AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 69
Good 3
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 77
Reviews Accepted: 77
Reviews Rejected: 0
77 reviews
Sort by:
Langtang & the Laurebina La by Dr P S, Birmingham, 27 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trekking in Nepal — Langtang and the Laurebina La

This was advertised as a group trek, however as no-one else signed up, my wife and I paid slightly more to undertake the trek as a private departure. After one night at a comfortable hotel in Kathmandu, we were driven by jeep to the start of the trek, at Shyaphru Besi. The 15 day trek took us first of all up the Langtang valley to Kyanjin Gumba, where we spent 3 nights, allowing exploration of the beautiful upper Langtang valley, and an ascent ...

This was advertised as a group trek, however as no-one else signed up, my wife and I paid slightly more to undertake the trek as a private departure. After one night at a comfortable hotel in Kathmandu, we were driven by jeep to the start of the trek, at Shyaphru Besi. The 15 day trek took us first of all up the Langtang valley to Kyanjin Gumba, where we spent 3 nights, allowing exploration of the beautiful upper Langtang valley, and an ascent of the viewpoint Kyanjin Ri. The itinerary allowed excellent acclimatisation in the Langtang valley, so after retracing ur steps down the valley, we were well prepared for the more rapid ascent to Gosainkund and over the Laurebina La pass in the second half of the trek. We had an excellent local sherpa guide, and an excellent porter to carry most of our luggage. We also personalised our trip, spending a few nights in India (Delhi and Agra) for sightseeing, on the way out and back.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time we have travelled with Mountain Kingdoms, and we remain very pleased with their service. The office staff are very helpful and efficient, and their trek itineraries appear to be very carefully planned to allow good acclimatisation to the altitude. All travel arrangements worked very smoothly.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Nov 2018:

Glad to hear we could tailor this to suit yourselves

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 Nov 2018:

That's what we like to hear!! Glad you had a great trek to Langtang. All the best,
Steve Berry.

Luxury Lodge Trek, Annapurnas by Foxtrot, 14 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Gentle trekking and luxury lodges, Annapurna foothills, Nepal

An excellent mix of culture, top class hotels and beautifully sited lodges on the trekking part. Perfect weather, scenery and company.

An excellent mix of culture, top class hotels and beautifully sited lodges on the trekking part. Perfect weather, scenery and company.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms arranged all the details of flights, connections and accommodation and the trekking part was sub-contracted to Ker and Downey. All staff played their parts well.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Nov 2018:

Great to hear - thank you for your feedback.

Arctic Highlights by dave, 24 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Arctic Highlights

A superb experience and adventure. Exploring the fjords of Svalbard and Greenland before arriving in Iceland. Excelllent expedition leader and guides. Lots of activities, the highlights being seeing polar bears, walrus, whales, sealers, dolphins, arctic fox and hare and the Aurora Borealis.

A superb experience and adventure. Exploring the fjords of Svalbard and Greenland before arriving in Iceland. Excelllent expedition leader and guides. Lots of activities, the highlights being seeing polar bears, walrus, whales, sealers, dolphins, arctic fox and hare and the Aurora Borealis.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation and staff, and very efficient.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Sep 2018:

Many thanks David for your feedback. One day I would like to do this trip myself!! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Sep 2018:

Many thanks

Mongolian Wilderness Trek by yianna, 23 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

amazing in all aspects

It was what i expected to face . Every day was a different experience . Every day was unique . The weather too . We faced all kinds of weather . We met the locals that they gladly treated us and offered us there goods ,in that case it was cheese that they were making it ......

It was what i expected to face . Every day was a different experience . Every day was unique . The weather too . We faced all kinds of weather . We met the locals that they gladly treated us and offered us there goods ,in that case it was cheese that they were making it ......

Rating for tour operator:

VERY GOOD

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Yes, wild out there isn't it!! I too loved my two big trips to Mongolia's wild west and northern lakes and mountains. Glad you loved it.

Reviewer's images:
Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Thank you, that's what I like to hear!!

Silk Road to Samarkand by AnnieG, 29 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Super tour of silk route towns in Samarkand

Excellent experience from making the booking to returning to Heathrow. Good hotels, excellent guide, well thought out itinerary with good balance of guided and free time.

Excellent experience from making the booking to returning to Heathrow. Good hotels, excellent guide, well thought out itinerary with good balance of guided and free time.

Rating for tour operator:

I can rely on being well looked after and having a super holiday when I book through Mountain Kingdoms. They use the best guides, hotels and transport arrangements. When I call the office about anything, they are friendly, efficient and extremely helpful.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 May 2018:

Glad you enjoyed the heady atmosphere of central Asia Mrs Green!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 29 May 2018:

That's what we like to hear!! Many thanks, Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms by Neil P., 11 Mar 2018
Holiday Rating:

An Amazing Cultural Tour of the Whole of Sri Lanka ( Definitive Cultural Tour of Sri Lanka)

An absolutely brilliant cultural tour of Sri Lanka, it so very much exceeded our expectations and every single day of the tour was a delight including the days where we had very early morning starts for the wildlife safaris and whale watching expedition. The pace of the tour was perfect and it provided a thorough insight into the cultural life of of the whole of Sri Lanka. We choose this tour as it was one of very few that include the north ...

An absolutely brilliant cultural tour of Sri Lanka, it so very much exceeded our expectations and every single day of the tour was a delight including the days where we had very early morning starts for the wildlife safaris and whale watching expedition. The pace of the tour was perfect and it provided a thorough insight into the cultural life of of the whole of Sri Lanka. We choose this tour as it was one of very few that include the north and east of the island and we are so very glad we did as tourism is very much in its infancy here, We’re sure it will soon be heaving with tourists as word spreads about its relaxed way of life and the wonderful welcome given to western tourists. We just loved Jaffna, particularly it’s hustle, bustle, hectic street life, vivid colours and the always smiling faces of the local people. Trincomalee on east coast was a revaluation with its stunning beaches and hardly a soul on them, suspect it won’t be long before tourists frequenting the popular south coast beaches catch on that there are miles of undeveloped beaches on east coast! It was lovely to see this coast before tourism really takes off here and beaches become spoiled by development. Moving on to the central highlands,Kandy and Galle and the number of tourists increased significantly but then we expected that. All hotels on tour were absolutely excellent providing high quality accommodation and food.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our first trip with Mountain Kingdoms and it has been amazing, everything from discussing the tour prior to booking, sorting out flights and other tour arrangements was done effortlessly by MK, MK staff are knowledgeable and very responsive and they make the whole process so easy. We can’t work out how MK could provide this wonderful tour for the price we paid, incredible value for money as the whole tour was top quality. We will certainly be travelled no with MK again.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 12 Mar 2018:

Yes, this itinerary came about by us doing reconnaissance work, and deciding that it was time to start taking people to the north

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 12 Mar 2018:

Brilliant, hope to see you again!!

Husky Sledding Arctic Adventure by Colin, 16 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Husky dog safari Finland

Husky dog safari, driving own dog sled with an excellent local guide between wilderness huts. Lots of customer participation in looking after dogs, fetching water and washing up etc. Saunas every evening.

Husky dog safari, driving own dog sled with an excellent local guide between wilderness huts. Lots of customer participation in looking after dogs, fetching water and washing up etc. Saunas every evening.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms were excellent, accommodating our wishes to change the published itinerary. The travel arrangements went without a hitch.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 19 Feb 2018:

Yes, I want to do this myself before too long! I did a similar thing in northern Norway a few years back and loved it. Real adventure. Steve Berry, Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 19 Feb 2018:

Glad to hear that Mr Rivett !!

Cardamom Mountains Trails by Pat, 5 Feb 2018
Holiday Rating:

Cardomom Mountain trails

An exceptional insight into the life, customs, history, wildlife and landscape of an extraordinary land and its people. We trekked into jungle and had close encounters with some of the endangered animals of Cambodia, visited markets and villages and experienced its daily life, were amazed by the buildings and art of its Ankgorian culture, moved by the memorials of its terrible recent history and was delighted by the friendliness and touched ...

An exceptional insight into the life, customs, history, wildlife and landscape of an extraordinary land and its people. We trekked into jungle and had close encounters with some of the endangered animals of Cambodia, visited markets and villages and experienced its daily life, were amazed by the buildings and art of its Ankgorian culture, moved by the memorials of its terrible recent history and was delighted by the friendliness and touched by the gratitude of the people for visiting their country.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms and their Cambodian agents, Hanuman Tourism, show exceptional concern for both their customers and the countries they visit. Their contributions to the welfare of the people of countries visited is to be highly commended.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Yes, an amazing country ....... we really ought to add more interesting programmes there

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Nov 2018:

Many thanks for your very kind comments

Mountain Kingdoms by AW, 6 Jan 2018
Holiday Rating:

Disappointed in Mountain Kingdoms

Everest Basecamp and Gokyo Lakes was the hardest thing I have ever done!!! No where does it tell you how altitude will really affect you and how you will feel when you are back home. It was such an achievement to finish such an amazing trek, my first ever in high altitude. The colour of the lakes are unbelievable. And base camp very emotional. I loved the group and the guides, I made some amazing friends.

Everest Basecamp and Gokyo Lakes was the hardest thing I have ever done!!! No where does it tell you how altitude will really affect you and how you will feel when you are back home. It was such an achievement to finish such an amazing trek, my first ever in high altitude. The colour of the lakes are unbelievable. And base camp very emotional. I loved the group and the guides, I made some amazing friends.

Rating for tour operator:

I went on the Everest Base camp and Gokyo lakes trek in 2017. The trip was sold to me face to face as a livery trekking trip where we would be well looked after by the agent and Mountain kingdoms (MK). The agent in Nepal were fantastic. The guides were very caring and knowledgeable and did anything they could to help our group of 12. The day we flew to Lukla was amazing, but on arriving at out first tea house is wasn't as expected. And day and day arriving at the next tea house dissapointed me The luxury trip I was sold turned out to be exactly the same trip that I could have got for £500 cheaper. I sent MK an email and they said that the lodges on this trip were "basic". It made me very angry that i had been lied to on various occasions. MK took no responsibility for the trip and blamed the "mistakes" on the agent. The agency were lovely and did everything they could do make the trip better for us (Himex based in Kathmandu - strongly recommend choosing them instead!). MK promised to phone us daily. We had 2 Phone called in 2 weeks. A couple were sent home due to illness and I got food poisoning. NO phone calls following any of that. I heard once after this from MK.... asking me to write a review for their website. Go with MK if you want zero personal touches, over priced trek and rude emails. Himex on the other hand were fantastic!!! Our leader MB helped me through my journey and I am enternaly greatful to him.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 08 Jan 2018:

Yes, Everest Base Camp is a hard trek, but a fantastic experience!! I took my eldest daughter there a few years back, and we both rmember it as some of the best time we have ever shared. Electric Scenery, fantastic people, great times

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 08 Jan 2018:

Dear Miss Wilmot,
I am sorry you feel this way about MK, but I am afraid I contest all that you have to say here. Yes, our agents booked the wrong tea house lodges on the first three nights. This was a mistake made by them. We had supplied them with exactly what was to be be booked and re-confirmed our intrctions. When it was clear they had messed up we sent one of our Nepalese staff up on a helicopter to sort out the problem. This they did. We then laid on many extras to try and make amenbds for their original mistake. We have already apologised, and I apologise again for the intial error. However, thereafter you must admit that the trek proceeded smoothly, and you have yourself praised the staff and service you received from our local agents. We are indeed sorry for the initial error but took all the steps we possibly could to rectify the problem.

Annapurna Sanctuary by Kentish trekkers, 29 Dec 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent out of season trek to Annapurna Base Camp by private journey

We opted for a private journey to Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) starting a few weeks after the end of the main trekking season. The paths were therefore much less busy than in peak season; the trek to ABC may be the most popular trek in Nepal due to its accessibility and the stunning closeness of the high mountains when within the beautiful Annapurna Sanctuary. The lodges and tea houses were also generally fairly quiet, making it a relaxing and ...

We opted for a private journey to Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) starting a few weeks after the end of the main trekking season. The paths were therefore much less busy than in peak season; the trek to ABC may be the most popular trek in Nepal due to its accessibility and the stunning closeness of the high mountains when within the beautiful Annapurna Sanctuary. The lodges and tea houses were also generally fairly quiet, making it a relaxing and peaceful holiday. The weather was good throughout, sunny for most of most days. We were walking in thin walking shirts from late morning onwards at lower altitudes and thermal underwear higher up. Evenings and nights were cold at this time of year but with the kit we had taken with us supplemented by that provided by the local agent, we never felt overly cold. Our guide and two porters did everything for us that we could have wished for.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms were easy to deal with when booking. They used high quality local agents and are clearly respected by the local agents as being good to deal with; this is always encouraging to know. The kit provided was exceptionally good (sleeping bags and inners, soft pillows, down jacket and hot water bottles each evening). The itinerary was excellent; we took a day longer to get to Base Camp then several other parties we encountered but preferred the less hectic pace and better opportunities to appreciative the closeness of the mountains by having more time available to us.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Jan 2018:

Glad to hear you enjoyed a great time. Many thanks for your feedback

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Jan 2018:

I am pleased you appreciated our levels of service, and hope to see you again for another adventure.