AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Ffestiniog Travel

Ffestiniog Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Ffestiniog Travel

Overall Company Rating
97%
Excellent 377
Good 42
Average 10
Poor 2
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 431
Reviews Accepted: 431
Reviews Rejected: 0
431 reviews
Sort by:
Ffestiniog Travel by JoHen, 24 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Lifetime memories

The holiday was very well organised. Everything ran to plan, thanks to Ray Smith , our tour leader. We saw everything in the itinerary and a lot more. We feel we gained a real insight into life in India by travelling by train. The Darjeeling Hill Railway was outstanding and exciting. Hotels were well chosen; comfortable with good food and service.

The holiday was very well organised. Everything ran to plan, thanks to Ray Smith , our tour leader. We saw everything in the itinerary and a lot more. We feel we gained a real insight into life in India by travelling by train. The Darjeeling Hill Railway was outstanding and exciting. Hotels were well chosen; comfortable with good food and service.

Rating for tour operator:

The service we received from Ffestiniog Travel couldn't be bettered, from time of booking through to arriving home with memories to last a lifetime. Prior to our tour, General Manager, Maria Cook and her team were excellent, making sure that all our questions were answered in a friendly manner. Paperwork was detailed and accurate and their links to the Indian visa application simplified that process. On the holiday, our tour guide, Ray Smith, made sure everything ran smoothly, no mean feat when travelling in India. He was well organised and always on hand when needed. Polite and good humoured, it was a pleasure travelling with him. The local guides were all good and informative. We wouldn't hesitate to book further holidays with Ffestiniog Travel.

Ffestiniog Travel by Railway girl, 23 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Indian Hill Railways and some of the major sites of India

A non santised trip to northern and southern India, focusing on the 3 Indian Hill Railways and cross country Indian rail travel, taking in the Golden temple at Amritsar and The Taj Mahal. Highlights were the chartered rail journeys, particularly under steam. The trip exposed us to the sights, sounds and smells (some not so pleasant) of the real India, mostly to be found outside and on the platforms of the railway stations.

A non santised trip to northern and southern India, focusing on the 3 Indian Hill Railways and cross country Indian rail travel, taking in the Golden temple at Amritsar and The Taj Mahal. Highlights were the chartered rail journeys, particularly under steam. The trip exposed us to the sights, sounds and smells (some not so pleasant) of the real India, mostly to be found outside and on the platforms of the railway stations.

Rating for tour operator:

FFestiniog travel provided a very well organised and executed tour which was as described in the brouchure and tour information. This was a trip for people with an interest or passion in railways and in particular steam locomatives, though there was plenty of interest for those not so zealous as others.

Ffestiniog Travel by Hymalian Rail Traveller, 23 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Indian Hills Tour 2017

Well organised and well supported by the accompanying tour guide, with the able assistance of local tour guides

Well organised and well supported by the accompanying tour guide, with the able assistance of local tour guides

Rating for tour operator:

Tour operated in a professional way ensuring every customer was valued and the holiday ran smoothly, nothing was too much trouble.

Ffestiniog Travel by Richard, 8 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Brilliant

This was a carefully devised and administered holiday. Everything was attended to and the various needs of the group were accommodated.

This was a carefully devised and administered holiday. Everything was attended to and the various needs of the group were accommodated.

Rating for tour operator:

I understand that the operator has specialised in rail based holidays for over 40 years and has many returning customers.

Ffestiniog Travel by BYCHAN, 6 Mar 2017
Holiday Rating:

Excellent arangements and superb country especially the railways

Outward and return travel was all on time,the hotels were short distances from station,breakfasts were good and weather superb, mostly blue skies and sunshine.

Outward and return travel was all on time,the hotels were short distances from station,breakfasts were good and weather superb, mostly blue skies and sunshine.

Rating for tour operator:

Small company that pays attention to detail.

Ffestiniog Travel by Skier, 22 Feb 2017
Holiday Rating:

Europe scenery at its best

We took a train trip from Kings cross to Kufstein via Belguim and onto Munich and returned via Munich and Paris. We enjoyed the train trip as much as our ski-ing holiday.

We took a train trip from Kings cross to Kufstein via Belguim and onto Munich and returned via Munich and Paris. We enjoyed the train trip as much as our ski-ing holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

We gave our tour operator our wishlist and she was able to meet our requests. Fantastic!

Ffestiniog Travel by DFS, 20 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Christmas & New Year in Switzerland

A very enjoyable two centre holiday visiting Switzerland over the Christmas and New Year period. The holiday provided a broad mixture of optional escorted excursions and opportunities for independent days out using the Swiss Travel Pass. The tour party was a welcome mixture of regular travelling companions and new faces. All told an enjoyable way of having a relaxed Christmas and New Year break!

A very enjoyable two centre holiday visiting Switzerland over the Christmas and New Year period. The holiday provided a broad mixture of optional escorted excursions and opportunities for independent days out using the Swiss Travel Pass. The tour party was a welcome mixture of regular travelling companions and new faces. All told an enjoyable way of having a relaxed Christmas and New Year break!

Rating for tour operator:

An experienced, knowledgeable operator that makes a speciality of catering for not just those who want an fully organised "off the shelf tour" but also those who want to add their own variations.

Ffestiniog Travel by Ruth and Dick, 18 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic holiday in Switzerland!

Our "Christmas and New Year in Switzerland" holiday with Ffestiniog Travel was excellent. With our First Class Swiss rail pass supplied as part of the holiday, we had the freedom to go just about anywhere we wanted to in Switzerland - or join the daily organised excursion instead. The hotels were all excellent, and the Tour Leader was also excellent, and very able and knowledgeable! Recommended!

Our "Christmas and New Year in Switzerland" holiday with Ffestiniog Travel was excellent. With our First Class Swiss rail pass supplied as part of the holiday, we had the freedom to go just about anywhere we wanted to in Switzerland - or join the daily organised excursion instead. The hotels were all excellent, and the Tour Leader was also excellent, and very able and knowledgeable! Recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

Everything was well-organised, both before and during the holiday. Great staff to deal with.

Ffestiniog Travel by Notarailgeek, 11 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

A curate's egg - good in parts.

Information supplied up front did not really describe the whole holiday. Meal arrangements left fomenting to be desired (too many buffets in cramped conditions). Food was okay - just the way it was presented. Main hotel quality was not up to expected standards due to the en-suite facilities. Too much travelling on the train and not enough using the train to visit places.

Information supplied up front did not really describe the whole holiday. Meal arrangements left fomenting to be desired (too many buffets in cramped conditions). Food was okay - just the way it was presented. Main hotel quality was not up to expected standards due to the en-suite facilities. Too much travelling on the train and not enough using the train to visit places.

Rating for tour operator:

Pleasant to deal with. Information supplied up front needed to be more informative.

Ffestiniog Travel by Mr D W 16, 9 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic

Great low-key trip. I booked this trip to escape the commercialized Christmas of the US, and came home with the most memorable Christmas of my life.

Great low-key trip. I booked this trip to escape the commercialized Christmas of the US, and came home with the most memorable Christmas of my life.

Rating for tour operator:

First time with them. Very impressed.