AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 100
Good 2
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 102
Reviews Accepted: 102
Reviews Rejected: 0
102 reviews
Sort by:
K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Trekker Phil, 4 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Best trek for superb mountain views

This is a great company that provides point by point communication and attention to details. The head guide was well chosen to blend the needs of all the clients. The food and food preparation was excellent. Attention was paid to care and cleanliness to avoid illness on the trek. The local support crew was excellent and was also on target with camp preparation and helping the clients. The camp sites provide great views of more 7 and 8000 meter ...

This is a great company that provides point by point communication and attention to details. The head guide was well chosen to blend the needs of all the clients. The food and food preparation was excellent. Attention was paid to care and cleanliness to avoid illness on the trek. The local support crew was excellent and was also on target with camp preparation and helping the clients. The camp sites provide great views of more 7 and 8000 meter peaks than most any place in the world. The timing of the trip length was excellent to help with acclimatization. The whole package from start to finish makes this group and this trek one of the best treks on the planet.

Rating for tour operator:

As above The Mountain Company UK is very well organized with an excellent website and good documents to provide all the necessary information you need for details, supplies, and data for the trek. Communication about issues or questions is quick and complete. Attention to detail and support is excellent.

Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Jayne, 15 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience with a highly professional company.

Our trip to Everest Base Camp with the Mountain Company exceeded all expectations. I was impressed by highly informative and practical pre-trip advice, excellent guides and porters, high quality lodges and excellent route planning. As this was my first trek at altitude I didn't know what to expect but everything was excellent. I highly recommend this trek and the Mountain Company.

Our trip to Everest Base Camp with the Mountain Company exceeded all expectations. I was impressed by highly informative and practical pre-trip advice, excellent guides and porters, high quality lodges and excellent route planning. As this was my first trek at altitude I didn't know what to expect but everything was excellent. I highly recommend this trek and the Mountain Company.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was highly professional, provided excellent advice, always available to answer queries and it was great to meet Roland Hunter before and after our trip in Kathmandu. I would use this company every time!

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by SK, 15 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Dhaulagiri circuit April-May 2016

I trekked around Dhaulagiri, crossing the French (5,380 m) and Dhampus (5,250 m) passes, with an attempt on Dhampus peak (6,030 m) where I got to 5,800 m on the summit ridge. The trek was excellent and we were very lucky to have near perfect weather. Nevertheless, the trek was very well organized, with the group well prepared for the inclement weather and trail conditions frequently experience on this route. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience ...

I trekked around Dhaulagiri, crossing the French (5,380 m) and Dhampus (5,250 m) passes, with an attempt on Dhampus peak (6,030 m) where I got to 5,800 m on the summit ridge. The trek was excellent and we were very lucky to have near perfect weather. Nevertheless, the trek was very well organized, with the group well prepared for the inclement weather and trail conditions frequently experience on this route. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would have no hesitation in choosing The Mountain Company organized future trek.

Rating for tour operator:

This was a very well organized trek, with excellent leadership by Almas Khan, and sirdar Domi Sherpa. I particularly appreciated us being allowed to walk at our own preferred pace, something I noticed was lacking among a lot of other groups on trail. The food throughout the trek was excellent and cook Saila Tamang and the kitchen staff did a splendid job.

Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal by Mossley Smiffy, 12 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Ama Dablam Base Camp - What a Good Do !!

It's all here to be honest ... http://stsphotographic.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/nepal.html

It's all here to be honest ... http://stsphotographic.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/nepal.html

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company - excellent from the start - no probs with booking - and all the extras (flights/insurance etc etc) were sorted easily. Guides (for Kathmandu tour and the trek itself) were top notch. The big plus was the sudden itinerary change required due to illness - caused absolutely no problems because we had a guide and a proper company backing us up - a couple of phone calls and everything was sorted with minimum fuss - the reason for travelling with a bona fide company.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by SPR, 12 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular.

I trekked with the Mountain Company on the Nepal Dhaulagiri Circuit. The route was well planned; we saw the breadth of Nepal from villages in river valleys at 600 meters to prayer flags at the 6000 meter passes. Overall, a spectacular trek with great service on the trail and in Kathmandu.

I trekked with the Mountain Company on the Nepal Dhaulagiri Circuit. The route was well planned; we saw the breadth of Nepal from villages in river valleys at 600 meters to prayer flags at the 6000 meter passes. Overall, a spectacular trek with great service on the trail and in Kathmandu.

Rating for tour operator:

The trekking staff on the trail and in Kathmandu was superb. Excellent meals, solid organization and great service.

Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal by Liz, 30 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

We were so well looked after, we could just relax and enjoy the experience of trekking in wonderful scenery.

We went sightseeing in Kathmandu with a friendly and very informative guide, then we did a 10 day trek in the mountains with another excellent guide and friendly porters. We stayed in simple guest houses, which were comfortable enough. Our guide organised everything for us and was also very good company.

We went sightseeing in Kathmandu with a friendly and very informative guide, then we did a 10 day trek in the mountains with another excellent guide and friendly porters. We stayed in simple guest houses, which were comfortable enough. Our guide organised everything for us and was also very good company.

Rating for tour operator:

We found the Mountain Company on the Internet . They had a very informative website, and they run this particular holiday which was a good choice for us as older first time Trekkers because it was not quite as far as the Everest Base camp treks .

The Mountain Company by Zoran, 4 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

70th birthday in the Himalayas

Celebrated my father's 70th birthday by trekking together to Annapurna Basecamp. A very special 2 weeks we'll cherish for years to come.

Celebrated my father's 70th birthday by trekking together to Annapurna Basecamp. A very special 2 weeks we'll cherish for years to come.

Rating for tour operator:

Meticulously thought out and prepared. Great pre-trip advice and responsiveness, organization on the ground, and most importantly on the trek itself. We always felt taken care of, and under experienced guidance. The trek crew even threw a surprise birthday party for us, hauling a freshly baked cake into a remote lodge on the way to ABC!

Classic Tour of Burma by Marmar, 21 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

The Mountain Company Luxury Tour of Myanmar

Very well organised tour which went like clockwork. Very good guides who were knowlegeable, pleasant and helpful.The drivers were all very safe and careful and steady, even on any bad roads. The tour was varied and very interesting, and the hotels all very comfortable and in good locations, many with lovely views and grounds. Everything on the tour was worth seeing, and the highlights were of course many amazing pagodas, but also the train journey ...

Very well organised tour which went like clockwork. Very good guides who were knowlegeable, pleasant and helpful.The drivers were all very safe and careful and steady, even on any bad roads. The tour was varied and very interesting, and the hotels all very comfortable and in good locations, many with lovely views and grounds. Everything on the tour was worth seeing, and the highlights were of course many amazing pagodas, but also the train journey from Pyin Oo Lwin to Hsipaw over the Goktek Gorge, the 2 day cruise on R.V.Paukan from Mandlay to Bagan. Also Bagan itself and the balloon flight, and Inle Lake, where we went to the far south of the lake in a local boat to Sagar.The markets and craft workshops were fascinating too. I would recommend this tour,with a well run itinerary, taking in the sights, culture and crafts of the country .

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company organised the Myanmar Luxury Tour, but also specialises in trekking in Nepal and Bhutan, and recently, Pakistan. The company organised our Myanmar tour very efficiently and with great care and attention to detail, and it went like clockwork

Luxury Classic Tour of Burma by Mrs Contented, 17 Feb 2016
Holiday Rating:

The most fascinating holiday, impeccably organised and very interesting itinerary. Lovely people despite their extreme poverty and problems.

We found Myanamar a fascinating place and the people very friendly despite all their problems.We managed to do a wide variety of different things, including 2 night Irrawaddy cruise, balloon trip at Bagan, 3 hour little local train where we travelled through villages, and many locals got on and off the train with all the fruit and vegetables to sell in the market. Another highlight, which again, was arranged by the Mountain Company was a long ...

We found Myanamar a fascinating place and the people very friendly despite all their problems.We managed to do a wide variety of different things, including 2 night Irrawaddy cruise, balloon trip at Bagan, 3 hour little local train where we travelled through villages, and many locals got on and off the train with all the fruit and vegetables to sell in the market. Another highlight, which again, was arranged by the Mountain Company was a long boat ride up Inla Lake right up beyond the touristy area to see one of the original kingdoms of the old Shan state king. We only saw one other tourist boat doing this. In general we had a very varied holiday from Pagodas to birds, local people, and much else arranged by the Mountain Company. It was a fairly exhausting timetable to fit everything in but we then had a few days to relax at Ngpali beach. All the hotels recommended by The Mountain Company were excellent and we were very well looked after by the friendly staff.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company was extremely professional from first enquiry to after we returned. All questions were answered quickly and efficiently and we were well briefed as to what to expect. They were very flexible on discussion for our travel plan and included a few things which we particularly wanted to do. The whole 3 week holiday was very efficiently organised and all went according to plan. The guides were excellent and both they and the drivers couldn't have been more helpful. I would highly recommend The Mountain Company.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by SnoMo, 12 Jan 2016
Holiday Rating:

Kanchenjunga, Nepal

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

Rating for tour operator:

Rolland, owner of The Mountain Company, was very responsive to all enquires. Provided all the necessary info (trekking gear, what to expect and etc) right from the start. He is a hands-on guy and goes to Kathmandu frequently to ensure things are in place for the treks. The crew was very friendly, professional and looked after all our needs. Trek leader, Almas Khan, looked after all the details while we were trekking. He looked after not only the trekkers but also ensure the rest of the crew are doing well. This is good to see. I believe it is the operating philosophy of The Mountain Company to ensure everyone's well being is looked after.