AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mountain Kingdoms

Overall Company Rating
96%
Excellent 82
Good 5
Average 3
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 92
Reviews Accepted: 92
Reviews Rejected: 0
92 reviews
Sort by:
Mountain Kingdoms by Gorgeous Gussie, 5 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Southern India - Tour

Four friends on a private 17 day tour of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. The whole experience was fantastic, well designed and varied with a well-researched selection of accommodation, sightseeing, game drives and walks.

Four friends on a private 17 day tour of Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka. The whole experience was fantastic, well designed and varied with a well-researched selection of accommodation, sightseeing, game drives and walks.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms really do their homework and cater very well for their niche clientele. This is the third time I have travelled with them and cannot fault the company in any respect.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Mar 2015:

Great!! Glad to had a brilliant time. I met David at the latest Wilderness Lecture and he too said what a great time you had. Excellent!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 06 Mar 2015:

Thank you for your comments

Mountain Kingdoms by Corkie, 17 Feb 2015
Holiday Rating:

Gentle Walkng in Sri Lanka

We had an excellent holiday visiting the cultural and environmental highlights of Sri Lanka, including Yala National Park where we saw Leopards. All of the arrangements for travel, accommodation and guiding were very efficient

We had an excellent holiday visiting the cultural and environmental highlights of Sri Lanka, including Yala National Park where we saw Leopards. All of the arrangements for travel, accommodation and guiding were very efficient

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third time we have used Mountain Kingdoms and have always found them to provide a high quality product backed by efficient service

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 17 Feb 2015:

Wonderful! Lucky to see the leopards!! Glad you had a great time

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 17 Feb 2015:

That's what we strive for, and that's what we like to hear!! Many thanks for your feedback

Mountain Kingdoms by kjjma, 16 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

Walking in Bhutan.

Well organised walking and sightseeing trip to Bhutan, travelling from the less developed east to the west. Wonderful scenery and fascinating temples and other monuments.

Well organised walking and sightseeing trip to Bhutan, travelling from the less developed east to the west. Wonderful scenery and fascinating temples and other monuments.

Rating for tour operator:

Holiday was well organised and we had an excellent guide and driver. Mountain Kingdoms provided a good deal of information in advance and were always happy to answer any questions.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 17 Dec 2014:

Thanks you .......... yes, it really is a great journey

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 17 Dec 2014:

Again thank you, that's what we like to hear

Mountain Kingdoms by Dr S M 14, 6 Dec 2014
Holiday Rating:

A great trek in a superb varied itinerary in Nepal

An excellent 24-night tour of Nepal on a private itinerary with a great trek to Annapurna Base Camp and a comprehensive varied itinerary that also included time for culture and history, river rafting and wildlife, all very well organised by Mountain Kingdoms.

An excellent 24-night tour of Nepal on a private itinerary with a great trek to Annapurna Base Camp and a comprehensive varied itinerary that also included time for culture and history, river rafting and wildlife, all very well organised by Mountain Kingdoms.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms created the itinerary that we wanted and ensured that everything in their control was well organised and went to plan.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Dec 2014:

Good stuff, glad you enjoyed Nepal

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 11 Dec 2014:

Wonderful. That's what I like to hear. Hope to see you again,

Steve Berry, M.D. Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms by Dom S UK, 27 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Memorable and magical

I trekked to Everest Base Camp in Nepal with Mountain Kingdoms. The scenery was truly breathtaking and it's an absolute delight to trek through such a beautiful area. The route chosen was perfect and allowed a chance to soak up the atmosphere of the Khumbu region whilst also enjoying the scenery. Due to the altitude the trek is a real challenge, but the itinerary is planned so well and allows adequate acclimitisation to maximise the chance of ...

I trekked to Everest Base Camp in Nepal with Mountain Kingdoms. The scenery was truly breathtaking and it's an absolute delight to trek through such a beautiful area. The route chosen was perfect and allowed a chance to soak up the atmosphere of the Khumbu region whilst also enjoying the scenery. Due to the altitude the trek is a real challenge, but the itinerary is planned so well and allows adequate acclimitisation to maximise the chance of success. Overall it was such a brilliant and memorable trek that it ranks amongst the best trips I have ever made.

Rating for tour operator:

The service Mountain Kingdoms provided was simply fantastic and from start to finish they did everything they could to ensure the trip ran smoothly. The office start in the UK were knowledgeable, professional and did all they could to help. On the ground, all of the staff were excellent and their professionalism and knowledge were highly appreciated. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mountain Kingdoms to any of my friends or family.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Nov 2014:

Couldn't agree more! I did the same trip with my daughter a couple of years ago and we too had a brilliant time. Steve Berry, M.D. Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 28 Nov 2014:

Many thanks. It is always a thrill to us when we know someone has had a brilliant time.

Gentle Walking Bhutan by Bettybamalam, 25 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

SPECIAL INSIGHT INTO THE LAND OF THE DRAGON

Bhutan is one of those secret places tucked up high in the Himalayas. Who goes there? Well me for a start. I travelled in early November 2014 and took the long flight to Kathmandu. There are various ways of getting to Bhutan, either via Delhi or Kathmandu and depending on what flight you take, there can be a long transfer time. I took one of the longer options but wanted to overnight in Kathmandu both ways mainly because on the way back ...

Bhutan is one of those secret places tucked up high in the Himalayas. Who goes there? Well me for a start. I travelled in early November 2014 and took the long flight to Kathmandu. There are various ways of getting to Bhutan, either via Delhi or Kathmandu and depending on what flight you take, there can be a long transfer time. I took one of the longer options but wanted to overnight in Kathmandu both ways mainly because on the way back I would have more time to go shopping in Thamel and visit Kilroys famous bar and restaurant. Whatever option you decide, Mountain Kingdoms are very flexible. The best entry into Bhutan must be the flight from Kathmandu to Paro. I begged the check in lady at the airport to give me a window seat on the left hand side. I wasn't disappointed - the whole range of the Himalayas stood before my eyes and there above them all was Everest. Then you enter the Kingdom of Bhutan and life will never be the same. What a beautiful country steeped in its Buddhist traditions. Everyone smiles a welcome and nothing is too much trouble. I was with a select party of four. All of us good friends who have travelled together for many years. We had a guide Tashi who was marvellous and a driver who used to chauffer the Royal Family until he retired. Good job as the roads are apt to be unmade, very windy and strewn with avalanche debris. I won't give details about my holiday in Bhutan as it is waiting there for anyone to enjoy. I just want to say that Mountain Kingdoms came up trumps. This is the first time I have used them and it won't be the last.

Rating for tour operator:

Right from the beginning when this trip was just an idea, Mountain Kingdoms came up with suggested itineraries until everything came together. They have been very supportive and provided top quality staff. They have always been available to answer last minute questions. I think they are an excellent company.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Nov 2014:

Brilliant and thanks for your compliments!!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Nov 2014:

That's what I like to hear. Steve Berry, M.D. Mountain Kingdoms

Mountain Kingdoms by Canadian trekker, 24 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Another great trip - this time to Bhutan!

Signed up for East to West, A Journey across Bhutan - with Mountain Kingdoms. Every thing was excellent - itinerary, hotels, meals, transportation, staff team, service from office staff, trip dossier. I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone interested in the culture and having the experience of hiking through the countryside to visit villages and monasteries.

Signed up for East to West, A Journey across Bhutan - with Mountain Kingdoms. Every thing was excellent - itinerary, hotels, meals, transportation, staff team, service from office staff, trip dossier. I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone interested in the culture and having the experience of hiking through the countryside to visit villages and monasteries.

Rating for tour operator:

Mountain Kingdoms is a long-established tour operator - originally specializing in the Himalayan region but now offering active trips to many other regions. Their trips are good value, they promote small group travel with a maximum of twelve participants, and they pride themselves on working with and benefitting the local people. I have now registered for nine of their trips, and can highly recommend all of them.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Nov 2014:

Nice to hear this Jane - how many trips have you been with us on now I wonder?! A lot for sure. Thanks for your feedback.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 25 Nov 2014:

Ah, I see now you've been on nine trips with us Jane ......... that's great, and long may it continue!! All the best.

Mountain Kingdoms by Hikerbiker65, 4 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

On High in Bhutan

An excellent 5 day trek on the Druk Path in Bhutan. well led by a most interesting and knowledgeable local guide, our group of ten experienced a varied environment and visited many places of cultural interest. The support staff and horses did a great job in transporting our gear and having the camps and hot food ready for us every day. Hotels during the rest of the holiday exceeded expectations to give a great overall experience of a fascinating ...

An excellent 5 day trek on the Druk Path in Bhutan. well led by a most interesting and knowledgeable local guide, our group of ten experienced a varied environment and visited many places of cultural interest. The support staff and horses did a great job in transporting our gear and having the camps and hot food ready for us every day. Hotels during the rest of the holiday exceeded expectations to give a great overall experience of a fascinating country.

Rating for tour operator:

Information from and organisation by Mountain Kingdoms was first class. From both their website and brochures a great deal of information was provided. Efficient and friendly staff whenever contact was made. Highly recommended!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Nov 2014:

Brilliant!

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 04 Nov 2014:

That's what we like to hear!!

Mountain Kingdoms by MartinRolvenden, 2 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Bhutan - Lingshi Laya - Stretching trek in wonderful scenery

The trek is 14 days from Paro via Laya to Gasa. The highest pass is just over 5,000m and, while breathless at times, we managed to avoid altitude sickness. The mountains en route, including Jomolhari and Jichu Drake, are spectacular. Our guide was excellent and the arrangements generally worked well. Either side of the trek we had some cultural visits and our guide was very responsive to the group's needs. Overall an experience it would be hard ...

The trek is 14 days from Paro via Laya to Gasa. The highest pass is just over 5,000m and, while breathless at times, we managed to avoid altitude sickness. The mountains en route, including Jomolhari and Jichu Drake, are spectacular. Our guide was excellent and the arrangements generally worked well. Either side of the trek we had some cultural visits and our guide was very responsive to the group's needs. Overall an experience it would be hard to beat.

Rating for tour operator:

In Bhutan Mountain Kingdoms is tied up with Bhutan Tourism Corporation Limited. They are both very experienced and the administration and organisation were very good. The staff at MK were very helpful in talking things through on the phone beforehand and helping us to decide whether we were up to the trek.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Thanks for that, and good to meet the group in Paro

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Thanks for traveling with us.............

Mountain Kingdoms by Miss B C 14, 29 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

In depth tour of Darjeeling and Sikkim

An all-round fantastic holiday which encompassed both off the beaten track visits as well as the better known "must sees".

An all-round fantastic holiday which encompassed both off the beaten track visits as well as the better known "must sees".

Rating for tour operator:

They used their specialist knowledge of the area to devise a superb and varied programme that made the best possible use of our time but never seemed hurried.

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Good stuff!! Glad you enjoyed Sikkim

Mountain Kingdoms responded to this review on 30 Oct 2014:

Thanks for your comments