AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 561
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 586
Reviews Accepted: 586
Reviews Rejected: 0
586 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Senior Travellers, 24 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Memorable Holiday

One of the best hoildays my wife and I have ever had. We live in Australia and at 70 yrs. old all of the stress and strain of planning and booking both routes and accommocation were done for us. All accommodations (8 different locations) were first class. The itinery was superb, and very detailed i.e. maps with highlighted suggested routs (independent driving, no tours) for the best scenery, places to visit and places to eat. One other highlight ...

One of the best hoildays my wife and I have ever had. We live in Australia and at 70 yrs. old all of the stress and strain of planning and booking both routes and accommocation were done for us. All accommodations (8 different locations) were first class. The itinery was superb, and very detailed i.e. maps with highlighted suggested routs (independent driving, no tours) for the best scenery, places to visit and places to eat. One other highlight which demonstates their thoughtfulness and caring was the gift of a bottle of whiskey they sent to the accommodation in Glasgow for my actual 70th birthday. I thoroughly enjoyed the "wee dram" in the evenings before sleep.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes are an excellent choice for anyone wishing to see Scotland and other places but have no prior knowledge of the country or area they wish to visit. After first contacting them and receiving a provisional touring route we made various changes during the planning stage. The staff were always very helpful, nothing too much trouble, offering good sound advice. They responded very quickly to emails and requests. We have absolutely no fears nor reservations about recommending Absolute Escapes to others. In fact, we have already recommended the company to many friends who are considering holidaying in Scotland and other places.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 25 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, Ian & Sue. We feel very privileged to have been able to assist with the planning of such a special trip, and it is an absolute joy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday so much! Please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to return to Scotland one day. All the very best, Charlotte Wood

Absolute Escapes by St Cuthbert Pilgrim, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip Along The Way Of Saint Cuthbert!

We really enjoyed the Saint Cuthbert's portion of our trip that Absolute Escapes organized. All the places we stayed were good choices and there were a few standouts for different reasons. As far as the accommodations I would say that Burt's Hotel was the best for ambiance. Beautifully appointed rooms and very accommodating. The restaurant there was also fantastic with food AND service. We arrived fairly late in Jedburgh from our walk ...

We really enjoyed the Saint Cuthbert's portion of our trip that Absolute Escapes organized. All the places we stayed were good choices and there were a few standouts for different reasons. As far as the accommodations I would say that Burt's Hotel was the best for ambiance. Beautifully appointed rooms and very accommodating. The restaurant there was also fantastic with food AND service. We arrived fairly late in Jedburgh from our walk and was worried about dinner since everything was closed or without reservations after 7:30 PM. Penelope (?) at the Meadhon Guest House stepped right up and got us a reservation right down the street at Forresters Restaurant which had a wonderful Meat Pie. Jim with First Taxi was awesome. He picked us up from the trail and dropped us off in the morning. Great guy! I really enjoyed our stay at The Mill House. Clare was great with her happy efficiency upon our arrival and once we settled in and I was able to sit down with her and talk it felt like being home with a good friend who was interested in hearing about your day and couldn't have been more helpful with information and solutions. They also fixed us a lunch that was my first experience with Flapjack(?). It was love at first bite and was by far the best recipe of flapjack that I experienced over the remainder of the trip. I believe David makes them himself and if he wouldn't mind sharing his recipe he would have a bunch of happy kids on this side of the ocean. We ate dinner at the Border House per your recommendation which was delicious, especially the Lamb Shank and the Smoked Fish Stew. Yummy!! My room at The Olde Courthouse was nicely remodeled and we had another wonderful meal at Milan's with great service. The Fenham Farm Bed and Breakfast was a beautiful location with an amazing sunset and moon surrounded in a peaceful setting. It was a long way off the path but a delight once we got there. Unfortunately we didn't eat dinner there because we had only called for reservations early that morning instead of two days in advance and they couldn't accommodate us on the late notice. Bummer for us since I'm sure we missed a delicious meal. The Ship Inn on the island was basic but they were very accommodating and we had a delicious meal in their restaurant that evening. The walk itself was absolutely beautiful. It felt like you could go from one temperate zone to another within an hour as the path took us from grassy rolling hills to boggy areas walking along the river to wooded pine forests. Most days we ate a packed lunch surrounded by beautiful scenery including castle ruins, peaty shaded areas or sheltered by a mossy stone wall. The second half of the second day after leaving Moorebattle was difficult for me with a significant assent and decent but provided us with outstanding views that stretched forever. We really lucked out as our weather was picture perfect with mild temperatures and blue skies almost our entire walk which I'm sure also facilitated an extraordinary experience. I'll share some photos from the walk of some of the surrounding area and beautiful views. Thanks again for your help in organizing our walking pilgrimage. Best Regards, Shawn

Rating for tour operator:

Very accommodating, timely in their responses and professional. Absolute Escapes put together a fantastic walking holiday for us.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 28 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your lovely comments and photos Shawn, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time on St Cuthbert's Way. It was my pleasure to help you and your family arrange your walking holiday this year. I hope we can welcome you back to Scotland soon. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Ryan, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Amazing walking holiday!

We had an amazing walking holiday. We had perfect weather, and the terrain was gorgeous every step of the way. The stay in Aviemore was great too, having a chance to hike up Cairn Gorm was great. Their choice of B&B's was great.

We had an amazing walking holiday. We had perfect weather, and the terrain was gorgeous every step of the way. The stay in Aviemore was great too, having a chance to hike up Cairn Gorm was great. Their choice of B&B's was great.

Rating for tour operator:

Self-guided walking holiday, but the booking agent was terrific to work with and very knowledgeable.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 25 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, Ryan. It's wonderful to hear that you had such a good time on your walking holiday and got to experience Scotland's rugged Highland beauty! It was a delight to assist with making your arrangements, and if we can help with future adventures we'd love to hear from you. Best wishes, Charlotte Wood

Absolute Escapes by Ella B, 22 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Loved Every Minute

We had the happiest time in Scotland! Our 3-week tailor-made itinerary couldn’t have been better suited for us; we loved everywhere we went and were sorry to leave. Thanks in no small part to the amazing job Absolute Escapes did in planning and making our arrangements, we were able to appreciate every minute. We enjoyed stunning landscapes, fabulous walking, friendly people, wonderful food and all sorts of serendipitous moments. Our accommodations ...

We had the happiest time in Scotland! Our 3-week tailor-made itinerary couldn’t have been better suited for us; we loved everywhere we went and were sorry to leave. Thanks in no small part to the amazing job Absolute Escapes did in planning and making our arrangements, we were able to appreciate every minute. We enjoyed stunning landscapes, fabulous walking, friendly people, wonderful food and all sorts of serendipitous moments. Our accommodations were lovely - sometimes incredible - and, almost without exception, we would be more than happy to stay again. We count ourselves lucky to have worked with Absolute Escapes. We can’t say enough good things about our experience, from the very first email contact. They did an exceptional job in creating a vacation we will never forget. We do hope to return to Scotland, and if we’re lucky enough to do that we will definitely be back in touch!

Rating for tour operator:

We worked with Pippa Robson at Absolute Escapes to plan a 3-week tailor-made holiday in Scotland for Sept 2019 and we couldn’t be happier with our experience! Pippa was everything we could have hoped for – she listened carefully and quickly understood our travel preferences; she was amazingly prompt and efficient, responding quickly to incorporate our thoughts/requests and adapt the plan as necessary; she offered wonderful suggestions to enhance our trip and gave good advice; she communicated clearly and conveyed a personable attitude; and she was simply a delight to work with. She made the whole process enjoyable and easy. We love Pippa! In addition, everyone we encountered at Absolute Escapes was friendly, helpful and professional. The travel packet provided for our trip was outstanding - all the material we needed for everything to go flawlessly. We would work with them again in a heartbeat!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 24 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your absolutely wonderful feedback Robin. We're so delighted that you had such a fantastic time in Scotland and found your itinerary so well suited to your interests. It was an absolute delight to assist you in the planning of your holiday and I hope that we can welcome you back to Scotland soon. Haste ye back. Best wishes, Pippa Robson.

Absolute Escapes by renelles, 18 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Magical Journey around Scotland

We had an absolutely wonderful time, and enjoyed each and every place and person we met. We were exceptionally blown away by how much we loved Oban, our delicious experience at Edinburgh's Prestonfield House, and the thrilling high-speed tour of Loch Ness with Beastie Boats. My partner's favourite was a full Scottish breakfast every morning (he still won't stop talking about this and trying to recreate it at home!) and visiting Sgriob-ruadh ...

We had an absolutely wonderful time, and enjoyed each and every place and person we met. We were exceptionally blown away by how much we loved Oban, our delicious experience at Edinburgh's Prestonfield House, and the thrilling high-speed tour of Loch Ness with Beastie Boats. My partner's favourite was a full Scottish breakfast every morning (he still won't stop talking about this and trying to recreate it at home!) and visiting Sgriob-ruadh Farm in Tobermory where we got to pet the pigs and baby cows. Although we didn't end up going on a wildlife boat tour, a hike to a lighthouse in Tobermory gave us stunning views of the Isle of Mull and a seal enjoying the water!

Rating for tour operator:

Being in different time zones can definitely be a hindrance when booking with a tour operator on the other side of the world, however, the team at Absolute Escapes was always quick with their responses and catering our trip to our needs and wishes. Going through this experience with Absolute Escapes really had a huge impact on how enjoyable the trip was for us, making it easy for us to get around, and easy for us to enjoy a stress free holiday abroad. I will definitely be recommending Absolute Escapes to any friends or family who want to visit Scotland.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your lovely review Emily and we're so pleased to hear that you and Kieran had a brilliant time exploring Scotland. I hope you are able to re-create a perfect cooked breakfast back home! Please do not hesitate to get in touch again if we can be of any assistance in the future. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by AJC, 14 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Berwickshire Costal Path

Walked from Dunbar to Berwick-on-Tweed

Walked from Dunbar to Berwick-on-Tweed

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was very well organized by Absolute Escapes and the hotel/guest house were great. All the arrangement went well and were one time. We made a couple of changes directly with the taxi providers, they were all most helpful. Our favourite walk was from St Abbs Head to Eyemouth, we skipped the part from Dowlaw to St Abbs Head due the one day we had heavy rain.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your great review, Alexander. We're so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time on the Berwickshire Coastal Path. Please don't hesitate to contact us should we be able to assist with a future adventure. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Bob, 13 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way walking holiday

It was a gorgeous walk. Everything was well organized and as we expected. Beautiful scenery and we met a lot of nice people along the way.

It was a gorgeous walk. Everything was well organized and as we expected. Beautiful scenery and we met a lot of nice people along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes (Caitlin Rush) did a great job of organizing the trip for us and everything went as we expected.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 22 Oct 2019:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments Robert. We're delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their walk on the West Highland Way and that you so enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Colette, 9 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very enjoyable walking break on the Offa's Dyke

We had 3 days walking on the Offa's Dyke, with hotels and luggage transfer organised by Absolute Escapes. The trip was tailored made to suit our walking capacities and our preferences for the portion of the Offa's Dyke walk. It also involved taxis where needed.

We had 3 days walking on the Offa's Dyke, with hotels and luggage transfer organised by Absolute Escapes. The trip was tailored made to suit our walking capacities and our preferences for the portion of the Offa's Dyke walk. It also involved taxis where needed.

Rating for tour operator:

The agent really listened to our needs and made very good suggestions. After a couple of email exchanges to tweak the proposition we agreed on a route which was ideal for our purpose. Everything went according to plans and we were very pleased with the organisation.

Reviewer's images:
Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback Marie. We're delighted you enjoyed your wee adventure on the Offa's Dyke Path and that Katia was able to assist you in making arrangements that suited your requirements. We hope to be able to welcome you back for another walking adventure in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Pippa Robson

Absolute Escapes by Kit, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous visit to Scotland ... rain and shine!

We had a wonderful visit we had in Scotland. The route was so interesting, the scenery was gorgeous, the inns and innkeepers most charming, and the driving not too difficult. The weather could have been sunnier, but we made the most of the clear skies for hikes, gardens and explorations outside, with museums, churches, the Hop On bus tour of Edinburgh, and good meals saved for the rainy periods. And all thanks to your planning and recommendations...

We had a wonderful visit we had in Scotland. The route was so interesting, the scenery was gorgeous, the inns and innkeepers most charming, and the driving not too difficult. The weather could have been sunnier, but we made the most of the clear skies for hikes, gardens and explorations outside, with museums, churches, the Hop On bus tour of Edinburgh, and good meals saved for the rainy periods. And all thanks to your planning and recommendations. We think Absolute Escapes is a fine trip planner, and it was a pleasure working with Fern in their office. Thank you!

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes arranged a tour according to some input from us about places we wanted to visit in Scotland. We worked with Fern to fine-tune the itinerary route and length of stay at each place. Since I was interested in gardens Fern pointed out some along the route that I should see. She also recommended other points of interest, including restaurant suggestions, and arranged for an extra night in Ediburgh. The tour was personalized for us and just what we hoped for and more.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 08 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your wonderful review, Kit. I'm so pleased to hear that you had such a great time in Scotland. It was a pleasure planning your holiday with you and we hope to welcome you back to Scotland one day soon. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Scottish Odyssey, 7 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

AmazingScotland

Our holiday was a fabulous experience organised by Absolute Escapes. From the exceptional quality of the accommodation, the drives through magnificent vistas and the rugged beauty of Scotland, to how to find our way from point A to point B and the side-lights along the way. Every detail was planned to perfection and the detailed itinerary made navigating our way an absolute breeze. Our holiday ran like clockwork with advice about visits ...

Our holiday was a fabulous experience organised by Absolute Escapes. From the exceptional quality of the accommodation, the drives through magnificent vistas and the rugged beauty of Scotland, to how to find our way from point A to point B and the side-lights along the way. Every detail was planned to perfection and the detailed itinerary made navigating our way an absolute breeze. Our holiday ran like clockwork with advice about visits to major attractions and to smaller villages and their unique offerings, giving us both the highlights and once-in-a-lifetime local experiences. The B&B accommodation they booked was delightful and our hosts were unfailingly welcoming and informative and gave us many insights to the hidden gems in their areas. Our accommodation was very comfortable and well furnished with those little extras that make travel a joy – ensuite bathrooms with great showers to revive after a long day and plenty of tea and coffee to relax with. The welcome, accommodation and breakfast and dinner provided by Ian Sharp at Castle View B&B in Dufftown went to another level of outstanding. Ian is an engaging and charming host and his culinary skills and passion for the local produce is remarkable. We had a blast in this part of Speyside made all the more memorable by Ian and Betty. I can assure you that all our friends and family will be pointed in Absolute Escapes direction at the merest mention of a holiday in Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes worked with us on every aspect to ensure we had a fantastic holiday, planned in exquisite detail to include everything we requested. From our initial inquiry, through various options and possibilities we raised, Absolute Escapes responded with great advice about how we could get the most from our time in Scotland. They replied to our emails promptly and, gave us the option of speaking directly to them despite the unsociable time difference between Scotland and Australia.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Oct 2019:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments Robyn. We're so glad that you had a wonderful time on your journey around Scotland and that you enjoyed your accommodation. It was a delight to assist with making your arrangements, and if we can help with future adventures we'd love to hear from you. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo