AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wild Frontiers

Wild Frontiers Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wild Frontiers

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 209
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 221
Reviews Accepted: 220
Reviews Rejected: 1
220 reviews
Sort by:
Wild Frontiers by ians, 2 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful and varied trip round Cuba

We had a ten day tour of Cuba, with private guide and driver at each destination. We visited Havana, Vinales, Trinidad and Playa Giron (on the Bay of Pigs). Each of our guides gave us a wonderful insight to, amongst other things, Hemingway's house and life on Cuba, the architecture of Havana, and walks around a few national parks. Everything was well organised from the moment we stepped off our plane on arrival, until the moment we checked ...

We had a ten day tour of Cuba, with private guide and driver at each destination. We visited Havana, Vinales, Trinidad and Playa Giron (on the Bay of Pigs). Each of our guides gave us a wonderful insight to, amongst other things, Hemingway's house and life on Cuba, the architecture of Havana, and walks around a few national parks. Everything was well organised from the moment we stepped off our plane on arrival, until the moment we checked in for the flight home. A great experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful - and produced an itinerary to meet our requirements.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 02 Dec 2015:

Thanks for your kind comments Ian, we're delighted you had a successful trip! Best wishes from all at Wild Frontiers.

Wild Frontiers by dwrd, 1 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Romania - beautiful experience

Wonderful trip. I didn't expect Romania to be so beautiful. We walked in the countryside full of very pretty wild flowers. We would come across friendly shepherds and farmers who invited us to try their very tasty cheese. The painted castles were stunning. The homestays were comfortable and the hosts incredibly warm and welcoming and we ate delicious home slow cooked home food whilst literally watching the cows come home and listening to romantic ...

Wonderful trip. I didn't expect Romania to be so beautiful. We walked in the countryside full of very pretty wild flowers. We would come across friendly shepherds and farmers who invited us to try their very tasty cheese. The painted castles were stunning. The homestays were comfortable and the hosts incredibly warm and welcoming and we ate delicious home slow cooked home food whilst literally watching the cows come home and listening to romantic gypsy music being played. Being in the remote pretty Saxon villages was like stepping back in time with locals wearing traditional handmade clothes, using horse & carts, with no farm machinery but just hand tools like scythe - absolutely wonderful. I would definitely recommend anyone to go quickly before they change and become modernised.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers combined comfort, fun, culture and activities brilliantly. Their guides are also very friendly and fun to be with.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 02 Dec 2015:

Thanks for your kind comments Anna, we're delighted you enjoyed your Romania walking trip. Best wishes from all at Wild Frontiers.

Wild Frontiers by ad, 1 Dec 2015
Holiday Rating:

The perfect honeymoon!

I had asked Wild Frontiers to organise my honeymoon. I didn't know exactly where I wanted to go but I had several places in mind and I had an idea of what sort of experience I wanted. I gave them my brief which was that it had to be 3 weeks long and include culture, activities, comfort with a little luxury at times and a minimum of 3 nights stay in each place and not too many biting insects. Their Latin America specialist suggested Brazil and ...

I had asked Wild Frontiers to organise my honeymoon. I didn't know exactly where I wanted to go but I had several places in mind and I had an idea of what sort of experience I wanted. I gave them my brief which was that it had to be 3 weeks long and include culture, activities, comfort with a little luxury at times and a minimum of 3 nights stay in each place and not too many biting insects. Their Latin America specialist suggested Brazil and came up with an itinerary which encompassed all my requests. We started off in Rio staying at a lovely boutique hotel which had a roof bar/pool with a beautiful view and within walking distance to Ipanema and Copacabana beach. The bar tender was friendly, played great music and made the best Caipirinhas. We then headed off to Paraty and was met by our driver/guide who drove the 4 hours drive but the hours flew by as our driver/guide was so knowledgeable and told us about interesting stories and history of Brazil. In Paraty, we stayed at a beautiful house by the water which was reachable only by boat. The house had gorgeous views with hammocks, kayaks and snorkelling gear. There was a cook who came every morning to make our breakfasts and prepare our dinners so that we only had to warm them up in the evenings. There was also a boat at our disposal to take us to the many deserted beaches and islands and to Paraty, a very colourful picturesque town. It was paradise and a perfect way to set us off for the rest of our honeymoon. We then went to the Pantanal and stayed at a lovely lodge with fantastic views and a pool where we went for walks and safari drives and spotted jaguars, giant anteaters, tapirs, deers, capybaras and loads of very pretty birds. The guide there was very knowledgeable as well as friendly and the chef was very good. After that, we headed off to Salvador where we stayed at a lovely hotel right in the middle of the old town, Pelourinho which is a World Unesco Heritage site. The old town is beautiful and at night there are musicians everywhere creating a great vibe. We followed a band down the streets rehearsing for the Rio carnival and went to a capoeira show and were stunned at how agile, accurate, atheletic and energetic the dancers were. We also had a very interesting experience going to Sao Joaquim market which is huge and has absolutely everything you can think of for sale including live animals, butcher stalls, flowers, veg, fruits, herbs & spices, food & drink stalls and clothes and household stuff. After that, we went to Ilha de Boipeba which is an island about 90km SW of Salvador. You could fly there but we chose to take the more adventurous and fun route of ferry, car and speedboat. We felt like we were in a bond movie as the speedboat took us through heady bents of channels of mangroves. We stayed at a delightful place at Boipeba with the most charming of host and tasty kitchen. We felt very spoilt, being able to choose our own deserted beach around the island. We took a boat around the island and had fun snorkelling and finding our own private beaches and sand dunes until the tide came in. We ate delicious lobsters and drank caipirinhas watching amazing sunsets on the beach. We then went back to Rio and stayed at the famous Copacabana Palace and had a delicious dinner at their Michelin star restaurant, Mee. We also did a tour to see Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain with a great guide who was very friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. All in all, the trip was fantastically organised. WF had informed everyone that it was our honeymoon and everywhere we turned up, there would be a bottle of champagne/fruits/cake/flower petals on the bed, etc which really made us feel very special and very welcome. I really couldn't have been happier.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers listened and understood my requirements and took everything on board and organised a wonderful trip. They are very patient and made us feel very special.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 02 Dec 2015:

Thanks for your kind comments Anna, we're delighted you enjoyed your honeymoon in Brazil so much. A lot of planning went into it so it's great to hear it went so well. Best wishes from all at Wild Frontiers.

Wild Frontiers by Saetnan, 9 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Interesting

This was the 5th STAN in my "STAN"-quest. My aim is to visit all 7 non-CIS STAN's. In Kazakhstan my aim was to visit Lake Aral and the Baikonur Cosmodrome during a launch of a manned flight. And I got to do both. And I had no negative episodes.

This was the 5th STAN in my "STAN"-quest. My aim is to visit all 7 non-CIS STAN's. In Kazakhstan my aim was to visit Lake Aral and the Baikonur Cosmodrome during a launch of a manned flight. And I got to do both. And I had no negative episodes.

Rating for tour operator:

I'm very pleased with Wild Frontiers and their effort to tailor a tour for me.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 18 Sep 2015:

Thank you Jan, we are delighted you had a successful trip. It was a pleasure to help you get further to completing your 'Stan' quest!

Wild Frontiers by Mr S H 15, 6 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Hindu Kush Festival Adventure, Pakistan, May 2015

I have to say what a truly amazing experience! A real privilege to see such stunning scenery and meet wonderful, warm and friendly people. This was an opportunity to visit cultures that simply reading about could not do justice to. No exaggeration to say this trip was life changing. I can`t praise Wild Frontiers enough for their organisation, imagination and the fantastic effort put in by the excellent guides. Well done!

I have to say what a truly amazing experience! A real privilege to see such stunning scenery and meet wonderful, warm and friendly people. This was an opportunity to visit cultures that simply reading about could not do justice to. No exaggeration to say this trip was life changing. I can`t praise Wild Frontiers enough for their organisation, imagination and the fantastic effort put in by the excellent guides. Well done!

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers run small group trips to unusual but rewarding parts of the world, and after hearing plenty of positive reports from other travellers I found them to be an excellent choice of company on this, my first holiday with them. There is a real sense of effort and willingness by all the staff, both in the office and by the guides to provide the best experience they can. I won`t hesitate to use them again. Regularly!

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 08 Jun 2015:

We are so glad you had such a successful trip Simon - feedback like this makes all of our jobs worthwhile!

Wild Frontiers by Mr M G 15, 3 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Oman desert tour

10 days touring Oman from Muscat to Salalah, including much off road in the mountains beaches and desert. Exceptional local guide taking us to many fascinating places, this journey included several days camping in the desert and on secluded beaches. Rating 10/10

10 days touring Oman from Muscat to Salalah, including much off road in the mountains beaches and desert. Exceptional local guide taking us to many fascinating places, this journey included several days camping in the desert and on secluded beaches. Rating 10/10

Rating for tour operator:

My trips with Wild Frontiers have been well organised and to most interesting places not too often visited.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Mar 2015:

Thanks for your feedback Michael, we are delighted you enjoyed Oman.

Iran Unveiled 2017 by Kropotkin, 20 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Iran Persian Explorer

> Iran Persian Explorer > Wild Frontiers provides an absorbing and fascinating 10 days in an endlessly varied and surprising country. Genuinely curious and friendly people; exquisite Islamic architecture...turquoise domes, elegant minarets, intricate mosaic work; the ancient site of Persopolis with its monumental gateways and frieze decorated stairways; the simplicity of Darius's stone tomb alone in the desert. Isfahan, one of the world's most ...

> Iran Persian Explorer > Wild Frontiers provides an absorbing and fascinating 10 days in an endlessly varied and surprising country. Genuinely curious and friendly people; exquisite Islamic architecture...turquoise domes, elegant minarets, intricate mosaic work; the ancient site of Persopolis with its monumental gateways and frieze decorated stairways; the simplicity of Darius's stone tomb alone in the desert. Isfahan, one of the world's most glorious cities of gardens, bridges ( unfortunately crossing a temporarily dry riverbed), palaces and mosques; mud desert towns of intricate lanes, local cafes and ancient mansions cooled by tall wind towers. > Go there now with Wild Frontiers.

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with WF on half a dozen occasions. Value their commitment to sustainable tourism, small groups, combining main tourist sites with "off-the-beaten-track" experiences, meeting and staying with local people - seeing the real country.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 20 Feb 2015:

Thank you your kind comments Howard, we are so pleased you enjoyed Iran. It is such a rewarding destination, very few people if any are disappointed. Amazing sights and the friendliest people we have met anywhere!

Wild Frontiers by Sas, 18 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Travelling experiences in south east asia

We spent 32 days exploring Myanmar Laos and Cambodia.

We spent 32 days exploring Myanmar Laos and Cambodia.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers listened to,our requirements and delivered what we wanted most of the time.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 20 Feb 2015:

Thanks for your comments Sarah, glad it was a successful trip!

Bolivia: High and Wild by Mr S M 14, 17 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

An authentic, interesting and thought provoking travel experience through Bolivia

I recently took part in the "Bolivia High and Wild" trip with the UK company Wild Frontiers. As a veteran group traveller who has wanted to visit Bolivia for many years, this trip not only lived up to expectation but totally exceeded it. The whole experience from start to finish was mind-blowing - the itinerary was a great balance of culture, landscapes, activity and sight seeing and I really felt like I gained a genuine insight into this ...

I recently took part in the "Bolivia High and Wild" trip with the UK company Wild Frontiers. As a veteran group traveller who has wanted to visit Bolivia for many years, this trip not only lived up to expectation but totally exceeded it. The whole experience from start to finish was mind-blowing - the itinerary was a great balance of culture, landscapes, activity and sight seeing and I really felt like I gained a genuine insight into this fascinating destination. The companies attention to detail was good and added to the overall experience and the standard of the tour was really high considering the remoteness of the destinations.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers were simply excellent. This was a well though out trip, and even when things happened that were beyond their control, a contingency was quickly in place. I was also impressed with their general travel ethos and attitude toward local people. Several members of the group had travelled with them before and based on this experience I will definitely do so again.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 17 Dec 2014:

Thanks for your kind comments Stan, we are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Bolivia so much!

Wild Frontiers by Pembswomble, 31 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Ecuador, volcanos, walks, hot springs, eco lodges, jungle, rafting and more! :)

Ecuador, volcanos, walks, hot springs, eco lodges, jungle, rafting and more! :)

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers organised us a fun packed and varied trip through Ecuador. They listened carefully to what we like doing and what we wanted to do and what they booked far exceeded our expectations!

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Aug 2014:

Thanks for your feedback Katherine, we are delighted you had a great time in Ecuador.