AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Experience Travel Group

Experience Travel Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Experience Travel Group

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 754
Good 33
Average 2
Poor 3
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 792
Reviews Accepted: 791
Reviews Rejected: 1
791 reviews
Sort by:
Experience Travel Group by Ian & Susanna, 14 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Reached all the parts that other travel groups don't reach !

A friend's wedding in Thailand followed by travel through Laos and Cambodia

A friend's wedding in Thailand followed by travel through Laos and Cambodia

Rating for tour operator:

Put together an itinery that let us see these countries in detail in comfort and at a reasonable price

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 18 Nov 2014:

Hi Ian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and we are very glad you enjoyed the trip.
Regards,
The Experience Travel Group Team

Experience Travel Group by Lancsian, 11 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Authentic and rewarding

A two week introuductory tour of rural Cambodia and South Vietnam without getting 'templed out'.

A two week introuductory tour of rural Cambodia and South Vietnam without getting 'templed out'.

Rating for tour operator:

A tour operator that listened to what we wanted as aopposed to what they wanted to sell us.The experience of the consultant then became evident as we built the trip together.I consider this is the difference of what we pay a specialist operator for.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 11 Nov 2014:

Thanks so much for you comments and so glad you both had such a great time. It was a pleasure to work with you both and hope to organise many more trips for you!

All the best for now,
Nick

Experience Travel Group by Wimble52, 3 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

We spent 14 days travelling around Sri Lanka sampling the cornucopia of experiences on offer in this beautiful island from white water rafting in the tropical rain forest, to a train trip through the tea plantations. From lazing on a deserted golden beach to overnight safari in search of leopards and bears. The people are so welcoming and the service in all hotels was outstanding.

We spent 14 days travelling around Sri Lanka sampling the cornucopia of experiences on offer in this beautiful island from white water rafting in the tropical rain forest, to a train trip through the tea plantations. From lazing on a deserted golden beach to overnight safari in search of leopards and bears. The people are so welcoming and the service in all hotels was outstanding.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel took the trouble to get to know us and as a result picked the perfect hotels and experiences to match our requirements. It was a comforting feeling to know that if we had encountered any problems we could speak to Nick in London very easily and he would resolve the issue. The local team were extremely helpful in transporting our unaccompanied 15 year old daughter to join us late in our holiday.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Dear Verena,

A 'cornucopia of experiences'! We couldn't have asked for better feedback - that's just what we like to hear!

We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nick and The Experience Travel Group team.

Experience Travel Group by Philip, 3 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Fascinating trip in SE Asia

We visited Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam and Burma (Myanmar). Great holiday - a fascinating and vibrant part of the world, which we had not visited, except for Thailand thirty years ago. A very enjoyable time.

We visited Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam and Burma (Myanmar). Great holiday - a fascinating and vibrant part of the world, which we had not visited, except for Thailand thirty years ago. A very enjoyable time.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel helped us choose an interesting and varied itinerary, and ensured that the arrangements ran smoothly and successfully. We would definitely recommend them.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Dear Philip,

That's great to hear. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this feedback. Please do let people know about us!

Kind regards,

The Experience Travel Group team.

Experience Travel Group by Mr M A 14, 2 Nov 2014
Holiday Rating:

Most enjoyable from start to finish

Just back from Myanmar which we havel loved for the whole three weeks. Every recommendation from David Gookey worked extremely well. Our guides in Myanmar were all very good and three out of four exceptional.

Just back from Myanmar which we havel loved for the whole three weeks. Every recommendation from David Gookey worked extremely well. Our guides in Myanmar were all very good and three out of four exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent knowledge of where to go, what to do and where to stay. Programme devised to give a good mix of leisure time and sightseeing. Arrangements for my wife's birthday very good at Lake Inle

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 03 Nov 2014:

Hi Monty - I'm thrilled that you had a fantastic time and I'll pass on your praise in your more detailed feedback to the guide in Kalaw and Inle. I hope you managed to eat all of the Burmese dishes I suggested in my blog post! Looking forward to arranging your next adventure, David

Experience Travel Group by Big A, 14 Oct 2014
Holiday Rating:

Sri Lanka the superb

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka arranged by and through Experience travel. It was impeccably organised,matching our requirements and expectations and wonderfully guided by our local driver/guide. The recommended hotels came up to scratch in all respects and the entire experience demonstrated Experience's savoir faire (to avoid a third use of experience in nearly as many words!)

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka arranged by and through Experience travel. It was impeccably organised,matching our requirements and expectations and wonderfully guided by our local driver/guide. The recommended hotels came up to scratch in all respects and the entire experience demonstrated Experience's savoir faire (to avoid a third use of experience in nearly as many words!)

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel - well organised, knowledgeable, friendly informal and well supported on the ground in country - quality in action

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 14 Oct 2014:

Dear Alan,
Great to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us again and we look forward to seeing you again at one of our events!
Regards,
Sam
P.S. You can never use the word 'experience' to much...

Experience Travel Group by yeah yeah yeah, 24 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Exellent/Amazing

We had our thoughts on what we wanted to do and it exceeded our expections thankyou for a truly magnifcent holiday.

We had our thoughts on what we wanted to do and it exceeded our expections thankyou for a truly magnifcent holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Provided us with everything we wanted and more.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 24 Sep 2014:

Hi Steven,
Thank you for taking the time to post this and we're delighted you had such a good time.
Regards,
The Experience Travel Group Team.

Experience Travel Group by Oliverw3000, 23 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A Great Experience of Sri Lanka

Together with Experience travel we put together a very varied itinerary to tour some of the less visited areas of Sri Lanka. It was a great success all round.

Together with Experience travel we put together a very varied itinerary to tour some of the less visited areas of Sri Lanka. It was a great success all round.

Rating for tour operator:

Experience Travel were very knowledgeable about Sri Lanka and the individual hotels we chose

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 23 Sep 2014:

Thanks very much Oliver - great to hear! Please do tell others about us!

Experience Travel Group by Sheepdog, 20 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Family holiday to Sri Lanka

We are a family of 6 (4 teenagers) and spent two weeks in Sri Lanka touring some of the cultural sites and wildlife parks north of Colombo, then travelling south through Kandy and the tea country and then spent a final few days on a beach near Galle. We had a full time driver and stayed in mainly family run high quality boutique hotels.

We are a family of 6 (4 teenagers) and spent two weeks in Sri Lanka touring some of the cultural sites and wildlife parks north of Colombo, then travelling south through Kandy and the tea country and then spent a final few days on a beach near Galle. We had a full time driver and stayed in mainly family run high quality boutique hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

The agent at Experience Travel, Nick Clarke, clearly knew Sri Lanka very well. He understood the dynamics of our family and the needs of teenagers and designed an excellent itinerary for us that mixed plenty of interesting activity, relaxation with not too much driving. we had to make a number of changes to the holiday die to family circumstances and Nick was very efficient and calm in reorganising everything.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 22 Sep 2014:

Hi Philip,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and we're really pleased you had such a successful family holiday.

Regards,

Sam

Experience Travel Group by Pete, 11 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent Holiday

We had a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka with Experience Travel and their local partner. We were looked after the whole way (and a big thanks to the driver, Capilla)and the itinerary arranged by Experience Travel was perfect. Only on one occasion did we have a misunderstanding with one of the hotels about what was included and Experience Travel sorted it out and stood the difference in cost. Not a single bad comment. Thank you Experience Travel...

We had a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka with Experience Travel and their local partner. We were looked after the whole way (and a big thanks to the driver, Capilla)and the itinerary arranged by Experience Travel was perfect. Only on one occasion did we have a misunderstanding with one of the hotels about what was included and Experience Travel sorted it out and stood the difference in cost. Not a single bad comment. Thank you Experience Travel.

Rating for tour operator:

We had a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka with Experience Travel and their local partner. We were looked after the whole way (and a big thanks to the driver, Capilla)and the itinerary arranged by Experience Travel was perfect. Only on one occasion did we have a misunderstanding with one of the hotels about what was included and Experience Travel sorted it out and stood the difference in cost. Not a single bad comment. Thank you Experience Travel.

Experience Travel Group responded to this review on 17 Sep 2014:

Hi Peter,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We'[re really pleased you had such a good holiday and experience.
Many thanks,
Sam