AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 533
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 558
Reviews Accepted: 558
Reviews Rejected: 0
558 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Colette, 9 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very enjoyable walking break on the Offa's Dyke

We had 3 days walking on the Offa's Dyke, with hotels and luggage transfer organised by Absolute Escapes. The trip was tailored made to suit our walking capacities and our preferences for the portion of the Offa's Dyke walk. It also involved taxis where needed.

We had 3 days walking on the Offa's Dyke, with hotels and luggage transfer organised by Absolute Escapes. The trip was tailored made to suit our walking capacities and our preferences for the portion of the Offa's Dyke walk. It also involved taxis where needed.

Rating for tour operator:

The agent really listened to our needs and made very good suggestions. After a couple of email exchanges to tweak the proposition we agreed on a route which was ideal for our purpose. Everything went according to plans and we were very pleased with the organisation.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Marie. We're delighted you enjoyed your wee adventure on the Offa's Dyke Path and that Katia was able to assist you in making arrangements that suited your requirements. We hope to be able to welcome you back for another walking adventure in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Kit, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous visit to Scotland ... rain and shine!

We had a wonderful visit we had in Scotland. The route was so interesting, the scenery was gorgeous, the inns and innkeepers most charming, and the driving not too difficult. The weather could have been sunnier, but we made the most of the clear skies for hikes, gardens and explorations outside, with museums, churches, the Hop On bus tour of Edinburgh, and good meals saved for the rainy periods. And all thanks to your planning and recommendations...

We had a wonderful visit we had in Scotland. The route was so interesting, the scenery was gorgeous, the inns and innkeepers most charming, and the driving not too difficult. The weather could have been sunnier, but we made the most of the clear skies for hikes, gardens and explorations outside, with museums, churches, the Hop On bus tour of Edinburgh, and good meals saved for the rainy periods. And all thanks to your planning and recommendations. We think Absolute Escapes is a fine trip planner, and it was a pleasure working with Fern in their office. Thank you!

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes arranged a tour according to some input from us about places we wanted to visit in Scotland. We worked with Fern to fine-tune the itinerary route and length of stay at each place. Since I was interested in gardens Fern pointed out some along the route that I should see. She also recommended other points of interest, including restaurant suggestions, and arranged for an extra night in Ediburgh. The tour was personalized for us and just what we hoped for and more.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Kit. I'm so pleased to hear that you had such a great time in Scotland. It was a pleasure planning your holiday with you and we hope to welcome you back to Scotland one day soon. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Rick, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Glen Way Walking Holiday

Dear Caitlin, We had a wonderful vacation in Scotland, all was perfect: the information kit, the transport of our luggage, the B&Bs, especially the hosts who were very pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed our trek and we even consider repeating the experience in Ireland next year. Thank you so much! Denise & Richard Falcon

Dear Caitlin, We had a wonderful vacation in Scotland, all was perfect: the information kit, the transport of our luggage, the B&Bs, especially the hosts who were very pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed our trek and we even consider repeating the experience in Ireland next year. Thank you so much! Denise & Richard Falcon

Rating for tour operator:

Dear Caitlin, We had a wonderful vacation in Scotland, all was perfect: the information kit, the transport of our luggage, the B&Bs, especially the hosts who were very pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed our trek and we even consider repeating the experience in Ireland next year. Thank you so much! Denise & Richard Falcon

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your kind comments, Denise and Richard. It's wonderful to know that you had such a good time on holiday, and it was our pleasure to assist with your arrangements. We'd be delighted to welcome you back to Ireland next year and look forward to hearing from you again. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Big John, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Absolute Escapes...Friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and good value - all leadng to a marvellous holiday!

My wife and I recently returned from a really well organised ten day Island Odyssey Holiday in Scotland. Absolute Escape staff proved invariably friendly, helpful and professional: they provided us with a thick folder of tailor-made information, advice, maps, notes, routes and details of accommodation and ferries en route. Fern Urquart was our initial contact and mainstay: she ensured that we visited the islands we wanted (Arran, Islay, Mull ...

My wife and I recently returned from a really well organised ten day Island Odyssey Holiday in Scotland. Absolute Escape staff proved invariably friendly, helpful and professional: they provided us with a thick folder of tailor-made information, advice, maps, notes, routes and details of accommodation and ferries en route. Fern Urquart was our initial contact and mainstay: she ensured that we visited the islands we wanted (Arran, Islay, Mull and Skye) at a pace that suited our driving with great views and suggested stop offs and with all our accommodation & ferries efficiently pre-booked and paid for in advance as part of the £760 pp deal. The comprehensive itinerary notes & suggestions allowed us to deviate and stop along the route as we wanted - always travelling towards one of the seven booked ferries or B&Bs along our way. This independence allowed us to drive a total of 1800 miles from start to finish at a pace that suited us, meet lovely B&B owners, eat in a variety of cafes and restaurants, photograph some lovely sites and things, and also enjoy three days at the end at the Edinburg Fringe to end a memorable and midge-free holiday. Money well spent with a caring firm that I have no hesitation in recommending.

Rating for tour operator:

Approachable, caring, friendly, helpful and professional.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Oct 2019:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, John. We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time during your holiday to Scotland and managed to cover a total of 1800 miles! We're pleased to hear you were able to experience the magic of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival too, certainly one of the best experiences Scotland has to offer! Please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to return to Scotland one day soon. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Magical Scotland, 6 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Scotland

Thom and Rosemary, Canada We had a absolutely amazing 2 1/2 week driving vacation in Scotland thanks to Absolue Escapes. Stunning scenery, warm and welcoming people, fabulous historical locations, great pubs and restaurants. The itinerary and iinformation package Absolute Escapes provided us was very detailed with suggested routes (actually highlighted on the map they provided); directions to the various accomodations they booked us in; things ...

Thom and Rosemary, Canada We had a absolutely amazing 2 1/2 week driving vacation in Scotland thanks to Absolue Escapes. Stunning scenery, warm and welcoming people, fabulous historical locations, great pubs and restaurants. The itinerary and iinformation package Absolute Escapes provided us was very detailed with suggested routes (actually highlighted on the map they provided); directions to the various accomodations they booked us in; things to see and do along the way and at our various destinations; even places to eat. Our accomodations were nothing short of excellent in cleanliness, comfort, location and hospitality. Not to mention all the breakfast which were delicious and hearty. What more could one ask for? The food? Well, from "the best fish and chips anywhere" to Michilin Restaurants, and everything in between, the food was nothing short of delicious! The hardest decision to make after dinner was "which Scotch Whisky to have a wee dram or two off". The selection is almost endless! We went in late September, typically a more rainy time but the weather was actually very good. It only rained for one day and scattered showers a few other times. The weather never stopped us from doing anything. Thank You Absolute Escapes for a magical Scottish adventure!

Rating for tour operator:

Thom and Rosemary, Canada From the first contact we made with Absolute Escapes, through the planning and finalizing of our custom vacation, they were absolutely amazing to work with. The information package and itinerary they provided us was very detailed with suggested routes; directions to the various accomodations they booked us in; things to see and do along the way and at our destinations; even places to eat. The accomodations they booked us in were fabulous (spotlessly clean, very comfortable and great locations - I understand they regularily check personally all the establishments they book clients into). Pippa, our agent, always made us feel like we were her most important client! No question was a bad question, no request was to difficult to handle and we never felt like we were taking up her time. She was a dream to work with, and the same can be said about the other team members we had contact with at Absolute! We have never had this level of service and dedication to client satisfaction as we received from Absolute! Without a question we would absolutely use them again and heartily recommend Absolute Escapes to friends and family. Thank You Pippa and Absolute for a memorable Scotish vacation!!!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Oct 2019:

Thank you ever so much for your wonderful feedback Rosemary & Thom. We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your time in the UK and were happy with our services, it was a delight to assist you with your arrangements. It's great that you were able to experience proper Scottish weather, but still able to see everything you wanted to! We're so happy you found Scotland to be magical and hope we can welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Geology Bob , 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Scotland including Edinburgh and the Highlands

We were in Scotland for about 11 days with a booked tour for 7 of those days including two of the 7 days in Edinburgh and the other 5 on a Rabbies 12 passenger bus visiting the Highlands. The rest of our visit to Scotland we organized ourselves including two days spent in Dunbar (a John Muir pilgrimage) and the rest of the time in Edinburgh. We stayed in B&Bs for our full stay and found all of them very clean and modern with the owners providing ...

We were in Scotland for about 11 days with a booked tour for 7 of those days including two of the 7 days in Edinburgh and the other 5 on a Rabbies 12 passenger bus visiting the Highlands. The rest of our visit to Scotland we organized ourselves including two days spent in Dunbar (a John Muir pilgrimage) and the rest of the time in Edinburgh. We stayed in B&Bs for our full stay and found all of them very clean and modern with the owners providing excellent breakfasts and being very accommodating, cheerful and helpful in storing our luggage while we were away, calling cabs, giving good tips on eating places and instructions on how to get to attractions. The tour of the Highlands was wonderful (we had non-Scottish weather all days but 1) with a good mix of driving and stops, great scenery and the driver being very informed and entertaining. We learned a great deal about the geology of the Highlands on the tour as well as seeing the obligatory castles. We enjoyed hearing about Scottish history. We found that four days in Edinburgh was just right to see the old section of the city.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes was excellent to work with and did a great job in setting up our two days in Edinburgh and 5 days touring the Highlands with Rabbies. We worked with 3 different people at AE and all were very professional while also providing the human touch to make sure the tour was what matched our interests. All the B&Bs were excellent and well located for spending the evenings shopping and eating out. Communication was excellent between AE in Scotland and ourselves in Canada and the information package for the trip was here within just a couple of days of the trip being booked. Would certainly recommend anyone using AE and Rabbies.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback Robert. We're delighted you enjoyed your time in Scotland with Rabbies & ourselves. The highlands are indeed a wonderful place with so much to discover, it's great you were able to get a taste of all that they have to offer whilst you were here. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Scotland soon. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Dave, 1 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

7-Day self-driving Scotland Tour

We are spending our last night in Scotland after a wonderful seven days in your country. The Paisley night was very nice, they even set out chairs and a table for us in the garden for a quick wine and cheese we bought in a local shop. Dora was most gracious in Ft William, and dinner at the Limetree was excellent. Isle of Skye was hosted by Craig and great view of fields and Portree. You should highly recommend dinner reservations ...

We are spending our last night in Scotland after a wonderful seven days in your country. The Paisley night was very nice, they even set out chairs and a table for us in the garden for a quick wine and cheese we bought in a local shop. Dora was most gracious in Ft William, and dinner at the Limetree was excellent. Isle of Skye was hosted by Craig and great view of fields and Portree. You should highly recommend dinner reservations in Portree as many restaurants have limited openings for evening meals. We understand it is due to lack of accommodations for workers. Two nights in Inverness were our favorites with walking distance to town. Breakfasts were best of the week, John and Susan most gracious. The Apex Hotel for first and last stop is First Class. Luggage left behind from our first night was already in our room today upon our return. Thanks again for all your assistance. Will recommend you to all. Dave and Marlene

Rating for tour operator:

Charlotte was first-rate and planned an excellent tour that fit our schedule.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 03 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, Dave and Marlene. It's fantastic to hear that you had such a good time in Scotland, and it was a pleasure to assist with your arrangements. If we can be of assistance with any future holidays, please don't hesitate to get in touch! Best wishes, Charlotte Wood.

Absolute Escapes by Vince, 29 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

Fantastic walking holiday ialong the Northumberland coast.

Fantastic walking holiday ialong the Northumberland coast.

Rating for tour operator:

Brilliant. Friendly, efficient, communicative, knowledgeable.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 01 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your kind words, Vincent. It was a pleasure to organise your walking holiday and it's truly rewarding to hear that you had such a good time.
If we can ever assist with any future travel plans, we'd be delighted for you to get in touch. Best wishes, Charlotte Wood.

Absolute Escapes by The Viking, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Smooth Sailing (Without a Boat)

Absolute Escapes arranged a 12-day holiday by train through Scotland for us. The information packet we received, well in advance, contained everything we could possibly need: A day-by-day itinerary with all needed travel info and B&B information. There were timetables, maps, our Scotrail Rover Cards, and brochures concerning things-to-do. The B&B's they booked us into were unfailingly charming, clean, and comfortable -- with very delicious ...

Absolute Escapes arranged a 12-day holiday by train through Scotland for us. The information packet we received, well in advance, contained everything we could possibly need: A day-by-day itinerary with all needed travel info and B&B information. There were timetables, maps, our Scotrail Rover Cards, and brochures concerning things-to-do. The B&B's they booked us into were unfailingly charming, clean, and comfortable -- with very delicious and generous breakfasts. It was our first trip to Scotland, and Absolute Escapes made sure it was memorable in the best possible way!

Rating for tour operator:

Pippa stayed in touch throughout the process. She was always very prompt in answering questions and replying to emails. She was professional and caring, and we couldn't be more pleased with her work.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback Richard, we were delighted to hear that you and Sally had such a great time in Scotland. I'm so glad that your first trip to Scotland was such a success and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Stannie, 25 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Absolute escapes fife coastal path and Scotland by rail

30 days in Scotland with multiple hotels, guest homes, train, bus, and cabs. Everything went without a hitch. Beautiful accommodations along with the beauty of Scotland and its people, made for a perfect first visit.

30 days in Scotland with multiple hotels, guest homes, train, bus, and cabs. Everything went without a hitch. Beautiful accommodations along with the beauty of Scotland and its people, made for a perfect first visit.

Rating for tour operator:

Pippa at absolute escapes was always responsive to our questions and requests. The planning for our trip made easy and the results: fantastic!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Annie. It was a pleasure to assist you and the Alaska Walking Ladies on the Fife Coastal Path, and to help plan your Scotland By Train itinerary. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time on both & I hope that we can welcome you back to Scotland soon. Best wishes, Pippa Robson