AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 81
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 90
Reviews Accepted: 90
Reviews Rejected: 0
90 reviews
Sort by:
Morocco Coastal Trek & Essaouira by Odora, 7 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Trekking with camels in Morocco

Walking and camping along coast, plus stays in Riads.

Walking and camping along coast, plus stays in Riads.

Rating for tour operator:

First time used this company and very satisfied.

Morocco Coastal Trek & Essaouira by Wanderer, 6 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Morocco Coastal Trek and Essaouira

It was a short and relatively easy walking and camping holiday along the hard-to-reach Atlantic coast between Essaouira and Agadir. It started and finished in Marrakesh. Overall it was as well organised and supported as such a trip could be.

It was a short and relatively easy walking and camping holiday along the hard-to-reach Atlantic coast between Essaouira and Agadir. It started and finished in Marrakesh. Overall it was as well organised and supported as such a trip could be.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms favours small groups and supports travellers well, both before and during the holiday. They are knowledgeable, helpful, and efficient. I would travel with them again.

Mountain Kingdoms by Chris, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Trekking Experience In Nepal

Kangchenjunga North and South Base Camp Trek. An excellent trekking experience in a remote and unspoiled Mountain Environment.

Kangchenjunga North and South Base Camp Trek. An excellent trekking experience in a remote and unspoiled Mountain Environment.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and well planned Trek from Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Nov 2019:

Yes, one of the best treks in Nepal !!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Nov 2019:

Many thanks for your comments, and we are very pleased indeed that you loved the trek. Happy Trails,

Lunana Snowman Trek by stevemcb, 9 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Surreal Trek of Immense Magnitude Along the Border Between Bhutan & Tibet

The Bhutan-Snowman Trek is arguably the toughest trek in the world. Being conscious of the fact that Mountain Kingdoms have been successfully operating this trek for 2-3 decades gave me a high degree of confidence in their professionalism and ability to succeed. Also not resting on their laurels, this was the first commercial Mountain Kingdoms group to trek the new exit route out of Lunana (across the mountains between Sake-la and Maurothang), ...

The Bhutan-Snowman Trek is arguably the toughest trek in the world. Being conscious of the fact that Mountain Kingdoms have been successfully operating this trek for 2-3 decades gave me a high degree of confidence in their professionalism and ability to succeed. Also not resting on their laurels, this was the first commercial Mountain Kingdoms group to trek the new exit route out of Lunana (across the mountains between Sake-la and Maurothang), featuring a truly memorable couple of days in unspoiled wilderness. It was somewhat fitting, that crossing the final high pass, the Chachi-La, we had the most amazing crystal clear views of the Eastern Himalayas along the border with Tibet, including the infamous Gangar Puensum, the highest unclimbed mountain on the planet. All our prayers came true that day. Put in perspective, the photos that we took that day were completely cloud-free, unlike many of those in the guide-books! Sincere thanks for an experience which I will never ever forget.

Rating for tour operator:

The Western Leader was well qualified, constantly engaging, and made sound decisions when necessary in conjunction with the Bhutanese Sirdar (e.g. postponing a rest day to avoid a bad snowstorm crossing the highest pass). He kept abreast of the group's progress including, importantly, the back markers, as well as the morale of individuals, which helped to maximise our teams’ chances of success. Whilst seemingly a small contribution, he took the trouble to carry chocolate bars to give us a welcome boost on conquering every high pass - much appreciated by all. The Bhutanese crew (including pack animal herders) were universally excellent and besides great meals, provided fantastic support to every one of us.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Nov 2019:

I couldn't agree more with you Steve ........ a magnificent trek. Adjectives just do not do it justice. It's all about freedom, remoteness, unspoiltness, nature at its very best. I long to go back

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Nov 2019:

Good to hear all this. I feel very strongly that an experienced European Leader is needed on something of this magnitude. There are others offering the Lunana Snowman without a qualified Leader to save on cost, but in my view that's asking for trouble.

Druk Path Trek, Bhutan by D, 23 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trek in magical Bhutan

A very well organised trek with also some stunning sightseeing.

A very well organised trek with also some stunning sightseeing.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms were very pleasant and relaxed to deal with but also very professional and knowledgeable. Whether in the UK or Nepal or Bhutan nothing seemed too much trouble.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 30 Oct 2019:

Excellent, Bhutan is a magical place - thank you for your comments.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 30 Oct 2019:

Thank you for your feedback, it's always good to hear. Many thanks, the Mountain Kingdoms team.

Great Wall of China by LizzyJ, 4 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

Great Wall of China

A tailor made holiday for six walking friends

A tailor made holiday for six walking friends

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent support and service from Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Oct 2019:

Many thanks, glad you had a great time

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Oct 2019:

Good to hear this. Always nice to receive praise!! Many thanks,
Steve Berry, Managing Director, Mountainkingdoms Ltd

Luangwa Walking Safari in Style by Judy, 26 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

The Classic Luangwa Walking Safari in Style was a most memorable experience.

I could not have imagined I would see so many wild animals and beautiful birds and the guides with all their knowledge made this even more alive. The accommodation and food were excellent as was the organisation prior and during the trip.

I could not have imagined I would see so many wild animals and beautiful birds and the guides with all their knowledge made this even more alive. The accommodation and food were excellent as was the organisation prior and during the trip.

Rating for tour operator:

This tour was arranged through my sister in England so it was mostly done through her, but when I needed more information from the tour operator it was easily obtainable.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Many thanks for your feedback, and glad you had a great time. Best regards,
Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 26 Sep 2019:

Glad to hear this, many thanks

Three Peaks of the Balkans by J.Williams, 12 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Peaks of the Balkans

Fantastic trip to this beautiful part of the world. Very well organised from start to finish. Made even better by the amazing Semir! Arguably one of the best guides I’ve ever had in my 12+ years of trekking holidays.

Fantastic trip to this beautiful part of the world. Very well organised from start to finish. Made even better by the amazing Semir! Arguably one of the best guides I’ve ever had in my 12+ years of trekking holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

Good clear communication from initial enquiries to the booking. Particularly liked the pre trip meet up trek.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

Many thanks for your great feedback. Gives me a real sense of pride. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

Good stuff!!

Three Peaks of the Balkans by Ian Cameron, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superbly well organised

Trek to Albania, Kosovo and Montenegro was so well organised. Every detail had been worked out with military precision although our guide made us feel so relaxed. Semir, our guide was so very attentive and made sure our every need was catered for. His local knowledge and understanding of the area definitely added a great deal to the trip. My lasting memory will undoubtedly be the friendliness of every one we met

Trek to Albania, Kosovo and Montenegro was so well organised. Every detail had been worked out with military precision although our guide made us feel so relaxed. Semir, our guide was so very attentive and made sure our every need was catered for. His local knowledge and understanding of the area definitely added a great deal to the trip. My lasting memory will undoubtedly be the friendliness of every one we met

Rating for tour operator:

Great communication. Very well organised. Every detail was cover from the moment we landed to moment we took off on the way home. All the flights were well timed and the whole trip was completely Stress free. This is a GREAT tour operator.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Yes, I too loved the trek and the people when I did the recce with my wife. Thanks for your excellent feedback. Steve Berry.

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Many thanks for your kind comments!!

Mont Blanc Summit by Darren, 1 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Climbing in the Alps

Wonderful location for a fun and challenging holiday

Wonderful location for a fun and challenging holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised trip

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Jul 2019:

Many thanks

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Jul 2019:

Many thanks