AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 475
Good 18
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 498
Reviews Accepted: 498
Reviews Rejected: 0
498 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by ardéchois, 26 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Two french people on the west highland way

excellent organization and advices. Nice landscapes . kind people at each stop (good choices by absolute ). breakfast at the top. what'else ? thanks again .

excellent organization and advices. Nice landscapes . kind people at each stop (good choices by absolute ). breakfast at the top. what'else ? thanks again .

Rating for tour operator:

kind, efficient , file and informations very complete...

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jun 2019:

Thank you very much for your comments, Jean-Pierre. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed the West Highland Way, and we were pleased to hear that all of the arrangements were to your satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to contact us again if we can assist with any more walking adventures. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Di, 24 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking Scotland

Walking, moving on, different every day

Walking, moving on, different every day

Rating for tour operator:

Used them three times now, organised well, easy to follow maps for directions to b&b

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 25 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your great feedback Diane. We're so glad you enjoyed another wonderful holiday with us and it was our pleasure to make your arrangements once again. As always we'd be delighted to hear from you if we can help with a future adventure. With best wishes, Megan Bruce

Absolute Escapes by Paul S , 21 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Isle of Skye Trail Walking Trip

We traveled to Flodgarry, Skye, walking north to Rubha Hunish and then south along the Skye Trail ending at Broadford. We walked around 100 miles total over nine days. Absolute Escapes arranged our accommodations which were excellent and transferred our luggage as needed.

We traveled to Flodgarry, Skye, walking north to Rubha Hunish and then south along the Skye Trail ending at Broadford. We walked around 100 miles total over nine days. Absolute Escapes arranged our accommodations which were excellent and transferred our luggage as needed.

Rating for tour operator:

We are Americans and started working with Absolute Escapes in August of 2018 to design a bespoke walking tour on Skye that met our needs. They were very helpful in the design process and the actual locations and services on the tour were all excellent. Of particular note, was Gus's Taxis in Portree who went out of his way to wait for us when we were delayed arriving from the Trotternish Ridge.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your kind words Paul. It was our pleasure to help with the planning and organisation of your Skye Trail walk, and we're so glad you enjoyed your time on the trail. We have of course passed your comments on to Gus as well. If we can be of any assistance in the future we'd love to hear from you. With best wishes, Megan Bruce

Absolute Escapes by Murphs, 20 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

A really beautiful walk

I really enjoyed the Cleveland Way. I thought the Osmotherley to Clay Bank, and Saltburn to Runswick Bay were particularly stunning sections. I got super lucky with the weather, which helped too. A brilliant way for an Aussie to experience a little of North Yorkshire!

I really enjoyed the Cleveland Way. I thought the Osmotherley to Clay Bank, and Saltburn to Runswick Bay were particularly stunning sections. I got super lucky with the weather, which helped too. A brilliant way for an Aussie to experience a little of North Yorkshire!

Rating for tour operator:

All aspects of the trip were very well put together. All the accommodation was nice, and all the hosts very welcoming - particularly in Boltby, Helmsley and Osmotherly. I was very happy with everything that was organised on my behalf and would happily book with Absolute Escapes again.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your feedback Claire and great to hear you enjoyed your time in North Yorkshire, thank you for sharing your photos! Excellent to hear you would return to us in the future, if we can be of assistance don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by JW, 19 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Delightful but unlucky with the weather

We very much enjoyed our trip although, as elsewhere in the country, the weather was unseasonally cold and windy, restricting some activities. Both Three Chimneys and Scarista were equally delightful with excellent service, rooms and food. The two do make an interesting contrast with Three Chimneys offering fine dining and stylish and comfortable rooms while Scarista’s owners provided a more homely ambience enhanced by their personal contribution...

We very much enjoyed our trip although, as elsewhere in the country, the weather was unseasonally cold and windy, restricting some activities. Both Three Chimneys and Scarista were equally delightful with excellent service, rooms and food. The two do make an interesting contrast with Three Chimneys offering fine dining and stylish and comfortable rooms while Scarista’s owners provided a more homely ambience enhanced by their personal contribution. We would love to return to both. Thank you for the recommendations and itinerary arrangements, all of which went smoothly.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient, reliable, expert.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your feedback John, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday, if we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by wanda, 18 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path

I had a wonderful walking holiday in Pembrokeshire. The landscape there is absolutely stunning, a perfect combination of high impressive cliffs and wonderful sandy beaches. It took me 14 days to walk from Amroth to St. Dogmaels, it was a very good escape from my everyday life in a big city.

I had a wonderful walking holiday in Pembrokeshire. The landscape there is absolutely stunning, a perfect combination of high impressive cliffs and wonderful sandy beaches. It took me 14 days to walk from Amroth to St. Dogmaels, it was a very good escape from my everyday life in a big city.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything from my booking enquiry to the holiday itself went absolutely smoothly. The people from Absolute Escapes are very friendly and were always open for questions. I also got a guidebook and a list with emergency phone numbers in case I would have any problems. I liked all of the accommodations they booked for me and felt very welcome in the B&Bs and Inns. The luggage transport was great as well. Thanks again! :-)

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 19 Jun 2019:

Thank you very much for your kind review, Anke. It's fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful experience walking the Pembrokeshire Coast Path and it was our pleasure to be able to organise this for you.
If you ever require assistance in planning future travels in the UK, we'd be delighted to hear from you again. All the very best, Charlotte Wood.

Absolute Escapes by Graham, 18 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Walking the West Highland Way

We had a brilliant holiday walking the West Highland Way, our first log distance walk, over 9 days / 10 nights. A biblical weather forecast at the outset actually turned out quite benign and we really didn't have any more than heavy drizzle at the most on 3 or 4 half-days, a similar amount of T-shirt days and the rest somewhere in between. Moral: don't take the weather forecast in Scotland too literally, but be prepared for anything. Great scenery, ...

We had a brilliant holiday walking the West Highland Way, our first log distance walk, over 9 days / 10 nights. A biblical weather forecast at the outset actually turned out quite benign and we really didn't have any more than heavy drizzle at the most on 3 or 4 half-days, a similar amount of T-shirt days and the rest somewhere in between. Moral: don't take the weather forecast in Scotland too literally, but be prepared for anything. Great scenery, great hospitality and a great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

All the accommodation was great, and the B&B hosts were all especially welcoming (even more especially Ali in Drymen with tea/coffee & home made scones, Liz in Balmaha with tea and home made cake & scones, and Ellen in Tyndrum with tea & banana loaf) and the standard of the rooms and the breakfasts were fabulous, so well done on your selections. I'm glad we booked early and were able to get a 'straight-through' walk. We did meet a number of people (not necessarily with Absolute Escapes) who had to stay two nights in a place and be ferried back & forwards to restart their walk. That would have felt a little 'false' to us. The Kingshouse is interesting. I didn't realise they had completely rebuilt it, even the 'old' walkers' bar, which they have recreated to an extent. I had never been in the past, but had driven past many times. It's not the white 'landmark' it once was, but is very luxurious. So it's perhaps a little incongruous in the context of the walk, but as it's right on the route it's absolutely a great place to stay. It obviously has lesser accommodation for smaller budgets, so it should work for anyone who books in time. We really couldn't fault any aspect of the holiday. The itinerary and accompanying advice were spot on, and the luggage transfer service was seamless.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your lovely review, Graham. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your first long distance walking holiday along the West Highland Way and hopefully it will be the first of many! Please do not hesitate to get in touch again if we can be of any assistance in the future. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Highlander, 13 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great hikeing on the Great Glen Way

Dear Dawn We had a wonderful hike on the highlands and every one of your accommodations was great. What a good country Scotland is and the Scottish people are so friendly and helpful. the weather was also scottish :-) 9 days in the rain, the 8 very much rain and unfortunately some fog. therefore we only reached 500 meters up Ben Nevis before we had to turn around. But regardless of this, it was a great Hike.

Dear Dawn We had a wonderful hike on the highlands and every one of your accommodations was great. What a good country Scotland is and the Scottish people are so friendly and helpful. the weather was also scottish :-) 9 days in the rain, the 8 very much rain and unfortunately some fog. therefore we only reached 500 meters up Ben Nevis before we had to turn around. But regardless of this, it was a great Hike.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes was a good choice. I feel save and in professional hands from my first contact I will give Absolute Escapes my Best recommendations.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 17 Jun 2019:

We are very delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the Great Glen Way! Sorry to hear you didn't see the best of our Scottish weather, but it's so refreshing to hear that it didn't detract from your trip and you were able to enjoy your walk.

Please do get in touch again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Dawn Spence

Absolute Escapes by Red deers, 11 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

The West Highland Way experience

Having come back home yesterday, I want to thank all the team at Absolute Escapes for having superbly organised our trip on the West Highland Way. Even though the weather was a little wet at times, it was so pleasing to see our luggage delivered at each night stop in order to change into something dry! The day trip to Oban and Iona was very successful. As a bonus it was sunny all the time! I much appreciated you organising the leaving of our ...

Having come back home yesterday, I want to thank all the team at Absolute Escapes for having superbly organised our trip on the West Highland Way. Even though the weather was a little wet at times, it was so pleasing to see our luggage delivered at each night stop in order to change into something dry! The day trip to Oban and Iona was very successful. As a bonus it was sunny all the time! I much appreciated you organising the leaving of our luggage at the hotel in Tyndrum and booking a B&B in Oban. Many thanks once again. Best regards John and Sophie Roberts

Rating for tour operator:

We were able to mutually arrange an itinerary with Absolute Escapes who were very attentive to our requests. As we wanted a couple of days off not walking, Absolute Escapes were able to incorporate our requirements into the itinerary and reserve the necessary overnight stops. The information contained in the daily sheet was most informative. As phone numbers were given, we were able to reserve our table for the evening at one of the recommended restaurants. This was most important as every restaurnt was very busy.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your wonderful review, John. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time on the West Highland Way and enjoyed your trip to Oban. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us and we hope that we can welcome you back to Scotland soon. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Barb, 11 Jun 2019
Holiday Rating:

South West Coast Path Westward Ho to Padstow

Every day was an adventure. Even when we were lost in fog we were laughing. We walked 6 of the days. We took off a day to explore Boscastle and Tintagel. We took off another day for a boat nature tour. On that day we saw a Puffin swimming near the boat. My daughter , age 39 and myself, age 69, walked together. We thought the walking was challenging but always enjoyable.

Every day was an adventure. Even when we were lost in fog we were laughing. We walked 6 of the days. We took off a day to explore Boscastle and Tintagel. We took off another day for a boat nature tour. On that day we saw a Puffin swimming near the boat. My daughter , age 39 and myself, age 69, walked together. We thought the walking was challenging but always enjoyable.

Rating for tour operator:

Great. Everything reservation and luggage transfer went smoothly. The daily descriptions were very helpful.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Jun 2019:

Thank you for your lovely review, Barbara. We are so pleased to hear you had a great time along the South West Coast Path. "Challenging but always enjoyable" is such a wonderful way to look at the adventure, a great achievement. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in the future. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart