AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 899
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 914
Reviews Accepted: 913
Reviews Rejected: 1
913 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by Bobby, 24 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing Islay

3 days spent in the peaceful setting of Islay, scurrying about the island a hired fiesta & staying at a small, but excellent hotel. Holiday was brilliantly organised by McKinlay kidd, enabling me to have a very relaxing break.

3 days spent in the peaceful setting of Islay, scurrying about the island a hired fiesta & staying at a small, but excellent hotel. Holiday was brilliantly organised by McKinlay kidd, enabling me to have a very relaxing break.

Rating for tour operator:

Very helpful, not too expensive & most efficient. Is genuinely interested in giving clients an enjoyable holiday & I am happy to recommend them to everybody.

McKinlay Kidd by Mrs C, 23 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic, it was something we have never experienced before.

A fantastic holiday skilfully and thoughtfully put together by a well organised efficient company. The diversity and uniqueness of this holiday is something very special.

A fantastic holiday skilfully and thoughtfully put together by a well organised efficient company. The diversity and uniqueness of this holiday is something very special.

Rating for tour operator:

Can only reiterate above comments. The tour company was brilliant. Special thanks to Anna for sorting everything for us.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 24 Jun 2015:

We are delighted you enjoyed your exploration of the Shetland Islands. These are indeed a unique and special part of the British Isles. Thank you also for your kind appreciation of our service.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Mikey, 17 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous accommodations, worry free travel, incredible food, wonderful sights to see - what more could you ask for??

The weather tried to put a damper on the holiday but with so many options of what to do, it was a perfect holiday. Everything was thought through to make it a fabulous overall experience that I heartily recommend!

The weather tried to put a damper on the holiday but with so many options of what to do, it was a perfect holiday. Everything was thought through to make it a fabulous overall experience that I heartily recommend!

Rating for tour operator:

Even with the impending rail strike they were able to put us at ease - they thought of everything so we could sit back and enjoy the experiences.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 18 Jun 2015:

We are all delighted that you enjoyed the holiday, and very much appreciate your feedback.

McKinlay Kidd by The Roys, 14 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

McKinlay Kidd - Food Experience

Absolutely brilliant.

Absolutely brilliant.

Rating for tour operator:

Their service is outstanding - second to none.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 18 Jun 2015:

Thank you so much Ian. Its always great to hear from regular customers.

McKinlay Kidd by YellowHoods, 1 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly judged

Three weeks in the Scottish islands. Excellent itinerary, great choice of accommodation.

Three weeks in the Scottish islands. Excellent itinerary, great choice of accommodation.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd not only organised an excellent holiday for us, they were also available to instigate a contingency plan when it looked as though our Oban-Barra ferry might be cancelled. Comforting.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 08 Jun 2015:

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Wallaby, 29 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Dream Trip of a Lifetime

We enjoyed a lovely Train Tour around Scotland, including stops at Glasgow, Spean Bridge, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Pitlochry and Edinburgh. McKinley had pre-booked all of our trains, taxis or alternative transport, accomodations in fine country inns, and city B & B's.

We enjoyed a lovely Train Tour around Scotland, including stops at Glasgow, Spean Bridge, Isle of Skye, Inverness, Pitlochry and Edinburgh. McKinley had pre-booked all of our trains, taxis or alternative transport, accomodations in fine country inns, and city B & B's.

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was so easy and comfortable. We were free to relax and enjoy every minute, and there were no nasty surprises - in fact we were overwhelmed every day by what a wonderful adventure we were having. We could not be happier with the arrangements, and looked forward to every day, hoping the days wouldn't go by too fast.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 29 May 2015:

Thank you for your kind words Valerie. We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour of Scotland.

McKinlay Kidd by John Short, 27 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent, Used McKinlay Kidd for 12 years with at least one holiday per year...............always a great success

We visit the Western Isles every year for two weeks Island hopping. Colony is really a very small island and suitable for those that like to walk . Three days is long enough to explore the island and what it has to offer. Islay was our second port of call this holiday and so much to do and see easily keep you busy for several days. The distillery visit and tasting are a great experience and the views to Jura stunning. Would recommend a day trip ...

We visit the Western Isles every year for two weeks Island hopping. Colony is really a very small island and suitable for those that like to walk . Three days is long enough to explore the island and what it has to offer. Islay was our second port of call this holiday and so much to do and see easily keep you busy for several days. The distillery visit and tasting are a great experience and the views to Jura stunning. Would recommend a day trip to Jura, we spotted Otters and spent a considerable amount of time simply watching them play

Rating for tour operator:

This is the first time I have ever taken time to write a review but I feel we really must extol the virtues of McKinlay Kidd as a tour operator. For the last 12 years we have asked McKinlay Kidd to organise our annual trip to the Western Isles ( and beyond ) and every year the holiday has been simply excellent. I suppose after 12 years we could organise our own holidays on the Islands and book the ferries etc but ......and it is a big but if there is a problem with the ferry or the hotel then it can be difficult. This year for example the weather turned against us when we were on one of the smallest islands. To get to our next port of call we need to get off the island earlier etc etc..........no problem, we were not even aware of the change in weather. McKInlay Kidd rang us the day before to say they were monitoring the situation and the next morning arranged our early departure and connection to the next island we were visiting. I really recommend this tour operator as the best.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 28 May 2015:

Thank you John for your kind words.

Journey through Western Isles by Jaytee, 16 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Outer Hebrides Island Hopscotch

Staying two nights on Harris, Uist and Barra.

Staying two nights on Harris, Uist and Barra.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service by McKinlay Kidd. Well organised trip by a tour operator who really cares for the customer throughout the holiday.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 16 May 2015:

Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments. Delighted that you enjoyed your trip.

Classic Round Scotland by Train by Oh such an easy way to get around Scotland. , 7 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Seamless travel with a nice intro to the lowlands, highlands and islands.

6 of us went on this journey. I would recommend it to anyone. Travel by train was so easy, and a taxi was waiting at each location to take us to our hotel. They were even watching watching the weather for our ferry crossing to the Isle of Skye - with an alternate route if the seas were too rough.

6 of us went on this journey. I would recommend it to anyone. Travel by train was so easy, and a taxi was waiting at each location to take us to our hotel. They were even watching watching the weather for our ferry crossing to the Isle of Skye - with an alternate route if the seas were too rough.

Rating for tour operator:

WE never actually saw them. They just had everything arranged for us at each stop.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 07 May 2015:

Thank you very much for your feedback Tom. We ae delighted that your group enjoyed exploring Scotland this way.

Journey through Western Isles by Rabbie, 3 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

Exceptional Hebridean Experience

We enjoyed our journey through the Outer Hebrides immensely. The route started at Oban with a ferry to Barra and explored all the islands of the Outer Hebrides. It provided us with a comprehensive insight into the different characteristics of the islands.

We enjoyed our journey through the Outer Hebrides immensely. The route started at Oban with a ferry to Barra and explored all the islands of the Outer Hebrides. It provided us with a comprehensive insight into the different characteristics of the islands.

Rating for tour operator:

The company is to be congratulated on its thoughtfulness and the professional execution of all travel arrangements and hotel selections. We would not hesitate to use them again and recommend them to other travellers.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 04 May 2015:

Thank you very muhc for your kind comments. These are indeed very special places, each with their own character.