AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 701
Good 20
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 721
Reviews Accepted: 721
Reviews Rejected: 0
721 reviews
Sort by:
MTB - The Hebridean Trail by Mr B S 14, 26 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Lifetime experience

Lifetime experience

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly an competent

The Summer Isles by Angus, 25 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sea kayaking in The Summer Isles with Wilderness Scotland

The weather threw everything at us and so the itinerary had to be changed significantly but Wilderness Scotland are an organised and resourceful operator with good kit, good camp food and a good spirit. The midges didn't dare intervene.

The weather threw everything at us and so the itinerary had to be changed significantly but Wilderness Scotland are an organised and resourceful operator with good kit, good camp food and a good spirit. The midges didn't dare intervene.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 02 Sep 2014:

Glad the midges stayed put while you braved the aftermath of Hurricane Bertha. Hope to welcome you back when the weather's a little calmer.

Wilderness Scotland by Lochaber no more, 25 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

lovely guided walks in a remote unspoilt part of Scotland

Eigg was a revelation-a fertile, wooded, varied island with lots of wildflowers, beautiful views to other islands, interesting vibrant community. Kildonnan house was a joy, being situated near the sea with fantastic views. The food was great. Nothing was too much trouble for Marie, who ran the farmhouse. There was a lovely comfortable sitting room with a wood burning stove and lots of interesting reading material.The small number of guests ...

Eigg was a revelation-a fertile, wooded, varied island with lots of wildflowers, beautiful views to other islands, interesting vibrant community. Kildonnan house was a joy, being situated near the sea with fantastic views. The food was great. Nothing was too much trouble for Marie, who ran the farmhouse. There was a lovely comfortable sitting room with a wood burning stove and lots of interesting reading material.The small number of guests lead to a cameraderie

Rating for tour operator:

They were very obliging when we had to alter the inital arrangements

MTB - The Hebridean Trail by Snaper, 25 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Mountain Biking - Harris and Lewis

The Hebridean Trail Mountain biking trip provided a different wonderful perspective of the ruggedness and long firm beaches of Harris and Lewis. In short the trip was thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

The Hebridean Trail Mountain biking trip provided a different wonderful perspective of the ruggedness and long firm beaches of Harris and Lewis. In short the trip was thoroughly enjoyable and memorable.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland provide a diverse selection of Activity Holidays many of which I have signed up for. They provide an opportunity to witness and experience the magnificent landscape of Scotland and its wildlife. The experience is always enhanced by the wonderful and accommodating Scottish hosts. Wilderness Scotland guides are highly knowledgable of their particular discipline, Scotland's history and its flora and fauna. I am more than happy to recommend Wilderness Scotland as a outstanding operator.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 02 Sep 2014:

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words Ralph.

We're delighted that you've chosen to travel with us again and look forward to welcoming you back, only that we'll have to develop some new itineraries to keep up with you :)

Scottish Sea Kayak Trail North by Ali, 23 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

excellent

I had a great week sea kayaking in the rain off the North West coast of Scotland. The guides were excellent and arranged great trips and were very willing to share their knowledge of kayaking.

I had a great week sea kayaking in the rain off the North West coast of Scotland. The guides were excellent and arranged great trips and were very willing to share their knowledge of kayaking.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator provide an excellent service. Good pre-tour advice, clear website, regular email contact, informative telephone contact. A very efficient service.

Wilderness Scotland by LondonMan1966, 21 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Atrocious Scottish weather not helped by indifferent hotel accommodation

7 days of walking and outdoors in the Highlands of Scotland. Hurricane Bertha put a stop to that!

7 days of walking and outdoors in the Highlands of Scotland. Hurricane Bertha put a stop to that!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland worked hard to arrange something for us last minute, but unfortunately the hotels they found were really not that good. The guide was excellent and some of their other recommendations very helpful.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 15 Oct 2014:

Hurricane Bertha was obviously an exceptional weather event and caused havoc across the UK. As you note below, our team worked with you and your guide throughout the week to adapt the planned itinerary to make the best of your time in Scotland.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 15 Oct 2014:

It is challenging to find suitable accommodation at short notice for a group of 7 people in August, which is the busiest month for travel in Scotland. As this was a bespoke itinerary, we had originally quoted higher end hotels but we then changed them, at your request, to match your budget for this trip. However, the hotels where you stayed are owner-managed hotels which provide a warm Scottish welcome and which are located in spectacular locations. It's just unfortunate that the awful weather that week prevented you from seeing the hotels and their surroundings at their best.

We're glad that you found our guide and office team helpful as we worked hard to help you get the most from this holiday. I have no doubt that you will have better weather on your next trip to Scotland, as it doesn't get worse than the weather you experienced that week!

Wilderness Scotland by drop, 20 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Knoydart and the Inner Hebrides- inspiring experience of beautiful landscapes and excellent photographic guidance by Colin Prior

photographic holiday to the islands of the Inner Hebrides with Colin prior, comfortable stay at a cottage at a beach on Knoydart with a great group of 9. Excellent food and very friendly local people. Colin Prior is a phantastic and very inspiring photographer with great talent to teach photography experience-near and to also convey the beauty of those remote undisturbed landscapes through his own lifelong passion for it. This comes across ...

photographic holiday to the islands of the Inner Hebrides with Colin prior, comfortable stay at a cottage at a beach on Knoydart with a great group of 9. Excellent food and very friendly local people. Colin Prior is a phantastic and very inspiring photographer with great talent to teach photography experience-near and to also convey the beauty of those remote undisturbed landscapes through his own lifelong passion for it. This comes across very authentically. The group was a lot of fun to be with, interesting people and we all got along very well. The local people on the boat and on land were very welcoming and competent so we could feel safe and at home. An unforgettable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

very good and competent information provided by Wilderness Scotland. Every question was answered promptly and the process went all very smoothly.

Canoeing - River Spey Descent by osprey, 20 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Spey Descent open canoeing

We certainly experienced a diverse range of river conditions. In fact the river rose so high we literally had to abandon ship.However the guides ensured we continued paddling and we circumnavigated Loch Insch instead, seeing osprey fishing and many goldeneye ducks.

We certainly experienced a diverse range of river conditions. In fact the river rose so high we literally had to abandon ship.However the guides ensured we continued paddling and we circumnavigated Loch Insch instead, seeing osprey fishing and many goldeneye ducks.

Rating for tour operator:

Very organised Literature thorough Good website

Walking - Outer Hebrides & Skye by MGL comments, 19 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Amazing.

We hiked on the Isle of Skye and the Isles of Lewis and Harris in the Outer Hebrides.

We hiked on the Isle of Skye and the Isles of Lewis and Harris in the Outer Hebrides.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely professional, the guide was the best we have ever experienced.

The Great Glen Canoe Trail by Rune, 18 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Watching the beautiful world of Scotland float by

We were canoeing the great glen canal and passed through several lochs along the way, one of them being Loch Ness. Imagine Loch Ness on a misty morning and imagine the beautiful landscape of Scotland floating by as you paddle along in your canoe together with your team mates. There is nothing like it! It's a trip that brings you back to what really matters; living in the moment.

We were canoeing the great glen canal and passed through several lochs along the way, one of them being Loch Ness. Imagine Loch Ness on a misty morning and imagine the beautiful landscape of Scotland floating by as you paddle along in your canoe together with your team mates. There is nothing like it! It's a trip that brings you back to what really matters; living in the moment.

Rating for tour operator:

It was a very well put together and executed trip by Wilderness Scotland.

Wilderness Scotland responded to this review on 02 Sep 2014:

Very poetic Rune and lovely to read. Thanks for taking the time to write your kind words, it makes all our office and guiding team feel very loved.