AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 90
Good 5
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 100
Reviews Accepted: 100
Reviews Rejected: 0
100 reviews
Sort by:
Druk Path Trek, Bhutan by PML, 27 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable mix of trekking and a unique culture

An unforgettable experience on many levels that exceeded already high expectations. The cultural history is fascinating, monasteries and dzongs providing exquisite settings in which to learn about this unique country. The trek was extraordinary, taking us through forests humming with cicadas, up rivers, along ridges with views of the verdant valleys far below, boulders, lakes, a yak. All enhanced by our truly exceptional guide, Ugyen and his crew...

An unforgettable experience on many levels that exceeded already high expectations. The cultural history is fascinating, monasteries and dzongs providing exquisite settings in which to learn about this unique country. The trek was extraordinary, taking us through forests humming with cicadas, up rivers, along ridges with views of the verdant valleys far below, boulders, lakes, a yak. All enhanced by our truly exceptional guide, Ugyen and his crew. So grateful to have made this trip.

Rating for tour operator:

Really committed to the country and very knowledgeable. Navigated all the changes and ups and downs of Covid really well and where a mistake occurred they more than made up for by treating us to a fantastic meal! They made adjustments for us, gave great guidance and responses.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Oct 2022:

Thank you. Very glad you enjoyed Bhutan

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Oct 2022:

Good, nice to be appreciated.

Cultural Tour of Bhutan by Zoo, 19 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Culture of Bhutan and Nepal

Fantastic trip everything organised superbly.

Fantastic trip everything organised superbly.

Rating for tour operator:

Really good, checked I was happy before embarking on trip, everything was done that could have been done.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 20 Oct 2022:

So good to hear this, thanks

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 20 Oct 2022:

Excellent

Colours of India - Texile Tour by India fan, 4 Oct 2022
Holiday Rating:

Colours of India - Gujarat Textiles

The quality and variety of textiles we saw far exceeded our expectations.

The quality and variety of textiles we saw far exceeded our expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

We have traveled with Mountain Kingdoms on numerous occasions and have always been impressed with their itineraries and standard of service.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Oct 2022:

That's good to hear!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Oct 2022:

Thank you so much for your review.

Trails of Capri & Almafi Coast by DaveSal, 30 Sep 2022
Holiday Rating:

Stunning food, scenery and support

Top experience of the Amalfi coast, landscape and Pompeii.

Top experience of the Amalfi coast, landscape and Pompeii.

Rating for tour operator:

Very responsive, emails answered within minutes! On the ball at all times,.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Oct 2022:

Excellent!! Thanks for your review David

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Oct 2022:

Great, thanks

Silk Road to Samarkand by LIH, 23 Jun 2022
Holiday Rating:

Uzbekistan a wonderful country with wonderful people

The trip had an excellent initery taking in the major sites and cities but still giving us free time to explore further. We really enjoyed meeting local people and chatting with them. Our guide was excellent as were all the arrangemnts

The trip had an excellent initery taking in the major sites and cities but still giving us free time to explore further. We really enjoyed meeting local people and chatting with them. Our guide was excellent as were all the arrangemnts

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms is a company with whom we have travelled several times. We have always found them to be excellent

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2022:

Excellent! Pleased you had a great time Mrs Hughson. I totally agree that it is a fantastic place to see. Amazing history, incredible culture, awsome architecture, lovely people.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2022:

Thank you very much for your review

Annapurna Sanctuary by Traveller, 6 May 2022
Holiday Rating:

Annapurna Sanctuary

The holiday was well organised and the team in Nepal can't have been more helpful.

The holiday was well organised and the team in Nepal can't have been more helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms specialises in organising trekking holidays. This holiday was trekking to Annapurna Base Camp in Nepal.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 May 2022:

Glad to hear that.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 May 2022:

Thank you Mr Toogood and many thanks for travelling with us again.

Husky Sledding Arctic Adventure by Husky, 8 Mar 2022
Holiday Rating:

Husky sledding, Finland.

Our guide and leader, Hanski (I think it is spelled) was simply outstanding. She trained us in how to fix the dogs into their harnesses and traces to the sled we each had, checked our work and corrected where necessary, taught us how to handle the sled and the dogs, and how to cope with the extremely cold conditions (-30 oC on the first day!). She handled the several problems that arose (such as dogs chewing through their harnesses, dogs fighting ...

Our guide and leader, Hanski (I think it is spelled) was simply outstanding. She trained us in how to fix the dogs into their harnesses and traces to the sled we each had, checked our work and corrected where necessary, taught us how to handle the sled and the dogs, and how to cope with the extremely cold conditions (-30 oC on the first day!). She handled the several problems that arose (such as dogs chewing through their harnesses, dogs fighting and getting tangled in their gtraces, or us encountering deep snow) with remarkable energy and skill. At the two wilderness cabins where we stayed for two nights each, she organised us into teams to deal with jobs from collecting water from the frozen lakes, to feeding the dogs, collecting firewood, stoking the sauna fires, clearing up dog poops in the morning, and so on, all while she prepared all the meals and organised life in the cabins. The meals she produced for both carnivorous or vegetarian humans were superb, which even included cooking lunches out in the wilderness on fires made in the snow. The last day proved to be particularly difficult for Hanski and the dogs because of deepening snow that day, such that a snowmobile had to come and lighten her sled's load and take a dog that had hurt itself somehow. But Hanski coped with it all superbly, and we arrived back to base just before dark, all happy and delighted by the adventure. In a way the real heroes of the trip were the dogs, the name, character and abilities of every one of whom Hanski knew, which was crucial to organising their teams for each of the seven clients and keeping us and them all safe. The dogs all seemed fit and healthy, though I know that some had minor medical problems that were being attended to. They were lean and strong, but it did seem to me that they were underweight. It is hard for clients to know, but despite the wonderful experience of the trip, I was left wondering about the welfare of the dogs, as I have of other animals such as pack animals used in adventure trips.

Rating for tour operator:

Adaptable when adjustments were needed, well-organised, kept me well-informed, and happy to go the extra mile to help if I wished for changes to, for instance, trsavel arrangements. No complaints at all.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2022:

Many thanks for your comments, and I know just how you feel having done husky sledding myself. Brilliant fun, great adventure. The dogs are wonderful and obviously love the experience even more than we do. You were the first person to travel with MK in 2022. Thilled you loved the trip. Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2022:

Excellent, many thanks

Cultural Tour of Cambodia by Wo M, 29 Jun 2020
Holiday Rating:

Simply Superb

Brilliant mix of sightseeing, wildlife, culture and relaxation

Brilliant mix of sightseeing, wildlife, culture and relaxation

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for them

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2020:

Ver glad to hear this, and thank you for your comments

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Jun 2020:

Many thanks!!

Mekong River Cruise in Style by Pucci, 8 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing pampered tour

Wonderful being able to start in Saigon before going on the cruise. Then we had 8 days of bliss being taken down the Mekong watching life go by and finished by visiting Phnom Penh and then Siem Reap where we visited Angkor Wat..... a wonderful sight.

Wonderful being able to start in Saigon before going on the cruise. Then we had 8 days of bliss being taken down the Mekong watching life go by and finished by visiting Phnom Penh and then Siem Reap where we visited Angkor Wat..... a wonderful sight.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms used the Pandaw Company boats which were really excellent. The crew did everything possible to give one a great time. Excellent food and time to relax between going out on very varied trips into the countryside.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Great to read your lovely feedback at a time when we are all worried about Coronavirus

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 09 Mar 2020:

Excellent to hear this

Historical Ethiopia by Halaf, 3 Mar 2020
Holiday Rating:

Cultual Adventure Tour to Ethipia

Ethiopia has a rich, unique and fascinating historical heritage. It also has amazing scenery and spectacular mountainous landscapes as in the Simien Mountains. The tour took it all in although some aspects could have been managed and handled better. A great and absolutely worthwhile trip for the experienced traveller with a degree of resistance to heat, cold, altitude and occasionally slight discomfort.

Ethiopia has a rich, unique and fascinating historical heritage. It also has amazing scenery and spectacular mountainous landscapes as in the Simien Mountains. The tour took it all in although some aspects could have been managed and handled better. A great and absolutely worthwhile trip for the experienced traveller with a degree of resistance to heat, cold, altitude and occasionally slight discomfort.

Rating for tour operator:

I travelled for the first time with Mountain Kingdoms whose intentions are no doubt great - excellent pre-tour preparations and support. However, a little disappointed w tour leader and hotel standard; I suspect the local agent were at best complacent or worse a little greedy. Hopefully they will improve before next date but still a wonderful tour in many ways.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

Dear Ms Wallenborg,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the tour. However, please do let me know which aspects of the tour could have been handled better and I will investigate. Many thanks,
Steve Bewrry
Managing Director, Mountain Kingdoms Ltd

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Mar 2020:

I am very sorry to hear your comments about the Guide. I will look at the feedback from other clients on the tour and will take some approprite action.
Many thanks for your feedback.