AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Mickledore Travel

Mickledore Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Mickledore Travel

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 697
Good 22
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 719
Reviews Accepted: 719
Reviews Rejected: 0
719 reviews
Sort by:
Mickledore Travel by Crusher, 7 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Carefree walking on St Oswalds Way in Northumberland

In July of this year I walked the St.Oswald's Way in Northumberland. It was a trek of about 97 miles starting on Holy Island, down the Northumberland coast to the beautiful town of Warkworth with its fantastic castle and then turning West towards, and joining up with, the Hadrian's Wall. Having used the services of Mickledor when I walked the coast to coast in 2012 I had no hesitation in contacting them again. It was clear from the tracks and ...

In July of this year I walked the St.Oswald's Way in Northumberland. It was a trek of about 97 miles starting on Holy Island, down the Northumberland coast to the beautiful town of Warkworth with its fantastic castle and then turning West towards, and joining up with, the Hadrian's Wall. Having used the services of Mickledor when I walked the coast to coast in 2012 I had no hesitation in contacting them again. It was clear from the tracks and paths that the St Oswald's Way was not walked as often as the coast to coast which made it all the more enjoyable for me. At times the tracks were covered by vegetation and the ground could not be seen. The guidebook did its job and I only had a couple of navigational issues over the entire 97 miles. It was a fabulous walk in as much as the weather was varied, the accommodation was very good and the walking was outstanding. Unless you have walked in Northumbria, seen the rugged coastline, trekked the Northumberland moors, seen the historical ruins, the wildlife and met the people you would never experience the beauty of one of the UK's biggest counties with one of the smallest populations. I am 69 year old man and a solo walker and it was a wonderful experience for me. It was also very comforting to have the support of Mickledore and knowing that help, if I needed it, was only a phone call away. I am already thinking about what to do next year for my seventieth birthday

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore are a customer service facing company that understand the needs of their customers. I used them in 2012 when I walked the Coast to Coast Walk across England from West to East. In that journey, and the one I have just undertaken, I had some very specific needs all of which they satisfied very well. They are responsive to questions and quick to resolve any issues. Friendly voices on the telephone are rare these days but it is guaranteed when you speak to Mickledore. Not only would I use them again but I have, and will continue, to recommend them to friends and fellow walkers

Mickledore Travel by MIBAS3, 6 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic relaxing walking holidays in the South Downs from Winchester to Eastbourne

We were lucky with the weather. In 2 weeks time we just got a few drops of rain ... what do you need more to have fantastic holidays ? Beautiful landscapes all day long, good sign-posted walking paths, excellent B&B's, hospitable people, nice and interesting villages and cities, tasty dinners , etc. That's what we all experienced ! We walked an average distance of 20 km (12,5 miles) every day, but the grade was easy to moderate. Every day we ...

We were lucky with the weather. In 2 weeks time we just got a few drops of rain ... what do you need more to have fantastic holidays ? Beautiful landscapes all day long, good sign-posted walking paths, excellent B&B's, hospitable people, nice and interesting villages and cities, tasty dinners , etc. That's what we all experienced ! We walked an average distance of 20 km (12,5 miles) every day, but the grade was easy to moderate. Every day we had to overcome at least 2 steep slopes, but this was no problem, because the views on the top were spendid ! We keep also good souvenirs from historical Winchester, fairy-like Amberley, medieval Arundel, pleasant Alfriston and seaside town Eastbourne with its cosy atmosphere.

Rating for tour operator:

This was our second walking holiday we booked with Mickledore Travel. Our first booking was the Cumbria Way, and as this was a very convincing experience we didn't doubt to book now for the South Downs Way... We only can strongly recommend you to travel your walking holidays with agent MICKLEDORE TRAVEL, our experience was twice so fantastic... every detail is so well organized ! The quality of selected B&B's is very high, the information about the walking trail is complete with guide-book, map, POI's and a lot of interesting addresses, the transport of luggage never failed, the correspondence by mail is very fast and accurate, and if a problem still occurs, a solution is found immediately !

Mickledore Travel by Legovable, 6 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Well organised,

We walked the Cumbria way, and the South Downs way. Both with great pleasure and joy. Perfect B&B's and our luggage was always on time :-)

We walked the Cumbria way, and the South Downs way. Both with great pleasure and joy. Perfect B&B's and our luggage was always on time :-)

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore is always quick in ansewring my questions, and they do what they promiss to do

Mickledore Travel by GODFREY47, 6 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

St Cuthberts Way

4 DAY WALKING HOLIDAY FOLLOWING ST CUTHBERTS WAY FROM MELROSE IN SCOTLAND TO HOLY ISLAND [ LINDISFARNE] IN NORTHUMBRIA. STAYING OVERNIGHT IN B&B'S BOOKED BY MICKLEDORE AND EATING AT PLACES THEY RECOMMENDED.ALL B&B'S WERE ABOVE AVERAGE AND ONE, MILLYARD HOUSE IN WOOLER WAS EXCELLENT.WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND MILAN RESTAURANT IN WOOLER.THE DISTANCE FOR THE WALK WAS 64 MILES.

4 DAY WALKING HOLIDAY FOLLOWING ST CUTHBERTS WAY FROM MELROSE IN SCOTLAND TO HOLY ISLAND [ LINDISFARNE] IN NORTHUMBRIA. STAYING OVERNIGHT IN B&B'S BOOKED BY MICKLEDORE AND EATING AT PLACES THEY RECOMMENDED.ALL B&B'S WERE ABOVE AVERAGE AND ONE, MILLYARD HOUSE IN WOOLER WAS EXCELLENT.WOULD ALSO RECOMMEND MILAN RESTAURANT IN WOOLER.THE DISTANCE FOR THE WALK WAS 64 MILES.

Rating for tour operator:

MICKLEDORE ORGANISE WALKING HOLIDAYS IN THE UK BOTH FOR GROUPS AND SOLO WALKERS.I CHOSE THEIR BASIC PACKAGE OF PRE BOOKED ACCOMMODATION IN B&B'S BUT THEY ALSO OFFER LUGGAGE TRANSPORT AND PACKED LUNCHES AS ADD-ONS AS WELL AS FLEXIBLE ITINERARIES DEPENDING ON HOW MANY DAYS YOU WISH TO COMPLETE THE WALK.THEY PROVIDED ME WITH A VERY COMPREHENSIVE PACKAGE OF INFORMATION INCLUDING MAPS,PLACES TO EAT AND TIDE TIMES FOR HOLY ISLAND.

Mickledore Travel by Feldis, 28 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Just what we hoped for and more!

We walked the Hadrian's Wall, and thanks to Mickledore's excellent arrangements we had a wonderful carefree time.

We walked the Hadrian's Wall, and thanks to Mickledore's excellent arrangements we had a wonderful carefree time.

Rating for tour operator:

Their arrangements, choice of accommodation and the way they communicated with us while arrangeing the holiday were excellent.

Mickledore Travel by Bebob, 25 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

We walked The Dales Way with incredible organisation by Mickledore Travel.

We had a thassle free holiday walking the Dales way with Miickledore Travel. The accomodation chosen was of the highest standard and the guides and maps excellent. The communication with Mickledore was very important to us as booking from Australia we needed to be assured we were dealing with a reputable company , any fears we had were immediately met with reassurance and facts , every EMail was answered immediately and all we had to worry ...

We had a thassle free holiday walking the Dales way with Miickledore Travel. The accomodation chosen was of the highest standard and the guides and maps excellent. The communication with Mickledore was very important to us as booking from Australia we needed to be assured we were dealing with a reputable company , any fears we had were immediately met with reassurance and facts , every EMail was answered immediately and all we had to worry about was having a great time! Thank you Mickledore!

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore were efficient in every aspect , communication , organisation and excellent local knowledge .

Mickledore Travel by Arnaud, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Pre empting all my possible requests

I walked the Hadrian's Wall Path and found that parts of it were less than excuting, the organisation and facilities were inpecable

I walked the Hadrian's Wall Path and found that parts of it were less than excuting, the organisation and facilities were inpecable

Rating for tour operator:

They sent me everything I could possibly need and all B&B's were very good indded

Mickledore Travel by Mike H, 24 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

Cotswold way walk of 100 miles over 8 days. Beautiful views with excellent accomadation in B&Bs.

Cotswold way walk of 100 miles over 8 days. Beautiful views with excellent accomadation in B&Bs.

Rating for tour operator:

An extremely well organised company with excellent communications and holiday information package. I would thoroughly recommend them and will be booking with them again next year, which will be the 6th time.

Mickledore Travel by Chris, 16 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Tiring but exhilerating

Walked the Cotswold Way in June 2014 with the help of Mickledore Travel. The organisation was superb - our luggage was always waiting for us when we finished walking and all the accommodations were excellent. We were very lucky with the weather, not having to use waterproof clothing was a bonus! With hindsight we should probably have spent a longer time walking - we spent 7 days - at our age ( mid 60's) perhaps one more day would have made it ...

Walked the Cotswold Way in June 2014 with the help of Mickledore Travel. The organisation was superb - our luggage was always waiting for us when we finished walking and all the accommodations were excellent. We were very lucky with the weather, not having to use waterproof clothing was a bonus! With hindsight we should probably have spent a longer time walking - we spent 7 days - at our age ( mid 60's) perhaps one more day would have made it less tiring. Have plenty of happy memories and are already planning next year's walk. Will be in touch with Mickledore again when we've decided where to go.

Rating for tour operator:

Mickledore Travel were very professional.I did most of the planning on-line but I did have to telephone a couple of times and my queries were always answered efficiently. The pack with our itinerary etc. was very informative and contained everything we needed for our holiday. Would definitely recommend them. While we were away we didn't have to worry about anything. Our luggage was always waiting for us in the evenings and all the accommodations were excellent.

Mickledore Travel by Bazza, 29 Jun 2014
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful West Highland Way

We walked the West Highland Way with friends in late May and took the full 9 days to breathe the air and have time to enjoy the walk. The scenery was spectacular, it rained for only a day and a half, the bluebells were wonderful, and by their absence so were the midgies!

We walked the West Highland Way with friends in late May and took the full 9 days to breathe the air and have time to enjoy the walk. The scenery was spectacular, it rained for only a day and a half, the bluebells were wonderful, and by their absence so were the midgies!

Rating for tour operator:

Our accommodation was good throughout and Mickledore's organisation worked like clockwork, even down to providing bus and train timetables, which thankfully we didn't need. We had already walked the Coast to Coast over 2 years with Mickledore and they lived up to our expectations this time too. Highly recommended.