AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 76
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 85
Reviews Accepted: 85
Reviews Rejected: 0
85 reviews
Sort by:
Mountain Kingdoms by Paddington, 19 Sep 2013
Holiday Rating:

Classic Inca Trail

Excellent organisation for the Classic Inca trail route to Macchu Picchu with acclimitisation in the Sacred Valley first.

Excellent organisation for the Classic Inca trail route to Macchu Picchu with acclimitisation in the Sacred Valley first.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation and planning from Mountain Kingdoms with so much attention to detail. They had health and safety in mind with acclimitisation covered.Landing directly in Cusco can cause altitude set backs but we had a wonderful start to the holiday by going lower into the Sacred Valley so we enjoyed every day. Information provided beforehand was excellent. A superb 'once in a lifetime holiday to leave you with fantastic memories

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Sep 2013:

Glad to see this excellent feedback. We pride ourselves on our acclimatisation programme for all trips starting in Cusco. Going down to the Sacred Valley first makes such a difference.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Sep 2013:

Great stuff!

Mountain Kingdoms by Sulgrave, 30 Aug 2013
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating

well organised, well documented no nasty surprises. Mountain Kingdoms had researched and planned an excellent rugged trek in a very interesting and different part of Nepal

well organised, well documented no nasty surprises. Mountain Kingdoms had researched and planned an excellent rugged trek in a very interesting and different part of Nepal

Rating for tour operator:

helpful and accommodating

Mountain Kingdoms by Pete, 20 Aug 2013
Holiday Rating:

Ladakh Family Adventure

We had an action packed two weeks with our three children aged 9-15, including a 4 day trek (with supporting ponies helping a bit over the odd high pass!), camping and with a homestay, amidst stunning scenery, and visting many spectacular Buddhist monasteries clinging to rocky outcrops and bedecked with prayer flags. We also rafted through the gorge of the mighty Indus and saw the very rare "blue sheep", and had a few hours rock climbing and ...

We had an action packed two weeks with our three children aged 9-15, including a 4 day trek (with supporting ponies helping a bit over the odd high pass!), camping and with a homestay, amidst stunning scenery, and visting many spectacular Buddhist monasteries clinging to rocky outcrops and bedecked with prayer flags. We also rafted through the gorge of the mighty Indus and saw the very rare "blue sheep", and had a few hours rock climbing and mountain biking. The local people were amazing and we could not have been better looked after in Ladakh. We also had a day or two in Delhi at either end, inc a trip to Agra and the magnificent Taj Mahal. Here things didnt go quite so smoothly, bringing what was otherwise an "excellent" holiday down to a "good".

Rating for tour operator:

It may be harsh to mark them down from an "excellent" to a "good" because of the difficulties we had in Delhi, and it is a close run thing ... but when you are travelling with children and paying well for local expertise in order to minimise problems, it is not unreasonable to expect it to be ensured that drivers will be engaged who know where they are going etc. On Ladakh alone - the mountains, and the true domain of Mountain Kingdoms - they would warrant an "excellent".

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 23 Sep 2013:

We are sorry about the problems the Crockford family encountered in Delhi. Occasionally and rarely these things happen in India and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Steve Berry, M.D., Mountain Kingdoms Ltd

Mountain Kingdoms by Will, 24 Jul 2013
Holiday Rating:

Eye-opening Ladkh

My third time with Mountain Kingdoms and again this was an excellent trip. Instead of the regular full time trekking formula, this trip combined day walks which were well-led, varied and stimulating together with the opportunity to absorb Ladakh's unique culture.

My third time with Mountain Kingdoms and again this was an excellent trip. Instead of the regular full time trekking formula, this trip combined day walks which were well-led, varied and stimulating together with the opportunity to absorb Ladakh's unique culture.

Rating for tour operator:

All of my fellow travellers were repeat business for Mountain Kingdoms. That just about sums it up. MKorganise trips which are consistently high in quality, imagination and reliability. I'm also very confident about their local knowledge and contacts.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Jul 2013:

Good to see our recce work pays off! Glad you had a great time Will

Mountain Kingdoms by McGleishgod, 23 Jul 2013
Holiday Rating:

Another excellent Mountain Kingdoms experience.

My 3rd trip with Mountain Kingdoms, this time to Ladakh, Himalayan India and again another very well put together holiday, thoroughly professionally organised and great value for money considering all that was provided. As trouble free as adventure travel can be!

My 3rd trip with Mountain Kingdoms, this time to Ladakh, Himalayan India and again another very well put together holiday, thoroughly professionally organised and great value for money considering all that was provided. As trouble free as adventure travel can be!

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms specialize in small group walking and trekking holidays around the world, with emphasis on places less well traveled than some destinations. Mountain regions, as the name suggests, is a particular strong area. Repeat business seems to be a large source of bookings which I think demonstrates how professional and well run they are.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Jul 2013:

Thank you for your feedback Mr Harper ..... glad you had a fantastic time! Steve Berry