AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 76
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 85
Reviews Accepted: 85
Reviews Rejected: 0
85 reviews
Sort by:
Three Peaks of the Balkans by SM, 14 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Kosovo/Albania/KMontemnegro - beautiful scenery and wild flowers, and great hospitaility

A very enjoyable trip. The scenery was beautiful; the wild flowers – gentians, orchids, primulas, geums, etc – provided the best display we have ever seen (including in the Alps), the accommodation and food were generally very good and the itinerary was well planned (it was good to intersperse the trekking with trips to two beautiful monasteries; and we liked having a full last day of trekking – by contrast, some trips peter out with only a ...

A very enjoyable trip. The scenery was beautiful; the wild flowers – gentians, orchids, primulas, geums, etc – provided the best display we have ever seen (including in the Alps), the accommodation and food were generally very good and the itinerary was well planned (it was good to intersperse the trekking with trips to two beautiful monasteries; and we liked having a full last day of trekking – by contrast, some trips peter out with only a brief walk on the final day). Semir Kardovic was an excellent guide and we enjoyed his company.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms is our favourite travel company - each of the five trips we have undertaken have been enjoyable; and we appreciate the personal service which we always receive.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2017:

Yes, I agree with you Mr Mundy. I loved the trek too. Fabulous adventure.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2017:

That's what we like to hear - many thanks for your kind compliments.

Mountain Kingdoms by Mrs Isy, 19 Apr 2017
Holiday Rating:

Epic Trekking

4am:left the tea house at 4500m in silence with backpack and headtorch ready to ascent to 5400m.The little lights ahead of me, moving a little with the sound of all our breathe. Walking and on the back the sun s rising... And the elegant massive of Annapurna. Never experienced something so extraordinary.

4am:left the tea house at 4500m in silence with backpack and headtorch ready to ascent to 5400m.The little lights ahead of me, moving a little with the sound of all our breathe. Walking and on the back the sun s rising... And the elegant massive of Annapurna. Never experienced something so extraordinary.

Rating for tour operator:

I am very glad to continue to choose Mountain Kingdom. This year is the forth time I booked with them. Having had the opportunity to share my experience with other groups and tour operators... I must say that an excellent tour operator as Mountain Kingdom made my holiday different. I met groups lead by local guide who they didn't have an idea about the trek and experienced mountain sickness with the unfortunate outcome to withdraw and leave the group without choice but come back. At that altitude and for the nature of the holiday... I m feeling very safe with MK.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 10 May 2017:

Nothing quite like crossing a big pass as the sun comes up!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 10 May 2017:

Glad to hear this, and hope to see you again!!

Gentle Walking Bhutan by Rhantus, 25 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Gentle walking in Bhutan - a fascinating introduction to a fascinating country

A perfect mix of walking, guided visits to temples and dzongs and a festival.

A perfect mix of walking, guided visits to temples and dzongs and a festival.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms provided esxcellent service and a thoroughly well-organised trip.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Mar 2017:

Excellent - glad you enjoyed Bhutan's magical atmosphere

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Mar 2017:

Many thanks!!

Gentle Walking Sri Lanka by Big Tony, 13 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Walking Sri Lanka

The trip was well organised from beginning to end. The content was varied and interesting and we were accompanied by an excellent guide who went to great lengths to ensure that every member of our small group (11) had a good experience.

The trip was well organised from beginning to end. The content was varied and interesting and we were accompanied by an excellent guide who went to great lengths to ensure that every member of our small group (11) had a good experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator was Mountain Kingdoms. This is the second time we have travelled with them and on both occasions the holiday has been well organised and fully met our expectations.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Mar 2017:

Excellent!! Many thanks for the review..........

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Mar 2017:

Great, and hope you travel with us again

Golden Trails of Burma by Mr P S 17, 3 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma

A comprehensive experience of life in Myanmar covering it's history and present day challenges. An excellent itinerary giving an opportunity to see sights of major importance along with walking trips allowing us to see villagers engaged in everyday life.

A comprehensive experience of life in Myanmar covering it's history and present day challenges. An excellent itinerary giving an opportunity to see sights of major importance along with walking trips allowing us to see villagers engaged in everyday life.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms provide a well thought out itinerary along with a comprehensive Trip Dossier backed up with good back office support and excellent on the ground guides.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Mar 2017:

Yes, many thanks for your comments ......... one of our most popular walking holidays.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Mar 2017:

Many thanks for your kind comments

Mountain Kingdoms by Mrs C H 17, 27 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

This trip exceeded our expectations - brilliant.

2 weeks of very varied experiences focusing on the wildlife and unspoilt, rural side of Sri Lanka.

2 weeks of very varied experiences focusing on the wildlife and unspoilt, rural side of Sri Lanka.

Rating for tour operator:

We will definitely look at other trekking trips organised by Mountain Kingdoms.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Great to hear this! Many thanks.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Excellent! That's what I like to hear!!

Golden Trails of Burma by Mazda , 23 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma

13 day fully escorted private trip.Visited all the main sites including Viaduct,cruise on river ,walks on 5 days which we were able to visit local people and villages and see the varied crops grown. An excellent trip and we were well look after by the guide and support staff. Would recommend the trip

13 day fully escorted private trip.Visited all the main sites including Viaduct,cruise on river ,walks on 5 days which we were able to visit local people and villages and see the varied crops grown. An excellent trip and we were well look after by the guide and support staff. Would recommend the trip

Rating for tour operator:

Gave us lots of useful information prior to trip and itinerary was well planned and varied.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Many thanks for these comments. Burma is such a 'dreamy' place. I must go back there myself before too long!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Feb 2017:

Many thanks for your endorsement

Mountain Kingdoms by A Shropshire Lass, 15 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

An amazing experience trekking around the Annapurna Circuit

After one night in Katmandu, we drove over to start our 17 day trek around the beautiful Annapurnas. Every day brings fresh challenges and different views of the snow-capped peaks as we ascend to the Thorong-La at over 17,000feet. The return journey was equally fascinating as we trekked through a variety of terrains from bleak rocky uplands, alongside a wide expanse of river-bed, through lush forests and cultivated hill farms. We met many friendly ...

After one night in Katmandu, we drove over to start our 17 day trek around the beautiful Annapurnas. Every day brings fresh challenges and different views of the snow-capped peaks as we ascend to the Thorong-La at over 17,000feet. The return journey was equally fascinating as we trekked through a variety of terrains from bleak rocky uplands, alongside a wide expanse of river-bed, through lush forests and cultivated hill farms. We met many friendly Nepalese villagers and felt humbled by their lifestyle making the most of little resources. Back in the bustling city of Katmandu, we relaxed in the aptly named Shangri-La Hotel.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the 2nd trek I've chosen Mountain Kingdoms. I have every confidence in the way they provide top quality Reps and Sherpa guides who are most attentive to the welfare of their clients. The itineraries are well-thought out and the administration is very efficient. They make sure that the staff involved with their operations are well protected. They respect the customs & culture of the countries visited. Mountain Kingdoms is expanding its operations but they still seem to provide a personal service. I can empathize with their aims.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 16 Feb 2017:

Excellent!! Another person who has fallen in love with Nepal then! Wonderful.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 16 Feb 2017:

Thank you Mrs Davies - that's how I see it too. Steve Berry.

Gentle Walking Bhutan by Kaytoo, 13 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Walking in Bhutan

A great two weeks spent exploring Bhutan with a great guide--Karma.This is my third visit to Bhutan and I was happy to be seeing new places. Everything went to plan and both Guide and Driver could not do enough to ensure we were well cared for.We had some super "spontaneous" experiences----came across the semi-final of an Archery competition; a darts match; and even met and spoke to the King!! Also stumbled upon a Buddhist ceremony involving ...

A great two weeks spent exploring Bhutan with a great guide--Karma.This is my third visit to Bhutan and I was happy to be seeing new places. Everything went to plan and both Guide and Driver could not do enough to ensure we were well cared for.We had some super "spontaneous" experiences----came across the semi-final of an Archery competition; a darts match; and even met and spoke to the King!! Also stumbled upon a Buddhist ceremony involving a bonfire and firecrackers. The walking was challenging, being at altitude, but there was always an alternative if you couldn't or didn't want to walk.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms organisation is first rate. From booking we were given all the information necessary to ensure we were well prepared for the trip. Everything went to plan, we were met and transported with no waiting around. Comfortable hotels and transport and information given at every point.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Jan 2017:

Excellent! So you met the king ........ lucky you!! Karma Tenzing is usually my Guide, so I know you had one of the best. Glad you had a great time

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 13 Jan 2017:

That's what I like to hear. Many thanks for your feedback

Golden Trails of Burma by Mrs T A 16, 5 Dec 2016
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma (Myanmar)

Brilliantly organised, fantastic friendly local guide, gorgeous people. A truly wonderful experience.

Brilliantly organised, fantastic friendly local guide, gorgeous people. A truly wonderful experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Dec 2016:

Excellent! Yes, this is one of our most popular trips