AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McCabe Pilgrimages

McCabe Pilgrimages Traveller Reviews

Reviews of McCabe Pilgrimages

Overall Company Rating
98%
Excellent 956
Good 84
Average 10
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 1054
Reviews Accepted: 1053
Reviews Rejected: 1
1053 reviews
Sort by:
McCabe Pilgrimages by Alan from Oz, 25 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very well managed walk along 100kms of the Camino, with excellent guide and care for minor illnesses en route.

The tour leader was knowledgeable and friendly, as was the local guide. The choice of hotels was good and the extent of the walk each day well chosen, even to the ability to adjust this to cope with the unexpectedly high temperatures. We wewr given an option to add a trip to Finistere which was worthwhile. The group melded together well and the targets we were wncouraged to set ourselves were generally met.

The tour leader was knowledgeable and friendly, as was the local guide. The choice of hotels was good and the extent of the walk each day well chosen, even to the ability to adjust this to cope with the unexpectedly high temperatures. We wewr given an option to add a trip to Finistere which was worthwhile. The group melded together well and the targets we were wncouraged to set ourselves were generally met.

Rating for tour operator:

Booking was easy, efficient and able to be adapted to personal circumstances. hotels were of a very good standard (food generally excellent), lunch stops well managed, airline good and pre-travel information also very good.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Hatfieldheathwalker, 24 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A very worthwhile experience

Walking holiday following the Way of St. James for 70 miles from Sarria to Santiago de Compostela and on to Cape Finisterre.

Walking holiday following the Way of St. James for 70 miles from Sarria to Santiago de Compostela and on to Cape Finisterre.

Rating for tour operator:

I have known about McCabe Pilgrimages for some time but this was my first opportunity to experience them. Excellent operator and I would certainly recommend them to others.

McCabe Pilgrimages by teacup, 23 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Definately an experience

Would have liked to have had more time to enjoy

Would have liked to have had more time to enjoy

Rating for tour operator:

Macabe were very supportive

McCabe Pilgrimages by Carole, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Pilgrimage to Iona

Very well-led trip. We were looked after extremely well. The Iona experience was all I wanted it to be and more.

Very well-led trip. We were looked after extremely well. The Iona experience was all I wanted it to be and more.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe Travel. An independent Pilgrimage company.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Fit at 59, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A rewarding experience with like minded pilgrims

A good challenging first walking holiday with time to spend with like minded individuals.

A good challenging first walking holiday with time to spend with like minded individuals.

Rating for tour operator:

This is the third Pilgrimage we have done with McCabe and we enjoyed it very much.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Chopper Dave, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Profound Experience

I thought I was going on a walking holiday but this was much more - a profound pilgrimage.

I thought I was going on a walking holiday but this was much more - a profound pilgrimage.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organised, excellent guides

McCabe Pilgrimages by revkev, 15 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Iona Pilgrimage

Wonderful 5 night break highlighted by our day on Iona

Wonderful 5 night break highlighted by our day on Iona

Rating for tour operator:

Professional personal service

McCabe Pilgrimages by Bill, 11 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

A truly enriching experience

My son and I joined the Walking the Way to Santiago pilgrimage organised by McCabe Pilgrimages. We were part of a mixed group of 24 walking 14-18 miles per day over five days between Sarria and Santiago de Compostela, Spain. In total, we walked 70 miles or 114Km staying at different hotels along the way. Our pilgrimage was well organised with excellent accommodation and food throughout. Overall, we enjoyed a very enriching experience and I have ...

My son and I joined the Walking the Way to Santiago pilgrimage organised by McCabe Pilgrimages. We were part of a mixed group of 24 walking 14-18 miles per day over five days between Sarria and Santiago de Compostela, Spain. In total, we walked 70 miles or 114Km staying at different hotels along the way. Our pilgrimage was well organised with excellent accommodation and food throughout. Overall, we enjoyed a very enriching experience and I have no hesitation in recommending McCabe Pilgrimages.

Rating for tour operator:

The level of organisation and caring support provided by McCabe Pilgrimages and especially by our leader, local guide and the representative from the tour operator, were excellent.

McCabe Pilgrimages by SWTraveller, 8 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Well planned walking pilgrimage with excellent support.

A well organised walking holiday with clean comfortable hotels. A varied group of 25 Pilgrims the vast majority of whom had not met before but who quickly bonded and mixed well, maybe because of our shared Christian faith. Our excellent local guide ensured we knew where we were going to be stopping together for our next break and worked hard as a sheepdog to keep people walking at different speeds in contact. The holiday was towards the end ...

A well organised walking holiday with clean comfortable hotels. A varied group of 25 Pilgrims the vast majority of whom had not met before but who quickly bonded and mixed well, maybe because of our shared Christian faith. Our excellent local guide ensured we knew where we were going to be stopping together for our next break and worked hard as a sheepdog to keep people walking at different speeds in contact. The holiday was towards the end of June when days were long and less rainfall expected as was the case. Temperatures were ideal for walking, pleasantly warm at most. Being a popular route the pilgrimage meant we walked amongst many other multi-national walkers. Some had walked 15-20 miles daily for two to three weeks, others like us were walking the last 60 odd miles sufficient to earn ourselves the Certificate based on our individual collection of stamps on our passports from cafes, stalls and churches along the way. There were bright common wildflowers and many forested sections of the path which was well signed with the unique yellow arrows or scallop shells or concrete pillars indicating the decreasing number of Kilometres as Santiago became closer. The satisfaction of walking into Santiago was huge even if it meant having to hear traffic and noise again after the quieter countryside. Arrangement had been made for our suitcases to be transported each day hotel to hotel. All in all a well put together package.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe Pilgrimages are a holiday company specialising in pilgrimage based holidays particularly to the Holy Land. They select quality accommodation and provide knowledgeable local guides as well as accompanying leaders on their trips.

McCabe Pilgrimages by Jonny Libby, 4 Jul 2019
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic trip on the Camino with McCabe's

First time walking the Camino was an experience I will never forget. McCabe's are second to none in the arrangements they made for this trip.

First time walking the Camino was an experience I will never forget. McCabe's are second to none in the arrangements they made for this trip.

Rating for tour operator:

McCabe's are the 'go-to' operator for a trip like this. From the ease of the booking process to the care of those of us whilst on trip they excel in every aspect.

Reviewer's images: