AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McCabe Pilgrimages

McCabe Pilgrimages Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McCabe Pilgrimages

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 952
Good 84
Average 10
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 1050
Reviews Accepted: 1049
Reviews Rejected: 1
1049 reviews
Sort by:
McCabe Pilgrimages by Mrs A I 13, 25 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

The seven churches of Revelation and more

A very good trip on he whole. Excellent guide, good hotels on the main. We were lucky to be transferred from a reportedly bad hotel in Ephasus which gave us 3 nights with wonderful set meals and great rooms. I was tiring of the buffets in other hotels. Some distance travelled were too long and we had one very late arrival at our hotel. As an adopted New Zealander, I was very touched to have the opportunity to go to Gallipoli.

A very good trip on he whole. Excellent guide, good hotels on the main. We were lucky to be transferred from a reportedly bad hotel in Ephasus which gave us 3 nights with wonderful set meals and great rooms. I was tiring of the buffets in other hotels. Some distance travelled were too long and we had one very late arrival at our hotel. As an adopted New Zealander, I was very touched to have the opportunity to go to Gallipoli.

Rating for tour operator:

preempting a potential bad experience with our last booked hotel, by transferring us was very much appreciated.

McCabe Pilgrimages by WJG, 25 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent tour of the Holy Land

8 day pilgrimage with McCabe travel. We stayed at the Golden Walls Hotel in Jerusalem and the Ron Beach hotel in Tiberius. Saw so much in a short period of time. An excellent experience efficiently organised by McCabe travel.

8 day pilgrimage with McCabe travel. We stayed at the Golden Walls Hotel in Jerusalem and the Ron Beach hotel in Tiberius. Saw so much in a short period of time. An excellent experience efficiently organised by McCabe travel.

Rating for tour operator:

A first class organiser of pilgrimages to the Holy Land and other destinations such as Nepal

McCabe Pilgrimages by Macanmac, 25 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Very well arranged and recovered from fog disruption of outward flight extremely well. Guide and bus driver were both excellent.

Very well arranged and recovered from fog disruption of outward flight extremely well. Guide and bus driver were both excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe Pilgrimages proved to be extremely professional and I would definitely use them again.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Craggieannie, 25 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Disappointing

Advertised as a 9 day holiday to the Holy Land but in fact was only 7 days as the other 2 days were travelling days and because our flight was delayed then we only had 6 full days. We were delayed In Aberdeen airport due to fog at Heathrow and BA assured us that the connection to Tel Aviv would be held for us as there were 40 of us travelling together, but the Flight left anyway. We therefore spent the next 11hours in Heathrow airport negotiating ...

Advertised as a 9 day holiday to the Holy Land but in fact was only 7 days as the other 2 days were travelling days and because our flight was delayed then we only had 6 full days. We were delayed In Aberdeen airport due to fog at Heathrow and BA assured us that the connection to Tel Aviv would be held for us as there were 40 of us travelling together, but the Flight left anyway. We therefore spent the next 11hours in Heathrow airport negotiating with the BA staff to try and get to Israel. Eventually we were put on a flight to Amman In Jordan and arrived in Israel at 1.30 the day after we were due to arrive. This meant that we missed out on a full day of our trip. We also missed out on a nights sleep in the hotel and were totally exhausted on arrival. Also several of our party lost luggage at this time. On arrival at the Legacy hotel in Jerusalem we were allocated a tiny dirty room which we immediately complained about, just to be told that the hotel was full despite there being very few people in the restaurant at meal times. This was disappointing as some of our party had refurbished room which were of a much higher standard despite the fact that we had all paid the same money, but those of us in the inferior rooms were left there. We continued to complain the next day to the manager and we were then offered a better room but still not of the standard that you would expect from a 4/5 star, I would say 3 star at the most. The food at the Legacy Hotel was average but often hot food was just barely warm. When we went to Ron Beach Hotel in Tiberius the holiday improved greatly. This hotel was of a much higher standard and the food was varied and well cooked. Sahid our guide was excellent and had a great knowledge of the country its cultures and history. As evangelical Christians I felt that the trip included visits to many catholic chapels and personally I would have preferred to see some of the actual countryside where Christ lived and carried out his ministry. I think this is why I personally enjoyed The Sea Of Gallilee and the surrounding areas.

Rating for tour operator:

I felt that communication by McCabe could have been much better, and perhaps they could have mediated on our behalf with BA to ensure that we had a less stressful trip

McCabe Pilgrimages by Miss s w 13, 25 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

An uplifting,friendly, enjoyable experience

The Road to Santiago was an informative and very enjoyable experience and would highly recommend it.

The Road to Santiago was an informative and very enjoyable experience and would highly recommend it.

Rating for tour operator:

Emma was an attractive and enthusiastic Spanish lady with excellent English and a sense of humour. A delight to be with

McCabe Pilgrimages by Oxted pilgrim, 23 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Excellent apart from the hotel accommodation which was variable

the overall pilgrimage experience was excellent but I think we judge Turkish hotels somewhat harshly, used as we are to higher Western standards. I imagine that the ones chosen by McCabe for the tour may have been the best available in the different areas in which we stayed. They do seem to lack decent management - the Bitlis hotel was a particular nightmare as others will no doubt have indicated. It was a shame that initial impressions were ...

the overall pilgrimage experience was excellent but I think we judge Turkish hotels somewhat harshly, used as we are to higher Western standards. I imagine that the ones chosen by McCabe for the tour may have been the best available in the different areas in which we stayed. They do seem to lack decent management - the Bitlis hotel was a particular nightmare as others will no doubt have indicated. It was a shame that initial impressions were so poor as it was in a lovely location and the rooms were actually good with great views, on the lake side. The lads in charge at the hotel were doing their best. I felt sorry for them!

Rating for tour operator:

This is the second pilgrimage I have taken through McCabe. i have no hesitation in recommending them as an efficient tour operator for this type of package.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Wilhelmina, 21 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Turkey Experience in the Foot Steps of Saint Paul

I had never been to Turkey before, and now know what a beautiful country it is. I was favourably impressed by the general friendliness of people and service, never mind the wealth of interest in terms of culture, history, and archeology.

I had never been to Turkey before, and now know what a beautiful country it is. I was favourably impressed by the general friendliness of people and service, never mind the wealth of interest in terms of culture, history, and archeology.

Rating for tour operator:

Having travelled with McCabe once before in 2000, I had no hesitation in booking for this pilgrimage to the churches of Saint Paul in Turkey. The organisation was smooth and reliable. Great attention to detail. Outstanding guide.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Madge, 20 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

A very interesting experience.

It was a pilgrimage mainly in the steps of St Paul though we were grateful for the time in Istanbul and the Gallipoli Peninsula. We visited many places and learned a lot. Sometimes a little too much information especially later in the day when we were exhausted. One less place to visit per day would have been better and thus arriving back at the hotel with time to relax before dinner. The cruise on the Bosphorus and the time spent by the pool ...

It was a pilgrimage mainly in the steps of St Paul though we were grateful for the time in Istanbul and the Gallipoli Peninsula. We visited many places and learned a lot. Sometimes a little too much information especially later in the day when we were exhausted. One less place to visit per day would have been better and thus arriving back at the hotel with time to relax before dinner. The cruise on the Bosphorus and the time spent by the pool swimming and relaxing on Sunday from 3 pm were very welcome breaks. Overall, with the exception of the above comments, the experience was very good and well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe was very good . Booking and pre-tour information was first class. Flights were good. Our guides were very informative and helpful. With the exception of one hotel the others were all very good. Macabre very quickly arranged a last minute change of hotel for our last 3 nights as was necessary..

McCabe Pilgrimages by pilgrim, 20 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

McCabe Pilgrimages review

McCabe are consistently excellent. We have travelled with them many times before, and hold them in very high regard.

McCabe are consistently excellent. We have travelled with them many times before, and hold them in very high regard.

McCabe Pilgrimages by SteveH, 20 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Well organised throughout

McCabe didn't dissappoint and proved to be well capable or organising a complex tour in what is a bust tourist area. A good choice of sites to visit backed up by a sensible choice of hotels in the right locations.

McCabe didn't dissappoint and proved to be well capable or organising a complex tour in what is a bust tourist area. A good choice of sites to visit backed up by a sensible choice of hotels in the right locations.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe didn't dissappoint and proved to be well capable or organising a complex tour in what is a bust tourist area. A good choice of sites to visit backed up by a sensible choice of hotels in the right locations.