AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McCabe Pilgrimages

McCabe Pilgrimages Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McCabe Pilgrimages

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 973
Good 89
Average 10
Poor 5
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 1077
Reviews Accepted: 1076
Reviews Rejected: 1
1076 reviews
Sort by:
McCabe Pilgrimages by Mrs R M 19, 11 Sep 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well led, well organised.

Coach tours mostly with some walking.

Coach tours mostly with some walking.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe, easy to book.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Australian in Bath, 13 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

History, religion, architecture and scenery

It was essentially a 3 1/2 day tour of Northumbria, focusing on its religious history of around the 7th century. So we saw Durham, Hexham, Lindisfarne and Whitby in particular, fleshed out by other sites. The relaxed style of the guides, who were deeply knowledgeable about and who obviously loved the sites was infectious. The accommodation was standard student accommodation: somewhat rundown but in a fabulous location and cheap.

It was essentially a 3 1/2 day tour of Northumbria, focusing on its religious history of around the 7th century. So we saw Durham, Hexham, Lindisfarne and Whitby in particular, fleshed out by other sites. The relaxed style of the guides, who were deeply knowledgeable about and who obviously loved the sites was infectious. The accommodation was standard student accommodation: somewhat rundown but in a fabulous location and cheap.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe is excellently established and top qualiy.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Norma aged 41, 11 Aug 2019
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful trip to Israel

We enjoyed staying in Jerusalem at the excellent Golden Walls hotel. It was clean and comfortable with delicious food. The tours round the city and to local places like Bethlehem were fantastic. My personal highlight was a visit to the Garden Tomb. The day spent at Qumran and Masada was also a great memory. It was brilliant to visit Galilee and see where the Lord preached and lived. The reconstruction of a village to represent 1st century Nazareth ...

We enjoyed staying in Jerusalem at the excellent Golden Walls hotel. It was clean and comfortable with delicious food. The tours round the city and to local places like Bethlehem were fantastic. My personal highlight was a visit to the Garden Tomb. The day spent at Qumran and Masada was also a great memory. It was brilliant to visit Galilee and see where the Lord preached and lived. The reconstruction of a village to represent 1st century Nazareth was particularly special. The boat trip on the lake added to the holiday immensely.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabes is a very well organised tour operator. The guide they provided was excellent. The whole trip ran smoothly. I would travel with McCabes again.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Alan from Oz, 25 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very well managed walk along 100kms of the Camino, with excellent guide and care for minor illnesses en route.

The tour leader was knowledgeable and friendly, as was the local guide. The choice of hotels was good and the extent of the walk each day well chosen, even to the ability to adjust this to cope with the unexpectedly high temperatures. We wewr given an option to add a trip to Finistere which was worthwhile. The group melded together well and the targets we were wncouraged to set ourselves were generally met.

The tour leader was knowledgeable and friendly, as was the local guide. The choice of hotels was good and the extent of the walk each day well chosen, even to the ability to adjust this to cope with the unexpectedly high temperatures. We wewr given an option to add a trip to Finistere which was worthwhile. The group melded together well and the targets we were wncouraged to set ourselves were generally met.

Rating for tour operator:

Booking was easy, efficient and able to be adapted to personal circumstances. hotels were of a very good standard (food generally excellent), lunch stops well managed, airline good and pre-travel information also very good.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Hatfieldheathwalker, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very worthwhile experience

Walking holiday following the Way of St. James for 70 miles from Sarria to Santiago de Compostela and on to Cape Finisterre.

Walking holiday following the Way of St. James for 70 miles from Sarria to Santiago de Compostela and on to Cape Finisterre.

Rating for tour operator:

I have known about McCabe Pilgrimages for some time but this was my first opportunity to experience them. Excellent operator and I would certainly recommend them to others.

McCabe Pilgrimages by teacup, 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Definately an experience

Would have liked to have had more time to enjoy

Would have liked to have had more time to enjoy

Rating for tour operator:

Macabe were very supportive

McCabe Pilgrimages by Carole, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Iona

Very well-led trip. We were looked after extremely well. The Iona experience was all I wanted it to be and more.

Very well-led trip. We were looked after extremely well. The Iona experience was all I wanted it to be and more.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe Travel. An independent Pilgrimage company.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Fit at 59, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A rewarding experience with like minded pilgrims

A good challenging first walking holiday with time to spend with like minded individuals.

A good challenging first walking holiday with time to spend with like minded individuals.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third Pilgrimage we have done with McCabe and we enjoyed it very much.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Chopper Dave, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Profound Experience

I thought I was going on a walking holiday but this was much more - a profound pilgrimage.

I thought I was going on a walking holiday but this was much more - a profound pilgrimage.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised, excellent guides

McCabe Pilgrimages by revkev, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Iona Pilgrimage

Wonderful 5 night break highlighted by our day on Iona

Wonderful 5 night break highlighted by our day on Iona

Rating for tour operator:

Professional personal service