AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 899
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 914
Reviews Accepted: 913
Reviews Rejected: 1
913 reviews
Sort by:
McKinlay Kidd by no longer grumpy, 23 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Distillery Tour of Scotland

A brilliant itinerary, expertly delivered to a group that in other parts of the world would have been seen as small enough to warrant cancellation. I am so happy that the tour went ahead. A family atmosphere was soon created, and… wow! What a holiday. The whisky almost became incidental; I said, almost!

A brilliant itinerary, expertly delivered to a group that in other parts of the world would have been seen as small enough to warrant cancellation. I am so happy that the tour went ahead. A family atmosphere was soon created, and… wow! What a holiday. The whisky almost became incidental; I said, almost!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd put the tour together but Stravaigin (Ian Byers) made it all happen.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 14 Oct 2015:

We are delighted that the tour was such a success.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 14 Oct 2015:

Ian is our regular tour partner in these exclusive tours.

McKinlay Kidd by Tatty, 18 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Enjoyable and restful stay at a lighthouse

Three nights in a very comfortable room with wonderful food and excellent service.

Three nights in a very comfortable room with wonderful food and excellent service.

Rating for tour operator:

Mckinlay Kidd have organised several holidays for us and we see no reason to use anybody else.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 19 Sep 2015:

Your regular and loyal custom is very much appreciated. Thank you very much for your review.

Cork to Connemara by windrush, 10 Sep 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wild Atlantic Way with McKinlay Kidd

Extremely good holiday planned and booked through McKinlay Kidd. Lovely locations welcoming hosts and fantastic food. A really good opportunity to visit Ireland,s south and west coastal regions.

Extremely good holiday planned and booked through McKinlay Kidd. Lovely locations welcoming hosts and fantastic food. A really good opportunity to visit Ireland,s south and west coastal regions.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent throughout every aspect of booking planning etc at each stage

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 17 Sep 2015:

Thank you very much indeed for your comments. We are all delighted you enjoyed your exploration of the West of Ireland.

Cork to Connemara by Sandy, 29 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent visit to a lovely country.

A six venue holiday in The Republic of Ireland. Using ou own car the directions were clear and the accommodation well chosen. It gave us a superb experience in a country we had not seen before.

A six venue holiday in The Republic of Ireland. Using ou own car the directions were clear and the accommodation well chosen. It gave us a superb experience in a country we had not seen before.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and keen to tailor a holiday to our requirements. The Director Robert had visited all the venues used and offered good directions and valuable advice. All were of the highest standard.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you Sandy. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

McKinlay Kidd by MaryM, 29 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic. First time in Shetland an we'll return!

The holiday organised by McKinlay Kidd was entitled "See Shetland Differently". It is ideal for those visiting these islands for the first time. A couple of experiences were pre organised along with enough leeway and time before us to explore on our own. A perfect balance.

The holiday organised by McKinlay Kidd was entitled "See Shetland Differently". It is ideal for those visiting these islands for the first time. A couple of experiences were pre organised along with enough leeway and time before us to explore on our own. A perfect balance.

Rating for tour operator:

We found McKinlay Kidd's website first of all. This was only a couple of weeks before our actual holiday. We were drawn to them partly because they were well thought of by a couple of good newspapers. They were very swift to answer our queries. They are an excellent small tour operator with a personal feel. Highly recommended!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you for your kind words Mary.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by Scotland Experience, 28 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A visit to Glasgow and the Orkney and Shetland Islands

Our aim was to experience the culture, history and geology of these islands. The McKinley Kidd package put together by the company from email exchanges with us in Australia exceeded our expectations. We came away with a wealth of information and knowledge on the points above This company has our highest recommendation.

Our aim was to experience the culture, history and geology of these islands. The McKinley Kidd package put together by the company from email exchanges with us in Australia exceeded our expectations. We came away with a wealth of information and knowledge on the points above This company has our highest recommendation.

Rating for tour operator:

A professional, efficient company with excellent staff who dealt with our questions expeditiously. Cannot speak to highly of the service we received

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 31 Aug 2015:

Thank you very much for your kind comments. These are special islands and we are very peased to hear that you enjoyed exploring them.

McKinlay Kidd by Elizaloup, 18 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A great introduction to the beauty of Scotland

This brief trip to the West Highlands of Scotland, including Skye, was a wonderful introduction to the beauty of Scotland. The journey from Glasgow to Spean Bridge was lovely, the hotel in Spean Bridge was a joy - comfortable, in a beautiful setting, wonderful service, excellent food, lovely views, I couldn't ask for more. The trip to Mallaig on the steam train was great fun, the hotel in Ardvasar was good, attentive host, excellent food, lovely ...

This brief trip to the West Highlands of Scotland, including Skye, was a wonderful introduction to the beauty of Scotland. The journey from Glasgow to Spean Bridge was lovely, the hotel in Spean Bridge was a joy - comfortable, in a beautiful setting, wonderful service, excellent food, lovely views, I couldn't ask for more. The trip to Mallaig on the steam train was great fun, the hotel in Ardvasar was good, attentive host, excellent food, lovely young staff. What I was able to see of Skye in my one day was just gorgeous. I so wish I had had more time. Travelling by train and bus (and ferry) is perfect for a solo traveller - you see so much more when you're not driving. I just wish there were one or two more buses on Skye. Next time I'll just have to get up a bit earlier, and stay longer.

Rating for tour operator:

From my first enquiry, the staff of McKinlay Kidd were friendly, helpful, informative and patient. The hotels were excellent, all the travel arrangements worked perfectly and from the moment of booking, I felt confident and secure that the company were there to help if needed. The information pack was SO GOOD - packed full of information and reassuring answers to any questions I might have had. I have returned, sadly, to London with a determination to travel again with McKinlay Kidd as soon as I can.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 19 Aug 2015:

Many thanks indeed Mary for taking the time to place this review. The team here are all delighted that this short trip was such a success.

Giants, Saints & Titanic by Cumbrian travellers., 16 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Breathtaking North of Ireland.

Fantastically special hotels in Bushmills and Rathmullan! Wonderful centres with fabulous experiences and wonderful views everywhere we went. A guided tour of Rathlin Island proved to be a gem of a day.

Fantastically special hotels in Bushmills and Rathmullan! Wonderful centres with fabulous experiences and wonderful views everywhere we went. A guided tour of Rathlin Island proved to be a gem of a day.

Rating for tour operator:

Friendly, helpful, organised - simply a joy to deal with. Nothing too much trouble to them. Cannot rate them highly enough.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 19 Aug 2015:

Many thanks for your comments. It is great to hear that you both enjoyed your visit to the North of Ireland.

McKinlay Kidd by joe, 2 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

5 night, 4 day tour of Scotland

We found Scotland to be more beautiful than we anticipated. Everyone was friendly and kind.

We found Scotland to be more beautiful than we anticipated. Everyone was friendly and kind.

Rating for tour operator:

Our itinerary was exactly as we requested and fulfilled our desire to see as much of Scotalnd as we could in only 4 days and 5 nights. Our accommodations were unique and memorable and the scenery we drove through was spectacular. Our flight into Glasgow was cancelled by KLM ; we called Robert on a Sunday from Amsterdam and he handled notifying our car hire company and first night accommodation of our late arrival. He even called our hotel the next day to make sure we had arrived safely. Thank you!

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 15 Aug 2015:

Delighted that the delayed arrival did not affect the trip. Hope you can come back for longer one day!

McKinlay Kidd by skipjd, 19 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

McKinlay Kidd Premier Round Scotland Train Holiday

We used McKinlay Kidd for the Premier Round Scotland Train Holiday. The holiday started in Glasgow and ended in Edinburgh, with stops in Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. The overall holiday was phenomenal, from the 5 star hotels to the meals, transfers and organized day tours. Everything was top notch! I cannot say enough good things about this holiday and our experience working with McKinlay Kidd.

We used McKinlay Kidd for the Premier Round Scotland Train Holiday. The holiday started in Glasgow and ended in Edinburgh, with stops in Fort William, Isle of Skye, Inverness and Pitlochry. The overall holiday was phenomenal, from the 5 star hotels to the meals, transfers and organized day tours. Everything was top notch! I cannot say enough good things about this holiday and our experience working with McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely professional, attentive, and responsive. They made the holiday memorable.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 03 Aug 2015:

Thank you very Much John for your generous comments. Our train touring holidays are proving increasingly popular with clients from all over the world.