AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 773
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 795
Reviews Accepted: 795
Reviews Rejected: 0
795 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Alex, 17 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Proper relaxing holidays

Dear All Thank you soooooo much for your job. I had one of the most relaxing week of my life, not only because the area was beautifull and the peopole so cool but because your organisation is fantastic!!!! All the places were clean, people were friendly and food super good. A special note to Bridge House Cawfield B§B. THat lady was so friendly, the room just perfect and the food at her place for breakfast and on the other side at the road ...

Dear All Thank you soooooo much for your job. I had one of the most relaxing week of my life, not only because the area was beautifull and the peopole so cool but because your organisation is fantastic!!!! All the places were clean, people were friendly and food super good. A special note to Bridge House Cawfield B§B. THat lady was so friendly, the room just perfect and the food at her place for breakfast and on the other side at the road in a local pub amazing!!!

Rating for tour operator:

Well organise, friendly. THey know what they're doing.

Mickledore Travel by MoNoFamily-SWEDEN, 17 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Cleveland Way in the North York Moors National Park

Six days hiking from Osmotherly to Scarborough. Staying at B&B:s and hotels, enjoying fascinating landscapes and East Coast Cliffs.

Six days hiking from Osmotherly to Scarborough. Staying at B&B:s and hotels, enjoying fascinating landscapes and East Coast Cliffs.

Rating for tour operator:

We are very pleased with Mickledore. They have organized seven walking holidays in Scotland and England for us since 2006.

Mickledore Travel by TJ&MRC, 17 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Outstanding organisation of our West Highland Way walk made for a great holiday

Two 60-something Australian keen walkers spent 10 days on the WHW walk. Mickledore Travel was a pleasure to deal with in the planning phase and provided excellent service thereafter. Accommodation choices were spot-on, the planned walking days were easily achieved and route finding maps and information were comprehensive. We are looking forward to utilising this company's experience in further explorations of Scotland's highlands and islands,and ...

Two 60-something Australian keen walkers spent 10 days on the WHW walk. Mickledore Travel was a pleasure to deal with in the planning phase and provided excellent service thereafter. Accommodation choices were spot-on, the planned walking days were easily achieved and route finding maps and information were comprehensive. We are looking forward to utilising this company's experience in further explorations of Scotland's highlands and islands,and other options on their menu.

Rating for tour operator:

See above

Mickledore Travel by Jen, 13 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic walking holiday.

Mickledore Travel organised our 3-day walk holiday and supplied all necessary maps & instructions to make our walk perfect. The accommodation they booked was all excellent and the proprietors were very helpful & friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was organised so well. The Linnet Hill Guest House in Keswick was the best B&B we have seen. Congratulations to Mickledore Travel who were faultless in their service. Thoroughly ...

Mickledore Travel organised our 3-day walk holiday and supplied all necessary maps & instructions to make our walk perfect. The accommodation they booked was all excellent and the proprietors were very helpful & friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was organised so well. The Linnet Hill Guest House in Keswick was the best B&B we have seen. Congratulations to Mickledore Travel who were faultless in their service. Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel have to be one of the best tour operators we have experienced. The quick responses to our emails & queries, and the information they provided, made for a stress-free and enjoyable holiday.

Mickledore Travel by Tassie walker, 9 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great walk well organised by a most professional company

We walked St Cuthbert's Way from Melrose to Lindisfarne over 8 days in June using Mickledore to plan it and organise accommodation and the forwarding of luggage etc. We are a couple in our late sixties and found the walk easy to manage with no great ascents and descents involved, lots of woodland,moors, flora and fauna to enjoy, as well as the wonderful historical places passed through. Having started our trip in Dublin where we saw the luminous ...

We walked St Cuthbert's Way from Melrose to Lindisfarne over 8 days in June using Mickledore to plan it and organise accommodation and the forwarding of luggage etc. We are a couple in our late sixties and found the walk easy to manage with no great ascents and descents involved, lots of woodland,moors, flora and fauna to enjoy, as well as the wonderful historical places passed through. Having started our trip in Dublin where we saw the luminous medieval book of Kells, it was pleasing to end our time in the UK at Holy Island and see the wonderful priory where the monks resided.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used this company before and find it by far the most professional of several we have used. In particular we valued their request for honest feed back afterwards. The accommodation reflected the limited availability in one or two villages but this was compensated for by superb accommodation in others. The company were quick and efficient in responding to any questions and sorted out several travel issues for us beforehand as we live overseas. The comprehensive maps, folders, and accompanying book and information were great and arrived in plenty of time before we left our home in Tasmania, Australia. We would always use this company where possible for this sort of holiday and can't recommend them highly enough.

Mickledore Travel by Allison and Co., 5 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly planned

Mickledore have planned several walking holidays for us. Everytime the organisation and local knowledge exceeded our expectations. The choice of accomodation, the luggage transfer, the information and maps provided, everything came together like clockwork.

Mickledore have planned several walking holidays for us. Everytime the organisation and local knowledge exceeded our expectations. The choice of accomodation, the luggage transfer, the information and maps provided, everything came together like clockwork.

Rating for tour operator:

Most recently we walked the West Highland Way from Milngavie to Fort William = Mickledore organised the whole thing beautifully.

Mickledore Travel by Luke, 3 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Holiday without a hitch

We walked the Dales Way in the second half of June and enjoyed every minute of it, despite some rainy days now and then and pretty low temperatures. Our accommodation ranged from good to excellent, the same goes for the food.Luggage transport went without a hitch.

We walked the Dales Way in the second half of June and enjoyed every minute of it, despite some rainy days now and then and pretty low temperatures. Our accommodation ranged from good to excellent, the same goes for the food.Luggage transport went without a hitch.

Rating for tour operator:

It was the third time we went on a hiking tour in England organized by Mickledore and we haven't had a single complaint sofar. On the contrary,like the Cumbria Way and the South Downs Way before everything on this year's Dales Way hike went like clockwork. And there's still lots to see in this beautiful country...

Mickledore Travel by margriet from amsterdam, 2 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

it was a big treat travellling through the services of Mickledore! great accommodations, great hospitality, warm welcome!

we walked a part of Hadrian's wall and our luggage was forwarded every day to the next accommodation. our journey was 5 nights in total. every detail was taken care of. marvellous food, great support in transfers from the walking trail to the accommodation as a free service! we enjoyed every minute of it. and the walk was great! beautiful sights, useful information.

we walked a part of Hadrian's wall and our luggage was forwarded every day to the next accommodation. our journey was 5 nights in total. every detail was taken care of. marvellous food, great support in transfers from the walking trail to the accommodation as a free service! we enjoyed every minute of it. and the walk was great! beautiful sights, useful information.

Rating for tour operator:

very loving attention and care to all the details of the travel. the selection of accommodations was done with care. it felt safe and comfortable.

Mickledore Travel by Ini, 1 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Walking the Cotswold Way with Mickledore was amazing!

At the daytime walking in the beautifull hills of the Cotswolds and at night the luxurieus B & B's was good for a most fantastic hollyday!

At the daytime walking in the beautifull hills of the Cotswolds and at night the luxurieus B & B's was good for a most fantastic hollyday!

Rating for tour operator:

We booked extremly last minute, but they made it work properly.

Mickledore Travel by Bill & Sherry, 27 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Doing the coast-to-coast walk was an enjoyable and personally satisfying experience

My wife and I walked the coast-to-coast trail over a period of three weeks in the month of May 2015. We did this in 17 walking days plus two rest days - one day each in Grasmere and Richmond. Despite some inclement weather in the early part of the trip, the overall experience was terrific. As we think about the walk and relate our experiences to family and friends, we are getting a better perspective on it…a greater appreciation of all the aspects ...

My wife and I walked the coast-to-coast trail over a period of three weeks in the month of May 2015. We did this in 17 walking days plus two rest days - one day each in Grasmere and Richmond. Despite some inclement weather in the early part of the trip, the overall experience was terrific. As we think about the walk and relate our experiences to family and friends, we are getting a better perspective on it…a greater appreciation of all the aspects of the walk that have made it a personally satisfying experience – the people we met, the landscapes we saw, the helpful and welcoming hosts at our accommodations, and ultimately the satisfaction of navigating the trail and completing the walk.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel was excellent from start to finish. They made our accommodations quickly and efficiently. As we read the package of materials, Mickledore staff were available and helpful in answering our questions, which assisted us significantly in our preparations for our self-guided trip. And Mickledore staff were accessible and accommodating when we required assistance partway through the walk when my wife severely strained a ligament in her ankle. Overall, we felt Mickledore was there to support us throughout the trip.