AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Sri Lankan Family Adventure Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Sri Lankan Family Adventure

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 35
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 35
Reviews Accepted: 35
Reviews Rejected: 0
35 reviews
Sort by:
Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Fionac, 23 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

A truly memorable Sri Lankan family experience

As a family of four (children aged 9 & 11) we travelled to Sri Lanka for the first time with little expectation but wow what a truly superb country to visit as a family. The Sri Lankan people are so kind & couldn't do enough for us. The whole experience from booking, flying, arriving at the airport, our driver, accomodation, excursions and even the journey home was magical and Experience Travel Group couldn't have done a better job in putting ...

As a family of four (children aged 9 & 11) we travelled to Sri Lanka for the first time with little expectation but wow what a truly superb country to visit as a family. The Sri Lankan people are so kind & couldn't do enough for us. The whole experience from booking, flying, arriving at the airport, our driver, accomodation, excursions and even the journey home was magical and Experience Travel Group couldn't have done a better job in putting together a true family holiday of a lifetime.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group really did put together a superb itinerary that met and far exceeded our expectations and requirements.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 May 2019:

Dear Fiona & Family,

What a wonderful review - we hope people will be able to visit again as a family very soon.

Best,

Sam
Co-founder & MD

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Tamg75, 27 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lankan adventure making memories!

A 10 day mini tour with small children in tow; dipping our toes into family adventures a little further afield! A train journey from Columbo towards galle kicked off the holiday... onto Ahangama to the beautiful Cantaloupe house.... Lalu’s hideaway and a visit to Ude Walalwa nation park... then to the beautiful Nisala Arana for a few days of r and r. Along the way, we experienced great trips, lovely food, exciting encounters with wildlife ...

A 10 day mini tour with small children in tow; dipping our toes into family adventures a little further afield! A train journey from Columbo towards galle kicked off the holiday... onto Ahangama to the beautiful Cantaloupe house.... Lalu’s hideaway and a visit to Ude Walalwa nation park... then to the beautiful Nisala Arana for a few days of r and r. Along the way, we experienced great trips, lovely food, exciting encounters with wildlife and fascinating Sri Lankan culture.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience travel’s team knowledge of the country was amazing. A very professional, helpful and easy process when deciding upon itinery

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 28 Feb 2019:

Hi Tamsin,

Thanks so much for your feedback, it sounds like you and the family had a brilliant time! I am so pleased everything worked out well for you and you enjoyed the excursions we organised.

Becky

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Fin, 22 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Family holiday to satisfy the history and nature lovers... all boxes were ticked!

We had 14 days in Sri Lanka - our first visit to this country. We managed to see Religious festivals involving huge numbers of elephants, fire jugglers and temple dancers , climb an ancient rock fortress that had historically been guarded by quick sand and crocodile moats, see the sacred tree that had been grown from Buddha's tree of enlightenment, encounter Slender Loris in eco hotels and avoid their crocodiles. We slept under canvas and ...

We had 14 days in Sri Lanka - our first visit to this country. We managed to see Religious festivals involving huge numbers of elephants, fire jugglers and temple dancers , climb an ancient rock fortress that had historically been guarded by quick sand and crocodile moats, see the sacred tree that had been grown from Buddha's tree of enlightenment, encounter Slender Loris in eco hotels and avoid their crocodiles. We slept under canvas and were fortunate to encounter 8 leopards over the course of 2 days tracking. We sampled curries to make you swoon and first class international menus. Finally we rested near Galle by the sea, visited traditional mask making factories and turtle hatcheries before soaking up the last of our summer sun...

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel did all we asked of them. They changed routes to optimize our experience and the hotels they guided us towards showed how well they had understood our brief.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 24 Sep 2018:

Dear Fiona,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this brilliant review. So pleased to hear you had a fantastic time too.

Please do let others know about what we offer - we love word of mouth referrals and of course, we'd love to hear from you again in the future.

Kind regards,


Sam Clark
Co-founder & MD
Experience Travel Group
Sam Clark

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Anneke, 1 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Incredible family holiday in Sri Lanka flawlessly organised

We had an absolutely incredible family holiday in Sri Lanka. The holiday was flawlessly organised by Becky at Experience Travel. Sri Lanka was an incredible destination and the variety on offer is fantastic. From the different types of accommodation, activities, scenery, wildlife, vegetation, food, experiences ... We particularly appreciated our driver-guides local knowledge which meant we visited places and enjoyed road side snacks we may not ...

We had an absolutely incredible family holiday in Sri Lanka. The holiday was flawlessly organised by Becky at Experience Travel. Sri Lanka was an incredible destination and the variety on offer is fantastic. From the different types of accommodation, activities, scenery, wildlife, vegetation, food, experiences ... We particularly appreciated our driver-guides local knowledge which meant we visited places and enjoyed road side snacks we may not have found on our own. In addition, it was evident that Experience Travel supported local businesses and people and really did promote sustainable and eco tourism. There was so much to do and see we really could have stayed longer.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel were amazing. Becky really understood our family needs and budget and created a holiday that far exceeded our expectations. Everything was organised to an incredibly high level and the little thoughtful details were hugely appreciated such as snacks in the van, pre-stamped postcards, maps, amazing photos roadside stops for snacks and drinks, birthday cake on my son's burthday birthday to name just a few! The local driver-guide (Chandana) was an excellent driver and knowledgeable guide. We learnt so much from him. The activities and experiences ETG organised for us were interesting and really gave us a flavour into the real Sri Lanka. Absolutely everything ran like clockwork but we felt able to be flexible too. I would definitely use Experience Travel again and recommend them 100%. Truly excellent.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 Sep 2018:

Hi Anneke,

Thanks for your kind words, I am thrilled you and your family had such a good time in Sri Lanka. Chandana will be pleased as well that you enjoyed your time with him, I will pass this on. Thanks as well for sharing your son's travel journal with us- we loved hearing all about your adventures through his eyes! Sounds like he really fell in love with the island!

Looking forward to helping you on your next trip,

Becky

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Istabraq, 14 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

lots to see and do in Sri Lanka

15 days split between touring the hill county and cultural triangle and having a nice break on a luxury resort on golden white sands

15 days split between touring the hill county and cultural triangle and having a nice break on a luxury resort on golden white sands

Rating for tour operator:

ETG planned our holiday so well and really captured what we wanted in a holiday to suit a family with 3 children aged 15 to 20. when there we had a guide/driver with us and there knowledge of the island was second to none.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 15 Aug 2018:

Dear Richard & family,

So pleased to hear you had a wonderful holiday. Thank you also for taking the time to write this review - that is hugely appreciated. We look forward to talking to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sam
Co-founder & MD
Experience Travel Group

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Robs, 26 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip for the family

Great hotels and fabulous experiences

Great hotels and fabulous experiences

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 04 Aug 2018:

Hi Robin,

Thanks for your comments. I am so please you and your faiy enjoyed returning to Sri Lanka.

Becky

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Kate O, 25 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

a 16 day tailor made itinerary around Sri Lanka to suit a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys

We had a fairly packed itinerary in that we stayed in 7 properties across the 16 days, but it didn't feel like too much at any point. We stayed in luxury, eco-lodges and a house made entirely of mud with no electricity and walls open to the elements. We went rafting, tea picking, rubber tapping, bird watching, cycling, swimming, took a train, and went surfing but also had time to just relax and enjoy incredible scenery. We have tales, that as ...

We had a fairly packed itinerary in that we stayed in 7 properties across the 16 days, but it didn't feel like too much at any point. We stayed in luxury, eco-lodges and a house made entirely of mud with no electricity and walls open to the elements. We went rafting, tea picking, rubber tapping, bird watching, cycling, swimming, took a train, and went surfing but also had time to just relax and enjoy incredible scenery. We have tales, that as a family we will remember forever.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel are by far and away the best travel booking experience I have had and I go abroad 3-5 times a year. Their consultant, Lauren Boyd was exceptional - her communication, her desire to get our itinerary just right for us, her attitude, despite my endless questions and changes, and her knowledge and experience. Experience Travel seem to want the customer to get the right holiday - not just get the booking and shoe horn me into a ready made itinerary that they have done 100's of times before. This takes time - and Lauren always seemed to have time for me and my booking.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 25 Apr 2018:

Hi Kate

Wow, thank you so much for the very special words. What you describe is exactly the experience we are trying to create, both in the planning stage and during the holiday itself. It is so satisfying to hear when we are successful!

Lauren is currently away but will be back in a couple of weeks and I am sure will be in touch to hear all about it.

Regards

Nick Clark

Head Of Travel

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by And then there were three , 12 Apr 2018
Holiday Rating:

Mum with 2 boys

Everything was covered from lovely accommodation, great driver, fantastic locations to visit and wonderful activities for us as a family. We did white water rafting, kayaking, elephant safaris and hiking Pre trip planning, flexible and efficient. Documents received and all very helpful. The Vamoos app was fabulous too. This is the second time I have used Experience Travel and I can not recommend them highly enough. Keep up the good ...

Everything was covered from lovely accommodation, great driver, fantastic locations to visit and wonderful activities for us as a family. We did white water rafting, kayaking, elephant safaris and hiking Pre trip planning, flexible and efficient. Documents received and all very helpful. The Vamoos app was fabulous too. This is the second time I have used Experience Travel and I can not recommend them highly enough. Keep up the good work and see you for our next trip

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by Bilbo, 14 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

A great 2 centre holiday in Maldives and Sri Lanka

We had a relaxing week in the Maldives and then a really fascinating week of contrasts in Sri Lanka.

We had a relaxing week in the Maldives and then a really fascinating week of contrasts in Sri Lanka.

Rating for tour operator:

Very good local knowledge and organisational skills.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 14 Jan 2018:

Hi Claire,

Thanks so much for your feedback, it is great to hear you and the family has a great trip this year. I hope you enjoyed Sri Lanka as much as you did last time.

Becky

Sri Lankan Family Adventure by sally, 12 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka family adventure

We visited all the major sight, such as Dambula can temples POlunaruha, Sigyria , tea plantation, took a train ride. went on safari, saw elephants, visited farms. Our family adventure planned in great detail by Experience travel group. They had done their research and found perfect places for us to visit which were ideal for your family. WE had read much about Sri Lanka in the guide books but as always places change. Thy could provide up ...

We visited all the major sight, such as Dambula can temples POlunaruha, Sigyria , tea plantation, took a train ride. went on safari, saw elephants, visited farms. Our family adventure planned in great detail by Experience travel group. They had done their research and found perfect places for us to visit which were ideal for your family. WE had read much about Sri Lanka in the guide books but as always places change. Thy could provide up to date information about overcrowding in Wild life parks meaning we were always away from huge crowds. The activities they planned for our family were definite local experiences and taught our children a lot. We are planning another trip with them

Rating for tour operator:

Oh my gosh, Experience Travel definitely went the extra mile barring our holiday. All our suggestions for our itinerary were discussed and planned out for us and if a location we had read about wasn't deemed ideal they explained why and made other suggestions. We had farm visits very knowlegeable guide . The hotels matched our family needs so well. When our final night hotel put a huge NEW Year eve supplement on to our cost at the last minute the operator Experience Travel came up with great ideas which were even better than the original hotel. Fabulous and we are hoping to return next year and Use Experience travel Again

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 12 Jan 2018:

Dear Sally,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for your kind words and so pleased to hear you had such a great family holiday and that you are already planning another trip with us.

Till next time!

Best,

Sam
Co-founder and MD