Safari Consultants

Reviews of Safari Consultants

Overall company rating
4 100%
Reviews submitted: 265
Reviews accepted: 265
Reviews rejected: 0
Excellent
261
Good
4
Average
0
Poor
0
Terrible
0

An African Adventure

By Jules on 19 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We have recently returned from four weeks in Tanzania, Rwanda, Kenya and Zambia. Amazing wildlife viewing in and around tented camps in the Serengeti and Masai Mara, gorilla trekking in the amazing Volcanoes National Park, and swimming on the edge of the incredible Victoria Falls - it was fantastic!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants were great. They listened to our requests and organised a quite complicated itinerary to the last detail. The connections and contacts with guides and local representatives at each location were seamless. Our accommodation was just what we asked for and our guides in each country had great personalities and a wealth of local knowledge.

Amazing First-Time Safari in Kenya

By Miss M R 17 on 10 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

6 nights at Kicheche Mara Camp organized for me by Frances from Safari Consultants. Not only organized for me, but also organized in just two weeks! Francis helped choose my destination with exemplary suggestions, taking into account my budget and what I was interested in seeing and doing. Tanzania had been at the top of my list, but I'm so glad I went with Kenya and the Masai Mara. She also helped me ensure that I had all the proper vaccines, set up my flights from Nairobi, and gave me the full itinerary to keep me in the know.

Upon my arrival at the Mara North Conservancy, I was greeted by my knowledgable and outgoing guide, David. He was with me everyday, even when we walked the plains, and he also took me to the rhino sanctuary and Aitong village market. Service at the Kicheche Mara Camp was amazing - from being greeted like I was being welcomed home to delicious meals every day. The managers, Andrea and Manuela are wonderful, down to earth, funny, and completely on top of things. The staff were quickly greeting me by name and were always interested in hearing about the sights I had seen that day.

I also loved how open the camp was - no electric fences. One day I walked out of my luxurious tent (if this is camping, I'll live this way!) to find giraffes grazing not 30 paces from me! Game drives did not disappoint either - lionesses with cubs, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, many different types of antelope, cheetah, leopard, and even a serval!

From the last-minute organization to the holiday itself, everything went incredibly smoothly. And for a first-time safari-goer, I could not have asked for a more amazing and humbling experience.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

6 nights at Kicheche Mara Camp organized for me by Francis from Safari Consultants. Not only organized for me, but also organized in just two weeks! Frances helped choose my destination with exemplary suggestions, taking into account my budget and what I was interested in seeing and doing. Tanzania had been at the top of my list, but I'm so glad I went with Kenya and the Masai Mara. She also helped me ensure that I had all the proper vaccines, set up my flights from Nairobi, and gave me the full itinerary to keep me in the know.

Upon my arrival at the Mara North Conservancy, I was greeted by my knowledgable and outgoing guide, David. He was with me everyday, even when we walked the plains, and he also took me to the rhino sanctuary and Aitong village market. Service at the Kicheche Mara Camp was amazing - from being greeted like I was being welcomed home to delicious meals every day. The managers, Andrea and Manuela are wonderful, down to earth, funny, and completely on top of things. The staff were quickly greeting me by name and were always interested in hearing about the sights I had seen that day.

I also loved how open the camp was - no electric fences. One day I walked out of my luxurious tent (if this is camping, I'll live this way!) to find giraffes grazing not 30 paces from me! Game drives did not disappoint either - lionesses with cubs, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, zebra, many different types of antelope, cheetah, leopard, and even a serval!

From the last-minute organization to the holiday itself, everything went incredibly smoothly. And for a first-time safari-goer, I could not have asked for a more amazing and humbling experience.

Fantastic safari in Kenya and Tanzania

By Phil in Suffolk on 3 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent 3 weeks at various camps in Kenya and Tanzania. We started at Elsa's camp in Meru - wonderful food and an amazing number of elephants. Then Sarara camp in the Namunyak region - excellent guiding and a fantastic location and surrounding. We returned to Lewa House (we were there last time) with excellent animals and birds and fantastic hosting from Calum and Sophie. To the Mara to take advantage of the land crossing to Tanzania and 2 lovely nights at Angama Mara. Met up with our friend and guide Kakae at Lamai Serengeti and had an excellent time game viewing. Then a long flight to Greystoke Mahale with Kakae. We were there for the isolation and environment with chimps as a bonus. So not too disappointed that they were hiding for our first two days. The third day they appeared and we spent a fabulous time in the middle of M group, with the Alpha male (Primus) play fighting his rivals.

Overall - a wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

As ever, Rob was careful to match what we wanted to so with what was arranged, and he created a perfectly choreographed holiday.

An amazing experience in Botswana

By DC on 2 Feb 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We started with 4 days in Cape Town for some R&R with visits to the winelands around Stellenbosch and other typical sightseeing trips eg table Mountain and Cape of Good Hope nature reserve and seal watching at Duiker Island. WEe then travelled to Maun and onto the Central Kalahari game reserve for 2 days mobile safari in Deception Valley then onto Moremi via "Meno a Kwena" for a further 3 days camping. The finals was 2 nights at Vumbura Plains before heading back on the trek to London via Maun and Johannesburg.
It was something of a holiday of lifetime. It was made by Nkosi our guide whilst undertaking the mobile element of the safari. His passion and encyclopaedic knowledge of the bush and all it has to offer was incredible - and such a lovely person to boot.
Meeting the TV stars - "The safari Brothers" - Grant and Brent Reed who run Letaka safaris when we landed back at Maun was also a highlight. We were able to thank them in person for the very high standards set and for the care which Nkosi, Mousa, Sisko and Banda had shown to us over the 7 days in the bush. They certainly did not have to take time out of their day to come to the airport to meet us; it was a nice touch and says something about their culture of exceeding client expectations.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The trip was exceptionally well planned and went off without a hitch, no doubt as a result of the major effort Frances and others put into planning and making all the necessary arrangements.

Excellent organisation, lovely accommodation and brilliant game viewing

By McNuggett on 24 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We flew from London to Cape Town, stayed one night there before driving to St Helena's Bay on the West Coast. We spent four nights there and then back to Camps Bay, Cape Town, for five nights. The highlight of the holiday was three nights in the Sanbona Wildlife Reserve.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

We have used Safari Consultants several times for safari holidays and they are extremely professional, making sure that each venue and activity is just right for us. They spend a lot of time getting to know us and what we want, what we like and dislike.

Fantastic safari at Kicheche Mara Camp

By poppyr on 16 Jan 2017

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We spent four nights on safari at Kicheche Mara Camp. We are regular visitors to the Kicheche Camps and they feel like our second home. The accommodation, food and staff are excellent and the guides are superb. Being in the conservancy is much better than the reserve as there are less vehicles and more respect for the wildlife.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

This is our second holiday booked with Mary at Safari Consultants. The knowledge, experience and efficiency of the staff is second to none and we would not hesitate in using them again.

Wonderful wildlife safari in Botswana and Namibia

By FinFoot on 18 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Our 7th visit to Botswana and just as absorbing. Every hour of every day is different and the chance to spend time watching animal and bird behavior is magical. Our trip was a mix of Letaka's brilliant mobile camping and lodges - Schinde and Muchenje. Highlights: hundreds of Cape buffalo, leopards hunting, breeding herds of Elephant, mating lions and giraffes, Water Thick-knees defending nest against a Water Monitor In Namibia Grant Reed guided us on a terrific 4 day birdwatch, sightings included Finfoot, White-backed Night Heron, Trumpeter Hornbill, Schalow's Turaco, nesting Carmine Bee-eaters, Painted Snipe, Wood Owl. Kalizo lodge was extremely good.

Can't wait for our 8th visit.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Safari Consultants are very knowledgeable and experienced and provide detailed guidance. They provide a very personal service covering all aspects of a trip and monitor progress regularly. They are aware of any changes to the arrangements e.g flight times, before we are and sort out any repercussions. We always feel in safe hands.

South Africa Safari and Garden route

By jonnie on 13 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

6 days in two safari camps and 10 days on the garden route The safari was in two small yet excellent camps with excellent game viewing.
The accommodation selected by Michele at Safari Consultants on the Garden route was superb quality with every comfort combined with gourmet food!

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Michele at Safari Consultants planned and recommended the safari camps and lodges none of which we can fault.
Michele was very responsive to any questions and everything went very smoothly with no stress.

Safari Adventure in the Kalahari

By DBSBB on 3 Dec 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

Going back to the Kalahari after 30 years was fantastic. . The guiding was excellent. The places we stayed were lovely, friendly and quiet and we saw almost all the game one could wish to imagine. For us, as biologists, the whole experience was magical.... Early ,glowing sunrise... the red sand.... the black maned Kalahari Lion ... beautiful birds.... a cheetah in the late evening sun and finally.... finally that elusive Aardvark!!! ... All memories to keep and hold for time around our winter fireside. We don't call it a holiday ... it was an adventure.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

The organisation of this trip and the attention to detail was all we have come to expect of Safari consultants. They know their customers and tailor the experience to their needs. Everything was thought of in advance and , if we needed it, advice always at hand. They have our absolute admiration and we would , and have, recommend them to anyone who wanted a real African experience.

Excellent

By JR on 27 Nov 2016

Rating for this holiday Excellent

We had a wonderful experience which was very well organised.

Rating for tour operator Excellent

Extremely helpful and efficient.