review Alan. It was an absolute pleasure to assist you with the planning of your holiday to Scotland, and we're glad you enjoyed your time here. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if we can be of any assistance in the future - we'd love to hear from you again. With best wishes, Megan Bruce.

Absolute Escapes by NancyK , 4 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Walking the entire Pembrokeshire Coast Path

186 + miles of pure walking bliss from Amroth to St Dogmaels. Even a few days of bad weather could not dampen our enjoyment of this wonderful place.

186 + miles of pure walking bliss from Amroth to St Dogmaels. Even a few days of bad weather could not dampen our enjoyment of this wonderful place.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our third walking trip booked with Absolute Escapes. The accommodations were outstanding as well as the luggage transfers and information pack. The communication with this company is always very prompt and friendly.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Oct 2018:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Nancy. We were very pleased to hear that you had such a great time walking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path and we really enjoyed browsing through your wonderful photos and videos. It was a pleasure to organise your third Absolute Escapes walking holiday and we look forward to hearing from you regarding your next walking adventure. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Tony R, 4 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking in Northern Ireland

More than 70 miles of walking in six days plus a trip to Rathlin Island. The Moyle Way and the Causeway Coast Way are relatively easy-walking for the average experienced walker and are well-signposted. Of course, the highlights are the Giant's Causeway World Heritage Site and the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge

More than 70 miles of walking in six days plus a trip to Rathlin Island. The Moyle Way and the Causeway Coast Way are relatively easy-walking for the average experienced walker and are well-signposted. Of course, the highlights are the Giant's Causeway World Heritage Site and the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes provided a first class service from beginning to end - a truly personal service! All the accommodations they selected were excellent and the itinerary, guidebook and maps were perfect.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your kind words Tony. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time walking in beautiful Northern Ireland, and we're so pleased to have been able to assist in organising your holiday. Please do get in touch if we can be of any help in the future. Best wishes, Megan Bruce.

Absolute Escapes by Kiki, 4 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Comfortabel adventurous holiday

As I wrote, our holiday was really fantastic. Everything went well. The places were we stayed were great, clean and with very friendly and helpful hosts . It was also find to see, at the end of the day, that your luggage was already waiting for you. We are so enthousiastic about this kind of holiday and the way it was organised, that we intent to do another walk next year (probably in Scotland - I already had a look at your offers and started ...

As I wrote, our holiday was really fantastic. Everything went well. The places were we stayed were great, clean and with very friendly and helpful hosts . It was also find to see, at the end of the day, that your luggage was already waiting for you. We are so enthousiastic about this kind of holiday and the way it was organised, that we intent to do another walk next year (probably in Scotland - I already had a look at your offers and started dreaming…).

Rating for tour operator:

Every contact went smoothly. Our special requests were met. The quality of the information we received before starting was very high (detailed information about the places where we were going to stay, what to see, where to eat).

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 04 Oct 2018:

Thank you very much for your lovely review Christiane. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience walking the Hadrian's Wall Path and that you are already dreaming of your next walking adventure. We look forward to being in touch with you again soon. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by jafa, 2 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Scotland's Northern and Western Isles

I travelled by car to Shetland, Orkney and the Western Isles over a period of 5 weeks, staying mostly in B&Bs selected by Absolute Escapes who also arranged the car hire (Edinburgh and back to Edinburgh) and all ferries. I generally spent 3 days in most locations, visiting historical sites, points of general interest and some excellent folk museums telling the story of the local history. The whole trip went extremely well, due in no small way ...

I travelled by car to Shetland, Orkney and the Western Isles over a period of 5 weeks, staying mostly in B&Bs selected by Absolute Escapes who also arranged the car hire (Edinburgh and back to Edinburgh) and all ferries. I generally spent 3 days in most locations, visiting historical sites, points of general interest and some excellent folk museums telling the story of the local history. The whole trip went extremely well, due in no small way to careful planning and great selections by Katia at Absolute Escapes. I appreciated the range of accommodation types that was booked for me and each one worked very well. The sightseeing list provided was very helpful. There were some great hosts who made me feel welcome and provided local information and advice. All accommodation was excellent and facilities all worked well. Every location I visited I found everything I had hoped for and more. There were the usual Scottish rain showers and a couple of windy days but they did not impede my holiday. My favourite place would be between Orkney, Lewis and the Scottish North Coast. There was no part of my holiday that I would have by-passed. There was remarkable variety and each location had its distinctive character. On Orkney, I found the Neolithic sites very interesting, especially when viewed alongside the Ness of Brodgar where archaeological research is in its comparatively early phase with plenty of material still to interpret. It was great to see the Old Man of Hoy from the ferry. The diversity of Orkney was interesting, from the jewellery, the Churchill Barriers on Scapa Flow and the Italian Church, Highland Park distillery to St Magnus Cathedral. Isle of Lewis also had great diversity, from the Neolithic to the blackhouses and an insight of how people lived in comparatively recent times, the Stephenson lighthouse on the Butt of Lewis and the neighbouring beaches and harbour at the Ness of Lewis. Great Bernera had its iron-age house and the folk museum as well as fine beaches. There were some great folk museums providing an insight into the various struggles and challenges in various parts of Scotland. For me, the stand-outs were Strathnaver Museum at Bettyhill, Lochmaddy, Great Bernera, Kildonan on South Uist and Seallam on the west coast of the Isle of Harris. Culloden is very well presented now with the new interpretive Centre. I first saw Culloden in January 1978 when there were only the clan grave headstones poking up through the snow. The issues involved with the Jacobite Uprising were many and complex yet the Centre presents both the Jacobite and Government positions very clearly. Some clans joined the uprising to support displeasure with Westminster. Has much changed? Scotland’s people certainly endured great hardships imposed upon them following the Uprising. The Battle of Bannockburn presentation is extremely well presented with computer technology, explaining the events leading up to 1314 as well as the tactics in the battle itself. It was certainly an important chapter in Scotland’s history and development.

Rating for tour operator:

Nothing was any trouble as we built the holiday with a series of emails, based initially on selected parts of their pro forma trips on the website. The selection of accommodation was excellent with a variety of experiences with differing types of accommodation. The 90-page itinerary with details of accommodation address, website, postcode and directions to the property meant stress-free driving. The itinerary also included suggestions for dinner and points of interest on each island. Katia was excellent to work with, providing practical suggestions to ensure that my objectives were met.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 02 Oct 2018:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments John. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed exploring Scotland and made the most of your 5-week trip. It was a pleasure to help you customise your itinerary and please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can be of any assistance with a future adventure in the UK. With warmest regards, Katia Fernandez Mayo