AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wild Frontiers

Wild Frontiers Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wild Frontiers

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 194
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 206
Reviews Accepted: 205
Reviews Rejected: 1
205 reviews
Sort by:
Wild Frontiers by WMAD, 22 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Excellent mix of culture, food and guide

I went on a food and culture group tour to Iran with Wild Frontiers. The tour was well thought out and combined an excellent mix of culture, food and led by a top guide, Mehrdad who was like an encyclopedia but also very fun to be with. I like that WF tours are always small in size, no more than 12. In this case, there were 7 of us. We were very well looked after. Iran was very surprising. The people are so disconnected with the government. ...

I went on a food and culture group tour to Iran with Wild Frontiers. The tour was well thought out and combined an excellent mix of culture, food and led by a top guide, Mehrdad who was like an encyclopedia but also very fun to be with. I like that WF tours are always small in size, no more than 12. In this case, there were 7 of us. We were very well looked after. Iran was very surprising. The people are so disconnected with the government. Persepolis is amazing. Walking through 550 BC architecture is fascinating and at the same time, humbling but unfortunately we hit it at the end of a 3 day local holiday so, was forced to share the experience with a lot of local tourists who were very friendly but loved doing selfies, which is one of my pet hates. The gardens of Shiraz, the mosques of Esfahan, and both the gardens and mosques of Kashan were wonderful, the latter probably my favourite. I wished I had more time in Iran. As it was a group tour (and not a private one), we crammed in a lot of things in the 10 days that we were there. I am very glad I visited it as I have always been intrigued to see it.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers looked after us very well from sending us very helpful information about getting the visa to looking after us all throughout our trip. Their guides are always so brilliant.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your food tour to Iran so much.
We hope to welcome you on another Wild Frontiers trip soon.
Best wishes from all at WF

Iran Unveiled 2018 by Georgie, 18 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Iran: Persian Explorer

We visited the major historical sites around 4 main centres - Shiraz, Yazd, Esfahan and Tehran and had a very varied and well thought out programme each day. The Persian cuisine was delicious. However, meeting the people and feeling their genuine warmth was a delight. I was most impressed by their good manners. We had excellent tour leader, local guide and driver, who made the holiday extra special by working so hard.

We visited the major historical sites around 4 main centres - Shiraz, Yazd, Esfahan and Tehran and had a very varied and well thought out programme each day. The Persian cuisine was delicious. However, meeting the people and feeling their genuine warmth was a delight. I was most impressed by their good manners. We had excellent tour leader, local guide and driver, who made the holiday extra special by working so hard.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers is an extremely professional company who think of everything.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Iran so much. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by LOLLIUS , 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

ROMAN ALGERIA

A SEVEN DAY BLITZKRIEG ODYSSEY THAT COVERED ALL THE MAJOR ROMAN SITES IN ALGERIA, WHICH ARE AMONG THE FINEST IN THE WORLD.

A SEVEN DAY BLITZKRIEG ODYSSEY THAT COVERED ALL THE MAJOR ROMAN SITES IN ALGERIA, WHICH ARE AMONG THE FINEST IN THE WORLD.

Rating for tour operator:

EXCELLENT, AS ON A PREVIOUS ADVENTURE TO SYRIA.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to Algeria so much.
Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Mr A T 18, 15 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Every day threw up new opportunities to go "wow".

We spent two weeks following the Chinese section of the Silk Road. The whole journey was amazing in every way. There was a private driver and guide for the two of us at each step along the route. They were all excellent. The hotels were individual, each with their own unique signature, and again of the very highest quality. Where ever we went we enjoyed unforgettable experiences - Terracotta Warriors; Mogao Caves; Heavenly Lake; Kashgar Sunday ...

We spent two weeks following the Chinese section of the Silk Road. The whole journey was amazing in every way. There was a private driver and guide for the two of us at each step along the route. They were all excellent. The hotels were individual, each with their own unique signature, and again of the very highest quality. Where ever we went we enjoyed unforgettable experiences - Terracotta Warriors; Mogao Caves; Heavenly Lake; Kashgar Sunday Market; the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace to name but a few. The list goes on and on. Without a doubt one of, if not THE best holiday we have ever had.

Rating for tour operator:

Personal service from Nathan Drane. All our requirements efficiently and effectively dealt with. Nothing was too much trouble. We will use Wild Frontiers again and have no hesitation in recommending to family and friends. Five stars all round.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 22 May 2018:

Thank you for your feedback Anthony and we are delighted you enjoyed your trip along the Chinese Silk Road so much.
Best wishes from all at WF

Wild Frontiers by Tucksf, 14 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Poorly planned and poorly executed tour Across the Caucusus

The hotels were inadequate and , at times, not clean. We drove around in a bus for 60 but were only a group of 12. The food monotonous and uninspired in a region known for its cuisine. We went to tourist trap restaurants that would have been fine for a massive group but ridiculous fir our small contingent. Our hotels were often located far away from the sites we were visiting.,

The hotels were inadequate and , at times, not clean. We drove around in a bus for 60 but were only a group of 12. The food monotonous and uninspired in a region known for its cuisine. We went to tourist trap restaurants that would have been fine for a massive group but ridiculous fir our small contingent. Our hotels were often located far away from the sites we were visiting.,

Rating for tour operator:

A very nice competent tour leader who does not come from any of the countries we visited nor speak any of their languages nor the lingua Franca, Russian, of the region. His hands were tied as to providing us with an adequate experience as he had no control over the itinerary nor the restaurant choices. We were happy with him but overall everyone thought the tour was very poorly done Local guides were unenthusiastic. Many if the other travelers on this tour have traveled with wild frontiers many times all over the world. Everyone was disappointed by this tour and confused as to how different it was than their previous experiences with what is considered one of the premier adventure travel companies.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

Dear Dr Tucket,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your trip to the Caucasus.

Regarding the transport, the Caucasus region is currently undergoing a huge increase in tourism numbers at the moment and this is inevitably putting a strain on the local infrastructure. As such, on this occasion we used a larger vehicle than we would normally use but we felt this was a comfortable alternative.

Regarding the accommodation, again we apologise that you did not feel this was up to standard and we are investigating this as we have only had positive comments before.

With regards to the food and restaurant choices, we have discussed with the guide the issue of the restaurants, and in particular the one used in Tblisi. Please be assured that this was an oversight by the local team on the ground in Tbilisi as we personally requested that we only ever used small local restaurants whilst in Tbilisi.
Once again, we would like to offer our apologies for the elements of the trip which you found to be unsatisfactory.

Wild Frontiers by Susan love India!, 15 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely amazing, exciting, interesting!!!!

We chose Wild Frontiers Travel to tour India for the first time recently and weren't disappointed. Actually, the tour, the guide, the accommodation, the food, India in general, far exceeded our expectations. All of the above was amazing and we cant wait to do another part of India with WFT in the very near future. Our guide, Mayur was so knowledgeable, interesting to listen to, helpful and caring etc etc. He went out of his way to fulfil personal ...

We chose Wild Frontiers Travel to tour India for the first time recently and weren't disappointed. Actually, the tour, the guide, the accommodation, the food, India in general, far exceeded our expectations. All of the above was amazing and we cant wait to do another part of India with WFT in the very near future. Our guide, Mayur was so knowledgeable, interesting to listen to, helpful and caring etc etc. He went out of his way to fulfil personal requests along the journey and make sure every moment in India was a memorable one for us all. The tour size, 12, was perfect and we made some awesome new friends from all over the world. My husband and I haven't stopped thinking about India and our WFT Tour since we arrived back home to Western Australia three weeks ago! Can't wait to book the next one!!!!!

Rating for tour operator:

Mayur was amazing and knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. He was friendly, caring, informative and made our first trip to India all the more memorable. We hope to have him as our guide some day again when we travel back to India.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 15 Mar 2018:

Many thanks for your feedback Susan, we're delighted you enjoyed your trip to India so much.
Best wishes from all at WF

Wild Frontiers by Doctor Paul, 5 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant trip!

The Galapagos islands were amazing.Could have stayed longer. The Cloud Forest was soggy!

The Galapagos islands were amazing.Could have stayed longer. The Cloud Forest was soggy!

Rating for tour operator:

Highly efficient. Everything worked smoothly. All the guides were excellent. One minor Glitch getting to Finch Bay.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 27 Feb 2018:

Dear Paul,
Thanks for your feedback and we are delighted you had such a successful trip to the Galapagos. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Canadian Dave, 9 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Trekkin in Myanmar

I have done +40 of these trips and this is definitely in the top 2-3, from the quality of the operator, the guides and trip content. Amazing trip and the trekking was outstanding. I believe that this region will become a 'must do' destination for serious trekkers in the coming years.

I have done +40 of these trips and this is definitely in the top 2-3, from the quality of the operator, the guides and trip content. Amazing trip and the trekking was outstanding. I believe that this region will become a 'must do' destination for serious trekkers in the coming years.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers did an outstanding job. Our guides went beyond expectations in ensuring that we experienced the local culture. This ranged from contact with the local levels in the villages (local trekking guide was member of the tribe to non-motorized canoe trip through a village in Inle Lake at sunset. Accommodation was excellent. The daily briefing were through and consistently good through out the whole trip. Wild Frontiers is my 'go to operator' for such tripos in the future.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 12 Dec 2017:

Thank you for submitting your feedback Dave, we are delighted that you had such a successful trip to Myanmar. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Devontraveller, 6 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

A historical roller coaster

I spent 2 weeks travelling around Cambodia experiencing ancient history, moving memorials to more recent history and some fascinating countryside. We had two guides, one British albeit living in Laos and the other a local guide with great english and a fantastic sense of humour. I love the little treats that pitch up unexpectedly on wild frontier trips and the fact that small group means small with a maximum of 12 people. As on most of their ...

I spent 2 weeks travelling around Cambodia experiencing ancient history, moving memorials to more recent history and some fascinating countryside. We had two guides, one British albeit living in Laos and the other a local guide with great english and a fantastic sense of humour. I love the little treats that pitch up unexpectedly on wild frontier trips and the fact that small group means small with a maximum of 12 people. As on most of their group trips food was included and we visited some fantastic local restaurants and ate really well. I would recommend wild frontiers.

Rating for tour operator:

see above

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 12 Dec 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback Sara, we are delighted you had such a successful trip to Cambodia. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Darbosport, 5 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

A brilliant experience in a brilliant country

Namibia offers a complete diversity of experience. From the dusty, corrugated, roads to the amazing geology, from the pure theatre of watching wild animals at the watering holes to wild camping, the whole trip was one that will remain in the memory forever.

Namibia offers a complete diversity of experience. From the dusty, corrugated, roads to the amazing geology, from the pure theatre of watching wild animals at the watering holes to wild camping, the whole trip was one that will remain in the memory forever.

Rating for tour operator:

Our ninth trip with Wild Frontiers fully lived up to expectations. The care with which the company looks after its small groups is second to none and the itineraries offered provide amazing experiences

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Dec 2017:

Thank you for submitting your feedback Howard, We are delighted you had such a successful trip to Namibia. Best wishes from all at WF.