AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe

Overall Holiday Rating
99%
Excellent 53
Good 3
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 56
Reviews Accepted: 56
Reviews Rejected: 0
56 reviews
Sort by:
Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by ShelleyS, 21 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

Probably the best holiday we have ever had!

We gained a true experience of Sri Lanka - a real taste of the culture, the beautiful wildlife, history, food and beach life of this wonderful country. Highly recommended. We would be totally confident in recommending Experience Travel Group to any friends and family - totally professional, informative and responsive to our requests.

We gained a true experience of Sri Lanka - a real taste of the culture, the beautiful wildlife, history, food and beach life of this wonderful country. Highly recommended. We would be totally confident in recommending Experience Travel Group to any friends and family - totally professional, informative and responsive to our requests.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 22 Jul 2016:

Dear Shelly,

Thank you very much - fantastic to hear you had such a great time in Sri Lanka. Please do recommend us - we rely on word of mouth!

Regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder.

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by peter, 11 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

A stimulating holiday which is full of surprises if you go looking for them

AN escorted 2 week holiday with a personal driver/guide in Sri Lanka. A well run holiday company with good professional and ethical standards (both here in the UK and in Sri Lanka) Without the services of the guide we would never of seen/experienced many of the highlights of the tour, as ever it is down to local people with good local knowledge who care.

AN escorted 2 week holiday with a personal driver/guide in Sri Lanka. A well run holiday company with good professional and ethical standards (both here in the UK and in Sri Lanka) Without the services of the guide we would never of seen/experienced many of the highlights of the tour, as ever it is down to local people with good local knowledge who care.

Rating for tour operator:

Our link person at Experience Travel was knowledgeable as she had personally visited the island on many occasions.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Jul 2016:

Dear Peter,

That's so good to hear. Thank you taking the time to leave this review. We agree with you that guides are so important. That's why we spent invest so heavily in our team of guides out there.

We very much hope to hear from you again.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Sandie, 2 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

A great way to experience Sri Lanka, its friendly people, its history and culture and also find a relaxing oassis.

A great way to experience Sri Lanka, its friendly people, its history and culture and also find a relaxing oassis.

Rating for tour operator:

Understood quickly what we were looking for and put together an excellent itineray. Stayed at some wonderful boutique hotels. Great, helpful drivers and guides.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 03 May 2016:

Dear Sandra,

Great to hear you enjoyed the holiday so much and that you had some wonderful hotels. Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review and we very much hope to hear from you again.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Mrs A K 16, 1 Apr 2016
Holiday Rating:

Spectacular

We had the most amazing time travelling around Sri Lanka. Matt at Experience travel had arranged a fantastic itinerary and we enjoyed breakfast above the clouds, sleeping in a mud house , swimming in a wonderful lake and on a paradise beach.

We had the most amazing time travelling around Sri Lanka. Matt at Experience travel had arranged a fantastic itinerary and we enjoyed breakfast above the clouds, sleeping in a mud house , swimming in a wonderful lake and on a paradise beach.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience travel looked after us brilliantly from start to finish. All the accommodation was excellent. The chauffeur guide marvellous .I would( and have) recommend anyone travelling to their destinations to book with them.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 06 Apr 2016:

Dear Anne,

Thank you taking the time to post this review. I'm so glad you enjoyed Sri Lanka as much as we do.

Thank you also for recommend us - word of mouth is so important to us and we take it as a huge vote of confidence!

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Smike, 31 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic experience with 'Experience'

We travelled to Sri Lanka with Experience Travel in March 2016. We can't fault the holiday which was tailor-made for us to include culture, wildlife, local life and beach experiences. Their recommended boutique hotels were all very special and the driver who showed us the country was well-informed, safe and always punctual. A very memorable holiday.

We travelled to Sri Lanka with Experience Travel in March 2016. We can't fault the holiday which was tailor-made for us to include culture, wildlife, local life and beach experiences. Their recommended boutique hotels were all very special and the driver who showed us the country was well-informed, safe and always punctual. A very memorable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel - very knowledgeable, professional and represent good value for money.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 01 Apr 2016:

Dear Gill,

That's what we like to hear! Great news and thank you very much for reviewing us and the holiday. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by ewan_ouzami, 29 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Adventure for the cautious traveller

We spent 10 days in Sri Lanka and 5 in the Maldives. We are well past the backpacking stage and were a bit nervous about how Sri Lanka might be. We need not have worried. We were picked up from Colombo Airport in an Air-condiitoned car and driven everywhere we needed to go by a friendly and informative guide. All our accommodation was excellent. Clean, comfortable, air-conditioned (thats quite important!), with excellent food and friendly staff...

We spent 10 days in Sri Lanka and 5 in the Maldives. We are well past the backpacking stage and were a bit nervous about how Sri Lanka might be. We need not have worried. We were picked up from Colombo Airport in an Air-condiitoned car and driven everywhere we needed to go by a friendly and informative guide. All our accommodation was excellent. Clean, comfortable, air-conditioned (thats quite important!), with excellent food and friendly staff. We saw a range of sights including a day in Wilpattu National Park, Ruins of Polonarawula, Sigirya Rock Fortress, Dambula Cave temples and a tour of Kandy. These amazing places of which we had little prior knowledge proved excellent focal points for the tour, but overall we loved the simple interactions that were organised for us - tour of a coconut plantation, a cycle ride into Polonarawula, a visit to the Dambula vegetable market and a train ride from Perandiya to Rambukkah through the hill country. This was all finished off with a relaxing few days on a small island resort in the Maldives.

Rating for tour operator:

Nick Clark at Experience Travel organised this for us. I think he understood immediately what we were looking for and organised a very comfortable and well planned tour that just suited us perfectly. We will definitely be using Experine Travel again

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 29 Mar 2016:

Dear Tony,

Thank you for posting this review. It's the simple things that we believe make the difference and can be so much fun too. This is the kind of feedback we really like to receive!

We very much look forward to hearing from you again.

Kind regards,

Sam

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Mitzi, 20 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Our Special Sri Lankan Experience

We had an excellent holiday in Sri Lanka. A good mix of the cultural sites, seeing elephants, coconut and tea plantations and the south coast beaches. We stayed in most agreeable hotels, none of which were very large. We had an excellent driver/guide and found the country, people and local food all made for a wonderful holiday. February is a good time to go.

We had an excellent holiday in Sri Lanka. A good mix of the cultural sites, seeing elephants, coconut and tea plantations and the south coast beaches. We stayed in most agreeable hotels, none of which were very large. We had an excellent driver/guide and found the country, people and local food all made for a wonderful holiday. February is a good time to go.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel put the holiday together for us in a careful way and we felt very spoilt wherever we went. Nothing was too much trouble.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 21 Mar 2016:

Dear Elaine,

That's wonderful to hear. Glad you enjoyed the experiences and the small hotels and that you felt spoilt! That's so great to hear.
Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your holiday in Sri Lanka.
Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by floraholic, 15 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Enthralling Sri Lanka

Our tour enabled us to sample the highlights of Sri Lanka, to learn about its history and culture, to be stunned by its large range of beautiful scenery, and to enjoy the colourful plants, birds and other wildlife. Our hotels were all enjoyable and often luxurious. We loved Sri Lankan food, it was incredibly varied, we never had the same curry twice and perfect for a vegetarian and a fish-lover (although lots of meat choices too). We had ...

Our tour enabled us to sample the highlights of Sri Lanka, to learn about its history and culture, to be stunned by its large range of beautiful scenery, and to enjoy the colourful plants, birds and other wildlife. Our hotels were all enjoyable and often luxurious. We loved Sri Lankan food, it was incredibly varied, we never had the same curry twice and perfect for a vegetarian and a fish-lover (although lots of meat choices too). We had a good mixture of guided tours, travel and opportunities to relax, whether in beautiful hotel pools, or on the beach enjoying the warm sea, soft sand and beautiful views.

Rating for tour operator:

They were very pleasant to deal with, very efficient at answering queries promptly, and arranged an individual itinerary for us which met all our expectations. All their arrangements worked well.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 16 Mar 2016:

Dear Carol,

Those are fantastic comments for us to hear - thank you for taking the time to write them. Much appreciated and we agree - Sri Lanka is an amazing place for a vegetarian and seafood fish cooking... In fact I tend to avoid meat there as the vegetables and seafood is so amazing.

All the best,

Sam
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Kate, 9 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Private tailored tour of Sri Lanka

We visited the cultural triangle, Kandy, had a train ride to hill country, safari at Uda Walawe beach stay near Tangalle and stayed in the old fort at Galle We stayed in small boutique hotels with great service & food. Sri Lanka is a very beautiful friendly country.

We visited the cultural triangle, Kandy, had a train ride to hill country, safari at Uda Walawe beach stay near Tangalle and stayed in the old fort at Galle We stayed in small boutique hotels with great service & food. Sri Lanka is a very beautiful friendly country.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel are experts in this area and listened to our requests and put together a perfect itinerary

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 09 Mar 2016:

Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for posting this review. We're so pleased you enjoyed Sri Lanka so much. We agree: it's a very special place! Thank you also for saying kind words about our service too.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark
Co-founder

Essential Sri Lanka - Deluxe by Jo, 2 Mar 2016
Holiday Rating:

Excellent holiday to Sri Lank and Maldives

Experience Travel did a great job of planning our trip and the service and back up from them was excellent.

Experience Travel did a great job of planning our trip and the service and back up from them was excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Small and friendly with excellent personal service

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 03 Mar 2016:

Dear Caroline,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. It is very much appreciated and we're really pleased you enjoyed your holiday to Sri Lanka and The Maldives.

Kind regards,

Sam Clark