AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Cotswold Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cotswold Way

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 47
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 48
Reviews Accepted: 48
Reviews Rejected: 0
48 reviews
Sort by:
Cotswold Way by Michelle, 12 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience

We walked the Cotswold Way

We walked the Cotswold Way

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are a very professional operation, everything ran so smoothly that we had nothing to think about just walk

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 24 Apr 2019:

Thanks for your kind comments. It's great that you enjoyed your holiday, we would love to welcome you back for another walk.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Richard H., 16 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Cotswold Way Walking Tour

We thoroughly enjoyed our Cotswold Way walk. We are in our mid 70's so the 10 miles a day we averaged was just about perfect. The scenery along the way was great and the walk was hilly enough to give us plenty of exercise. The Cotswold Way was extremely well marked so we couldn't get lost.

We thoroughly enjoyed our Cotswold Way walk. We are in our mid 70's so the 10 miles a day we averaged was just about perfect. The scenery along the way was great and the walk was hilly enough to give us plenty of exercise. The Cotswold Way was extremely well marked so we couldn't get lost.

Rating for tour operator:

The was our second walking vacation with Mickledore and both of them have been excellent. The luggage was always at our destination waiting for us when we arrived. Our packed lunches were excellent and were always ready for us in the morning. We encountered friendly hosts and clean rooms at every one of the B&Bs.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 20 Feb 2019:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your holiday went, it sounds like you had a great time. I hope you'll be back for another adventure very soon.
Tara

Cotswold Way by Catherine, 24 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great new experience

5 days trail in the Cotswolds

5 days trail in the Cotswolds

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful and trustful

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your adventure on the Cotswold Way. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is lovely to hear that you found our team helpful.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Bab, 5 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Rerwarding experience

The Cotswold Walk goes through beautiful countryside , is demanding, but the daily distances can be covered. The accomodation was excellent , the villages really lovely and on top of it, the weather was superb.

The Cotswold Walk goes through beautiful countryside , is demanding, but the daily distances can be covered. The accomodation was excellent , the villages really lovely and on top of it, the weather was superb.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was reliable and competent

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Oct 2018:

Thank you for your feedback. It is great that you enjoyed your walk and the accommodations that we selected for you. We would be delighted to arrange your next UK walking adventure for you.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Rhoone, 12 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Chipping Camden to Painswick

Lovely walk. Distances (16 - 18km/day) were about right for us (in our 60s). Enjoyed the variety of scenery and pubs a.ong the way.

Lovely walk. Distances (16 - 18km/day) were about right for us (in our 60s). Enjoyed the variety of scenery and pubs a.ong the way.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second walk with Mickledore and they did a great job again. Luggage transport was efficient, maps, etc. were clear. B&Bs were varied and ranged from decent to excellent.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Sep 2018:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We put a lot of effort into choosing the best accommodations for your walk and it is lovely that you enjoyed your stays with our hosts. We hope to welcome you back for another walk in the future.
Sue

Cotswold Way by ElisabethN, 9 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

cotswold Walk with Mickledore

Our holiday was perfect from beginning to end, and everything in between. The ordering, all the accomodations, the walk in it self, all the information.

Our holiday was perfect from beginning to end, and everything in between. The ordering, all the accomodations, the walk in it self, all the information.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore has been very professional and prompt in all matters.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 09 Aug 2018:

It is great that you enjoyed your walk on the Cotswold Way. Thank you for leaving us your lovely comments.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Lost Boy from Alabama, 4 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Two Lost Boys from Alabama Walking the Cotswold Way National Trail

This is a brief summary of the adventures of Tom and Ed and their ten-day walk on the Cotswold Way National Trail. First and foremost, we successfully completed the entire 103-mile trail in ten consecutive days from Tuesday, May 8th and finishing by walking into Bath on the afternoon of Thursday, May 17th. When I say, we walked into Bath I really mean we limped into Bath. Ed suffered from nerve issues in his toes and an injured knee. While ...

This is a brief summary of the adventures of Tom and Ed and their ten-day walk on the Cotswold Way National Trail. First and foremost, we successfully completed the entire 103-mile trail in ten consecutive days from Tuesday, May 8th and finishing by walking into Bath on the afternoon of Thursday, May 17th. When I say, we walked into Bath I really mean we limped into Bath. Ed suffered from nerve issues in his toes and an injured knee. While I suffered from multiple blisters on my left foot. In addition, while the official distance of the Cotswold Way is 103 miles, Ed and I managed to walk it in just over 130 miles. Some of the extra miles were due to our bed and breakfasts being off the official Cotswold Way trail. However, most of the extra miles were due to my lack of navigational skills. We experienced highs and lows on our ten-day walk. Some of the highs were the beautiful scenery. We walked through ancient Beech Wood forests, through fields of bright yellow canola plants, and acres of wild garlic plants, blue bells & cowslip. I can still smell the garlic. We walked through valleys and pastures filled with wild flowers in full bloom. The colors were like a rainbow. We watched and talked with men sheering sheep, a stonemason building a traditional dry stonewall, and the owner of an estate near Ullenwood who shared some local history of the involvement of the area in the World War II D-Day invasion. We walked through battlefields, golf courses, and past historic monuments. We visited Abbeys, churches, and graveyards. Ed and I marveled at the ancient burial mounds like Belas Knap. We walked through miles and miles of sheep and cow pastures. Which means we walked through miles and miles of sheep and cow manure mazes. Ed managed to avoid stepping in the gifts left by the sheep and cows. I was not as lucky. On the tenth and final day of our walk, I stepped into a very deep and wet cow “pie”. While Ed failed to warn me about my pending mishap, he did support me after the fact by laughing uncontrollably for hours after my accident. We walked past outstanding examples of Cotswold sandstone architecture in the form of quaint stone farmhouses with thatched and stone roofs, beautiful Abbeys, and small town buildings. We stayed in Bed and Breakfasts in rural villages with marvelous hosts. We were served full “English” breakfasts and provided daily packed lunches for our walks. One of the greatest highs was meeting and getting to know other walkers. We met and came to know Nick and Lesel and Dr. Richard and Sally both couples from England, and Dr. Richard and Melinda from the USA. They out walked us nine of the ten days (passed us each day finishing early). However, Ed and I beat them to Bath on the tenth day entering the city like conquering heroes. While our highs greatly outnumbered our lows, we still had a few of the later. During our journey, Ed managed to lose his eyeglasses, his passport, his wallet, and his boots. While we never found his eyeglasses, Ed did find his passport and wallet in different pockets of his pants other than the pockets where he had originally placed them. After almost destroying his bedroom looking for his boots he was informed that he had left them, like all the B&B guests, in the foyer of the B&B. Another low was my left foot. Early on the walk, I developed some horrible blisters on my left foot. With the help of the doctors, we met on the trail and with Ed’s engineering skills; I managed to walk most of the trail with a bandaged left foot in moderate pain. Ed came up with the plan to cut holes in my shoe to relieve the pressure on the multitude of blisters on my left foot. The plan was much like drilling a hole in someone’s skull to relieve the pressure on the brain. It worked. However, this did precipitate the development of a reputation on the trail as the Alabama boys who had cut holes in their shoes. The walk on the Cotswold Way National Trail was one of the greatest experiences of my 66-year-old life. Ed and I completed a journey that will probably never be topped, at least in my life.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore handled all of our in-country travel arrangements. They did an outstanding job arranging our accommodations, daily packed lunches, and the transporting of our luggage from B&B to B&B.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 05 Jun 2018:

Wow Tom, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic & detailed review of your holiday. It is great that we have been able to arrange the walk that was such a great adventure for you both, providing so much entertainment for yourselves and other hikers on the trail. I hope your feet have now recovered.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Ann and Mitch, Lansing, Michigan, 13 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Cotswold Way Walk (self- tour)

We just returned from a Cotswold Way Walk organized by Mickledore Travel as a self tour. We had an excellent time hiking the entire 103 miles of trail from Chipping Campden to Bath. We chose the 9 day tour which averaged 10-15 miles a day. Mickeldore booked us into B&B's and Inns along the trail. The accommodations were first-rate and we had no problems at all with any of the accommodation, or the transfer of our luggage. Most accommodations ...

We just returned from a Cotswold Way Walk organized by Mickledore Travel as a self tour. We had an excellent time hiking the entire 103 miles of trail from Chipping Campden to Bath. We chose the 9 day tour which averaged 10-15 miles a day. Mickeldore booked us into B&B's and Inns along the trail. The accommodations were first-rate and we had no problems at all with any of the accommodation, or the transfer of our luggage. Most accommodations were right off the trail, or only a short distance away. Every day was a fantastic journey, ending with luggage in the room, a hot shower, and a comfy bed.

Rating for tour operator:

This self guided walk, organized by Mickeldore Travel was excellent. The information we received such as maps, trail guides, services, and accommodations were well organized and extremely useful. They left nothing to chance. No complaints at all regarding any of the B&B's or inns. We enjoyed each one and its uniqueness to the community. I would definitely book another tour with Mickeldore. Thank you, Mickeldore for organizing a great walk (thanks for the great weather you provided also!). We could not have planned a more complete walking vacation without your wonderful service.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Sep 2017:

It's great to hear that you had a great holiday and found our accommodation choices to be good. We put a lot of effort into sourcing the best places to stay so we are pleased that you enjoyed them. We look forward to organising your next trip!
Tara

Cotswold Way by Hillary, 16 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

A Walk Along the Cotswold Way Made Easy

In June of 2017, four of us from the US walked the southern part of the Cotswold Way from Painswick to Bath using Micheldore Travel. We found them extremely easy to work with. They have an excellent website which give a good overview of each of the walks they service and a straighforward assessment of the difficulty of the hiking. The written materials they provide were also excellent and very helpful from the maps, guide to walking the Cotswolds ...

In June of 2017, four of us from the US walked the southern part of the Cotswold Way from Painswick to Bath using Micheldore Travel. We found them extremely easy to work with. They have an excellent website which give a good overview of each of the walks they service and a straighforward assessment of the difficulty of the hiking. The written materials they provide were also excellent and very helpful from the maps, guide to walking the Cotswolds as well as a complete list of restaurants and other establishments you might need. We found the accommodations generally quite acceptable and where they needed to make modifications due to the lack of ability, we felt that they "upgraded" our experience. We had difficulty with one inn keeper and Micheldore Travel handled the situation beautifully for us. My only suggestion is that you not give them the names of participants unless you are absolutely sure they are going. We had one person to drop out of our initial group early on and we would have had to forego that deposit if we hadn't found a replacement.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 17 Jul 2017:

Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear that you had a lovely walk.
We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our handling of the situation which arose when you arrived later than expected at your first accommodation. We do our best to ensure that any problems are handled quickly for you so its great to hear that you were able to get on with enjoying your holiday.
As you know, when we receive your deposit we book the accommodation for you to make sure this is all secured. The deposit is unfortunately not refundable, but I'm pleased that when a member of your party cancelled, you were able to find a replacement person to enjoy the walk instead. I hope you will be back in touch for another walk soon.
Tara

Cotswold Way by Bolleke, 5 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Cotswollds in june!

For the fifth time we travelled with mickledore: Always perfect accomodations, beautiful paths and excellent organisation

For the fifth time we travelled with mickledore: Always perfect accomodations, beautiful paths and excellent organisation

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 12 Jul 2017:

We're delighted you've enjoyed yet another Mickledore holiday. Your continued support really is greatly appreciated and we are very happy to hear that you had a great time. Thank you!
Tara