AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

McKinlay Kidd Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McKinlay Kidd

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 899
Good 11
Average 0
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 914
Reviews Accepted: 913
Reviews Rejected: 1
913 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Vic & Tami, 26 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

A Grand “Grand Tour of Scotland by Train”

Wonderful, Amazing, Superb, are but a few of the adjectives I would use to describe this holiday. The food (really enjoyed the haggis), the accommodations, the history, the scenery, the people... All combined, they made this holiday an unforgettable experience. Even when things went awry (partial cancellation of an excursion that was weather related and it wasn’t that big of a problem) those involved, immediately, went into action and developed ...

Wonderful, Amazing, Superb, are but a few of the adjectives I would use to describe this holiday. The food (really enjoyed the haggis), the accommodations, the history, the scenery, the people... All combined, they made this holiday an unforgettable experience. Even when things went awry (partial cancellation of an excursion that was weather related and it wasn’t that big of a problem) those involved, immediately, went into action and developed options for us to choose from. I received a same day phone call from McKinlay Kidd, within a couple of hours, to ensure everything was as it should be. Thank you! If I were to change anything it would be to add an extra day to each location. Every place we went, I did not want to leave. The accommodations and our hosts were some of the most amazing locales and people I have ever stayed at and met. Our hosts made us feel at home and supplied us with a wealth of knowledge and information. Touring by train is a brilliant concept. More people should do it. It frees one to simply sit back and enjoy the beautiful scenery as it goes by. Wonderful, Amazing, Superb… This holiday left me wanting more through McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

If you mean McKinlay Kidd as a whole as the “tour operator”, they have made a holiday experience what it should be. Something that one will always remember. I will use McKinlay Kidd, again, for future travels to locales in the United Kingdom. They went above and beyond. If you mean the personnel of McKinlay Kidd, such as Daniela Rapani, Dora Lilla Crerand-Homanyi, Jeanette Ito and the other ladies and gentlemen that assisted me in developing our holiday itinerary I say thank you very much. They made it very personal to me and made me feel like I was the most important person that they were assisting. It matters. You are the best.

Explore Scotland by Train by CJK, 26 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Explore Scotland by Train

We had a 24 day holiday exploring Scotland by rail. All of the accommodations and train travel were arranged by McKinlay Kidd. Most days were on our own but our tour operator arranged several amazing guided tours and excursions for us.

We had a 24 day holiday exploring Scotland by rail. All of the accommodations and train travel were arranged by McKinlay Kidd. Most days were on our own but our tour operator arranged several amazing guided tours and excursions for us.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd was easy to work with. They are VERY accessible and attentive. We could not be more pleased.

Orkney & Shetland Self-drive by The Farrows, 26 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised self-drive holiday

The Shetland & Orkney Self-Drive Holiday was excellent. The Information & Itinerary support through my tablet ensured we were able to make the most of our visit to the Islands. We were blessed by really good weather bar one rainy day. We aim to return to the Islands again !

The Shetland & Orkney Self-Drive Holiday was excellent. The Information & Itinerary support through my tablet ensured we were able to make the most of our visit to the Islands. We were blessed by really good weather bar one rainy day. We aim to return to the Islands again !

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd are clearly a tour operator who provide excellent service and support. Certainly, we would not hesitate to use them in the future.

Explore Scotland by Train by atxdave, 22 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Flawless tour of Scotland

Rail tour of Scotland.

Rail tour of Scotland.

Rating for tour operator:

Mckinlay Kidd had everything well planned and it was easily executed. Hotels, trains, car service, all were excellent.

Outer Hebrides Fly-drive by Irene, 21 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

McKinlay Kidd can be counted on to take care of all of the details for you

McKinlay Kidd makes all of the arrangements, including beautiful lodgings, and ensures the trip occurs without a hitch. We flew into Barra, and then drove a rental car up through the Outer Hebrides using car ferries pre-booked by McKinlay Kidd, before flying back to Glasgow from Stornaway.

McKinlay Kidd makes all of the arrangements, including beautiful lodgings, and ensures the trip occurs without a hitch. We flew into Barra, and then drove a rental car up through the Outer Hebrides using car ferries pre-booked by McKinlay Kidd, before flying back to Glasgow from Stornaway.

Rating for tour operator:

We were so pleased with our last McKinlay Kidd holiday to the western isles and highlands of Scotland, that we immediately turned to them for help planning our trip to the Outer Hebrides this year. McKinlay Kidd excels in finding comfortable and well-situated lodgings and in accounting for all of the details needed to ensure a smooth and hassle-free trip.

McKinlay Kidd by Marcrom, 21 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful West of Ireland self drive break

Five days of sunshine in Donegal and Connemara, staying in small but excellent accommodation. We had two days in the bright and colourful town of Westport, with delicious food in small boutique restaurants, and dining al fresco overlooking Lough Inagh. So relaxing.

Five days of sunshine in Donegal and Connemara, staying in small but excellent accommodation. We had two days in the bright and colourful town of Westport, with delicious food in small boutique restaurants, and dining al fresco overlooking Lough Inagh. So relaxing.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd were very helpful, organising ideal places to stay at short notice.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Vic, 21 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland By Train

An amazing journey, by train, starting in Glasgow and traveling north along the western side of Scotland up into the Highlands stopping for 1-2 days at various locations. Proceeding east along the Highlands then down the eastern side of Scotland to the capital city of Edinburgh. Again stopping at various locations along the way

An amazing journey, by train, starting in Glasgow and traveling north along the western side of Scotland up into the Highlands stopping for 1-2 days at various locations. Proceeding east along the Highlands then down the eastern side of Scotland to the capital city of Edinburgh. Again stopping at various locations along the way

Rating for tour operator:

From the start to the finish of our journey, Mckinlay Kidd was there. They monitored our progress and were immediately there if there were any disruption, which were next to non existent. They made all arrangements for our tour to include pre and post tour stays.

McKinlay Kidd by Sherrie, 19 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Classic England by Train

On our own, we stayed in Edinburgh, then started the tour by going down to York on the train. We next went to Hadrian's Wall, the Lake District and Chester. We had the trip customized to go to Oxford at that point, where our tour ended after a train trip on to Windsor, which we explored on our own.

On our own, we stayed in Edinburgh, then started the tour by going down to York on the train. We next went to Hadrian's Wall, the Lake District and Chester. We had the trip customized to go to Oxford at that point, where our tour ended after a train trip on to Windsor, which we explored on our own.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd is very easy to work with - professional, flexible and knowledgeable. They take all the usual hassles of independent travel away so we can focus on enjoying ourselves. The best of all possible worlds.

Guided North Highlands & Orkney by DiandDon, 19 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

A great time on the McKinlay Kidd North Highlands and Orkney Guided rail Tour

Six days with excellent accommodation, great food, interesting things to see and learn about with an excellent tour guide.

Six days with excellent accommodation, great food, interesting things to see and learn about with an excellent tour guide.

Rating for tour operator:

Well developed programs with excellent documentation and communication,

Northumberland – Dark Skies by COTSWOLD LASS, 18 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

The wide skies of Northumberland

We had a wonderful time on our trip to Northumberland in September, arranged for us by McKinlay Kidd. The accommodation was very suitable, in Wark and Belford, and the trips were really well chosen and thoroughly enjoyable. We saw the night sky through a large telescope with an enthusiastic astronomer at Battlesteads; we walked Hadrian's Wall for the day with a fantastic Celtic guide; and we loved our trip around the Farne Islands where we were ...

We had a wonderful time on our trip to Northumberland in September, arranged for us by McKinlay Kidd. The accommodation was very suitable, in Wark and Belford, and the trips were really well chosen and thoroughly enjoyable. We saw the night sky through a large telescope with an enthusiastic astronomer at Battlesteads; we walked Hadrian's Wall for the day with a fantastic Celtic guide; and we loved our trip around the Farne Islands where we were privileged to see many grey seals and a variety of seabirds up close.

Rating for tour operator:

The trip was extremely well put together for Northumberland novices.