AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
The Mountain Company

The Mountain Company Traveller Reviews

Reviews of The Mountain Company

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 108
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 111
Reviews Accepted: 111
Reviews Rejected: 0
111 reviews
Sort by:
Kopra Ridge in Nepal by Graham, 27 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Superb classic Nepalese trek

This one wasn't as demanding as the ones I normally do with Mountain Company, but was no less enjoyable/invigorating for that. Faultlessly led as Mountain Company treks always are, Biswo, the leader, was as attentive, cheerful and authoritative as ever - he was "joint-leader" of the Dhaulagiri trek I did with Roland's company a few years ago. Though this trip didn't have the "breathtaking/dramatic altitude" element that many Himalayan treks ...

This one wasn't as demanding as the ones I normally do with Mountain Company, but was no less enjoyable/invigorating for that. Faultlessly led as Mountain Company treks always are, Biswo, the leader, was as attentive, cheerful and authoritative as ever - he was "joint-leader" of the Dhaulagiri trek I did with Roland's company a few years ago. Though this trip didn't have the "breathtaking/dramatic altitude" element that many Himalayan treks have, it had everything else you could possibly want - villages, culture, Yaks (and dzos), forests, high alpine pastures and panoramic mountain views. Though near Annapurna, it's still off the beaten track, providing a glimpse of the "real" Nepal - a chance to see how regular Gurung people live. Despite this, no tents are required thanks to the excellent "village-owned" community lodges at Bayeli Kharka, Upper Chistibung, Kopra, Mohare Danda and Nangi. To cap it all of, there was a trully entrancing sunrise to be seen from the hill above Kopra lodge. A perfect Nepalese trek!

Rating for tour operator:

I've been on a number of treks run by the Mountain Company and this one was as good as ever. The combination of Roland's dilligence, talent with logistics and deep understanding of the Himalayan region make all the treks his company runs a thoroughly enjoyable experience. This is augmented by the personal touch that Roland brings to all the treks - Mountain Company is a small enterprise, but in the many years that Roland has spent in the Himalayan area he has got to know all the best people. The staff on this trek were no exception. Biswo Rai (who I've trekked with before, in Dhaulagiri) and his team were as good as ever. I plan to do many more treks with this company.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Stratsy, 15 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

The Best Three Weeks of My Life!

The Mountain Company organised everything perfectly for myself and three friends to undertake the Everest Base Camp trek 13th December - 3rd January (with three nights in Kathmandu both at the beginning and end of our trek). Our two Sherpas and two "team guys" (Porters) were 100% attentive, knowledgeable and fun. The scenery was second to none - the peace and serenity of the mountains, not only surreal, but truly resonated with me - loved it...

The Mountain Company organised everything perfectly for myself and three friends to undertake the Everest Base Camp trek 13th December - 3rd January (with three nights in Kathmandu both at the beginning and end of our trek). Our two Sherpas and two "team guys" (Porters) were 100% attentive, knowledgeable and fun. The scenery was second to none - the peace and serenity of the mountains, not only surreal, but truly resonated with me - loved it. It had a humbling, silencing effect - loved the Nepalese communities, so friendly and they love their animals! Hardships of temperatures well below freezing, frozen water and no heating were a fun experience - all part of the incredible trek. Thank you Mountain Company and colleagues in Nepal - kindest regards, Jackie Stratton.

Rating for tour operator:

Roland Hunter at The Mountain Company organised everything perfectly and was always on hand to answer any queries via email or telephone. Totally dedicated and made us feel secure and happy with all the arrangements. Thank you Roland! Kind regards - Jackie Stratton.

Kopra Ridge in Nepal by Lizzie, 9 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

An experience never to be forgotten

It was a well organised and challenging trekking holiday. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will never forget the experience.

It was a well organised and challenging trekking holiday. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will never forget the experience.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator was very good always there to answer queries both in the U.K. and in Nepal.

Druk Path in Bhutan by Chris, 8 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Druk Path - Calm hiking and site seeing in a beautiful country

This was an amazing trip to a relatively unspoiled country that is full of history and culture! Bhutan has some fantastic scenery with some beautiful architecture and intriguing history. It's has strong religious emphasis in its culture but this is open and accepting to all. In my opinion it is tailored for the relatively active individual with a taste of site seeing included and isn't quite as strenuous as the descriptions make out. Unfort...

This was an amazing trip to a relatively unspoiled country that is full of history and culture! Bhutan has some fantastic scenery with some beautiful architecture and intriguing history. It's has strong religious emphasis in its culture but this is open and accepting to all. In my opinion it is tailored for the relatively active individual with a taste of site seeing included and isn't quite as strenuous as the descriptions make out. Unfortunately for me it wasn't quite active enough as we found ourselves only hiking for half days instead of the full days listed on the itinerary but I generally found ways of extending my days by doing a little more. Once I had described my dietary requirements for about the forth time (and listing them on the pre-trip documents), the crew finally started to get it right and stop giving me western food but this seems to be standard on all group holidays! Saying that, the food turned out amazing and the guide and support team we had were really nice and helpful throughout. Roland at The Mountain Company was really great, he communicated really well before, throughout and after the trip and was a wealth of information and help. One thing I would point out is the cost. It's fairly cheap when you get in the country but the holiday was relatively expensive when compared to similar ones in Bhutan's neighboring countries. However, in return you get a much better holiday in a far less commercial and touristy place! Thanks again to all the guys that made my holiday the amazing experience that it turned out to be!

Rating for tour operator:

See above

The Mountain Company responded to this review on 09 Jan 2017:

Chris, thanks for your feedback and I am glad to hear overall you had a good holiday in Bhutan. Just to follow up on several of your points, please note Druk Path is graded by TMC as Moderate and is one of our easier treks in Bhutan. I have written Trip Dossier for Druk Path based on first hand experience from my trek in December 2014. As you can see from the Trip Dossier the first day of trek is stated as 4 to 5 hours, second day of trek as 4 hours, third day as 6 to 7 hours, fourth day is 5 hours and last day as 3 hours. As ever there are options for afternoon walks after arrival to camp and I am glad you took these opportunities.

As for food I am sorry your dietary requirement as a pescatarian took some time for the kitchen crew to produce for you however I am glad you got the right food in the end. We had notified our partners in Thimphu in advance of your arrival so I will follow up with them.

Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal by Lyn, 2 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

a wonderful experience both the trekking and meeting the people of Nepal, it was an education.

My trip to Ama Dablam base camp in the Everest reason was an excellent choice as the trek follows quieter trails as well as the main Everest base camp trail. The views of the Everest range, Ama Dablam and other peaks in the Khumbu region were stunning.The group size was ideal and the itinerary designed for gradual acclimatisation worked very well.The days spent in Kathmandu were very good, the hotel was of a high standard and the tour of the ...

My trip to Ama Dablam base camp in the Everest reason was an excellent choice as the trek follows quieter trails as well as the main Everest base camp trail. The views of the Everest range, Ama Dablam and other peaks in the Khumbu region were stunning.The group size was ideal and the itinerary designed for gradual acclimatisation worked very well.The days spent in Kathmandu were very good, the hotel was of a high standard and the tour of the city was very interesting as the guide was excellent . I would without doubt recommend this trip to Ama Dablam base camp especially to a first timer of a mature age like myself.

Rating for tour operator:

Roland ,the director of the Mountain Company was always available beforehand to answer any queries I had about the trip. My e mails were answered promptly and were always very detailed and considered. The pre trip information document was excellent and very helpful especially to someone like myself trekking in Nepal for the first time.

Chomolhari Base Camp in Bhutan by brugo, 2 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

four cooperative friends

Immersione nella cultura e paesaggio bhutanese

Immersione nella cultura e paesaggio bhutanese

Rating for tour operator:

Molto competente, capace e simpatico

The Mountain Company responded to this review on 02 Jan 2017:

This comment translated into English reads "Immersion in the culture and landscape of Bhutan." Thanks, Marco.

The Mountain Company responded to this review on 02 Jan 2017:

This comment translated into English reads "Very competent, capable and likeable." Thanks, Marco.

Kanchenjunga Circuit in Nepal by Nina, 19 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Kanchenjunga Circuit - perfectly organized from A to Z

First time in Nepal, I wanted a trek in a secluded, remote area with breathtaking mountain views. The Kanchenjunga Circuit offered all this and much more. I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to escape the "crowds" in the Everest and Annapurna region. For me as a newcomer to Nepal and high altitude it was also a very suitable trek as the acclimatization is very well taken care of in the itinerary. The trek visits both the ...

First time in Nepal, I wanted a trek in a secluded, remote area with breathtaking mountain views. The Kanchenjunga Circuit offered all this and much more. I would highly recommend this trek to anyone who wants to escape the "crowds" in the Everest and Annapurna region. For me as a newcomer to Nepal and high altitude it was also a very suitable trek as the acclimatization is very well taken care of in the itinerary. The trek visits both the North and the South Base camp of Kanchenjunga, which are linked by the Mirgin La pass. The scenery is breathtaking and diverse on both sides. Our trek leader, Almas Khan, is certainly one of the best you can get. With his wealth of mountain experience I always felt 100% safe in his hands. Furthermore, he is an excellent leader and people manager with a fun sense of humor. Also the local crew did a very good job, that is the local mountain guides, porters and kitchen crew. The food was tasty and varied, and there was no lack of it. I was more worried of gaining weight than losing weight. The camp sites became more spectacular the higher we went. The tents were spacious and of high quality. The whole trek was perfectly organized from A to Z. E.g. even the tents were numbered so that one has the same tent every night. Also pre-departure information and support was excellent. Roland, the owner of the company, answered all my questions to full satisfaction and in no time. Before leaving Kathmandu for the trek he met the whole group for a final info session together with Almas.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company is an outstanding and trustful tour operator with a personal touch. They are very professional in every aspect, from the the webpage, to the pre-departure information, to the trek itself and the final survey. I have never been on such a well-organized trip, where I felt that they can handle any situation. The customer service is really top, very professional, personal and friendly. I haven't seen better in the tour operator business so far. For example, I arrived few weeks before the trek in Kathmandu and Roland, the owner of the company, invited me for a coffee to answer further questions or simply chat about the trek. Where else does one get such a personal gesture as a standard customer nowadays! My next trek in the Himalayas will for sure be with The Mountain Company again.

Ama Dablam Base Camp in Nepal by Sara, 19 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Khumbu trekking off the beaten track

An excellent alternative to the usual Everest Base Camp trek - slightly shorter and easier, but with quieter paths and visits to small villages.

An excellent alternative to the usual Everest Base Camp trek - slightly shorter and easier, but with quieter paths and visits to small villages.

Rating for tour operator:

Small group, operator provided plenty of care and attention, both before the trip and during the trip. The guides were very helpful, and made the trek interesting and culturally enlightening.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by john w, 12 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Awesome

best experience of my life.

best experience of my life.

Rating for tour operator:

perfectly organised from beginning to end.

Everest Base Camp in Nepal by Susan, 12 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Everest Base Camp trek

Amazing three weeks in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery was spectacular and seeing the sun rising and setting over Everest was very special. Some tough days hiking but our Sherpa was great and really supportive. The whole trip was an experience I'll never forget and would highly recommend it to everyone.

Amazing three weeks in a beautiful part of the world. The scenery was spectacular and seeing the sun rising and setting over Everest was very special. Some tough days hiking but our Sherpa was great and really supportive. The whole trip was an experience I'll never forget and would highly recommend it to everyone.

Rating for tour operator:

The Mountain Company were brilliant from start to finish. Roland responded very quickly to any queries I had and made the effort to meet me at the Hotel in Kathmandu. From being picked up at the airport, the entire trip ran smoothly and his staff in Nepal were great and couldn't do enough to ensure I had a great time. I wouldn't hesitate to use this company again.