AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 76
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 85
Reviews Accepted: 85
Reviews Rejected: 0
85 reviews
Sort by:
Trekking the Burmese Himalaya by Pindaya, 6 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Foothills of Burmese Himalayas, Shan State, Rangoon and Cambodia (Angor Wat)

Seven days trekking in the foothills, crossing rivers, overnighting in stilted houses with an excellent guide and porters and cook. Fantastic topography, lovely people. Cold at night, warm during the day. Onto Shan State where we climbed to a monastry for 1 night - and then on to see Pindaya caves and the 4000+ Buddhas that are in them. We also fitted in a day's walking through tea estates and rice paddies where they also grow all manner of ...

Seven days trekking in the foothills, crossing rivers, overnighting in stilted houses with an excellent guide and porters and cook. Fantastic topography, lovely people. Cold at night, warm during the day. Onto Shan State where we climbed to a monastry for 1 night - and then on to see Pindaya caves and the 4000+ Buddhas that are in them. We also fitted in a day's walking through tea estates and rice paddies where they also grow all manner of vegetables which we saw in the local markets. Back to Yangon (where we started) and our guide took us on a tour of the city's docklands, Chinese quarter and the famous Strand Hotel. The by plane via Bangkok to Sieme Reap for the Angor Wat experience with another excellent guide who kept us away from the crowds of tourists. Wonderful sights of trees growing out of the walls and evidence that UNESCO are moving forward with restoration which will be a massive undertaking. We stayed in excellent hotels and had a holiday that anyone with a hankering to see another world and has a moderate amount of fitness, would love.

Rating for tour operator:

From the first contact, we felt that Mountain Kingdoms were really au fait with their business - they kept in contact with us, produced tickets when they said they would, provided kit bags and a trip dossier that covered absolutely every situaton that you miht experience. Their guides (we had three) were enthusiastic and, although two of them need to improve their English, we ahd no trouble understanding them and they were preparedd to go the extra distance to ensure we were given all the history. In short a marvellous holiday.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Mar 2014:

Sounds like the very thing I thrive on, glad you had a great time,

Steve Berry.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Mar 2014:

That's what I like to hear !!

Steve Berry

Trekking the Burmese Himalaya by Louise, 4 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

A great trip in a remote part of the world as yet untouched by Western civilisation.

The foothills of the Burmese Himalayas : nature is till pristine, fabulous rivers, forests and snowy peaks. The locals are delightful and most welcoming

The foothills of the Burmese Himalayas : nature is till pristine, fabulous rivers, forests and snowy peaks. The locals are delightful and most welcoming

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms is run by people who love the mountains and know what they are talking about. You will always find someone at the end of a phone to answer all your questions. I appreciate the personal touch. A very good, dependable company giving value for money.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Mar 2014:

Yes, rare to find these places! I loved it myself!!

Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Mar 2014:

Thank you so much for your kind comments,

Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by fruityfreda, 2 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

Undiscovered Burma

An 18 day tour which completely lived up to its title and in fact exceeded expectations. The itinerary, accommodation, travel arrangements and attention to detail could not be faulted.

An 18 day tour which completely lived up to its title and in fact exceeded expectations. The itinerary, accommodation, travel arrangements and attention to detail could not be faulted.

Rating for tour operator:

I think they are unsurpassed for small group personalised travel and they make every effort to ensure an exciting and truly memorable experience for their clients.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Mar 2014:

Great! Everyone and his dog offer the 'big hitters' of Bagan, Inle Lake, Mandalay and Rangoon (Yangon), but there is so much more to see in Burma. Glad you enjoyed our off-the-beaten-track tour

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Mar 2014:

Thank you very much for your compliments. All the best,

Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by Belinda, 15 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Trekking in the Annapurna foothills

A very well tailored trip for two 'Grandparent' trekkers! It was a good introduction to trekking in Nepal encompassing a degree of comfort en route, with achievable walks between the lodges and at the same time stretching us. We had wonderful weather at the end of January into February and cannot understand why this isn't a more popular time as the temperature during the day was a perfect 22 degrees although nights pretty chilly with a star ...

A very well tailored trip for two 'Grandparent' trekkers! It was a good introduction to trekking in Nepal encompassing a degree of comfort en route, with achievable walks between the lodges and at the same time stretching us. We had wonderful weather at the end of January into February and cannot understand why this isn't a more popular time as the temperature during the day was a perfect 22 degrees although nights pretty chilly with a star ridden sky, but nothing that a couple of good duvets and hot water bottles can't solve!

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised, consistently met and transferred on time with good instructions. Excellent, comprehensive Trip dossier setting out requirements from obtaining visas to clothing and medical items for the trip. We felt confident with the various agents in Nepal who facilitated our journey.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Nice to read this! I too have trekked this route in mid-winter in a T Shirt and enjoyed glorious sunshine.........

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Good stuff !!

Mountain Kingdoms by Steffi, 12 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Breathtaking Desert Wilderness

21 days on trek in the remote region of Zanskar in Ladakh, Himalaya. Wonderful friendly trekking staff; quality food and an excellent UK Trek Leader. Camping every night on trek under the crystal clear starry sky. By day we hiked in dry high altitude desert terrain with stunning limestone formations. Every day there were new valleys and passes to explore. The locals were friendly even though westerners are not often seen in the remote parts ...

21 days on trek in the remote region of Zanskar in Ladakh, Himalaya. Wonderful friendly trekking staff; quality food and an excellent UK Trek Leader. Camping every night on trek under the crystal clear starry sky. By day we hiked in dry high altitude desert terrain with stunning limestone formations. Every day there were new valleys and passes to explore. The locals were friendly even though westerners are not often seen in the remote parts we visited.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms had a very comprehensive dossier for pre-trek information, and their day-by-day itinerary was brilliant. They were good at keeping clients on track prior to leaving and good at answering any queries (no matter how odd they were). Their paperwork was simple to follow and easy to complete.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Great to hear this! One of the best treks I have ever done myself. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Good to hear this.

Golden Trails of Burma by Happy Traveller, 6 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful!

The holiday was called "Golden Trails of Burma". It was a packed itinerary but was more than a sightseeing trip. Our local guide had a vast knowledge of Burma and was keen to show us more than the usual temples. He spoke to local people about their work and their families and conveyed the information to us. We had several walks through beautiful countryside and stayed in some lovely hotels. It was a fantastic trip and I would have no hesitation ...

The holiday was called "Golden Trails of Burma". It was a packed itinerary but was more than a sightseeing trip. Our local guide had a vast knowledge of Burma and was keen to show us more than the usual temples. He spoke to local people about their work and their families and conveyed the information to us. We had several walks through beautiful countryside and stayed in some lovely hotels. It was a fantastic trip and I would have no hesitation in recommending both Mountain Kingdoms and this particular trip to anyone else looking for an interesting holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient. They supplied a trip dossier in advance of the trip which was invaluable, as well as a day-to-day itinerary. All requests for further information were answered promptly in advance of the trip. The trip itself was very comprehensive. I would not hesitate to travel with Mountain Kingdoms again.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

That's what I like to hear! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Good stuff!

Golden Trails of Burma by Mike, 5 Feb 2014
Holiday Rating:

Golden Trails of Burma - A really wonderful holiday and experience, excellent organisation and leader.

First class holiday, VERY good holiday company at Mountain Kingdoms, who seem to orgainise everything so well.

First class holiday, VERY good holiday company at Mountain Kingdoms, who seem to orgainise everything so well.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms is a superb operator. I have travelled with them on four occasions and I have nothing but praise for their organisation and staff knowledge. I hope to travel with them again.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Thank you for your comments

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 24 Feb 2014:

Excellent! We look forward to seeing you again Mr Richardson

Mountain Kingdoms by dee, 1 Jan 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip to Bhutan

The Gentle Walking Trip was an excellent trip, combining just the right mix of walking and sightseeing. We travelled from Paro to Bumthang and back again by road, stopping at places en route. Note that now there is a domestic airport at Bumthang which should make for less driving although we didn't find this a problem. The architecture of the Dzongs is magnificent and we never tired of seeing the Buddhist temples as each is different. The walk ...

The Gentle Walking Trip was an excellent trip, combining just the right mix of walking and sightseeing. We travelled from Paro to Bumthang and back again by road, stopping at places en route. Note that now there is a domestic airport at Bumthang which should make for less driving although we didn't find this a problem. The architecture of the Dzongs is magnificent and we never tired of seeing the Buddhist temples as each is different. The walk up to Tiger's Nest on the last day was a fitting climax - we'd always wondered how you actually got to it!

Rating for tour operator:

We have travelled with this company several times and always found it to be very efficient. We like the fact that it isn't one of the large companies and we can approach named people.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Jan 2014:

Thank you for your feedback Mrs Hallworth. Indeed this is one of the most popular trips we run to Bhutan. By the way, although there are in theory internal flights their schedules cannot yet be relied on. Sometimes they fly and sometimes not. We may introduce the internal flights when the service becomes reliable, but even then we would have to build in extra days to allow for a return drive in the event of the flight not happening.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Jan 2014:

Thank you. Indeed the day we introduce 'menus' on our telephones instead of speaking directly to a human being will be the day we lose the plot!

Mountain Kingdoms by M&M, 16 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Some very good experiences, but also some problems

Very good itinerary for seeing parts of Cambodia that are not included on many trips, but problems with one tour leader not handled well

Very good itinerary for seeing parts of Cambodia that are not included on many trips, but problems with one tour leader not handled well

Rating for tour operator:

Some information was excellent but not all.

Mountain Kingdoms by Cheshire resident, 4 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent arrangements and hotel based itinerary in Burma

Guided touring with some walking into local villages. Very well organised to miss the crowds, which is increasingly difficult in Burma.

Guided touring with some walking into local villages. Very well organised to miss the crowds, which is increasingly difficult in Burma.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service in Burma. A few small niggles about booking, but these did not detract from our enjoyment

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Dec 2013:

Thank you for your comments. When Aung San Suu Kyi changed her stance on tourism within 2 weeks we were on a plane to do our initial recce work. We decided from the outset that we wanted to take people beyond just the set of 'must see' sights. We have worked hard to achieve this (5 people here have done recce trips now) and I believe our itineraries are far more thorough and interesting than the herd of large travel companies who probably design their itineraries sitting in an office in London!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Dec 2013:

Hi Mrs Jackson - please let me know what those 'niggles' were and we will endeavour to iron them out. Glad you had a great time. All the best,

Steve Berry.