AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 684
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 709
Reviews Accepted: 709
Reviews Rejected: 0
709 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by JP, 28 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Coastal walk around the isle of Arran

The Isle of Arran is an ideal place for an experienced hiker. We did the coastal walk over six days and included the Goatfell mountain. There was amazing views, a complete diversity of terrains (too many boulders 😊) good accommodation, good food and drink, and we was lucky to have good weather. There was plenty of wildlife from pods of dolphins on the ferry over to seals sunning themselves on the rocks.

The Isle of Arran is an ideal place for an experienced hiker. We did the coastal walk over six days and included the Goatfell mountain. There was amazing views, a complete diversity of terrains (too many boulders 😊) good accommodation, good food and drink, and we was lucky to have good weather. There was plenty of wildlife from pods of dolphins on the ferry over to seals sunning themselves on the rocks.

Rating for tour operator:

These are our go to operator for walking holidays. We have used them since 2015 and have never had an issue with any of the holidays we have booked with them. We have given them a few booking challenges in the past because we are usually a male group of between five and eight but they have met our requirements and needs with no trouble. Their planning and logistical handling have been faultless. We will be using them again next year.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 29 Nov 2022:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Jason. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time in Arran this year and that our arrangements worked well. We look forward to assisting with your group's walking holiday next year! Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by miloca1983, 21 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

First of many holidays to scotland

Planned a vacation to Scotland about 3 years ago but then covid hit. This year we were finally able to make it, The accommodations and the planning by the staff were amazing, did not had to do anything but just show up and enjoy the vacations worry-free!

Planned a vacation to Scotland about 3 years ago but then covid hit. This year we were finally able to make it, The accommodations and the planning by the staff were amazing, did not had to do anything but just show up and enjoy the vacations worry-free!

Rating for tour operator:

Honestly i just goggled Scotland tours and Absolute escapes was the one that seems most appealing to us due to the fact that we can be in our own, not be a part of a group. And since they set us up with accommodations and rental vehicle, it was an easy choice. Also the very fact that they helped us out when we had to push our vacations thanks to the covid pandemic and not charge any extra fees was wonderful!. I'm already on the planning stages for the next holiday vacation and this time with more people!.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 Oct 2022:

Thank you for your kind comments, Camilo. After such a long wait for this trip, we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time! It was our pleasure to assist with the arrangements for your holiday and we'll be looking forward to helping you plan your next trip to Speyside. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Mr N C 22, 14 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A real adventure

The weather was extremely varied as we’d anticipated with sunshine one minute and rain the next. The wind never stopped though! Many sailings were cancelled but we luckily escaped any disruption. Of the accommodation, I’d say Heathbank on Barra edged it, but we were received warmly and looked after very well at every hotel. I can’t say a favourite location as I loved it all! We visited all the traditional places like the beaches and ...

The weather was extremely varied as we’d anticipated with sunshine one minute and rain the next. The wind never stopped though! Many sailings were cancelled but we luckily escaped any disruption. Of the accommodation, I’d say Heathbank on Barra edged it, but we were received warmly and looked after very well at every hotel. I can’t say a favourite location as I loved it all! We visited all the traditional places like the beaches and Callanish Standing Stones - everywhere lived up to what we’d hoped for. For an insight into island life, it was hard not to beat Padula’s tiny shop in Castlebay - quite an experience!!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything worked seamlessly. They answered every query in a personal, friendly and attentive fashion. Customer service of the absolute highest calibre.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 17 Oct 2022:

Hi Nick, Many thanks for your glowing review. I am so glad you had an excellent time exploring Scotland and I am delighted everything lived up to your expectations. We look forward to hopefully planning another unforgettable holiday for you in the not-so-distant future. Best wishes, Nairne.

Absolute Escapes by A Perfect Trip for Us, 11 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

A Perfect Hike for Us.

1 Absolute Escapes arranged an 8 day, self-guided hike for us on the Rob Roy trail including one rest day and no daily hikes longer than 12 miles. This required some adjustment from their standard Rob Roy Way hike. We loved our hike! We stayed in charming villages in comfortable and pretty inns. Our luggage was transported perfectly. The directions we received were great. Their recommendations for dinners that we reserved ourselves were ideal...

1 Absolute Escapes arranged an 8 day, self-guided hike for us on the Rob Roy trail including one rest day and no daily hikes longer than 12 miles. This required some adjustment from their standard Rob Roy Way hike. We loved our hike! We stayed in charming villages in comfortable and pretty inns. Our luggage was transported perfectly. The directions we received were great. Their recommendations for dinners that we reserved ourselves were ideal. A perfect trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes helped us select the right hike for us. We wanted a hike in Scotland that offered no days longer than 12 miles and allowed us to stay in charming villages nightly. The decision to hike the Rob Roy Way was perfect for us, After our hike they followed up with us to make sure we had a good experience even remembering that 2 of our party contracted COVID before the hike started and had to miss 2 days. We have taken many self-guided hikes through many companies in the UK, Japan, and Italy, and Absolute Escapes was one of the best. Many thanks!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 Oct 2022:

Thank you for your lovely feedback, Carolyn. It was a pleasure to work with you on your ideal itinerary and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the Rob Roy Way. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do get in touch.
Best wishes - Shivani and the team at Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes by Yulia, 11 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Natural charms of the Highlands

While the scenery was breathtaking and the history captivating, it was the warmth of the Scotts that was most memorable about our time there.

While the scenery was breathtaking and the history captivating, it was the warmth of the Scotts that was most memorable about our time there.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive and knowledgeable about the what we can expect, and advised us accordingly. Selection of guest houses were great too.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 Oct 2022:

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback Yulia, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Scotland. Haste ye back! Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Pip, 9 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Peaty (whisky), hairy (coos), bonnie (weather), fantastic (holiday)

Seven wonderful days exploring Isles of Arran and Islay, Oban and the Isles of Mull and Iona. Not nearly enough time to do justice to these beautiful places. We got to see wild life: seals, deer, highland cows, unfortunately no otters. We have become whisky lovers, especially the peaty Islay malts. The accommodation at the Hotel Douglas, Glenedgedale House and Manor House Hotel was 5 star. We couldn't get enough of the fantastic seafood, all ...

Seven wonderful days exploring Isles of Arran and Islay, Oban and the Isles of Mull and Iona. Not nearly enough time to do justice to these beautiful places. We got to see wild life: seals, deer, highland cows, unfortunately no otters. We have become whisky lovers, especially the peaty Islay malts. The accommodation at the Hotel Douglas, Glenedgedale House and Manor House Hotel was 5 star. We couldn't get enough of the fantastic seafood, all so fresh, just off the trawler. It was a self drive holiday with prebooked ferry transfers between island. Everything was seemless which made for a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Charlotte from Absolute Escapes was so helpful. She was able to organise car hire prior to our Scotland trip to make a small detour to visit family. All queries were answered promptly. Accommodation provided was excellent. The notes provided were a great reference for sight seeing, restaurant suggestions and activities. Pickup and drop off, of hire car was super easy. Inter-island ferries were all booked with sailing times. All of which made it a relaxing and one of the best holidays we've had. We even got an email warning us about potential travel interruptions because of the Queens funeral. Absolute Escapes were brilliant!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Oct 2022:

Hi Philippa. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday to the Scottish Islands! We agree that holidays to Scotland never seem quite long enough. I'm glad to hear you have discovered a love for whisky, especially the peaty Islay ones. I'm thrilled that all of your arrangements went to plan. If we can ever be of service in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. It's been great working with you. All the best, Laura (Travel Specialist)

Absolute Escapes by Scotland Highlands !!!!, 8 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

e Seamless , Smooth and Memorable arranged by Absolute Escapes

We had a self drive Holiday in Scotland, the schedule and the stops and the stays were chosen by Absolute Escapes, it was very well chosen just what we wanted and so many choices and places to see along the way. We had a fantastic drive, the routes were so scenic and beautiful , we have wonderful memories with us and cannot be captured on camera. The stays organised by Absolute Escapes were rustic and beautiful, no complaints whatsoever ...

We had a self drive Holiday in Scotland, the schedule and the stops and the stays were chosen by Absolute Escapes, it was very well chosen just what we wanted and so many choices and places to see along the way. We had a fantastic drive, the routes were so scenic and beautiful , we have wonderful memories with us and cannot be captured on camera. The stays organised by Absolute Escapes were rustic and beautiful, no complaints whatsoever there, we loved every place we stayed be it Edinburgh, Oban, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Pitlochry.

Rating for tour operator:

Right from the start Absolute Escapes were very helpful with the smallest of my queries, being half way around the world and I had no clue about them, they were very patient with me, drew up a schedule, redrafted the schedules and came to an understand what we want to do and hence we moved on from there, even during the trip they guided us with an option /advise which we took and were not disappointed, they were helpful throughout our trip. The stays organised by Absolute Escapes were rustic and beautiful, no complaints whatsoever there, we loved every place we stayed be it Edinburgh, Oban, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Pitlochry.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 Oct 2022:

Thank you for your kind review, Mukarram. It was a pleasure to assist with your holiday from the planning stages through to support during your trip, and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Scottish adventure. If we can help with any future holidays please do not hesitate to get in touch and we would be delighted to assist. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Lizzabizz, 30 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

An Amazing Self Drive Trip through Scotland and the Outer Hebrides

We have just returned from a wonderful 25 day self drive trip through Scotland- Glasgow, Inverness, the Whiskey Trail, Glencoe, Oban, the ferry to Isle of Barra, north through the Hebrides, back by ferry from Stornoway to Ullapool, the Highlands, Loch Ness and back to Inverness to return our rental car. We had 2 nights in each stop so lots of time to explore the area and see the sights. The Guest Houses that Absolute Escapes chose for us were ...

We have just returned from a wonderful 25 day self drive trip through Scotland- Glasgow, Inverness, the Whiskey Trail, Glencoe, Oban, the ferry to Isle of Barra, north through the Hebrides, back by ferry from Stornoway to Ullapool, the Highlands, Loch Ness and back to Inverness to return our rental car. We had 2 nights in each stop so lots of time to explore the area and see the sights. The Guest Houses that Absolute Escapes chose for us were all superb. The service offered by the hosts were amazing - they. made us feel comfortable and welcome. We followed the itinerary that Absolute Escapes planned for us and took many of their suggestions as to what to see in the area.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our second time as clients of Absolute Escapes - the first was 4 years ago to travel the North Coast 500. We were so impressed with their service that we decided to use them again to celebrate our honeymoon in 2020 - COVID shut down our travel plans for 2 years but Absolute Escapes totally understood and even guaranteed our original cost 2 years later. We appreciated them for that. They are very quick to respond to e-mails and very efficient in their planning. Our itinerary was mailed to us and landed on our doorstep in Canada in lots of time. Each person that we dealt with was knowledgeable and helpful - We have already recommended them to 2 different people who are interested in travelling to Scotland and have given them contact information for Absolute Escapes.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 05 Oct 2022:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Elizabeth. We're so happy to hear that you had such a great holiday, and it sounds like you packed your days full of adventure. It was a pleasure planning your holiday with you. Hopefully, we can welcome you back to Scotland again one day! Best wishes, Zoe Kirkbride

Absolute Escapes by Di, 27 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

History came alive. We loved the lack of tourists and the fact we had to work hard to find the sites.

The Orkneys and outer Hebrides were our focus and we weren’t disappointed, especially having read Peter Mays trilogy about Lewis, Harris and the other islands. So many things he talked about were right there for us to find.

The Orkneys and outer Hebrides were our focus and we weren’t disappointed, especially having read Peter Mays trilogy about Lewis, Harris and the other islands. So many things he talked about were right there for us to find.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes put our self guided tour together. They managed to get us a car at a reasonable price even though we are all over 80. We drove 2250 kms (1500 miles) and had no problems. Because of Covid we had to make a lot of adjustments, mainly cancelling 2 years in a row and they accommodated us with no problems. I would recommend them to anyone wanting to see Scotland.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Sep 2022:

Thank you for your lovely feedback, Diane. The Islands are such a wonderful part of the country, and so we are delighted to hear that you and your group were able to spend some quality time exploring them! It was an absolute pleasure to plan and put together your holiday and if we can be of any assistance in the future, please do get in touch. Best wishes, Shivani Marek

Absolute Escapes by Pete.A, 26 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Brilliantly rewarding holiday

My wife and myself have just completed the Great Glen Way, Absolute Escapes so brilliantly organised for us! Everything went like clockwork, the baggage movement and transport was smooth and efficient. Our accommodation was very high standard too and everyone was so helpful and friendly! Thank you all at Absolute Escapes for an outstanding job. We are considering the Coast to Coast next year and we will certainly be using you guys again!

My wife and myself have just completed the Great Glen Way, Absolute Escapes so brilliantly organised for us! Everything went like clockwork, the baggage movement and transport was smooth and efficient. Our accommodation was very high standard too and everyone was so helpful and friendly! Thank you all at Absolute Escapes for an outstanding job. We are considering the Coast to Coast next year and we will certainly be using you guys again!

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were excellent. Good communication and very helpful.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Sep 2022:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, Peter. We are delighted to hear that everything went smoothly and that you had such an enjoyable time walking the Great Glen Way. We would be delighted to assist with your next holiday too, so please don't hesitate to get in touch again anytime. Best wishes, Charlotte Ballantyne