AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 561
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 586
Reviews Accepted: 586
Reviews Rejected: 0
586 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by JM from Toronto, 21 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Hadrian's Wall Path--A Spectacular Experience

My sister and I walked the Hadrian's Wall path in September 2019. All aspects of the trip were absolutely wonderful. The scenery was beyond beautiful, the history was fascinating, and all the accommodations were excellent with very friendly hosts everywhere.

My sister and I walked the Hadrian's Wall path in September 2019. All aspects of the trip were absolutely wonderful. The scenery was beyond beautiful, the history was fascinating, and all the accommodations were excellent with very friendly hosts everywhere.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes was superb in all their services--planning/logistics, information, recommendations, bookings--everything was first rate. We are already thinking of another trip and would absolutely use them again. I would recommend them to anyone planning a similar trip.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your review Joel, we're delighted to hear you and your sister enjoyed your time on the Hadrian's Wall Path, it is an excellent trail with a fascinating story to tell. If you need assistance planning your next trip please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by AMGAL , 3 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Great Glen Way

This was our first long distance walk and it exceeded all of our expectations!

This was our first long distance walk and it exceeded all of our expectations!

Rating for tour operator:

They arranged everything perfectly for us, the bed and breakfasts were great to stay in and the restaurant recommendations they made made our vacation effortless and delicious:)

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your great review, Anne Marie. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time on your first long-distance walk. We hope your time on the Great Glen Way has sparked a love of long-distance walking and should we be able to assist with your next adventure, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Nancy W, NSW Australia, 1 Jan 2020
Holiday Rating:

Personalised tour of Scotland using mainly travel by rail

We enjoyed a Personalised itinerary visiting areas of Scotland we had visited previously, with Absolute Escapes booking our accommodation and travel arrangements. We dis not hire a car.

We enjoyed a Personalised itinerary visiting areas of Scotland we had visited previously, with Absolute Escapes booking our accommodation and travel arrangements. We dis not hire a car.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our feedback to our tour operator, Jason at Absolute Escapes I am pleased to say that our holiday went very well. We did have rain at Glenfinnan which made viewing there rather difficult. The Rail Pass worked well. It could have been a help, in retrospect, if it had actually started one day earlier for us, as it started on Sept 1 and we had to travel from Edinburgh, where we left our Rabbies Tour, to go to Glasgow on the train, on Aug 31, so we had to pay extra for that trip! All the B&Bs were of good standard. The train journey we perhaps enjoyed most was the Strathspey Steam Railway with High Tea. Although quite a short trip, the service and food provided for the High Tea made it very enjoyable. We did not attend a Scottish Show as such. We did enjoy the Skye Pipe Band giving a performance in the open air at Portree. Held in the Town Square most Tuesday evenings. . We do not have any comments as to improving your level of service. All the information you supplied was very comprehensive. In our case receiving the info a little earlier would have made it easier to absorb it all. Our Skye Tour was enjoyable with our helpful and informative driver. We would be very happy to recommend your service to future travellers. Nancy W NSW AUSTRALIA

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Jan 2020:

Thank you for your review Nancy and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time on our Scotland by Train itinerary, it's a very enjoyable way to explore Scotland. It's great to hear about all the activities you did while travelling. If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by P&M, 29 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous West Highland Way Holiday

We had a fabulous time on our West Highland Way holiday and we were so glad we booked with Absolute Escapes. All the hotels, baggage transfers and taxis all worked out perfectly. The restaurant recommendations were all good. And we were pleased with all the accommodations. The best hotel was the King's house. Very nice and the only place to stay in the area so we felt very fortunate to have a room there. Some other walkers from another tour ...

We had a fabulous time on our West Highland Way holiday and we were so glad we booked with Absolute Escapes. All the hotels, baggage transfers and taxis all worked out perfectly. The restaurant recommendations were all good. And we were pleased with all the accommodations. The best hotel was the King's house. Very nice and the only place to stay in the area so we felt very fortunate to have a room there. Some other walkers from another tour company did not have the same luck and seemed blindsided by that. Our own arrangement of staying 2 nights in Tyndrum worked out great. So we were very very pleased with Absolute Escapes. All in all, we had a fantastic vacation and the WHW was everything and more than we had hoped for. Many thanks to Absolute Escapes for organising everything.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes provided us with a seamless and well organized vacation. We had some special requests and all was accommodated.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 13 Jan 2020:

Thank you very much for your kind words, Mario. It was a privilege to assist with the planning of your trip and we're overjoyed that you had such a good time on the West Highland Way. What a wonderful photo too!
We would love to hear from you again should you wish to return to Scotland one day. All the very best to you both, Charlotte Wood

Absolute Escapes by Nick Name, 18 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

a wonderful trip to the Noerthern Isles

Absolute Escapes booked our ferries and hotels for a self-drive holiday in our own car with 3 nights on Shetland and 4 nights on Orkney. Everything worked like clockwork.

Absolute Escapes booked our ferries and hotels for a self-drive holiday in our own car with 3 nights on Shetland and 4 nights on Orkney. Everything worked like clockwork.

Rating for tour operator:

Very reliable very friendly very responsive.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 20 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your review Ian and we’re delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time in Shetland and Orkney. It was an absolute pleasure to organise your holiday and please feel free to get back in touch if we can be of assistance with future travel plans. Best wishes, Catherine Angus

Absolute Escapes by Verbilion, 17 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely wonderful

We took the self drive motor trip up from Glasgow to Cumbrae and Bute. Then up the coast to Oban, our favourite location, Ft. William and then over to Edimburgh. The bed and breakfasts arranged were great with wonderfully helpful hosts. All went according to plan and we were even able to fit in the Jacobite train from Ft. William to Malaig (Mallaig). We would surely use Absolute Escapes again and advise any of our friends who are contemplating ...

We took the self drive motor trip up from Glasgow to Cumbrae and Bute. Then up the coast to Oban, our favourite location, Ft. William and then over to Edimburgh. The bed and breakfasts arranged were great with wonderfully helpful hosts. All went according to plan and we were even able to fit in the Jacobite train from Ft. William to Malaig (Mallaig). We would surely use Absolute Escapes again and advise any of our friends who are contemplating a trip to Scotland to contact Absolute Escapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Jason Martin took care of our needs with seemingly effortless efficiency. Any and all questions and concerns were promptly taken care of and email responses were absolutely amazing, time wise. We are in Alberta Canada, 7hr difference. If I asked a question or had a concern, emailed about 10 pm local time, we had an answer usually by 9 am our time the next morning. One of the best tour companies we have ever used.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 17 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your review Bill, we're delighted you enjoyed your time in Scotland exploring your family history and that you managed to experience the Jacobite Steam Train. Thank you also for your kind words, we work very hard at Absolute Escapes to give our customers the best experience and service possible. If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. All the very best, Jason Martin

Absolute Escapes by The Cotswold Walkers , 16 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Extremely enjoyable holiday we will always remember

We had an extremely enjoyable holiday walking the Cotswold Way. The weather was perfect, accommodation very good and lovely food. The walk was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend to others contemplating this walk. The baggage turned up at the correct destination each day and there were no problems with taxi and lifts to our accommodation. It all went very smoothly. We found the itinerary very useful especially advising of places to ...

We had an extremely enjoyable holiday walking the Cotswold Way. The weather was perfect, accommodation very good and lovely food. The walk was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend to others contemplating this walk. The baggage turned up at the correct destination each day and there were no problems with taxi and lifts to our accommodation. It all went very smoothly. We found the itinerary very useful especially advising of places to get our meals. A very memorable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Moria. We're so pleased to hear that you had such a great time and were pleased with all of the arrangments, even down to the weather! Please do not hesitate to contact us should be able to assist with any travel plans in the future. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Jordi Cat, 12 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Hebridean Island Hopping - Enjoying beyond expectations

We really enjoyed our tour along the Outer Hebrides. All the transfers with the ferries have been as scheduled and regarding the accommodations provided by Absolute Escapes, we have really enjoyed them too. We've felt very comfortable, not only because of the facilities itsel but also because of the staff that ran them but also because they were placed in really nice sites including our last one in Lewis that was a welcomed last minute change ...

We really enjoyed our tour along the Outer Hebrides. All the transfers with the ferries have been as scheduled and regarding the accommodations provided by Absolute Escapes, we have really enjoyed them too. We've felt very comfortable, not only because of the facilities itsel but also because of the staff that ran them but also because they were placed in really nice sites including our last one in Lewis that was a welcomed last minute change offered by the Absolute E.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything has been well explained and clear from the begining, and any extra explanation or adjustments to our needs were answered and solved asap. We travelled very confident because of this and during the travel all worked without any problem. Very kind staff.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 13 Dec 2019:

Thank you very much for your lovely review Jordi and it's great to hear that you had a wonderful time in the Outer Hebrides this summer. It was a delight to plan your holiday and please do get back in touch if we can be of assistance with any future travel plans. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Susanna, 12 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Pembrokeshire Coast Path Walking Holiday 2019

We booked a 14 day walking holiday on the Pembrokeshire Coast Path in Wales through Absolute Escapes, and were absolutely blown away by the stunning scenery and overwhelming Welsh hospitality! We enjoyed a mix of tough, rocky stretches and long, peaceful beach walks. At one point we even stumbled across an active archaeological site, what a treat to watch the archaeologists work! We also enjoyed a fair amount of Welsh cakes and surprising seafood ...

We booked a 14 day walking holiday on the Pembrokeshire Coast Path in Wales through Absolute Escapes, and were absolutely blown away by the stunning scenery and overwhelming Welsh hospitality! We enjoyed a mix of tough, rocky stretches and long, peaceful beach walks. At one point we even stumbled across an active archaeological site, what a treat to watch the archaeologists work! We also enjoyed a fair amount of Welsh cakes and surprising seafood dishes on our trip. The coastal villages we had the pleasure of staying in were absolutely charming, and the warm welcome we received at all the B&Bs and hotels where we stayed was second to none. Absolute Escapes planned our whole trip perfectly, including the modifications we requested to their recommended route; we had no problems at all with the accommodations, taxis and luggage transfer-- everything went swimmingly. For those planning to take this trip, we recommend building in lots of rest time to spend exploring the beautiful Pembrokeshire beaches and towns inbetween your long walking days!

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second trip through Absolute Escapes, and both trips were absolutely fantastic. We so appreciate how Absolute Escapes handles all the details and the stressful part of planning the trip, I can honestly say there were no hiccups or issues with the planning of the trip at all. We requested a modification to their recommended route and Absolute Escapes arranged everything for us with no issue at all. We have always been very happy with the accommodations booked by Absolute Escapes, in particular the hospitality shown by the proprietors they work with. I know this is a small thing, but even the taxi driver they booked for us was very friendly, told us lots about the local area, was prompt and the drive went very quickly-- I think it goes a long way to show that Absolute Escapes takes very seriously who they select as vendors for their trips.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 13 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your kind words Susanna. Pembrokeshire is such a lovely part of the world, so we are delighted you enjoyed your trip so much! It was an absolute pleasure to make the arrangements for your holiday, and I hope we can help you arrange your next walking adventure in the UK. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Neil, 12 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Glen and coastal walks in Northern Ireland

I can confirm that we had an excellent time even if the weather was rather 'Scottish' on occasions. All the accommodation was absolutely fine but we particularly enjoyed Hillsea (in Ballycastle) and CulErg (in Portstewart). Perhaps I could also suggest a couple of additions to the Trip Notes about eating possibilities. On the day from Ballycastle to Ballintoy, as well as a packed lunch or eating in Ballintoy, another good option is ...

I can confirm that we had an excellent time even if the weather was rather 'Scottish' on occasions. All the accommodation was absolutely fine but we particularly enjoyed Hillsea (in Ballycastle) and CulErg (in Portstewart). Perhaps I could also suggest a couple of additions to the Trip Notes about eating possibilities. On the day from Ballycastle to Ballintoy, as well as a packed lunch or eating in Ballintoy, another good option is the National Trust tearoom at Carrick-a-Rede. it can be particularly handy if you havent booked a slot for crossing the bridge and you have a bit of a wait before your time comes up. On the final day from the Giants Causeway/ Port Ballintrae to Portstewart, if you want something a bit more substantial than a packed lunch, there are all sorts of options in Portrush. And for the evening in Portstewart I would definitely recommend the highly rated Harry's Shack - advance booking strongly advised.

Rating for tour operator:

Impeccable organisation with a good choice of accommodation and very handy hints for lunches and dinners

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 12 Dec 2019:

Thank you for your feedback Neil, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time on the Moyle Way and Causeway Coast Path! Thank you for your suggestions, we always appreciate them! If we can be of assistance in the future please don't hesitate to contact us. All the best, Jason Martin