AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wild Frontiers

Wild Frontiers Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wild Frontiers

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 210
Good 7
Average 2
Poor 1
Terrible 2
Reviews Submitted: 222
Reviews Accepted: 221
Reviews Rejected: 1
221 reviews
Sort by:
Wild Frontiers by Tucksf, 14 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Poorly planned and poorly executed tour Across the Caucusus

The hotels were inadequate and , at times, not clean. We drove around in a bus for 60 but were only a group of 12. The food monotonous and uninspired in a region known for its cuisine. We went to tourist trap restaurants that would have been fine for a massive group but ridiculous fir our small contingent. Our hotels were often located far away from the sites we were visiting.,

The hotels were inadequate and , at times, not clean. We drove around in a bus for 60 but were only a group of 12. The food monotonous and uninspired in a region known for its cuisine. We went to tourist trap restaurants that would have been fine for a massive group but ridiculous fir our small contingent. Our hotels were often located far away from the sites we were visiting.,

Rating for tour operator:

A very nice competent tour leader who does not come from any of the countries we visited nor speak any of their languages nor the lingua Franca, Russian, of the region. His hands were tied as to providing us with an adequate experience as he had no control over the itinerary nor the restaurant choices. We were happy with him but overall everyone thought the tour was very poorly done Local guides were unenthusiastic. Many if the other travelers on this tour have traveled with wild frontiers many times all over the world. Everyone was disappointed by this tour and confused as to how different it was than their previous experiences with what is considered one of the premier adventure travel companies.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 25 May 2018:

Dear Dr Tucket,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your trip to the Caucasus.

Regarding the transport, the Caucasus region is currently undergoing a huge increase in tourism numbers at the moment and this is inevitably putting a strain on the local infrastructure. As such, on this occasion we used a larger vehicle than we would normally use but we felt this was a comfortable alternative.

Regarding the accommodation, again we apologise that you did not feel this was up to standard and we are investigating this as we have only had positive comments before.

With regards to the food and restaurant choices, we have discussed with the guide the issue of the restaurants, and in particular the one used in Tblisi. Please be assured that this was an oversight by the local team on the ground in Tbilisi as we personally requested that we only ever used small local restaurants whilst in Tbilisi.
Once again, we would like to offer our apologies for the elements of the trip which you found to be unsatisfactory.

Wild Frontiers by Susan love India!, 15 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

Absolutely amazing, exciting, interesting!!!!

We chose Wild Frontiers Travel to tour India for the first time recently and weren't disappointed. Actually, the tour, the guide, the accommodation, the food, India in general, far exceeded our expectations. All of the above was amazing and we cant wait to do another part of India with WFT in the very near future. Our guide, Mayur was so knowledgeable, interesting to listen to, helpful and caring etc etc. He went out of his way to fulfil personal ...

We chose Wild Frontiers Travel to tour India for the first time recently and weren't disappointed. Actually, the tour, the guide, the accommodation, the food, India in general, far exceeded our expectations. All of the above was amazing and we cant wait to do another part of India with WFT in the very near future. Our guide, Mayur was so knowledgeable, interesting to listen to, helpful and caring etc etc. He went out of his way to fulfil personal requests along the journey and make sure every moment in India was a memorable one for us all. The tour size, 12, was perfect and we made some awesome new friends from all over the world. My husband and I haven't stopped thinking about India and our WFT Tour since we arrived back home to Western Australia three weeks ago! Can't wait to book the next one!!!!!

Rating for tour operator:

Mayur was amazing and knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. He was friendly, caring, informative and made our first trip to India all the more memorable. We hope to have him as our guide some day again when we travel back to India.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 15 Mar 2018:

Many thanks for your feedback Susan, we're delighted you enjoyed your trip to India so much.
Best wishes from all at WF

Wild Frontiers by Doctor Paul, 5 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant trip!

The Galapagos islands were amazing.Could have stayed longer. The Cloud Forest was soggy!

The Galapagos islands were amazing.Could have stayed longer. The Cloud Forest was soggy!

Rating for tour operator:

Highly efficient. Everything worked smoothly. All the guides were excellent. One minor Glitch getting to Finch Bay.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 27 Feb 2018:

Dear Paul,
Thanks for your feedback and we are delighted you had such a successful trip to the Galapagos. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Canadian Dave, 9 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Trekkin in Myanmar

I have done +40 of these trips and this is definitely in the top 2-3, from the quality of the operator, the guides and trip content. Amazing trip and the trekking was outstanding. I believe that this region will become a 'must do' destination for serious trekkers in the coming years.

I have done +40 of these trips and this is definitely in the top 2-3, from the quality of the operator, the guides and trip content. Amazing trip and the trekking was outstanding. I believe that this region will become a 'must do' destination for serious trekkers in the coming years.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers did an outstanding job. Our guides went beyond expectations in ensuring that we experienced the local culture. This ranged from contact with the local levels in the villages (local trekking guide was member of the tribe to non-motorized canoe trip through a village in Inle Lake at sunset. Accommodation was excellent. The daily briefing were through and consistently good through out the whole trip. Wild Frontiers is my 'go to operator' for such tripos in the future.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 12 Dec 2017:

Thank you for submitting your feedback Dave, we are delighted that you had such a successful trip to Myanmar. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Devontraveller, 6 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

A historical roller coaster

I spent 2 weeks travelling around Cambodia experiencing ancient history, moving memorials to more recent history and some fascinating countryside. We had two guides, one British albeit living in Laos and the other a local guide with great english and a fantastic sense of humour. I love the little treats that pitch up unexpectedly on wild frontier trips and the fact that small group means small with a maximum of 12 people. As on most of their ...

I spent 2 weeks travelling around Cambodia experiencing ancient history, moving memorials to more recent history and some fascinating countryside. We had two guides, one British albeit living in Laos and the other a local guide with great english and a fantastic sense of humour. I love the little treats that pitch up unexpectedly on wild frontier trips and the fact that small group means small with a maximum of 12 people. As on most of their group trips food was included and we visited some fantastic local restaurants and ate really well. I would recommend wild frontiers.

Rating for tour operator:

see above

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 12 Dec 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback Sara, we are delighted you had such a successful trip to Cambodia. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by Darbosport, 5 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

A brilliant experience in a brilliant country

Namibia offers a complete diversity of experience. From the dusty, corrugated, roads to the amazing geology, from the pure theatre of watching wild animals at the watering holes to wild camping, the whole trip was one that will remain in the memory forever.

Namibia offers a complete diversity of experience. From the dusty, corrugated, roads to the amazing geology, from the pure theatre of watching wild animals at the watering holes to wild camping, the whole trip was one that will remain in the memory forever.

Rating for tour operator:

Our ninth trip with Wild Frontiers fully lived up to expectations. The care with which the company looks after its small groups is second to none and the itineraries offered provide amazing experiences

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Dec 2017:

Thank you for submitting your feedback Howard, We are delighted you had such a successful trip to Namibia. Best wishes from all at WF.

Rajasthan: Taj, Temples & Tigers by LH, 1 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

The glories of Rajasthan

A fantastic small group tour including the highlights of Rajasthan as well as going off the beaten track. Accompanied by a very knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide who ensured that everything ran smoothly

A fantastic small group tour including the highlights of Rajasthan as well as going off the beaten track. Accompanied by a very knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide who ensured that everything ran smoothly

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers provided excellent pre-tour information

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Dec 2017:

Thank you for submitting your feedback Lesley, we are delighted you had such a successful trip. Best wishes from all at WF.

Rajasthan: Taj, Temples & Tigers by Joseph, 29 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

A truly memorable experience delivered by Wild Fronteers

RAJASTHAN: Taj, Temple and Tigers 16 day tour. THis is a whistle stop tour which includes major cities and their places and forts and masses of people. The general mayhem, traffic and people is an experience. On the other hand we had a number of jeep trips and safaris into the beautiful countryside, which were exciting and well organised. We also were exposed to the local tribes and village people which was really interesting and informative...

RAJASTHAN: Taj, Temple and Tigers 16 day tour. THis is a whistle stop tour which includes major cities and their places and forts and masses of people. The general mayhem, traffic and people is an experience. On the other hand we had a number of jeep trips and safaris into the beautiful countryside, which were exciting and well organised. We also were exposed to the local tribes and village people which was really interesting and informative. Everywhere the people were wonderful and friendly. This trip excites the taste buds to travel more in India.

Rating for tour operator:

Wild Frontiers are staffed by a very professional and friendly group of people, from the staff in Barnes to our wonderful local tour guide. Although we stayed in 10 hotels (or palaces) in 15 days, our guide ensured everything happened on time and efficiently. His local expertise and knowledge was truly amazing, and coupled with his calm and humorous manner ensured the whole group enjoyed every minute of our unforgettable experience.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Dec 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback Crispin, we are delighted you had such a successful trip. Best wishes from all at WF.

Rajasthan: Taj, Temples & Tigers by JackieC, 29 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant introduction to the sights, sounds and wonders of India

A great travel experience, visiting the delights of the Rajasthan 'golden triangle' but also rural villages and the hinterland, meeting local people and learning about their crafts. All travel and meals well organised, water supplies always available. Our tour leader gave us great insight into the local culture, history and politics of India and was a great character.

A great travel experience, visiting the delights of the Rajasthan 'golden triangle' but also rural villages and the hinterland, meeting local people and learning about their crafts. All travel and meals well organised, water supplies always available. Our tour leader gave us great insight into the local culture, history and politics of India and was a great character.

Rating for tour operator:

All aspects of our trip were well organised and ran smoothly. Quick responses to any queries. Meeting Johnny on a visit to Wild Frontiers sealed the deal for us, he was so enthusiastic, knowledgeable and helpful in guiding our choice of which trip to take.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 05 Dec 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback Jacqueline, we are delighted you had such a successful trip to India. Best wishes from all at WF.

Wild Frontiers by bill, 16 Nov 2017
Holiday Rating:

magical country.

our Wild Frontiers trip was excellent. Couldn't fault the planning. Stayed in a variety of accomodatioon, all clean and comfortable. Excellent guides who really contributed to our enjoyment.

our Wild Frontiers trip was excellent. Couldn't fault the planning. Stayed in a variety of accomodatioon, all clean and comfortable. Excellent guides who really contributed to our enjoyment.

Rating for tour operator:

\we've been on 5 trips organised by Wild Frontiers and this was probably one of the best.

Wild Frontiers responded to this review on 22 Nov 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback Billie. We are delighted you had such a successful trip to Bhutan. Best wishes from all at WF.