The Mountain Company

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 90
Reviews accepted: 90
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
88
Good
2
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

Excellent Dhaulagiri circuit April-May 2016

By SK on 15 May 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

I trekked around Dhaulagiri, crossing the French (5,380 m) and Dhampus (5,250 m) passes, with an attempt on Dhampus peak (6,030 m) where I got to 5,800 m on the summit ridge. The trek was excellent and we were very lucky to have near perfect weather. Nevertheless, the trek was very well organized, with the group well prepared for the inclement weather and trail conditions frequently experience on this route. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would have no hesitation in choosing The Mountain Company organized future trek.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This was a very well organized trek, with excellent leadership by Almas Khan, and sirdar Domi Sherpa. I particularly appreciated us being allowed to walk at our own preferred pace, something I noticed was lacking among a lot of other groups on trail. The food throughout the trek was excellent and cook Saila Tamang and the kitchen staff did a splendid job.

Ama Dablam Base Camp - What a Good Do !!

By Mossley Smiffy on 12 May 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal >

It's all here to be honest ...

http://stsphotographic.blogspot.co.uk/2016/05/nepal.html

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company - excellent from the start - no probs with booking - and all the extras (flights/insurance etc etc) were sorted easily. Guides (for Kathmandu tour and the trek itself) were top notch. The big plus was the sudden itinerary change required due to illness - caused absolutely no problems because we had a guide and a proper company backing us up - a couple of phone calls and everything was sorted with minimum fuss - the reason for travelling with a bona fide company.

Spectacular.

By SPR on 12 May 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Dhaulagiri Circuit in Nepal >

I trekked with the Mountain Company on the Nepal Dhaulagiri Circuit. The route was well planned; we saw the breadth of Nepal from villages in river valleys at 600 meters to prayer flags at the 6000 meter passes. Overall, a spectacular trek with great service on the trail and in Kathmandu.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The trekking staff on the trail and in Kathmandu was superb. Excellent meals, solid organization and great service.

We were so well looked after, we could just relax and enjoy the experience of trekking in wonderful scenery.

By Liz on 30 Apr 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal >

We went sightseeing in Kathmandu with a friendly and very informative guide, then we did a 10 day trek in the mountains with another excellent guide and friendly porters. We stayed in simple guest houses, which were comfortable enough. Our guide organised everything for us and was also very good company.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We found the Mountain Company on the Internet . They had a very informative website, and they run this particular holiday which was a good choice for us as older first time Trekkers because it was not quite as far as the Everest Base camp treks .

70th birthday in the Himalayas

By Zoran on 4 Apr 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Celebrated my father's 70th birthday by trekking together to Annapurna Basecamp. A very special 2 weeks we'll cherish for years to come.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Meticulously thought out and prepared. Great pre-trip advice and responsiveness, organization on the ground, and most importantly on the trek itself. We always felt taken care of, and under experienced guidance. The trek crew even threw a surprise birthday party for us, hauling a freshly baked cake into a remote lodge on the way to ABC!

The Mountain Company Luxury Tour of Myanmar

By Marmar on 21 Feb 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Classic Tour of Burma >

Very well organised tour which went like clockwork. Very good guides who were knowlegeable, pleasant and helpful.The drivers were all very safe and careful and steady, even on any bad roads. The tour was varied and very interesting, and the hotels all very comfortable and in good locations, many with lovely views and grounds. Everything on the tour was worth seeing, and the highlights were of course many amazing pagodas, but also the train journey from Pyin Oo Lwin to Hsipaw over the Goktek Gorge, the 2 day cruise on R.V.Paukan from Mandlay to Bagan. Also Bagan itself and the balloon flight, and Inle Lake, where we went to the far south of the lake in a local boat to Sagar.The markets and craft workshops were fascinating too.
I would recommend this tour,with a well run itinerary, taking in the sights, culture and crafts of the country .

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company organised the Myanmar Luxury Tour, but also specialises in trekking in Nepal and Bhutan, and recently, Pakistan.
The company organised our Myanmar tour very efficiently and with great care and attention to detail, and it went like clockwork

The most fascinating holiday, impeccably organised and very interesting itinerary. Lovely people despite their extreme poverty and problems.

By Mrs Contented on 17 Feb 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Luxury Classic Tour of Burma >

We found Myanamar a fascinating place and the people very friendly despite all their problems.We managed to do a wide variety of different things, including 2 night Irrawaddy cruise, balloon trip at Bagan, 3 hour little local train where we travelled through villages, and many locals got on and off the train with all the fruit and vegetables to sell in the market. Another highlight, which again, was arranged by the Mountain Company was a long boat ride up Inla Lake right up beyond the touristy area to see one of the original kingdoms of the old Shan state king. We only saw one other tourist boat doing this.
In general we had a very varied holiday from Pagodas to birds, local people, and much else arranged by the Mountain Company. It was a fairly exhausting timetable to fit everything in but we then had a few days to relax at Ngpali beach.
All the hotels recommended by The Mountain Company were excellent and we were very well looked after by the friendly staff.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The Mountain Company was extremely professional from first enquiry to after we returned. All questions were answered quickly and efficiently and we were well briefed as to what to expect. They were very flexible on discussion for our travel plan and included a few things which we particularly wanted to do.
The whole 3 week holiday was very efficiently organised and all went according to plan. The guides were excellent and both they and the drivers couldn't have been more helpful.
I would highly recommend The Mountain Company.

Kanchenjunga, Nepal

By SnoMo on 12 Jan 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent
Find more about Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal >

21 day trek in the Kanchenjunga region of Nepal. Challenging with beautiful view of high mountain peaks and rewarding encounters with local Nepalese in various villages along the way.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Rolland, owner of The Mountain Company, was very responsive to all enquires. Provided all the necessary info (trekking gear, what to expect and etc) right from the start. He is a hands-on guy and goes to Kathmandu frequently to ensure things are in place for the treks. The crew was very friendly, professional and looked after all our needs. Trek leader, Almas Khan, looked after all the details while we were trekking. He looked after not only the trekkers but also ensure the rest of the crew are doing well. This is good to see. I believe it is the operating philosophy of The Mountain Company to ensure everyone's well being is looked after.

Everest Base Camp trek Nov/Dec 2015

By Marshalls on 5 Jan 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

The trek started in Lukla and it took 10 days to get to our destination of Everest Base Camp. This was perfect as we did lots of acclimatisation walks which were essential from our point of view, and as no one in the group had any altitude issues it was obviously the right way to do it. The trek was hard and strenuous and not for the faint hearted (but we were prepared!), our Sherpa, Tensing was THE BEST, and with his guidance and support we made it to EBC. What a fabulous trip of a lifetime - very emotional walking into EBC where so many historic climbs had started from. Would we recommend this trip - absolutely! Thank you Roland and the team - hopefully we will be back for another experience another year.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

From the first time we found the Mountain Company online we noticed that they were head and shoulders above other trekking companies. The information on their website is fantastic and Roland was very very helpful and was always willing to spend time explaining things and answering any questions we had. They have so much information available to download as well as links to other relevant websites. Our Sherpa had worked with Roland for 10 years and he was just amazing and we have treasured memories of our time with him. The trek was well organised and well thought out, the lodges were basic but clean and the food was wonderful (so much choice!). Thank you and keep up the good work.

Outstanding Trek with Outstandingly Organised

By mikehannah4 on 4 Jan 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Tough trek in a remote part of Bhutan - Laya Gasa Trek. Very well organised with absolutely no problems whatsoever.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Small independent specialising in trekking in Himalayas.