AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 76
Good 4
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 85
Reviews Accepted: 85
Reviews Rejected: 0
85 reviews
Sort by:
Mountain Kingdoms by Hikerbiker65, 4 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

On High in Bhutan

An excellent 5 day trek on the Druk Path in Bhutan. well led by a most interesting and knowledgeable local guide, our group of ten experienced a varied environment and visited many places of cultural interest. The support staff and horses did a great job in transporting our gear and having the camps and hot food ready for us every day. Hotels during the rest of the holiday exceeded expectations to give a great overall experience of a fascinating ...

An excellent 5 day trek on the Druk Path in Bhutan. well led by a most interesting and knowledgeable local guide, our group of ten experienced a varied environment and visited many places of cultural interest. The support staff and horses did a great job in transporting our gear and having the camps and hot food ready for us every day. Hotels during the rest of the holiday exceeded expectations to give a great overall experience of a fascinating country.

Rating for tour operator:

Information from and organisation by Mountain Kingdoms was first class. From both their website and brochures a great deal of information was provided. Efficient and friendly staff whenever contact was made. Highly recommended!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Nov 2014:

Brilliant!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Nov 2014:

That's what we like to hear!!

Mountain Kingdoms by MartinRolvenden, 2 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Bhutan - Lingshi Laya - Stretching trek in wonderful scenery

The trek is 14 days from Paro via Laya to Gasa. The highest pass is just over 5,000m and, while breathless at times, we managed to avoid altitude sickness. The mountains en route, including Jomolhari and Jichu Drake, are spectacular. Our guide was excellent and the arrangements generally worked well. Either side of the trek we had some cultural visits and our guide was very responsive to the group's needs. Overall an experience it would be hard ...

The trek is 14 days from Paro via Laya to Gasa. The highest pass is just over 5,000m and, while breathless at times, we managed to avoid altitude sickness. The mountains en route, including Jomolhari and Jichu Drake, are spectacular. Our guide was excellent and the arrangements generally worked well. Either side of the trek we had some cultural visits and our guide was very responsive to the group's needs. Overall an experience it would be hard to beat.

Rating for tour operator:

In Bhutan Mountain Kingdoms is tied up with Bhutan Tourism Corporation Limited. They are both very experienced and the administration and organisation were very good. The staff at MK were very helpful in talking things through on the phone beforehand and helping us to decide whether we were up to the trek.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Thanks for that, and good to meet the group in Paro

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Thanks for traveling with us.............

Mountain Kingdoms by Miss B C 14, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

In depth tour of Darjeeling and Sikkim

An all-round fantastic holiday which encompassed both off the beaten track visits as well as the better known "must sees".

An all-round fantastic holiday which encompassed both off the beaten track visits as well as the better known "must sees".

Rating for tour operator:

They used their specialist knowledge of the area to devise a superb and varied programme that made the best possible use of our time but never seemed hurried.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Good stuff!! Glad you enjoyed Sikkim

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Thanks for your comments

Grand Canyon Trek by Parks Fan, 9 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Grand Canyon Trek

Itinerary provided for the holiday did not match brochure itinerary to a sufficient extent. I understand that adventure holidays may always be subject to change but the mismatch was more fundamental than that. Trip to Supai was an unpleasant experience and unfortunate last 3 days of the holiday, contrasting very poorly with walking in the glorious National Parks. One trek Grand Canyon trek (Bright Angel Trail) and our trek in Bryce (Fairytale ...

Itinerary provided for the holiday did not match brochure itinerary to a sufficient extent. I understand that adventure holidays may always be subject to change but the mismatch was more fundamental than that. Trip to Supai was an unpleasant experience and unfortunate last 3 days of the holiday, contrasting very poorly with walking in the glorious National Parks. One trek Grand Canyon trek (Bright Angel Trail) and our trek in Bryce (Fairytale Loop) were excellent. Observation Point, via the East Mesa trail, in Zion, was also very good.

Rating for tour operator:

Not sure who you mean by the tour operator. Mountain Kingdoms (who sold the holiday) seem to be a good and efficient organisation in the UK. The deliverer of the holiday in America (Adventure Travel West) less good and clearly some communication problems between the two.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed Bright Angel Trail in the Grand Canyon, Fairytale Loop at Bryce and the East Mesa trail in Zion and indeed it was pleasing to see the other members of your group rated the tour as excellent or good. However, we were sorry to hear there were inconsistencies in the itinerary we advertised and that which you followed. In fact our Operations Manager responsible for North America is meeting our agent in London at the World Travel Market 2 days from now (4th November) to undertake a thorough review of the itinerary. We apologize for any changes to the itinerary made without our knowledge. We understand there were reasons for these changes but nevertheless it has prompted us to conduct a proper review.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

See above comments

Montenegro Lakes and Mountains by jan, 17 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

MONTENEGRO LAKES & MOUNTAINS

This was our sixth holiday with Mountain Kingdoms. It was, as usual, well planned and very enjoyable with gorgeous scenary both on the coast, bay and in the mountains. An unforgettable experience.

This was our sixth holiday with Mountain Kingdoms. It was, as usual, well planned and very enjoyable with gorgeous scenary both on the coast, bay and in the mountains. An unforgettable experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms are consistently good. Internal transport was very good. Our guide was excellent and we consider the whole holiday a success and well worth the cost.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 17 Sep 2014:

Great stuff ...... this itinerary is thanks to our General Manager, John Shillibeer who knows that country well and did all the recce work......

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 17 Sep 2014:

Excellent !!

Montenegro Lakes and Mountains by Roy, 16 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Good walking, good hotels, very busy

Walking trip to Montenegro. Scenery fantastic, lots of things seen and done. Trips on train, boat, bus, car. Saw most of country.

Walking trip to Montenegro. Scenery fantastic, lots of things seen and done. Trips on train, boat, bus, car. Saw most of country.

Rating for tour operator:

Good pre-trip information, good organisation, everything as described. Good leader with excellent support

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 16 Sep 2014:

Great! My wife loves it there too.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 16 Sep 2014:

Excellent

Mountain Kingdoms by Pete, 2 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

walker's haute route

a splendid, reasonably challenging walk with fine scenery and wildlife

a splendid, reasonably challenging walk with fine scenery and wildlife

Rating for tour operator:

well planned and documented route with good accommodation and meals

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Sep 2014:

Yes, a real classic Alpine trek

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 02 Sep 2014:

Thanks for your feedback Peter

Mountain Kingdoms by Professeurdefrancais, 31 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Ruby Wedding Anniversary to remember!

Mountain Kingdoms arranged a tailor made trip for us as we couldn't manage the dates of their group departures for Leh and the Indus valley trails. The walking was gentle/moderate and there was ample time to acclimatise to the altitude before we started. Good hotels and guide for the walks. We then had three nights on a houseboat on Dal Lake in Kashmir which was a memorable end to our trip.

Mountain Kingdoms arranged a tailor made trip for us as we couldn't manage the dates of their group departures for Leh and the Indus valley trails. The walking was gentle/moderate and there was ample time to acclimatise to the altitude before we started. Good hotels and guide for the walks. We then had three nights on a houseboat on Dal Lake in Kashmir which was a memorable end to our trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We found Mountain Kingdoms extremely helpful and efficient at every stage. It was a complicated itinerary with several internal flights because of the addition of Kashmir. All the connections, hotels and transfers worked like clockwork - we were very relieved and most impressed! They were also quite happy to make some changes that we asked for. It was our third walking trip arranged by them - and we shall certainly travel with them again.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Sep 2014:

Great to hear you had a great time.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 01 Sep 2014:

That's what we like to hear!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Windy Lindy, 11 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Adventure in Leh

A group of 7 friends travelled to Leh to trek the mountains. We're not in the first rush of youth and none of us had visited this area before. We had a tremendous time from staying in a great hotel in Leh, Leh Residency Spa, yurts and camping. It was great to understand more on Buddhism and visit the Monasteries. We felt safe at all times and everyone was exceedingly helpful.

A group of 7 friends travelled to Leh to trek the mountains. We're not in the first rush of youth and none of us had visited this area before. We had a tremendous time from staying in a great hotel in Leh, Leh Residency Spa, yurts and camping. It was great to understand more on Buddhism and visit the Monasteries. We felt safe at all times and everyone was exceedingly helpful.

Rating for tour operator:

We went with Mountain Kingdom who were excellent from the moment of booking until we returned. Great comms and itinerary out together for us. There was one hiccough when our internal flights were cancelled from Leh to Delhi due to bad weather but MK and their local partner Snow Leopard Trails dealt with this appropriately. Having an extra 2 nights in Leh instead of in the 40 degree heat in Delhi was no hardship! I would definitely use them again.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Jul 2014:

Thank you for your feedback, and glad you had a good time!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 14 Jul 2014:

Thank you and I hopw we see you again!!

Mountain Kingdoms by Koko, 17 Jun 2014
Holiday Rating:

Yangtze cruise, Great Wall hiking, Mongolia

Mountain Kingdoms planned a private trip for 6 of us. It was very detailed in that we went to the Terra Cotta Warriors, Yangtze River, hiking on the Great Wall for 5 days, touring Mongolia. It was 4 weeks. The hotels and food were outstanding. We were very pleased with the variety of the arrangements.

Mountain Kingdoms planned a private trip for 6 of us. It was very detailed in that we went to the Terra Cotta Warriors, Yangtze River, hiking on the Great Wall for 5 days, touring Mongolia. It was 4 weeks. The hotels and food were outstanding. We were very pleased with the variety of the arrangements.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms was very happy to work with us in designing a unique trip. We took two of their standard trips, modified them and added other stops. The professionalism of the UK staff and their partners in China and Mongolia is commendable.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 18 Jun 2014:

Wonderful. Love to hear of people having a great adventure! Steve Berry

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 18 Jun 2014:

Good stuff!!