AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Cotswold Way Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Cotswold Way

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 47
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 48
Reviews Accepted: 48
Reviews Rejected: 0
48 reviews
Sort by:
Cotswold Way by Susammelsurium, 20 Jun 2023
Holiday Rating:

A great Cotswold Way experience!

I had a wonderful time walking the southern part of the Cotswold Way from Painswick to Bath in May 2023: Stunning views and landscape, decent to excellent accommodation, perfect weather conditions, good food, nice people and (mostly) friendly animals.

I had a wonderful time walking the southern part of the Cotswold Way from Painswick to Bath in May 2023: Stunning views and landscape, decent to excellent accommodation, perfect weather conditions, good food, nice people and (mostly) friendly animals.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was very well organized: accommodation, transfers, baggage transport. The conversation was friendly, the information provided comprehensive. Unreserved recommendation!

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Jun 2023:

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday on the Cotswold Way. We look forward to booking a holiday for you again soon. Hayley

Cotswold Way by Happy Walker, 24 May 2023
Holiday Rating:

Walking The Cotswold Way

A walking holiday over 7 days walking The Cotswold Way from Chipping Campden to Bath organised by Mickledore Travel Ltd

A walking holiday over 7 days walking The Cotswold Way from Chipping Campden to Bath organised by Mickledore Travel Ltd

Rating for tour operator:

They organised the whole experience without a hitch a great professionalism leaving me to have a worry free holiday

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 25 May 2023:

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed what we provide and we look forward to booking you another holiday soon. Hayley

Cotswold Way by Kees, 23 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Great walking in the Cotswaldway

Mickledore walking vacation

Mickledore walking vacation

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore is great

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 23 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your lovely comment about the work of our team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday.
Sue

Cotswold Way by 2 m.p.h. walker., 1 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Cotswold Way.

Second time walking with Mickeldore with our first time walking Hadrian's Wall a few years ago. All accommodation was booked by them and waiting for our arrival each night, all 3* or better. I would not walk with any other company now. Quality counts. We could not walk before October as this route is now so popular surprisingly by Americans.

Second time walking with Mickeldore with our first time walking Hadrian's Wall a few years ago. All accommodation was booked by them and waiting for our arrival each night, all 3* or better. I would not walk with any other company now. Quality counts. We could not walk before October as this route is now so popular surprisingly by Americans.

Rating for tour operator:

All booked via telephone and e-mail with the credit card being used for payment. We have never met in person.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 01 Nov 2022:

Thank you for your feedback. If you are in Keswick feel free to call in at the office, we would love to meet you. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Fox, 31 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

beautifully exhausting and inspiring

(With one of my children) I explored the Cotswold started at Cleeve Hill & walked towards Birdlip that was beautiful but exhausting as well, it didn't stop raining and some parts were slippery and steep. Amazing views. A real adventure. Next day to Painswick seeing lots of forest animals hiding in the autumn leaves. Warm welcome, meal and good conversations in Annes b&b, with guests from all over the world. This memory will stay forever.

(With one of my children) I explored the Cotswold started at Cleeve Hill & walked towards Birdlip that was beautiful but exhausting as well, it didn't stop raining and some parts were slippery and steep. Amazing views. A real adventure. Next day to Painswick seeing lots of forest animals hiding in the autumn leaves. Warm welcome, meal and good conversations in Annes b&b, with guests from all over the world. This memory will stay forever.

Rating for tour operator:

Always open to ask any questions and thinking with me.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Oct 2022:

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your walk even with the less than perfect weather.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Jan, 29 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful autumn holiday in the Costswolds

We did walk the first part of the Costwold Way from Chipping Campden to Painswick. It was a wonderful experience with almost no rain. The villages were very pretty especially Chipping Campden and Broadway. A must see is imo Broadway Tower and Cleeve Hill. We really liked the views from these hills.

We did walk the first part of the Costwold Way from Chipping Campden to Painswick. It was a wonderful experience with almost no rain. The villages were very pretty especially Chipping Campden and Broadway. A must see is imo Broadway Tower and Cleeve Hill. We really liked the views from these hills.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was arranged very well. I can highly recommend Mickledore. We certainly book our next holiday also with Mickledore.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 31 Oct 2022:

It is great that you enjoyed the views on your walk. This is a delightful area of the country to explore. Thank you for your lovely feedback. We hope to welcome you back for more adventures soon.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Ann, 5 Aug 2022
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Cotswolds with Mickledore

We walked with six friends (60+) from Painswick to Bath in 5 days. So we took our time to enjoy the beautiful landscapes, villages, and pubs. As we are from Belgium we know the region through the Midsummer Murders series, and we were not disappointed at all. Though the kissing gates were squeaking, there were no murders during our visit. B&B's were top, and luggage transport perfect. The hosts were very helpful with parking and transportation ...

We walked with six friends (60+) from Painswick to Bath in 5 days. So we took our time to enjoy the beautiful landscapes, villages, and pubs. As we are from Belgium we know the region through the Midsummer Murders series, and we were not disappointed at all. Though the kissing gates were squeaking, there were no murders during our visit. B&B's were top, and luggage transport perfect. The hosts were very helpful with parking and transportation issues between the start and endpoints. Bath was a wonderful experience after the walking holiday with roman and modern baths, the pump room, the abbey, and Avebury and Stonehenge to visit. After a very good experience of Hadrian wall some years ago, Mickledore again gave us the desire to walk again in the UK.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore: good information, perfect communication, no surprises.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 16 Aug 2022:

Thanks for your feedback. It is lovely that you enjoyed your walk and your visits to historical sites and places seen on TV. Great entertainment to compliment the great views.
Sue

Cotswold Way by VKL, 8 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

The way to go on the Cotswold Way

After a covid-inflicted delay of two years, three friends and I finally walked the southern half of the Cotswold Way in May 2022. Our walk through pastures, woods, up and down hills, fields, and quaint villages was simply delightful. It was a wonderful introduction to walks in England. Having spectacular weather was an unexpected but appreciated bonus. We booked through Mickledore upon recommendation of a friend and were very pleased with ...

After a covid-inflicted delay of two years, three friends and I finally walked the southern half of the Cotswold Way in May 2022. Our walk through pastures, woods, up and down hills, fields, and quaint villages was simply delightful. It was a wonderful introduction to walks in England. Having spectacular weather was an unexpected but appreciated bonus. We booked through Mickledore upon recommendation of a friend and were very pleased with their service. They arranged our accommodations, luggage transfers, and transportation when required. In addition to supplying maps and guide books, information Mickledore provided on each village's amenities was often more useful than the tour books we had consulted.

Rating for tour operator:

As the group leader, I was the point person for communicating with Mickledore and all communication was done via email. They were consistently prompt in responding to emails, and it was helpful that each member of our party was able to pay fees individually via the secure website. The terms and conditions were clearly stated and reasonable. Our holiday pack was received well before our departure to the UK. One member of our party had to cancel two weeks before our holiday began, and she was provided a timely refund in accordance with the terms outlined in the terms and conditions. We originally booked this trip for spring 2020. Mickledore was in frequent communication during that time of uncertainty when it wasn't clear if our holiday would go ahead. As it became apparent that our holiday would be a casualty of the pandemic, Mickledore initiated the process of canceling our holiday. Given the circumstances, I was impressed with how Mickledore handled the cancelation, and how quickly we received our refunds. It certainly inspired confidence to book with Mickledore again.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Jun 2022:

Thank you for taking the time to leave your great feedback. Your kind comments about the work of our team are much appreciated. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and your first English trail. We would love to arrange another adventure for you in the future.
Sue

Cotswold Way by The Lostwolds, 7 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous Cotswold Way walk

The stars aligned to give us a most perfect holiday. Mickledore's planned for us a remarkable holiday. While we walked the beautiful countryside (which was in full bloom when we walked), we didn't have to worry that our bags would be at the next B&B when we arrived and that we would have a cozy bed and a warm meal. We had a wonderful holiday and the memories will last a lifetime.

The stars aligned to give us a most perfect holiday. Mickledore's planned for us a remarkable holiday. While we walked the beautiful countryside (which was in full bloom when we walked), we didn't have to worry that our bags would be at the next B&B when we arrived and that we would have a cozy bed and a warm meal. We had a wonderful holiday and the memories will last a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore's worked with us during difficult circumstances. Covid shutdowns required our first booking to be cancelled. This was a great disappointment but we were assured our monies were safe because Mickledore is bonded through ABTA. They were responsive in rebooking us and everything went flawlessly. They answered emails quickly and the materials they provide (packet, app, resources, etc) gave us all we needed to have a wonderful trip.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 14 Jun 2022:

It is lovely to hear that you had a perfect holiday and the flowers put on a show for you. Thanks for your great feedback.
Sue

Cotswold Way by Joe, 4 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Cotswold Way Walk - Wonderful!

We walked from Chipping Campden to Painswick in seven days in early May 2022. Because we requested a walking holiday with certain distances per day, Mickledore arranged accommodations in locations accordingly. The four B&Bs we stayed at - Cornerways, Chipping Campden; Shenberrow Hill, Stanton; Cleeve Hill House Hotel, Cleeve Hill; and Troy House, Painswick - were lovely and comfortable in all respects. The room at Wesley House in Winchcombe ...

We walked from Chipping Campden to Painswick in seven days in early May 2022. Because we requested a walking holiday with certain distances per day, Mickledore arranged accommodations in locations accordingly. The four B&Bs we stayed at - Cornerways, Chipping Campden; Shenberrow Hill, Stanton; Cleeve Hill House Hotel, Cleeve Hill; and Troy House, Painswick - were lovely and comfortable in all respects. The room at Wesley House in Winchcombe was very small but the staff were so warm and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. The London Inn in Charlton Kings was acceptable, but not on the same level as the B&Bs - but how could it be? The Royal George George Hotel in Birdlip was the only option; it was satisfactory as a mid-size hotel. We did appreciate the fact that after a ten-mile walk we could enjoy the bar and dining without leaving the premises. And the food was good at both dinner and breakfast.

Rating for tour operator:

I used Mickledore a few years ago for my Hadrian's Wall Path holiday. They are organized, professional and leave out no details. Communication throughout the COVID period - postponing, rescheduling, updating - was always reliable and friendly, regardless of who was assigned to my holiday. I highly recommend them.

Mickledore Travel responded to this review on 13 Jun 2022:

Thanks for leaving us your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. It is lovely to hear that our customer service was professional and your holiday was well organised. We hope to arrange a further adventure for you soon.
Sue