The Mountain Company

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 80
Reviews accepted: 80
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
78
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Nepal Himalayan Mountaineering Trip - Around Dhaulagiri

By Mrs G B 14 on 5 Mar 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This Himalayan mountaineering trip involved a circuit around Dhaulagiri that included passes over 5000m. After a few days we reached Italian Base Camp at around 3800m and unfortunately were hit by a huge snow storm due to Cyclone HubHub. We therefore saw the response and decision-making of TMC in the worst possible conditions. It was fantastic - very professional and decisions were made based on experience and knowledge designed to keep the clients and crew safe in unusual circumstances. Before the trip the administration and booking and pre-trip briefings were also very professional and thorough. The owner, Roland Hunter is always available to answer any queries or respond to suggestions. As a mountaineer himself with a vast array of experience he instils confidence in his clients and it is very gratifying to know he is so "hands on". A brilliant tour operator."

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This Himalayan mountaineering trip involved a circuit around Dhaulagiri that included passes over 5000m. After a few days we reached Italian Base Camp at around 3800m and unfortunately were hit by a huge snow storm due to Cyclone HubHub. We therefore saw the response and decision-making of TMC in the worst possible conditions. It was fantastic - very professional and decisions were made based on experience and knowledge designed to keep the clients and crew safe in unusual circumstances. Before the trip the administration and booking and pre-trip briefings were also very professional and thorough. The owner, Roland Hunter is always available to answer any queries or respond to suggestions. As a mountaineer himself with a vast array of experience he instils confidence in his clients and it is very gratifying to know he is so "hands on". A brilliant tour operator."

By Simon on 27 Feb 2015

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company provided a service that was personal, but backed by organisational depth and a wealth of experience. In somewhat difficult circumstances, arrangements were made that protected the safety of the group and adjusted to our changing circumstances. I would recommend The Mountain Company to other trekkers.

Trek in Everest region and trek in Annapurna region

By Tony&Sandy on 18 Feb 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We booked an Everest luxury lodge trek followed by an Annapurna luxury trek with The Mountain Trekking Company. We managed to get to Ama Dablam basecamp on the Everest trek, having passed through Namche Bazaar, and then went on to Thame before trekking back to Lukla. We also had wonderful views of the Annapurna range on the less demanding Annapurna trek. We also had time to explore Kathmandu and Pokhara. This was a sensational holiday. Both guides and their assistants were brilliant and the accommodation was superb. Then guides made sure we went at a pace we could cope with at all times, with plenty of time to enjoy the scenery.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We booked both an Everest luxury lodge trek and an Annapurna luxury trek with The Mountain Trekking Company. Roland and his team could not have been more helpful in making sure we had the adventure of a lifetime. Both guides and their assistants were brilliant and the accommodation was superb. We managed to get to Ama Dablam basecamp on the Everest trek and then had wonderful views of the Annapurna range on the less demanding Annapurna trek. We would thoroughly recommend the company and are grateful for the individual attention we received.

Everest luxury base camp

By Happy dent on 4 Feb 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Brilliant operator. Could not fault our holiday at all.Would definitely recommend them to anyone.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Small business well run personal service was excellent.

Kanchenjunga Circuit -spectacular Himalayan scenery without the crowds.

By MK on 3 Feb 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Well organised. Great food. Professional staff.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

"Was so impressed with The Mountain Company on my recent Himalayan
trek. Very responsive to feedback, quick turnaround with any
online queries and quality staff made for a fantastic trip. I
would not hesitate to recommend them and will certainly look at
future offerings from TMC when I next consider a trek in the
mountains!"

We would go with The Mountain Company again at the drop of a hat.

By Mrs J B 14 on 28 Jan 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had the most wonderful time in Nepal.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Everything worked beautifully; The Mountain Company employs excellent people.

Fantastic experience

By Daveyrush on 19 Jan 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The trek to EBC was a life changing experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company provided an excellent service from end-to-end. From the outset I was provided with a great deal of information. During the trip the guides were fantastic and I felt very safe. An alround great experience.

Well organised from start to finish and excellent home and local leaders

By ET on 17 Jan 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

This is a 2-weeks trekking holiday up to the Ama Dablam Base Camp at 4600 metres altitude in the Himalaya, close to Everest in Nepal. We met up in Kathmandu, then flied up to busy Lukla in flying taxis (small ~20 seater planes) to start our trek. The sight(s) of Everest and Ama Dablam were amazing/mesmerising and did not forget about those nice looking yaks and amazingly fit shepherds and porters. Making to the Base Camp without adverse effect was truly a relief as well as a big achivement for me....wonderful feeling!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The trek was well planned and organised in such a way that there were sufficient time to acclimatise with rising altitudes. The local guides were very knowledgeable with good communication and patience with us. The lodges were surprisingly quite well equipped and foods were resonable considering their location up in the mountain.

An Everest Pilgrimage

By Mr. Plod on 14 Jan 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

A lifetime's ambition achieved reaching Everest Base Camp on December 2014 to celebrate my 60th year.It was fair to say I was not the fittest and I struggled with the altitude, however with the help of the very caring guides and porters we finally reached our goal. I will take away wonderful memories of beautiful vistas and fantastic weather. Many thanks to all at the Mountain Company for organising such a well planned programme aiding acclimatisation and giving us the best possible chance of reaching our destination.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company from website to delivery of the Trek itself were impressive in all aspects of their organisation. They were always available on the phone prior to the trip to answer any queries I had. All their staff on the trek were brilliant and very professional. If ever I go to the Himalayas again these are the only people I would go with. Job well done

Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek - Nepal

By Trekker on 14 Jan 2015

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The Kanchenjunga Circuit Trek takes place in northeastern Nepal. It is a 21 day walk through low valleys, Tibetan villages and the high Himalaya. The scenery is spectacular. This is one of my favorite treks.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

I traveled with The Mountain Company (TMC) on their Kanchenjunga Circuit trek in Nepal in October 2014. The trek was well planned and organized and the pre-trip information provided made sure everyone was prepared for the trek. The equipment provided by TMC was very good and the trekking staff was excellent. TMC is a top notch company. This was my second trip with The Mountain Company and I will certainly travel with them again.