AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 737
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 762
Reviews Accepted: 762
Reviews Rejected: 0
762 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Zara1213, 8 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Amazing planning and organization

We loved the proposed itinerary. The accommodation choices were diverse and superb. The choice of accommodation locations was absolutely ideal, quiet areas, but within walking distance of the main activities. The personalised itinerary which details each day of our holiday, including your accommodation was perfect. Nothing more to add to this itinerary. It was perfect!

We loved the proposed itinerary. The accommodation choices were diverse and superb. The choice of accommodation locations was absolutely ideal, quiet areas, but within walking distance of the main activities. The personalised itinerary which details each day of our holiday, including your accommodation was perfect. Nothing more to add to this itinerary. It was perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Ella was always there to answer our questions and make sure everything was okay. I thank her for emailing us 2 days after we arrived on our trip to make sure we were okay.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 17 Jun 2024:

Thank you so much for such lovely comments, Lyne! I absolutely loved helping you to plan your first, and hopefully not last, trip to Scotland. I am glad I was able to help you explore not only your must-see destinations but also some of the beautiful sights off the beaten track. If you do want to visit the United Kingdom again, please don't hesitate to get back in touch, we would love to assist with any future travel plans. Best Wishes, Ella Gordon.

Absolute Escapes by Carol, 7 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful walking holiday in Yorkshire Dales

My husband and I walked the Herriot Way. My husband is a vet who, as a young boy, was inspired by James Herriot. We had a wonderful week walking in the Dales. Beautiful scenery, beautiful villages and excellent food at every stop we made. The walk was manageable for us and I would highly recommend it for people who are new to walking holidays.

My husband and I walked the Herriot Way. My husband is a vet who, as a young boy, was inspired by James Herriot. We had a wonderful week walking in the Dales. Beautiful scenery, beautiful villages and excellent food at every stop we made. The walk was manageable for us and I would highly recommend it for people who are new to walking holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

Erin at Absolute Escapes organised the whole thing for us: bag transfers, taxi transfer when required, accommodation at each stop. Everything ran like clockwork meaning all we had to do was walk each day and enjoy it!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Jun 2024:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, Carol! It was a pleasure to organise this walking holiday for you and I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable time exploring the area which inspired James' veterinary career! Please don't hesitate to get back in touch should you require assistance with any future travel plans! Warm wishes, Erin Meek.

Absolute Escapes by Watson30th, 5 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Scotland the Extraordinary!

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary with this very special trip of a lifetime. We opted for the self-drive option with castle stays so we could explore the glorious Scottish lands at our leisure. We landed in Edinburgh which was a fantastic start to grounding ourselves in the depth and richness of Scottish history and continued on to delightFULL Port Appin at the Airds Hotel, through the Glencoe with a stop to see the infamous Harry Potter-inspired ...

We celebrated our 30th Anniversary with this very special trip of a lifetime. We opted for the self-drive option with castle stays so we could explore the glorious Scottish lands at our leisure. We landed in Edinburgh which was a fantastic start to grounding ourselves in the depth and richness of Scottish history and continued on to delightFULL Port Appin at the Airds Hotel, through the Glencoe with a stop to see the infamous Harry Potter-inspired Jacobite Railway, onwards past Inverness to soak in the glorious sea at the marvelous Dornoch Castle Hotel with a day trip to the fairytail Dunrobin Castle and then to the stunning and elegant Fonab Castle at Pitlochry with a return to Edinburgh via the iconic St. Andrews and a warm Scottish welcome at Rufflets St. Andrews, with a short day trip to see the Firth of Forth Bridge in the quaint Queensbury.

Rating for tour operator:

Given our busy life and this being our first time in Scotland, we put our full faith in Hamish from Absolute Escapes to plan our self-drive holiday and castle stays. It was a true delight and gift to have everything planned so meticulously with all our wishes fulfilled and MORE. We are already dreaming of our next Absolute Escapes experience.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Jun 2024:

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your holiday in Scotland, Cynthia. It was a pleasure to organise this trip for your 30th anniversary and I am so glad you had such a memorable time. There are many more wonderful places to visit in Scotland and we would be delighted to assist you with any future holiday plans. Best wishes, Hamish Cameron

Absolute Escapes by PaulB, 4 Jun 2024
Holiday Rating:

Tour of the Hebrides

It has long been an ambition to tour the Hebrides further, following a holiday on Skye, a long time ago. When circumstances meant that had an opportunity to achieve our ambition presented itself, we found ourselves not really knowing how to go about getting a worthwhile trip sorted out. After a bit of research, we entrusted our Hebridean Adventure to the Team at Absolute Escapes. The service was excellent from the start, everything easy to ...

It has long been an ambition to tour the Hebrides further, following a holiday on Skye, a long time ago. When circumstances meant that had an opportunity to achieve our ambition presented itself, we found ourselves not really knowing how to go about getting a worthwhile trip sorted out. After a bit of research, we entrusted our Hebridean Adventure to the Team at Absolute Escapes. The service was excellent from the start, everything easy to arrange, even with us having some pretty exacting requirements, nothing was too much trouble. Before we knew it, we had a suggested itinerary, information about our accommodation and ferry crossings, stress free. Car packed and off we went. We thought we knew some of the areas we were going to travel to and through, but to our absolute delight we found ourselves exploring areas we had not previously ventured into from Day 1. Accommodation was top notch right through the holiday, all friendly hosts, comfortable and of course you can not forget the marvellous food. All of them gave a perfect base from which to explore further. Our only real concern before setting off was being in the right place at the right time for the ferries. We need not have worried, all we had to do was follow the detailed itinerary and we were fine. Everything going like clockwork, again pretty much stress free. Everywhere we went had something to offer, everywhere you looked there was a view, stunning mountain ranges, rolling wild moors, jagged cliffs and bright white beaches, as well as historic places, just fantastic. We probably would never have ventured as far without the help of Absolute Escapes, we can not thank them enough for an amazing trip, simply marvellous.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes were helpful, approachable and ensured that we had everything we needed. The suggestions in the information were diverse and the information was excellent. No "high pressure" selling, just friendly advice and sensible suggestions. We can't fault them.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 Jun 2024:

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, Paul! I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic experience exploring the Outer Hebrides and that you loved all the accommodations we had selected for you. It's great to hear that you found our information pack useful when ensuring you were on time for your ferry sailings too. I have had a look through the photos which you shared with us and they are absolutely beautiful. Please do not hesitate to get back in touch with us about any future adventures - we would be delighted to assist! All the best, Kate Brown.

Absolute Escapes by D. Peet, 29 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Conquering the Pennine Way - A solo walk

I wanted to challenge myself. I wanted solitude. I wanted a path that would lead to contemplation and reflection. The Pennine Way seemed the perfect fit. I knew nothing of the trail or the area prior to planning this excursion. I spent the winter studying maps, books, and blogs of other walkers. While I became familiar with the aspects of the path, nothing really prepares one for this walk (especially if you have never done distance walking ...

I wanted to challenge myself. I wanted solitude. I wanted a path that would lead to contemplation and reflection. The Pennine Way seemed the perfect fit. I knew nothing of the trail or the area prior to planning this excursion. I spent the winter studying maps, books, and blogs of other walkers. While I became familiar with the aspects of the path, nothing really prepares one for this walk (especially if you have never done distance walking in the UK). It was everything I anticipated and so much more. The logistics were all perfectly set up by my tour operator, which enabled me to concentrate on the joy of the walk, the quirks of the countryside, the beauty of spring in the Dales... and yes the rain, hail, bogs, and slabs. What a once in a lifetime experience!

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes was like the best of friends: they provided the information and support needed for my trip from the planning phase all the way to the end of the trail; they were standing by, always ready to assist, making my first UK walk (the Pennine Way) a huge success. I greatly appreciated the encouragement, the key advice and tips, and the accuracy of the information provided. I am already planning my next trip!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 30 May 2024:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, Denise. We're delighted to hear that your walk on the Pennine Way was the ideal fit and challenge for you, and that you could enjoy the walk with all the arrangements in place for you. I look forward to welcoming you back for another walking holiday (already in the works) for 2025! Best wishes, Katie Rogen

Absolute Escapes by Great white north., 28 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

What a great experience!

Four of us walked the Dingle Way from start to finish. It was a great hike going from easy to hard and everything in between. Our accommodations and breakfasts were fantastic. Again the crew at Absolute Escapes did a fantastic job of setting this up.

Four of us walked the Dingle Way from start to finish. It was a great hike going from easy to hard and everything in between. Our accommodations and breakfasts were fantastic. Again the crew at Absolute Escapes did a fantastic job of setting this up.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and was quick to respond to our questions and concerns. If we had any problems they were quickly resolved. Katia was wonderful to work with,

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 29 May 2024:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Ron. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Dingle Peninsula and that our arrangements worked well. I hope we can welcome you back for another walking holiday in the future! Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Mac, 22 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Shetlands, Orkneys, Scotland Custom itinerary

Organised to meet all our custom needs, budget, convenience.

Organised to meet all our custom needs, budget, convenience.

Rating for tour operator:

Communicated promptly, clearly, efficiently.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 May 2024:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your adventure to Scotland, Neil. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and that all the arrangements were to your satisfaction. If we can assist with your future holiday plans, please don't hesitate to get in touch! Best wishes, Rebecca Meacham

Absolute Escapes by Dean & Zack, 16 May 2024
Holiday Rating:

Rob Roy Way hike with old dad and recent college graduate son.

Third annual week-long hiking in the UK with father / son combo, this time to celebrate son's graduation form college. We chose Rob Roy Way this year based on loving the Scottish citizens that we have encountered on past trips as well as reviews of gorgeous countryside we would encounter.

Third annual week-long hiking in the UK with father / son combo, this time to celebrate son's graduation form college. We chose Rob Roy Way this year based on loving the Scottish citizens that we have encountered on past trips as well as reviews of gorgeous countryside we would encounter.

Rating for tour operator:

Kate from Absolute Escapes was great from start to finish with our planning, follow up questions, logistics, payments, etc. B&Bs in which we stayed each night were convenient, clean, and well staffed. Zero issues with daily luggage transfers. Small handbook provided by Absolute Escapes on route and surrounding history was well done and used frequently.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 17 May 2024:

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, Dean! It was a pleasure to arrange this trip to celebrate your son's college graduation. Please do not hesitate to get back in touch with us about any future trips. We would be delighted to assist! Warm wishes, Kate Brown.

Absolute Escapes by David L, 27 Mar 2024
Holiday Rating:

Timeless River Thames

Fabulous 60 mile walking week along the River Thames (East Section). Peaceful yet fascinating - loved the way the scenery and sites get bigger and better as you approach the centre of London with some truly iconic sites to photograph and remember. Even though the weather wasn't great - a bit early season - that didn't matter and I had a blast...

Fabulous 60 mile walking week along the River Thames (East Section). Peaceful yet fascinating - loved the way the scenery and sites get bigger and better as you approach the centre of London with some truly iconic sites to photograph and remember. Even though the weather wasn't great - a bit early season - that didn't matter and I had a blast...

Rating for tour operator:

This was my third walking holiday with Absolute Escapes (previously St Cuthbert's Way & Isle of Wight Coastal Path) and I love the fact that they feel like they really understand what makes multi day walking such a pleasure for some of us! Faultless website information and pre-walk preparation is the norm, flexibility and quality is built in and on the one occasion I needed to speak to somebody to check a BnB booking they were available and swiftly sorted it. Love this company - they feel like my Edinburgh "walking family".

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 28 Mar 2024:

Many thanks for your wonderful review, David. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the Thames Path and that the weather didn't put you off!

If we can be of any assistance with your future travel plans, please don't hesitate to get in touch as we would be delighted to help you again. Best wishes, Zoe Kirkbride

Absolute Escapes by James Anderson, 18 Dec 2023
Holiday Rating:

Southern Upland Way - fantastic hiking

SUW is VERY quiet - but very beautiful too. Its a solid hike - none of the days are overwhelmingly long - but each of them has something of interest to see. Only negative is that due to the low density of population the area has lost a number of B and Bs - which means there's no place to stay several nights - which means taxi transfers to and fro. Its not the end of the world - but its not as relaxing as eg the Coast to Coast where you ...

SUW is VERY quiet - but very beautiful too. Its a solid hike - none of the days are overwhelmingly long - but each of them has something of interest to see. Only negative is that due to the low density of population the area has lost a number of B and Bs - which means there's no place to stay several nights - which means taxi transfers to and fro. Its not the end of the world - but its not as relaxing as eg the Coast to Coast where you just hike point to point every day and never get in a car the whole way.

Rating for tour operator:

AE was great - arrangements were very professionally done and the team was a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely book through AE again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 19 Dec 2023:

Thank you very much for your review and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed walking the Southern Upland Way. It certainly has some beautiful scenery, and glad all of the arrangements were to your satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can assist with any more walking adventures. Andy Gabe