AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 86
Good 5
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 96
Reviews Accepted: 96
Reviews Rejected: 0
96 reviews
Sort by:
Silk Road to Samarkand by LIH, 23 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Uzbekistan a wonderful country with wonderful people

The trip had an excellent initery taking in the major sites and cities but still giving us free time to explore further. We really enjoyed meeting local people and chatting with them. Our guide was excellent as were all the arrangemnts

The trip had an excellent initery taking in the major sites and cities but still giving us free time to explore further. We really enjoyed meeting local people and chatting with them. Our guide was excellent as were all the arrangemnts

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms is a company with whom we have travelled several times. We have always found them to be excellent

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2022:

Excellent! Pleased you had a great time Mrs Hughson. I totally agree that it is a fantastic place to see. Amazing history, incredible culture, awsome architecture, lovely people.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2022:

Thank you very much for your review

Annapurna Sanctuary by Traveller, 6 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Sanctuary

The holiday was well organised and the team in Nepal can't have been more helpful.

The holiday was well organised and the team in Nepal can't have been more helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms specialises in organising trekking holidays. This holiday was trekking to Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 May 2022:

Glad to hear that.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 May 2022:

Thank you Mr Toogood and many thanks for travelling with us again.

Husky Sledding Arctic Adventure by Husky, 8 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Husky sledding, Finland.

Our guide and leader, Hanski (I think it is spelled) was simply outstanding. She trained us in how to fix the dogs into their harnesses and traces to the sled we each had, checked our work and corrected where necessary, taught us how to handle the sled and the dogs, and how to cope with the extremely cold conditions (-30 oC on the first day!). She handled the several problems that arose (such as dogs chewing through their harnesses, dogs fighting ...

Our guide and leader, Hanski (I think it is spelled) was simply outstanding. She trained us in how to fix the dogs into their harnesses and traces to the sled we each had, checked our work and corrected where necessary, taught us how to handle the sled and the dogs, and how to cope with the extremely cold conditions (-30 oC on the first day!). She handled the several problems that arose (such as dogs chewing through their harnesses, dogs fighting and getting tangled in their gtraces, or us encountering deep snow) with remarkable energy and skill. At the two wilderness cabins where we stayed for two nights each, she organised us into teams to deal with jobs from collecting water from the frozen lakes, to feeding the dogs, collecting firewood, stoking the sauna fires, clearing up dog poops in the morning, and so on, all while she prepared all the meals and organised life in the cabins. The meals she produced for both carnivorous or vegetarian humans were superb, which even included cooking lunches out in the wilderness on fires made in the snow. The last day proved to be particularly difficult for Hanski and the dogs because of deepening snow that day, such that a snowmobile had to come and lighten her sled's load and take a dog that had hurt itself somehow. But Hanski coped with it all superbly, and we arrived back to base just before dark, all happy and delighted by the adventure. In a way the real heroes of the trip were the dogs, the name, character and abilities of every one of whom Hanski knew, which was crucial to organising their teams for each of the seven clients and keeping us and them all safe. The dogs all seemed fit and healthy, though I know that some had minor medical problems that were being attended to. They were lean and strong, but it did seem to me that they were underweight. It is hard for clients to know, but despite the wonderful experience of the trip, I was left wondering about the welfare of the dogs, as I have of other animals such as pack animals used in adventure trips.

Rating for tour operator:

Adaptable when adjustments were needed, well-organised, kept me well-informed, and happy to go the extra mile to help if I wished for changes to, for instance, trsavel arrangements. No complaints at all.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2022:

Many thanks for your comments, and I know just how you feel having done husky sledding myself. Brilliant fun, great adventure. The dogs are wonderful and obviously love the experience even more than we do. You were the first person to travel with MK in 2022. Thilled you loved the trip. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2022:

Excellent, many thanks

Cultural Tour of Cambodia by Wo M, 29 Jun 2020
Holiday Rating:

Simply Superb

Brilliant mix of sightseeing, wildlife, culture and relaxation

Brilliant mix of sightseeing, wildlife, culture and relaxation

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for them

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2020:

Ver glad to hear this, and thank you for your comments

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2020:

Many thanks!!

Mekong River Cruise in Style by Pucci, 8 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing pampered tour

Wonderful being able to start in Saigon before going on the cruise. Then we had 8 days of bliss being taken down the Mekong watching life go by and finished by visiting Phnom Penh and then Siem Reap where we visited Angkor Wat..... a wonderful sight.

Wonderful being able to start in Saigon before going on the cruise. Then we had 8 days of bliss being taken down the Mekong watching life go by and finished by visiting Phnom Penh and then Siem Reap where we visited Angkor Wat..... a wonderful sight.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms used the Pandaw Company boats which were really excellent. The crew did everything possible to give one a great time. Excellent food and time to relax between going out on very varied trips into the countryside.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Great to read your lovely feedback at a time when we are all worried about Coronavirus

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Excellent to hear this

Historical Ethiopia by Halaf, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cultual Adventure Tour to Ethipia

Ethiopia has a rich, unique and fascinating historical heritage. It also has amazing scenery and spectacular mountainous landscapes as in the Simien Mountains. The tour took it all in although some aspects could have been managed and handled better. A great and absolutely worthwhile trip for the experienced traveller with a degree of resistance to heat, cold, altitude and occasionally slight discomfort.

Ethiopia has a rich, unique and fascinating historical heritage. It also has amazing scenery and spectacular mountainous landscapes as in the Simien Mountains. The tour took it all in although some aspects could have been managed and handled better. A great and absolutely worthwhile trip for the experienced traveller with a degree of resistance to heat, cold, altitude and occasionally slight discomfort.

Rating for tour operator:

I travelled for the first time with Mountain Kingdoms whose intentions are no doubt great - excellent pre-tour preparations and support. However, a little disappointed w tour leader and hotel standard; I suspect the local agent were at best complacent or worse a little greedy. Hopefully they will improve before next date but still a wonderful tour in many ways.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Dear Ms Wallenborg,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the tour. However, please do let me know which aspects of the tour could have been handled better and I will investigate. Many thanks,
Steve Bewrry
Managing Director, Mountain Kingdoms Ltd

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

I am very sorry to hear your comments about the Guide. I will look at the feedback from other clients on the tour and will take some approprite action.
Many thanks for your feedback.

Morocco Coastal Trek & Essaouira by Odora, 7 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Trekking with camels in Morocco

Walking and camping along coast, plus stays in Riads.

Walking and camping along coast, plus stays in Riads.

Rating for tour operator:

First time used this company and very satisfied.

Morocco Coastal Trek & Essaouira by Wanderer, 6 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

Morocco Coastal Trek and Essaouira

It was a short and relatively easy walking and camping holiday along the hard-to-reach Atlantic coast between Essaouira and Agadir. It started and finished in Marrakesh. Overall it was as well organised and supported as such a trip could be.

It was a short and relatively easy walking and camping holiday along the hard-to-reach Atlantic coast between Essaouira and Agadir. It started and finished in Marrakesh. Overall it was as well organised and supported as such a trip could be.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms favours small groups and supports travellers well, both before and during the holiday. They are knowledgeable, helpful, and efficient. I would travel with them again.

Mountain Kingdoms by Chris, 27 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Trekking Experience In Nepal

Kangchenjunga North and South Base Camp Trek. An excellent trekking experience in a remote and unspoiled Mountain Environment.

Kangchenjunga North and South Base Camp Trek. An excellent trekking experience in a remote and unspoiled Mountain Environment.

Rating for tour operator:

Efficient and well planned Trek from Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Nov 2019:

Yes, one of the best treks in Nepal !!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 27 Nov 2019:

Many thanks for your comments, and we are very pleased indeed that you loved the trek. Happy Trails,

Lunana Snowman Trek by stevemcb, 9 Nov 2019
Holiday Rating:

A Surreal Trek of Immense Magnitude Along the Border Between Bhutan & Tibet

The Bhutan-Snowman Trek is arguably the toughest trek in the world. Being conscious of the fact that Mountain Kingdoms have been successfully operating this trek for 2-3 decades gave me a high degree of confidence in their professionalism and ability to succeed. Also not resting on their laurels, this was the first commercial Mountain Kingdoms group to trek the new exit route out of Lunana (across the mountains between Sake-la and Maurothang), ...

The Bhutan-Snowman Trek is arguably the toughest trek in the world. Being conscious of the fact that Mountain Kingdoms have been successfully operating this trek for 2-3 decades gave me a high degree of confidence in their professionalism and ability to succeed. Also not resting on their laurels, this was the first commercial Mountain Kingdoms group to trek the new exit route out of Lunana (across the mountains between Sake-la and Maurothang), featuring a truly memorable couple of days in unspoiled wilderness. It was somewhat fitting, that crossing the final high pass, the Chachi-La, we had the most amazing crystal clear views of the Eastern Himalayas along the border with Tibet, including the infamous Gangar Puensum, the highest unclimbed mountain on the planet. All our prayers came true that day. Put in perspective, the photos that we took that day were completely cloud-free, unlike many of those in the guide-books! Sincere thanks for an experience which I will never ever forget.

Rating for tour operator:

The Western Leader was well qualified, constantly engaging, and made sound decisions when necessary in conjunction with the Bhutanese Sirdar (e.g. postponing a rest day to avoid a bad snowstorm crossing the highest pass). He kept abreast of the group's progress including, importantly, the back markers, as well as the morale of individuals, which helped to maximise our teams’ chances of success. Whilst seemingly a small contribution, he took the trouble to carry chocolate bars to give us a welcome boost on conquering every high pass - much appreciated by all. The Bhutanese crew (including pack animal herders) were universally excellent and besides great meals, provided fantastic support to every one of us.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Nov 2019:

I couldn't agree more with you Steve ........ a magnificent trek. Adjectives just do not do it justice. It's all about freedom, remoteness, unspoiltness, nature at its very best. I long to go back

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Nov 2019:

Good to hear all this. I feel very strongly that an experienced European Leader is needed on something of this magnitude. There are others offering the Lunana Snowman without a qualified Leader to save on cost, but in my view that's asking for trouble.