AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wild Frontiers

Wild Frontiers Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wild Frontiers

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 210
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 222
Reviews Accepted: 221
Reviews Rejected: 1
221 reviews
Sort by:
Wild Frontiers by Paddy, 12 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

A great way to visit South America

This was a great introduction to South America; Peru, Bolivia, Argentina and Brazil seeing everything that a traveller should see. Great hotels, excellent transport and superb guides with very good English.

This was a great introduction to South America; Peru, Bolivia, Argentina and Brazil seeing everything that a traveller should see. Great hotels, excellent transport and superb guides with very good English.

Rating for tour operator:

Once again Wild Frontiers gave us a splendid adventure, never a problem at the many borders, and always a number to ring in every country if we ever got into difficulties. We have every faith in them and would travel to Mars with them, knowing there wouldn't be any hitches!

Wild Frontiers by Paddy, 12 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip

We travelled through Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and across China. Not a single problem at some pretty remote border crossings and a guide always waiting for us. Great hotels, good transport fantastic guides. We saw everything we wanted to and it was the adventure of a lifetime.

We travelled through Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and across China. Not a single problem at some pretty remote border crossings and a guide always waiting for us. Great hotels, good transport fantastic guides. We saw everything we wanted to and it was the adventure of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers are a great company who have the knack of assessing your needs and then fulfilling them. We have every faith in them. In the past few years we have visited over a dozen countries with them, and had a total of 17 guides (only one guide in all of those didn't quite cut the mustard. There is always an English speaking manager in each country that you can contact if anything should go wrong ... nothing has ever gone wrong yet!

Wild Frontiers by The Wilson Family, 11 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Borneo Family Adventure

We had a couple of relaxing days in Kota Kinabalu at the start of our 10 day Borneo holiday before setting off for Sandakan & the Sepilok Orang-utan Sanctuary. There we had our 1st glimpse of Orang-utans & they were only a few metres away. Kids & adults very excited. Then down the Kinabatangan River to one of it's lodges & the start of our 3 day river safari. Fantastic sightings & sounds along the river - probiscus, gibbons & long tailed macaque ...

We had a couple of relaxing days in Kota Kinabalu at the start of our 10 day Borneo holiday before setting off for Sandakan & the Sepilok Orang-utan Sanctuary. There we had our 1st glimpse of Orang-utans & they were only a few metres away. Kids & adults very excited. Then down the Kinabatangan River to one of it's lodges & the start of our 3 day river safari. Fantastic sightings & sounds along the river - probiscus, gibbons & long tailed macaque monkeys - highlights had to be seeing an orang-utan in the wild & on the trail of some pygmy elephants. Then off to Lahad Datu by air & onto a 2.5hour 4WD trip into primary jungle & rainforest at Danum Valley & the Borneo Rainforest Lodge - absolutely awesome! Day & night safaris, tubing down the river (watch out for leeches though!) & the tree top canopy walkway 26m above the rainforest floor - simply an amazing place.

Rating for tour operator:

Tailor made itinerary - with great attention to detail always from our first telephone conversation onwards. Consideration given to family requirements & request all the time. All went to plan. No surprises - First class service.

Wild Frontiers by pisumcorporum, 10 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Egypt from Alexandria to Aswan

We had been with this company to the Caucasus, Iran and Uzbekistan/Turkmenistan, all on tailor made tours, all of which were excellent. This tour to Egypt was also faultless in its execution, with no hitches or problems. Fantastic hotels from the Winter Palace in Luxor to the adobe citadel in Siwa Oasis. Really good guides, and all in all,very good value for money. Feel more like a traveller, not just a tourist.

We had been with this company to the Caucasus, Iran and Uzbekistan/Turkmenistan, all on tailor made tours, all of which were excellent. This tour to Egypt was also faultless in its execution, with no hitches or problems. Fantastic hotels from the Winter Palace in Luxor to the adobe citadel in Siwa Oasis. Really good guides, and all in all,very good value for money. Feel more like a traveller, not just a tourist.

Rating for tour operator:

They have always given me good advice, have listened to what I would like, and have usually come up trumps. For instance, I thought a short stay in Alexandria might be unsufficient, but a short stay is what Alexandria needed. It might be serendipity, but I was also given a Coptic guide. (I am a priest).

Wild Frontiers by Dr C B 10, 10 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Classical Turkey 23 May 2009 - Booking 2762

I created my own itinerary and Wild Frontiers took this over for me from another firm which ceased to offer tailor-made tours. Wild Frontiers kindly used the local Turkish firm which had been engaged by the original UK tour operator. The itinerary was extremely well organised and we were given extras (e.g. a visit to an olive oil factory). We visited Izmir, Troy, Pergamon, Assos, Ankara, Hattusas, Yazilikaya, Goreme and even Pteria (this required ...

I created my own itinerary and Wild Frontiers took this over for me from another firm which ceased to offer tailor-made tours. Wild Frontiers kindly used the local Turkish firm which had been engaged by the original UK tour operator. The itinerary was extremely well organised and we were given extras (e.g. a visit to an olive oil factory). We visited Izmir, Troy, Pergamon, Assos, Ankara, Hattusas, Yazilikaya, Goreme and even Pteria (this required some finding as the operator had never been there before!) and a balloon flight in Cappadocia was arranged for us. The superb guide, Yalcin, helped with the purchase of picnic lunches and was first rate.

Rating for tour operator:

The operator was ready to answer questions and to make suggestions and, as stated above, took over a tour that had already been arranged by another firm. Since the 2009 tour to Turkey, I was happy to ask Wild Frontiers to organise a tour of Syria and Lebanon for a group of 30+ people in 2011, based on our experience in 2009. Once again the operator was helpful and thoughtful and responded to requests for the itinerary. Sadly, the tour had to be cancelled!

Borneo In Style by kunekune, 9 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Sarawak & Sabah Adventure

We went to Borneo with the hope of seeing a wild Orang Utan. Imagine our delight at seeing seven including a dominant male. All the arrangements and lodges were first class. The Danum Valley Rainforest Lodge was outstanding and the guides there were particularly knowledgeable. If you go to Borneo you must stay there. It is certainly worth the bit extra.

We went to Borneo with the hope of seeing a wild Orang Utan. Imagine our delight at seeing seven including a dominant male. All the arrangements and lodges were first class. The Danum Valley Rainforest Lodge was outstanding and the guides there were particularly knowledgeable. If you go to Borneo you must stay there. It is certainly worth the bit extra.

Rating for tour operator:

It was our first holiday booked with Wild Frontiers and we were certainly not disappointed. We were so impressed that we have booked a safari holiday to Botswana and Zimbabwe this October. We would certainly recommend them to our friends.

Wild Frontiers by Mrs E M 13, 6 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Iodochina: A truly magnificent experience not to be missed

Our holiday was arranged through Wildfrontiers, a professional organisation who encompassed our every need, presented us with a package to take with us with was of great assistance. In Vietnam we were met by guides who tailored the itinerary to our needs, at each further destination the same happened. Each tour had been well planned and in Laos we had a wonderful elephant trip which ended on a boat trip back down the river but prior to leaving ...

Our holiday was arranged through Wildfrontiers, a professional organisation who encompassed our every need, presented us with a package to take with us with was of great assistance. In Vietnam we were met by guides who tailored the itinerary to our needs, at each further destination the same happened. Each tour had been well planned and in Laos we had a wonderful elephant trip which ended on a boat trip back down the river but prior to leaving we had lunch on deck just for two. We could not fault anything, Vietnam amazing, Cambodia an interesting,cultural diverse country and Laos very beautiful.

Rating for tour operator:

As mentioned above our tour operator Wildfrontiers was excellent, professional, great attention to detail, encompassed our needs cannot find fault. WE would certainly continue to use them again and we have on numerous occasions recommended them to others.

Wild Frontiers by Doris, 6 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka Honeymoon

We used Wild Frontiers 'Tailor-Made' to arrange our Honeymoon and they were fantastic, very easy to deal with and really do tailor-make your holiday for you. When we arrived in Sri Lanka, our driver was very helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the destination which meant we got a really broad experience of this extremely varied Island. For a small dot in the Indian Ocean - Sri Lanka has got everything- stretching from beautiful beaches ...

We used Wild Frontiers 'Tailor-Made' to arrange our Honeymoon and they were fantastic, very easy to deal with and really do tailor-make your holiday for you. When we arrived in Sri Lanka, our driver was very helpful, friendly and knowledgable about the destination which meant we got a really broad experience of this extremely varied Island. For a small dot in the Indian Ocean - Sri Lanka has got everything- stretching from beautiful beaches to the stunning countryside with it's tea plantations near Nuwara Eliya. Our driver ensured that we got a thorough feeling of the Island and knew where the best places were to stop on route, whether for a spectacular view or to buy Sri Lankan specialities such as Silk and Saphires and we got to experience one of the biggest Buddhist festivals,involving over 90 Elephants! We definitely had a Honeymoon to remember and would love to go back to Sri Lanka again, and would definitely use Wild Frontiers 'Tailor-Made' to get there!

Rating for tour operator:

Very Helpful and came up with very good suggestions for our trip.

Wild Frontiers by Lemurman, 6 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Tailor made Borneo wildlife adventure

Visited Danum Valley, Sepilok Orang Utan sanctuary, turtle Island before spending several days observing wildlife along the Kinabatangan River. Saw some great sights including Orangs in the wild plus several other species of primate, including the Proboscis Monkey. Also, observed adult turtles coming to shore to lay eggs and hatchlings escaping to the sea! My only grievance was with the quality of the guides at Danum Valley.

Visited Danum Valley, Sepilok Orang Utan sanctuary, turtle Island before spending several days observing wildlife along the Kinabatangan River. Saw some great sights including Orangs in the wild plus several other species of primate, including the Proboscis Monkey. Also, observed adult turtles coming to shore to lay eggs and hatchlings escaping to the sea! My only grievance was with the quality of the guides at Danum Valley.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers. Produced our personalised itinerary and willing to change it to suit our needs when requested. Booking was stress free process and would consider using them again in the future.

Georgia: Winelands To Caucasas by Richard, 6 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful introduction to an ancient but emerging country

Outstanding tour leader and local guide made this a very special cultural and walking trip to a little visited country (Georgia). We visited many sites that would have been very difficult for an independent traveller.

Outstanding tour leader and local guide made this a very special cultural and walking trip to a little visited country (Georgia). We visited many sites that would have been very difficult for an independent traveller.

Rating for tour operator:

Meticulous attention to detail and realistic planning, coupled with very very good staff both in office and on tour made the operator a clear leader in a visit to an emerging country.