AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 74
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 83
Reviews Accepted: 83
Reviews Rejected: 0
83 reviews
Sort by:
Three Peaks of the Balkans by J.Williams, 12 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Peaks of the Balkans

Fantastic trip to this beautiful part of the world. Very well organised from start to finish. Made even better by the amazing Semir! Arguably one of the best guides I’ve ever had in my 12+ years of trekking holidays.

Fantastic trip to this beautiful part of the world. Very well organised from start to finish. Made even better by the amazing Semir! Arguably one of the best guides I’ve ever had in my 12+ years of trekking holidays.

Rating for tour operator:

Good clear communication from initial enquiries to the booking. Particularly liked the pre trip meet up trek.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

Many thanks for your great feedback. Gives me a real sense of pride. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 12 Sep 2019:

Good stuff!!

Three Peaks of the Balkans by Ian Cameron, 9 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Superbly well organised

Trek to Albania, Kosovo and Montenegro was so well organised. Every detail had been worked out with military precision although our guide made us feel so relaxed. Semir, our guide was so very attentive and made sure our every need was catered for. His local knowledge and understanding of the area definitely added a great deal to the trip. My lasting memory will undoubtedly be the friendliness of every one we met

Trek to Albania, Kosovo and Montenegro was so well organised. Every detail had been worked out with military precision although our guide made us feel so relaxed. Semir, our guide was so very attentive and made sure our every need was catered for. His local knowledge and understanding of the area definitely added a great deal to the trip. My lasting memory will undoubtedly be the friendliness of every one we met

Rating for tour operator:

Great communication. Very well organised. Every detail was cover from the moment we landed to moment we took off on the way home. All the flights were well timed and the whole trip was completely Stress free. This is a GREAT tour operator.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Yes, I too loved the trek and the people when I did the recce with my wife. Thanks for your excellent feedback. Steve Berry.

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 10 Sep 2019:

Many thanks for your kind comments!!

Mont Blanc Summit by Darren, 1 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Climbing in the Alps

Wonderful location for a fun and challenging holiday

Wonderful location for a fun and challenging holiday

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organised trip

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Jul 2019:

Many thanks

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Jul 2019:

Many thanks

Cultural Tour of Sri Lanka by Miss H M 19, 1 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka Cultural tour

Amazing.... The food, the people, the places. It was all well handled, despite a few hiccups they managed to get everything solved quickly and efficiently. I had such an enjoyable time I couldn't get enough of the country itself, all the staff that were with us were very friendly and so helpful!!

Amazing.... The food, the people, the places. It was all well handled, despite a few hiccups they managed to get everything solved quickly and efficiently. I had such an enjoyable time I couldn't get enough of the country itself, all the staff that were with us were very friendly and so helpful!!

Rating for tour operator:

Very friendly kind hearted fellow! Always smiling and happy to answer any questions he could! Truly an enjoyable person to spend the holiday with!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Apr 2019:

Excellent! Thanks for the feedback

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Apr 2019:

That's the ticket! Local Guides can add so much to a tour with their local knowledge and contacts everywhere you go.

Gentle Walking Sri Lanka by mendip7, 9 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Walking Sri Lanka: excellent introduction to Asia and to escorted tours

Overall, we had an excellent holiday, it was our first trip to Asia and our first escorted tour so we weren’t entirely sure what to expect. We were well looked after and we have been impressed by the service before and after. Please note that we liked our driver/ guide and he did an excellent job, but did feel that he had not been fully briefed on the concept of a walking tour so there were a couple of times when the walking element was reduced ...

Overall, we had an excellent holiday, it was our first trip to Asia and our first escorted tour so we weren’t entirely sure what to expect. We were well looked after and we have been impressed by the service before and after. Please note that we liked our driver/ guide and he did an excellent job, but did feel that he had not been fully briefed on the concept of a walking tour so there were a couple of times when the walking element was reduced in favour of more general sightseeing. However, it was a good mix of cultural sights, wildlife, scenery and beach, with generally good hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms were excellent in respect of preparation and planning and afterwards to help resolve a credit card issue with one of the hotels. We will use them again when funds permit

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Mar 2019:

Many thanks for your feedback, and glad to hear you had a great time. Do send us our Post Trek Questionnaire with more detailed feedback on this like the hotels.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Mar 2019:

We look forward hopefully to you travelling with us again

Gentle Walking Kerala by AJM, 28 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Lovely holiday in Kerala

From booking to arrival home all went without a hitch. Overall 5 star service . Several calls during holiday from local agent checking on things. We had no guide --it was almost a private holiday for 4-- and perhaps we missed a few things but the driver was excellent. Areas visited and hotels were different from cities to rural areas but it was all the better for that. Service from staff in hotels needs a special mention. it was fantastic +++ ...

From booking to arrival home all went without a hitch. Overall 5 star service . Several calls during holiday from local agent checking on things. We had no guide --it was almost a private holiday for 4-- and perhaps we missed a few things but the driver was excellent. Areas visited and hotels were different from cities to rural areas but it was all the better for that. Service from staff in hotels needs a special mention. it was fantastic +++ . They want to make you feel really welcome and succeeded.

Rating for tour operator:

Communication +++ Attitude +++ Pre and post departure service +++ Would I travel with them again --YES +++

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Feb 2019:

Fantastic! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Feb 2019:

Great, thank you for your feedback!

Langtang & the Laurebina La by Dr P S, Birmingham, 27 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trekking in Nepal — Langtang and the Laurebina La

This was advertised as a group trek, however as no-one else signed up, my wife and I paid slightly more to undertake the trek as a private departure. After one night at a comfortable hotel in Kathmandu, we were driven by jeep to the start of the trek, at Shyaphru Besi. The 15 day trek took us first of all up the Langtang valley to Kyanjin Gumba, where we spent 3 nights, allowing exploration of the beautiful upper Langtang valley, and an ascent ...

This was advertised as a group trek, however as no-one else signed up, my wife and I paid slightly more to undertake the trek as a private departure. After one night at a comfortable hotel in Kathmandu, we were driven by jeep to the start of the trek, at Shyaphru Besi. The 15 day trek took us first of all up the Langtang valley to Kyanjin Gumba, where we spent 3 nights, allowing exploration of the beautiful upper Langtang valley, and an ascent of the viewpoint Kyanjin Ri. The itinerary allowed excellent acclimatisation in the Langtang valley, so after retracing ur steps down the valley, we were well prepared for the more rapid ascent to Gosainkund and over the Laurebina La pass in the second half of the trek. We had an excellent local sherpa guide, and an excellent porter to carry most of our luggage. We also personalised our trip, spending a few nights in India (Delhi and Agra) for sightseeing, on the way out and back.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time we have travelled with Mountain Kingdoms, and we remain very pleased with their service. The office staff are very helpful and efficient, and their trek itineraries appear to be very carefully planned to allow good acclimatisation to the altitude. All travel arrangements worked very smoothly.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Nov 2018:

Glad to hear we could tailor this to suit yourselves

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Nov 2018:

That's what we like to hear!! Glad you had a great trek to Langtang. All the best,
Steve Berry.

Luxury Lodge Trek, Annapurnas by Foxtrot, 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Gentle trekking and luxury lodges, Annapurna foothills, Nepal

An excellent mix of culture, top class hotels and beautifully sited lodges on the trekking part. Perfect weather, scenery and company.

An excellent mix of culture, top class hotels and beautifully sited lodges on the trekking part. Perfect weather, scenery and company.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms arranged all the details of flights, connections and accommodation and the trekking part was sub-contracted to Ker and Downey. All staff played their parts well.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Great to hear - thank you for your feedback.

Arctic Highlights by dave, 24 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Arctic Highlights

A superb experience and adventure. Exploring the fjords of Svalbard and Greenland before arriving in Iceland. Excelllent expedition leader and guides. Lots of activities, the highlights being seeing polar bears, walrus, whales, sealers, dolphins, arctic fox and hare and the Aurora Borealis.

A superb experience and adventure. Exploring the fjords of Svalbard and Greenland before arriving in Iceland. Excelllent expedition leader and guides. Lots of activities, the highlights being seeing polar bears, walrus, whales, sealers, dolphins, arctic fox and hare and the Aurora Borealis.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation and staff, and very efficient.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Sep 2018:

Many thanks David for your feedback. One day I would like to do this trip myself!! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Sep 2018:

Many thanks

Mongolian Wilderness Trek by yianna, 23 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

amazing in all aspects

It was what i expected to face . Every day was a different experience . Every day was unique . The weather too . We faced all kinds of weather . We met the locals that they gladly treated us and offered us there goods ,in that case it was cheese that they were making it ......

It was what i expected to face . Every day was a different experience . Every day was unique . The weather too . We faced all kinds of weather . We met the locals that they gladly treated us and offered us there goods ,in that case it was cheese that they were making it ......

Rating for tour operator:

VERY GOOD

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Yes, wild out there isn't it!! I too loved my two big trips to Mongolia's wild west and northern lakes and mountains. Glad you loved it.

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Thank you, that's what I like to hear!!