AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 82
Good 5
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 92
Reviews Accepted: 92
Reviews Rejected: 0
92 reviews
Sort by:
Mountain Kingdoms by Squirrel, 22 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Two weeks of the best of Burma

We took the Golden Trails of Burma in early November. The organization was excellent in every respect and we had a very sensible itinerary for our group which was competently led by a most helpful local guide. Burma has to be visited now before it becomes like so many other Far Eastern tourist traps. By having short treks and boat journeys as well as travel by air, road and rail we felt we had got to know the people of Burma very well for the ...

We took the Golden Trails of Burma in early November. The organization was excellent in every respect and we had a very sensible itinerary for our group which was competently led by a most helpful local guide. Burma has to be visited now before it becomes like so many other Far Eastern tourist traps. By having short treks and boat journeys as well as travel by air, road and rail we felt we had got to know the people of Burma very well for the short time we were there.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well produced brochures and excellent service on the phone and email in UK. Their local agents continued the sense of security and personal service.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 22 Nov 2013:

Yes, beautiful country and long may it remain so, unlike Thailand I am sad to say!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 22 Nov 2013:

Nice to read these comments

Mountain Kingdoms by Jeffu, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

trekking to Kangchenjunga in Nepal

This was an unforgettable experience, climbing high into a very remote area. It certainly was unspoilt. The landscape was amazing, and you experience all the seasons and several climatic zones over the course of three weeks. We did have some bad weather, which brought snow to the high passes, so we could not go to the base camps. Still, we saw really huge mountains and countless waterfalls, under blue skies. Mountain Kingdoms have a good relation...

This was an unforgettable experience, climbing high into a very remote area. It certainly was unspoilt. The landscape was amazing, and you experience all the seasons and several climatic zones over the course of three weeks. We did have some bad weather, which brought snow to the high passes, so we could not go to the base camps. Still, we saw really huge mountains and countless waterfalls, under blue skies. Mountain Kingdoms have a good relationship with the local companies, and we had the most wonderful local team looking after us. They were superb, and we felt safe in their hands.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms are very experienced, and have thought of every eventuality - as you can see from the very detailed dossier they provide when you sign up for the tour. Their teams are really well organised. We have complete confidence in them.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Yes, everyone who does this trek always comes back with rave reviews. Must do it myself one day. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Just what I like to hear! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by Dave, 5 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Deeply rewarding

A truly rewarding twelve days trek to the Annapurna Sanctuary; dramatic scenery; comfortable lodges and good foodD; very informative about the culture and agriculture of the region.

A truly rewarding twelve days trek to the Annapurna Sanctuary; dramatic scenery; comfortable lodges and good foodD; very informative about the culture and agriculture of the region.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely efficient and supportive; careful attention to detail; well thought through itineraries led by capable leaders.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

An excellent trek..... particularly good as the first trek you ever do in the Himalaya as it takes you right in amongst the highest peaks but is very good for acclimatisation

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Good stuff!!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Bah, 4 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Enthralling journey around Indochina

A ten day journey by boat, car and plane through the intriguing and beautiful landscapes of Laos, sandwiched between brief stays in Thailand and Cambodia including tours of the Angkor Wat complex. Two full days were spent on the Mekong in the North with other boat trips near Pakse and near the Cambodian border in the south with visits to the enormous falls and views of freshwater dolphins.

A ten day journey by boat, car and plane through the intriguing and beautiful landscapes of Laos, sandwiched between brief stays in Thailand and Cambodia including tours of the Angkor Wat complex. Two full days were spent on the Mekong in the North with other boat trips near Pakse and near the Cambodian border in the south with visits to the enormous falls and views of freshwater dolphins.

Rating for tour operator:

Almost faultless arrangements, good guides and transport, interesting and imaginative itinerary.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Wonderful .... I am very pleased to read you had a great time Bruce

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

All good stuff!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Jigme, 2 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Nepal trecking and Tibet -cultural

Excellent acclimatisation in a lesser trecked area in Lang Tang , Nepal followed by cultural sightseeing in Tibet. The route in Tibet gives a true flavour for the Tibetan way of life and its peoples. The scenery was stunning .

Excellent acclimatisation in a lesser trecked area in Lang Tang , Nepal followed by cultural sightseeing in Tibet. The route in Tibet gives a true flavour for the Tibetan way of life and its peoples. The scenery was stunning .

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms pay excellent attential to the detail of your holiday to make it a unique experience. The customer care starts with the advice and guidance on booking and continues throughout.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Yes, I did this first in 1992 ..... great adventure!! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Nov 2013:

Lovely comments! Thank you Jean, Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by Betty, 1 Nov 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent trekking and cultural experience in the Indian Himalaya to the Source of the Ganges

The trekking was hard work in places but the views were worth all the effort. Village people were very hospitable and invited you into their homes for chi and some even cracked open the biscuits. It was great to be allowed to sit and share experiences with our hosts. People would not believe how out of this world the scenery is in the India Himalaya, so vast and so diverse. And to top it all we had the best ever Cook, what Dave could create ...

The trekking was hard work in places but the views were worth all the effort. Village people were very hospitable and invited you into their homes for chi and some even cracked open the biscuits. It was great to be allowed to sit and share experiences with our hosts. People would not believe how out of this world the scenery is in the India Himalaya, so vast and so diverse. And to top it all we had the best ever Cook, what Dave could create on his limited cooking resource was amazing and a delight to eat.

Rating for tour operator:

This is our 11th Trek with Mountain Kingdoms, what more can I say.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Nov 2013:

Wonderful to see this! The treks in the Indian Himalaya are every bit as good as their famous neighbour, Nepal. The Source of the Ganges has awesome mountains to see, including Mt. Shivling

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Nov 2013:

Fantastic ..... we look forward to you travelling with us again!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Kangla, 28 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Well organised, sustainable with emphasis on porter protection

Trekked the Nar-Phu valley/ and crossed the Kang-la and Thorung -La passes in Oct 2013. The pre planning and organisation of the trip was very good and the guide we had (Purna Tamang) was excellent and became a good friend. Due to the effects of a strong Indian Cyclone affecting the weather over the Annapurna we changed plans but it all ran smoothly.

Trekked the Nar-Phu valley/ and crossed the Kang-la and Thorung -La passes in Oct 2013. The pre planning and organisation of the trip was very good and the guide we had (Purna Tamang) was excellent and became a good friend. Due to the effects of a strong Indian Cyclone affecting the weather over the Annapurna we changed plans but it all ran smoothly.

Rating for tour operator:

Professional and well organised. With a good reputation backed up in the field where their operatives are on hand to make sure the trip runs smoothly.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Oct 2013:

Pleased to hear it all went well. One of the treks I would like to do myself one day!! Steve Berry.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Oct 2013:

Great, thanks

Mountain Kingdoms by Paddington, 19 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Classic Inca Trail

Excellent organisation for the Classic Inca trail route to Macchu Picchu with acclimitisation in the Sacred Valley first.

Excellent organisation for the Classic Inca trail route to Macchu Picchu with acclimitisation in the Sacred Valley first.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation and planning from Mountain Kingdoms with so much attention to detail. They had health and safety in mind with acclimitisation covered.Landing directly in Cusco can cause altitude set backs but we had a wonderful start to the holiday by going lower into the Sacred Valley so we enjoyed every day. Information provided beforehand was excellent. A superb 'once in a lifetime holiday to leave you with fantastic memories

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Sep 2013:

Glad to see this excellent feedback. We pride ourselves on our acclimatisation programme for all trips starting in Cusco. Going down to the Sacred Valley first makes such a difference.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Sep 2013:

Great stuff!

Mountain Kingdoms by Sulgrave, 30 Aug 2013
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating

well organised, well documented no nasty surprises. Mountain Kingdoms had researched and planned an excellent rugged trek in a very interesting and different part of Nepal

well organised, well documented no nasty surprises. Mountain Kingdoms had researched and planned an excellent rugged trek in a very interesting and different part of Nepal

Rating for tour operator:

helpful and accommodating

Mountain Kingdoms by Pete, 20 Aug 2013
Holiday Rating:

Ladakh Family Adventure

We had an action packed two weeks with our three children aged 9-15, including a 4 day trek (with supporting ponies helping a bit over the odd high pass!), camping and with a homestay, amidst stunning scenery, and visting many spectacular Buddhist monasteries clinging to rocky outcrops and bedecked with prayer flags. We also rafted through the gorge of the mighty Indus and saw the very rare "blue sheep", and had a few hours rock climbing and ...

We had an action packed two weeks with our three children aged 9-15, including a 4 day trek (with supporting ponies helping a bit over the odd high pass!), camping and with a homestay, amidst stunning scenery, and visting many spectacular Buddhist monasteries clinging to rocky outcrops and bedecked with prayer flags. We also rafted through the gorge of the mighty Indus and saw the very rare "blue sheep", and had a few hours rock climbing and mountain biking. The local people were amazing and we could not have been better looked after in Ladakh. We also had a day or two in Delhi at either end, inc a trip to Agra and the magnificent Taj Mahal. Here things didnt go quite so smoothly, bringing what was otherwise an "excellent" holiday down to a "good".

Rating for tour operator:

It may be harsh to mark them down from an "excellent" to a "good" because of the difficulties we had in Delhi, and it is a close run thing ... but when you are travelling with children and paying well for local expertise in order to minimise problems, it is not unreasonable to expect it to be ensured that drivers will be engaged who know where they are going etc. On Ladakh alone - the mountains, and the true domain of Mountain Kingdoms - they would warrant an "excellent".

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Sep 2013:

We are sorry about the problems the Crockford family encountered in Delhi. Occasionally and rarely these things happen in India and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Steve Berry, M.D., Mountain Kingdoms Ltd