AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 76
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 85
Reviews Accepted: 85
Reviews Rejected: 0
85 reviews
Sort by:
Mountain Kingdoms by IHD, 26 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Adventure and Discovery

We travelled to Nepal for the "Village trails of Nepal" holiday. From start to finish we were aware of excellent planning and on-the-ground support. Local agents, our guide, hotel bookings and transport were all excellent and when political events meant a necessary alteration to our itinerary, our guide resolved this very satisfactorily and with as little disruption to us as possible. This was our first holiday with Mountain Kingdoms and we ...

We travelled to Nepal for the "Village trails of Nepal" holiday. From start to finish we were aware of excellent planning and on-the-ground support. Local agents, our guide, hotel bookings and transport were all excellent and when political events meant a necessary alteration to our itinerary, our guide resolved this very satisfactorily and with as little disruption to us as possible. This was our first holiday with Mountain Kingdoms and we don't intend it to be our last.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient both in pre-holiday planning and very informative in their brochures, as well as very willing to tailor our holiday to our requirements.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 26 Nov 2013:

Excellent!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 26 Nov 2013:

Thank you for travelling with us! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by ZanyB, 24 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Mountain Kingdoms Annapurna and Everest Panorama: Beyond all expectations

Travelled to Nepal with MK mid October doing two short tea house treks in these two regions of Nepal Scenery, service, support and food were all excellent - it is rare a holiday is as good as it says in the brochure - this one was and so much more The two regions are similar but different and its really worth seeing both The flight into and out of lukla is exhilarating, the people fantastic and scenery breathtaking - our Scottish mountains ...

Travelled to Nepal with MK mid October doing two short tea house treks in these two regions of Nepal Scenery, service, support and food were all excellent - it is rare a holiday is as good as it says in the brochure - this one was and so much more The two regions are similar but different and its really worth seeing both The flight into and out of lukla is exhilarating, the people fantastic and scenery breathtaking - our Scottish mountains look somewhat diminutive by comparison

Rating for tour operator:

Superb information (we were first time trekkers), excellent in country staff, staff clearly cared for Would not hesitate to travel with them again

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Nov 2013:

Thanks for the feedback, Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Nov 2013:

That's what I like to hear! Steve Berry.

Mountain Kingdoms by A&S, 22 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Druk Path Trek, Bhutan - The trip of a lifetime

A superbly organised trek in an extraordinary country. The route was great, scenery was breath-taking and our trek team were brilliant beyond description!

A superbly organised trek in an extraordinary country. The route was great, scenery was breath-taking and our trek team were brilliant beyond description!

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, efficient, helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 22 Nov 2013:

Did this with my wife many years ago ..... lovely route indeed. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 22 Nov 2013:

Thank you.

Mountain Kingdoms by Squirrel, 22 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Two weeks of the best of Burma

We took the Golden Trails of Burma in early November. The organization was excellent in every respect and we had a very sensible itinerary for our group which was competently led by a most helpful local guide. Burma has to be visited now before it becomes like so many other Far Eastern tourist traps. By having short treks and boat journeys as well as travel by air, road and rail we felt we had got to know the people of Burma very well for the ...

We took the Golden Trails of Burma in early November. The organization was excellent in every respect and we had a very sensible itinerary for our group which was competently led by a most helpful local guide. Burma has to be visited now before it becomes like so many other Far Eastern tourist traps. By having short treks and boat journeys as well as travel by air, road and rail we felt we had got to know the people of Burma very well for the short time we were there.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well produced brochures and excellent service on the phone and email in UK. Their local agents continued the sense of security and personal service.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 22 Nov 2013:

Yes, beautiful country and long may it remain so, unlike Thailand I am sad to say!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 22 Nov 2013:

Nice to read these comments

Mountain Kingdoms by Jeffu, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

trekking to Kangchenjunga in Nepal

This was an unforgettable experience, climbing high into a very remote area. It certainly was unspoilt. The landscape was amazing, and you experience all the seasons and several climatic zones over the course of three weeks. We did have some bad weather, which brought snow to the high passes, so we could not go to the base camps. Still, we saw really huge mountains and countless waterfalls, under blue skies. Mountain Kingdoms have a good relation...

This was an unforgettable experience, climbing high into a very remote area. It certainly was unspoilt. The landscape was amazing, and you experience all the seasons and several climatic zones over the course of three weeks. We did have some bad weather, which brought snow to the high passes, so we could not go to the base camps. Still, we saw really huge mountains and countless waterfalls, under blue skies. Mountain Kingdoms have a good relationship with the local companies, and we had the most wonderful local team looking after us. They were superb, and we felt safe in their hands.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms are very experienced, and have thought of every eventuality - as you can see from the very detailed dossier they provide when you sign up for the tour. Their teams are really well organised. We have complete confidence in them.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Yes, everyone who does this trek always comes back with rave reviews. Must do it myself one day. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Just what I like to hear! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by Dave, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Deeply rewarding

A truly rewarding twelve days trek to the Annapurna Sanctuary; dramatic scenery; comfortable lodges and good foodD; very informative about the culture and agriculture of the region.

A truly rewarding twelve days trek to the Annapurna Sanctuary; dramatic scenery; comfortable lodges and good foodD; very informative about the culture and agriculture of the region.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient and supportive; careful attention to detail; well thought through itineraries led by capable leaders.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

An excellent trek..... particularly good as the first trek you ever do in the Himalaya as it takes you right in amongst the highest peaks but is very good for acclimatisation

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Good stuff!!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Bah, 4 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Enthralling journey around Indochina

A ten day journey by boat, car and plane through the intriguing and beautiful landscapes of Laos, sandwiched between brief stays in Thailand and Cambodia including tours of the Angkor Wat complex. Two full days were spent on the Mekong in the North with other boat trips near Pakse and near the Cambodian border in the south with visits to the enormous falls and views of freshwater dolphins.

A ten day journey by boat, car and plane through the intriguing and beautiful landscapes of Laos, sandwiched between brief stays in Thailand and Cambodia including tours of the Angkor Wat complex. Two full days were spent on the Mekong in the North with other boat trips near Pakse and near the Cambodian border in the south with visits to the enormous falls and views of freshwater dolphins.

Rating for tour operator:

Almost faultless arrangements, good guides and transport, interesting and imaginative itinerary.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Wonderful .... I am very pleased to read you had a great time Bruce

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

All good stuff!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Jigme, 2 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Nepal trecking and Tibet -cultural

Excellent acclimatisation in a lesser trecked area in Lang Tang , Nepal followed by cultural sightseeing in Tibet. The route in Tibet gives a true flavour for the Tibetan way of life and its peoples. The scenery was stunning .

Excellent acclimatisation in a lesser trecked area in Lang Tang , Nepal followed by cultural sightseeing in Tibet. The route in Tibet gives a true flavour for the Tibetan way of life and its peoples. The scenery was stunning .

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms pay excellent attential to the detail of your holiday to make it a unique experience. The customer care starts with the advice and guidance on booking and continues throughout.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Yes, I did this first in 1992 ..... great adventure!! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Lovely comments! Thank you Jean, Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by Betty, 1 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trekking and cultural experience in the Indian Himalaya to the Source of the Ganges

The trekking was hard work in places but the views were worth all the effort. Village people were very hospitable and invited you into their homes for chi and some even cracked open the biscuits. It was great to be allowed to sit and share experiences with our hosts. People would not believe how out of this world the scenery is in the India Himalaya, so vast and so diverse. And to top it all we had the best ever Cook, what Dave could create ...

The trekking was hard work in places but the views were worth all the effort. Village people were very hospitable and invited you into their homes for chi and some even cracked open the biscuits. It was great to be allowed to sit and share experiences with our hosts. People would not believe how out of this world the scenery is in the India Himalaya, so vast and so diverse. And to top it all we had the best ever Cook, what Dave could create on his limited cooking resource was amazing and a delight to eat.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our 11th Trek with Mountain Kingdoms, what more can I say.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Nov 2013:

Wonderful to see this! The treks in the Indian Himalaya are every bit as good as their famous neighbour, Nepal. The Source of the Ganges has awesome mountains to see, including Mt. Shivling

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Nov 2013:

Fantastic ..... we look forward to you travelling with us again!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Kangla, 28 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Well organised, sustainable with emphasis on porter protection

Trekked the Nar-Phu valley/ and crossed the Kang-la and Thorung -La passes in Oct 2013. The pre planning and organisation of the trip was very good and the guide we had (Purna Tamang) was excellent and became a good friend. Due to the effects of a strong Indian Cyclone affecting the weather over the Annapurna we changed plans but it all ran smoothly.

Trekked the Nar-Phu valley/ and crossed the Kang-la and Thorung -La passes in Oct 2013. The pre planning and organisation of the trip was very good and the guide we had (Purna Tamang) was excellent and became a good friend. Due to the effects of a strong Indian Cyclone affecting the weather over the Annapurna we changed plans but it all ran smoothly.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional and well organised. With a good reputation backed up in the field where their operatives are on hand to make sure the trip runs smoothly.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Oct 2013:

Pleased to hear it all went well. One of the treks I would like to do myself one day!! Steve Berry.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Oct 2013:

Great, thanks