AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 108
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 111
Reviews Accepted: 111
Reviews Rejected: 0
111 reviews
Sort by:
Luxury Everest Base Camp, Nepal by Mr r h 16, 10 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Trip with The Mountain Company on the the Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek

Fantastic trip, my first time to nepal and we did the Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek. The itinerary that the Mountain Company set was great and allowed plenty of time to acclimatize to the altitude and include great side treks along the route. Accommodations and food were excellent.

Fantastic trip, my first time to nepal and we did the Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek. The itinerary that the Mountain Company set was great and allowed plenty of time to acclimatize to the altitude and include great side treks along the route. Accommodations and food were excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

From start to finish excellent company...i was taken care of the whole trip from the airport and everything went smooth. The owner Roland personally met me at my hotel for pre-trip briefing. Even before the trip started he personally answered all my trip questions fast via email and in great detail. His staff from the the drivers to the the guides are all professional and top notch. I recommend The Mountain Company to anyone and will be using them again on my future trips.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by HJ, 11 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Luxury Everest Base Camp Trek

Great Experience, no stress, no issues, plenty of good memories. I was quite worried about altitude sickness but our tour was tailored to allow for acclimatisation, such that I didn't even require prophylactic altitude sickness medicine. I was also worried about getting an upset stomach in Nepal but our guide recommended safe places and foods to eat so there were no issues on the trek.

Great Experience, no stress, no issues, plenty of good memories. I was quite worried about altitude sickness but our tour was tailored to allow for acclimatisation, such that I didn't even require prophylactic altitude sickness medicine. I was also worried about getting an upset stomach in Nepal but our guide recommended safe places and foods to eat so there were no issues on the trek.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was taken care of. We were picked up and dropped off at the international airport. On the trail our guide was informative and friendly. He made sure our meals and rooms were also good quality.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Simon, 8 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Lunana Snowman Trek 2016

We joined the 2016 snowman trek with the Mountain Company with Almas Khan as trek leader. The entire trek from pre-purchase, pre-trip information, paying, getting picked up in Paro and actually doing the trek has been excellent. Roland was great at informing via email prior to the trip and Almas was superb as trek leader. All in all the entire trip was well-planned and well executed. Highly recommended and we would definitely go with the Mountain ...

We joined the 2016 snowman trek with the Mountain Company with Almas Khan as trek leader. The entire trek from pre-purchase, pre-trip information, paying, getting picked up in Paro and actually doing the trek has been excellent. Roland was great at informing via email prior to the trip and Almas was superb as trek leader. All in all the entire trip was well-planned and well executed. Highly recommended and we would definitely go with the Mountain Company again.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company seems to take their clients seriously and give them a safe and enjoyable trekking experience without spoon-feeding anyone. The itineary was well thought through with several extra days for safe acclimatizing. This was a major selling point for us since it seems they care about safety instead of just selling the maximum number of trips. It payed of since no one got altitude sickness.

Chomolhari Base Camp in Bhutan by MARCO, 7 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Cultural Buthan:Paro to Bumthang plus Chomolhari trekking via Bonthe La

road Punhaka to Bumthang is now under construction and some landslide or rockslide problems may occur. Some very narrow drives upon huge cliffs. Beautiful district Festival at Thangbi Mani monastery (Bumthang). From the Chomolhari B.C. our return way was via Bonthe La (a bridge collapsed at Barshong in the return way Lingshi to Thimpu). Our local guide believes the Bonthe La way offers better scenery views, compared to the return way via Lingshi...

road Punhaka to Bumthang is now under construction and some landslide or rockslide problems may occur. Some very narrow drives upon huge cliffs. Beautiful district Festival at Thangbi Mani monastery (Bumthang). From the Chomolhari B.C. our return way was via Bonthe La (a bridge collapsed at Barshong in the return way Lingshi to Thimpu). Our local guide believes the Bonthe La way offers better scenery views, compared to the return way via Lingshi. Actually we camped at Tsom Lakes with tremendous views on Jitchu Drake. Even better at top of this valley. Our trip has been everyday excellent!

Rating for tour operator:

I have a strong respectful opinion about "The Mountain Company". It is motivated by this recent experience: Buthan 14 October to 3rd November, and from my previous experience. -2013 Mera Peak expedition in Nepal - very accurate organisation, I summited (62y.old) -2012 Snowman trekking in Buthan, challenging and difficult to organise: for the weather and many high passes to cross. Perfectly organised, all went well eberyday.

Lunana Snowman in Bhutan by Hutch, 1 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

A tough adventure

The 27 day Snowman Trek was a tough challenge, both physically and mentally. The terrain was remote and often spectacular. Sandwiched between the monsoon and the start of the winter snows it pays to be well equipped for all weather. The many ascents are not technical but are often long. The steep descents often require a lot of concentration. Paths vary from smooth and dry to mud and rocks. The 3 day pre-trek acclimatisation process was ...

The 27 day Snowman Trek was a tough challenge, both physically and mentally. The terrain was remote and often spectacular. Sandwiched between the monsoon and the start of the winter snows it pays to be well equipped for all weather. The many ascents are not technical but are often long. The steep descents often require a lot of concentration. Paths vary from smooth and dry to mud and rocks. The 3 day pre-trek acclimatisation process was well thought out and none of the group suffered any significant altitude sickness. The three day cross-country return to Paro gave a good insight to Bhutan life.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company organised an excellent Snowman trek in Bhutan. The pre-trek information and advice was very helpful and the trek was expertly led in country by Almas Khan, a very experienced trek leader who has now completed numerous Snowman treks.

Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal by The woman from Oz, 1 Nov 2016
Holiday Rating:

Dhaulagiri- Way beyond my expectations!

It started with a warm and generous Nepali welcome at the airport and it continued for the next 20 days. A good bunch of people of varied ages, a fantastic Leader and support crew who could not do enough to ensure you had a great time. The views were superb, they seemed to get better each day and I loved every minute of the trip.

It started with a warm and generous Nepali welcome at the airport and it continued for the next 20 days. A good bunch of people of varied ages, a fantastic Leader and support crew who could not do enough to ensure you had a great time. The views were superb, they seemed to get better each day and I loved every minute of the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

The itinerary was very well planned with rest days to assist with acclimatising. The tour company were extremely well organised, they communicated the plan for the day and were flexible in their attitude and generally appeared to care that everybody was well and enjoying themselves. There was always somebody not that far away on the trail if you had a question and to make sure the group stayed together. A truly professional tour group.

Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal by Miss J S 16, 26 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Expertly organised

I expected the trek to be outstanding because of the beauty of the area but I did not expect the organisation of the trip to be so completely seamless. At every possible transition there was no waiting or confusion, the transfers were immediate, the mountain lodges all booked and ready (and we saw several other groups and people being turned away). Our guide Buddi was a true expert and his deputy Dipen and the porters were brilliant, great ...

I expected the trek to be outstanding because of the beauty of the area but I did not expect the organisation of the trip to be so completely seamless. At every possible transition there was no waiting or confusion, the transfers were immediate, the mountain lodges all booked and ready (and we saw several other groups and people being turned away). Our guide Buddi was a true expert and his deputy Dipen and the porters were brilliant, great fun & knowledgable about the areas we trekked in. We felt like we were cared about, not just a body on a trek. The pace was perfect and our group of 4 was just right (we saw groups of 14!). We were able to enjoy the trek & the beauty without being concerned about logistics, what a wonderful position to be in

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal by Miss J S 16, 26 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Expertly organised

I expected the trek to be outstanding because of the beauty of the area but I did not expect the organisation of the trip to be so completely seamless. At every possible transition there was no waiting or confusion, the transfers were immediate, the mountain lodges all booked and ready (and we saw several other groups and people being turned away). Our guide Buddi was a true expert and his deputy Dipen and the porters were brilliant, great ...

I expected the trek to be outstanding because of the beauty of the area but I did not expect the organisation of the trip to be so completely seamless. At every possible transition there was no waiting or confusion, the transfers were immediate, the mountain lodges all booked and ready (and we saw several other groups and people being turned away). Our guide Buddi was a true expert and his deputy Dipen and the porters were brilliant, great fun & knowledgable about the areas we trekked in. We felt like we were cared about, not just a body on a trek. The pace was perfect and our group of 4 was just right (we saw groups of 14!). We were able to enjoy the trek & the beauty without being concerned about logistics, what a wonderful position to be in

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

Snow Lake Hispar La in Pakistan by Mark S, 15 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Trekking in Pakistan

Excellent trek in a remote part of Pakistan to the beautiful Snow Lake.

Excellent trek in a remote part of Pakistan to the beautiful Snow Lake.

Rating for tour operator:

Very professional, safety conscious and organised. Excellent individual service.

K2 Base Camp in Pakistan by Trekker Phil, 4 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Best trek for superb mountain views

This is a great company that provides point by point communication and attention to details. The head guide was well chosen to blend the needs of all the clients. The food and food preparation was excellent. Attention was paid to care and cleanliness to avoid illness on the trek. The local support crew was excellent and was also on target with camp preparation and helping the clients. The camp sites provide great views of more 7 and 8000 meter ...

This is a great company that provides point by point communication and attention to details. The head guide was well chosen to blend the needs of all the clients. The food and food preparation was excellent. Attention was paid to care and cleanliness to avoid illness on the trek. The local support crew was excellent and was also on target with camp preparation and helping the clients. The camp sites provide great views of more 7 and 8000 meter peaks than most any place in the world. The timing of the trip length was excellent to help with acclimatization. The whole package from start to finish makes this group and this trek one of the best treks on the planet.

Rating for tour operator:

As above The Mountain Company UK is very well organized with an excellent website and good documents to provide all the necessary information you need for details, supplies, and data for the trek. Communication about issues or questions is quick and complete. Attention to detail and support is excellent.