AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 619
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 644
Reviews Accepted: 644
Reviews Rejected: 0
644 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Christine, 19 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant, once in a lifetime holiday.

We decided to do the coast to coast walk over 17 walking days and 1 rest day. A good choice, as we did not get too exhausted, and did not have any blisters. We were lucky with the weather, although 30 degrees was a bit warm for the climbs in the Lake District! We did not suffer any mist, and only 1 hour of rain until the final day, when we got absolutely soaked. The views were tremendous, and the accommodation was very good. All our luggage ...

We decided to do the coast to coast walk over 17 walking days and 1 rest day. A good choice, as we did not get too exhausted, and did not have any blisters. We were lucky with the weather, although 30 degrees was a bit warm for the climbs in the Lake District! We did not suffer any mist, and only 1 hour of rain until the final day, when we got absolutely soaked. The views were tremendous, and the accommodation was very good. All our luggage turned up daily at the correct accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything from initial enquiry, through to booking, and after care was dealt with professionally and efficiently. Daisy responded to any emails or telephone calls promply.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 20 Aug 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, Christine. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Coast to Coast adventure and had spectacular weather and views. If we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays please do not hesitate to contact us. Best wishes, Daisy Andrews

Absolute Escapes by Dr E R 21, 5 Aug 2021
Holiday Rating:

NC500 10 day trip 2021

An all round fantastic trip filled with landscapes that would rival any other in the world, brilliant food and heaps of culture. A remote white sand beach that where we spent the sunset with no one else around was the perfect back drop for an engagement & life long memory.

An all round fantastic trip filled with landscapes that would rival any other in the world, brilliant food and heaps of culture. A remote white sand beach that where we spent the sunset with no one else around was the perfect back drop for an engagement & life long memory.

Rating for tour operator:

Fern at absolute escapes set up our trip with minimal effort - altering small bits here & there at our request without complaint . High standards, very friendly and super easy.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 06 Aug 2021:

Thank you for your wonderful comments, Emily. We're so pleased to hear that you had a great time. It was a real pleasure arranging your holiday for you both and a huge congratulations on your engagement again! Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future holidays. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Ridgeway Ramblers, 27 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Red Kites and butterflies on the Ridgeway

A lovely long distance walk on the ancient Ridgeway footpath, stretching through chalk uplands and glorious well-established woodland. Red Kites flew above us every day, sometimes so close you could see every detail of their plumage. We walked through clouds of butterflies, most usual of which was the Marbled White. We visited many ancient monuments along the way, including burial mounds, the Uffington white horse, and the sites of prehistoric ...

A lovely long distance walk on the ancient Ridgeway footpath, stretching through chalk uplands and glorious well-established woodland. Red Kites flew above us every day, sometimes so close you could see every detail of their plumage. We walked through clouds of butterflies, most usual of which was the Marbled White. We visited many ancient monuments along the way, including burial mounds, the Uffington white horse, and the sites of prehistoric settlements. It was great to arrive at a different staging post each day, ready for a pint of local ale and a freshly cooked meal, and to refresh ourselves for the next stage.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very helpful and thorough. We felt we were in safe hands. They kept in touch with us when needed, for example when one of our overnight stops had closed due to Covid, and a suitable alternative was arranged for us. The information sent out before the holiday was very useful, suggesting things to see and places to eat. It was clear that all the accommodation had been thoroughly vetted and was of a good or excellent standard. The bag delivery system never failed.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 02 Aug 2021:

Thank you very much for your kind words, Marianne. It was a pleasure to organise your walking holiday and it's truly rewarding to hear that you had such a good time. Please don't hesitate to get in touch again if we can be of help with any future walking adventures. Best wishes, Katia Fernandez Mayo

Absolute Escapes by Chris , 26 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Great

Very good. Lovely scenery and accommodation

Very good. Lovely scenery and accommodation

Rating for tour operator:

Very good from start to finish

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 26 Aug 2021:

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, Christine. We're delighted that you enjoyed your walking holiday on the Kintyre Way! If we can ever be of assistance in planning future adventures, we would love to hear from you again. Best wishes, Charlotte Wood.

Absolute Escapes by Christine Jones, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Stunning

Thank you for arranging a perfect holiday for us in the Outer Hebrides. Each hotel and bed and breakfast more than met our needs and your restaurant recommendations were as varied as they were delicious. We could not quite believe how stunningly beautiful the islands were. The En-route sightseeing suggestions made the holiday a day to day adventure. It has been a delightful experience that will live long in our memories.

Thank you for arranging a perfect holiday for us in the Outer Hebrides. Each hotel and bed and breakfast more than met our needs and your restaurant recommendations were as varied as they were delicious. We could not quite believe how stunningly beautiful the islands were. The En-route sightseeing suggestions made the holiday a day to day adventure. It has been a delightful experience that will live long in our memories.

Rating for tour operator:

Helpful and considerate

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jul 2021:

Thank you for your lovely review, Christine. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time exploring the Outer Hebrides and enjoyed all of the arrangements. Please don't hesitate to contact us in the future. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by Yvonne, 24 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Perfect self-drive tour of Scotland

Six nights self drive holiday. Took the train to Edinburgh, collected hire car and went on to Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. Each hotel and guest house was welcoming and of a high standard. The weather was kind, the scenery was stunning and during our week in July we’re not troubled by midges ! Altogether a fantastic experience and very enjoyable holiday.

Six nights self drive holiday. Took the train to Edinburgh, collected hire car and went on to Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. Each hotel and guest house was welcoming and of a high standard. The weather was kind, the scenery was stunning and during our week in July we’re not troubled by midges ! Altogether a fantastic experience and very enjoyable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Arranged our holiday at very short notice and delivered a perfect itinerary which covered everything in detail day by day. All the accommodation was of a high standard and we felt confident that Absolute Escapes were one of the best companies we could have chosen.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 27 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, Yvonne. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time on your holiday and enjoyed all of the arrangements. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future holidays. Best wishes, Fern Urquhart

Absolute Escapes by FM, 22 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Highland experience

We did the 7 day West Highland Way trip and stayed in excellent accommodation in stunning locations. We chose bag transport which was seamless, and the whole trip was free of any hiccups. Would 100% recommend

We did the 7 day West Highland Way trip and stayed in excellent accommodation in stunning locations. We chose bag transport which was seamless, and the whole trip was free of any hiccups. Would 100% recommend

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes - very thorough and professional and great value for money

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 23 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely review Fay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time walking the West Highland Way and enjoyed all your accommodations. Please do not hesitate to contact us again if we can be of assistance with any future walking holidays. Best wishes, Caitlin Rush

Absolute Escapes by Silver Fox, 20 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

All that we could have hoped for!

It has been a long held ambition to of my wife and I to walk the Pennine Way. Thanks to the very helpful and highly efficient staff at Absolute Escapes, we have now managed this, at the ages of 72 and 68. At a time of Covid, we put all the route planning / accommodation booking and baggage transportation in the hands of the company. As a result, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience of this potentially challenging long distance trail during ...

It has been a long held ambition to of my wife and I to walk the Pennine Way. Thanks to the very helpful and highly efficient staff at Absolute Escapes, we have now managed this, at the ages of 72 and 68. At a time of Covid, we put all the route planning / accommodation booking and baggage transportation in the hands of the company. As a result, we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience of this potentially challenging long distance trail during difficult times for the holiday industry. Information in advance of setting off was clear and very helpful, the perfect preparation. When an accommodation problem arose en route, this was resolved before we were even aware of it. Almost all of the accommodation was very comfortable and entirely suited to long distance walkers.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly from first contact. Well informed and encouraging. Highly supportive at every stage of planning, organisation and walking. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we always knew we were in good hands, should any problems arise. This takes so much potential stress out of the enterprise of long distance walking.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 21 Jul 2021:

Many thanks for your review Malcolm, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the Pennine Way so much, and if we can be of any assistance with your future travel plans then please don't hesitate to get in touch. All the best, Jason Martin.

Absolute Escapes by Megan, 19 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way Walking Week

I spent 7 days walking the West Highland Way, staying in B&B's and having my luggage transferred between each of them. All was arranged by my tour operator, Absolute Escapes.

I spent 7 days walking the West Highland Way, staying in B&B's and having my luggage transferred between each of them. All was arranged by my tour operator, Absolute Escapes.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent - everything worked really well, from B&B accommodation and baggage services. Great recommendations for places to eat at each stop and excellent, comfortable accommodation. Really good information about the walk - including a great guide book and map. Although I knew of the Covid 19 restrictions (living in Scotland), the information provided would be really useful for those coming from other parts of the UK.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 20 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your kind comments, Megan. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your walking holiday on the West Highland Way and were pleased with all of the arrangements and recommendations we made. If we can ever be of assistance in planning future adventures, we would love to hear from you again! Best wishes, Charlotte Wood

Absolute Escapes by Pathasmu, 16 Jul 2021
Holiday Rating:

NC500 Scotland

We have had one of the best driving holidays in Scotland. The whole itinerary was well presented and easy to follow. Apart from one B&B, which I am sure you guys are aware of, the rest of the stay in each place was excellent. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Our best stay was at Ullapool where the whole experience was wonderful. We all wished we had stayed there slightly longer. If I had to change the itinerary, it would have been ...

We have had one of the best driving holidays in Scotland. The whole itinerary was well presented and easy to follow. Apart from one B&B, which I am sure you guys are aware of, the rest of the stay in each place was excellent. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Our best stay was at Ullapool where the whole experience was wonderful. We all wished we had stayed there slightly longer. If I had to change the itinerary, it would have been couple of extra days in the Cairngorms. Our stay in Ballater was very memorable. All in all a wonderful Scottish experience made extra special due to the itinerary prepared by Absolute Escapes. We will definitely come back to Absolute Escapes for future driving holidays. From the four of us a very heartiest thank you.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional and helpful throughout. We will definitely be using them again.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Jul 2021:

Thank you very much for your lovely review, Hasmukh. It was a pleasure to assist with the arrangements for your North Coast 500 holiday and it's great to hear that you had a fantastic time. We hope that you get a chance to return to Ullapool and the Cairngorms soon. Please do get back in touch if we can be of assistance with any future travel plans! Best wishes, Caitlin Rush