AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Expert Africa

Tailor-made Botswana Safari Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Tailor-made Botswana Safari

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 50
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Mr P M 16, 12 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

An excellent holiday

We first visited Victoria Falls for 2 days, staying at the Elephant Camp, and as well as visiting the Falls, which were fabulous, we went on a local safari and amongst many other animals we were priviliged to see 7 rhinos. We then drove into Botswana and visitied 3 game lodges by air for 3 days apiece to view a wide range of animals before returning to Jo'burg to fly home.

We first visited Victoria Falls for 2 days, staying at the Elephant Camp, and as well as visiting the Falls, which were fabulous, we went on a local safari and amongst many other animals we were priviliged to see 7 rhinos. We then drove into Botswana and visitied 3 game lodges by air for 3 days apiece to view a wide range of animals before returning to Jo'burg to fly home.

Rating for tour operator:

The tour operator, Expert Africa, was very good. They designed a holiday which was excellent and ticked all the boxes.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by PamG, 25 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

FIrst class Botswana from start to finish

Expert Africa are tireless when it comes to helping you plan your perfect african safari holiday. Our trip involved road transfers from Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe into Botswana and then 3 different safari lodge stays with bush flights taking us between lodges.

Expert Africa are tireless when it comes to helping you plan your perfect african safari holiday. Our trip involved road transfers from Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe into Botswana and then 3 different safari lodge stays with bush flights taking us between lodges.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa are tireless when it comes to helping you plan your perfect african safari holiday. All the paperwork is first class and the arrangements whilst on holiday with the numerous African travel agents, airlines etc is second to none. Everything went seemlessly even though our itinerary was complicated.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Stormfield50, 7 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Expert Africa again exceeds expectations!

This was our third safari, having previously experienced mobile safaris and excellent fixed camps in Zimbabwe and Zambia. We are dedicated supporters of International wildlife conservation and we wanted this third trip to focus on unique experiences with the species represented in Botswana. Expert Africa designed an itinerary that accomplished every goal and more. The highlight was a six day mobile safari they arranged with Andrew Harkness ...

This was our third safari, having previously experienced mobile safaris and excellent fixed camps in Zimbabwe and Zambia. We are dedicated supporters of International wildlife conservation and we wanted this third trip to focus on unique experiences with the species represented in Botswana. Expert Africa designed an itinerary that accomplished every goal and more. The highlight was a six day mobile safari they arranged with Andrew Harkness in Khwai and Moremi. We have used Expert Africa on our last two trips and their advice and attention to detail has be exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Mrs F and family from Cheshire, 25 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing experience from start to finish.

We stayed at Footsteps across the Delta which was a particularly great experience for my three grandsons, 16, 12, and 7. It was a wonderful recommendation, particularly for them. We then went on to the Chobe Princess houseboat where we relaxed and just watched the gentle giants. A great way to chill after ten days of game viewing bouncing around in Land Rovers.

We stayed at Footsteps across the Delta which was a particularly great experience for my three grandsons, 16, 12, and 7. It was a wonderful recommendation, particularly for them. We then went on to the Chobe Princess houseboat where we relaxed and just watched the gentle giants. A great way to chill after ten days of game viewing bouncing around in Land Rovers.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa went out of their way to fit in with our own arrangements and dovetail their suggestions with our itinerary. Lucy, our representative, was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and efficient.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by lottie, 16 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing wildlife experence

We experienced Victoria Falls and stayed in a wonderful colonial hotel before moving onto Chobe NP which was teeming with game. Our boat trip was incredible and watching the elephants swim across the river was unforgettable. We then had a total change of scenery and visited the Kalahari Desert to experience the barrenness of the salt pans and all sorts of wildlife existing in this remote spot. Riding across the pans to visit a family of meerkhats ...

We experienced Victoria Falls and stayed in a wonderful colonial hotel before moving onto Chobe NP which was teeming with game. Our boat trip was incredible and watching the elephants swim across the river was unforgettable. We then had a total change of scenery and visited the Kalahari Desert to experience the barrenness of the salt pans and all sorts of wildlife existing in this remote spot. Riding across the pans to visit a family of meerkhats was a real highlight. Our final destination was the Kwai Camp on the Ockavango Delta staying in a mobile safari camp. We saw lions, a leopard, a pair of lions swimming across a river and a pack of wild dogs with their puppies. What an experience!

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa put together a great trip for us. All their guides and lodges were of a very high standard and the whole trip went completely to plan. Nick, was very knowledgable about Botswana and steered us towards our itinerary which provided us with a huge variety of both wildlife, experiences and scenery. He was very happy to discuss any finer points with us and alter the itinerary if needed. We have used Expert Africa in the past for a trip to Namibia and were also delighted with our holiday.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by A from Saratoga Springs, 29 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

An absolutely enjoyable and memorable trip through Botswana

A friend and I were returning to Botswana, with our spouses, to celebrate our 40th anniversary of first arriving as Peace Corps Volunteers. Although we planned on spending a few days in the capital of Gaborone, we also arranged to travel to three safari camps together as a group and then my spouse and I continued on to one more camp in Botswana and then Victoria Falls.

A friend and I were returning to Botswana, with our spouses, to celebrate our 40th anniversary of first arriving as Peace Corps Volunteers. Although we planned on spending a few days in the capital of Gaborone, we also arranged to travel to three safari camps together as a group and then my spouse and I continued on to one more camp in Botswana and then Victoria Falls.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa arranged all internal flights and connections from Johannesburg through to the various stops in Botswana, land passage from Kasane, Botswana to Livingston, Zambia, and then the return flight to Johannesburg. All flights and connections were stress-free with flawless arrangements. The camp recommendations - Chobe under Canvas, Savute under Canvas, Nzbega, and Camp Kalahari - were each memorable and mostly exceeded our expectations. Our stay in Livingston - within the Park - proved to be an ideal way to experience the Falls. Expert Africa exceeded all of our expectations that we identified when first speaking with the Expert Africa representative - Lucy Copson. She is an excellent representative of Expert Africa and the African continent.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by The Martinez Most Excellent Africa Adventure, 30 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Awesome Botswana Safari

San Francisco to Amsterdam to Johannesburg to Victoria Falls. Sunset cruise on the Zambeze, Hippos and more. Gorge Swing... Still holding my breath. Rafting the lower Zambeze at flood stage, Simply amazing. 2 days in Chobe at Muchenje, More Elephants, Cape Buffaloe and Giraffes than you could count. 3 days at Okuti / Moremi, Lions were the morning wake up call and Leopard cubs on display for the appetizer for our lunch in the bush. Amazing cultural ...

San Francisco to Amsterdam to Johannesburg to Victoria Falls. Sunset cruise on the Zambeze, Hippos and more. Gorge Swing... Still holding my breath. Rafting the lower Zambeze at flood stage, Simply amazing. 2 days in Chobe at Muchenje, More Elephants, Cape Buffaloe and Giraffes than you could count. 3 days at Okuti / Moremi, Lions were the morning wake up call and Leopard cubs on display for the appetizer for our lunch in the bush. Amazing cultural experience by the best Safari staff. Shinde Camp. Another 5 star camp with Mohagany floored tents "tents" Really! More big cat experiences daily. The Okovanga Delta is African Safari on steroids. Loved our trip!

Rating for tour operator:

Maruska Adye from Expert Africa booked the trip of a lifetime for us in Botswana. The Kerr Downey Safari operators they chose were over the top in accommodation, service, game viewing and cultural experince. Muchengie, Okuti and Shinde camp offered the exact Safari experiences we desired. They could not have picked a more perfect time of year for great game viewing at to the locations we visited.

Expert Africa responded to this review on 26 Oct 2017:

Expert Africa and the safari camps are thrilled that these travellers had such a wonderful experience. It is exactly what we aim for!

Expert Africa responded to this review on 26 Oct 2017:

It was a pleasure to help these travellers plan their holiday. We are delighted that their experience surpassed expectations and that they had such a wonderful time.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Mr. Ig from San Pedro Garza Garcia, 28 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Amazing experience at Kwhai Tented Camp

Absolutely enjoyed our stay at Kwhai Tented Camp. Loved every aspect of it. Great planning before the trip. Excellent logistics going to and returning from the camp. Amazing safari rides. Excelent service and always attentive staff at the camp. Enjoyed the little details (hot water bottles in bed, sharing dinner with the staff) as well, of course, as the amazing safari rides. Kwahi Tented Camp was really the hihglight of our visit ...

Absolutely enjoyed our stay at Kwhai Tented Camp. Loved every aspect of it. Great planning before the trip. Excellent logistics going to and returning from the camp. Amazing safari rides. Excelent service and always attentive staff at the camp. Enjoyed the little details (hot water bottles in bed, sharing dinner with the staff) as well, of course, as the amazing safari rides. Kwahi Tented Camp was really the hihglight of our visit to South Africa, Botswana and Zimbabwe.

Rating for tour operator:

Expert Africa made this trip possible for me and my familiy. They were always attentive, responsive to our requests, patient with our changes, great in securing our reservations once we had decided on an option. And of course, absolutely on point and fair with their oppinions and recommendations. They werea lways a knowledgeable and reliable partner in making this trip possible. Special thanks to Lucy Copson in Expert Africa. She was great overall !!!

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Ms.Rvp, 21 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Superb!

We travelled to Zimbabwe, Zambia for two nights and then Botswana from Chobe east to Okovango Delta, back to Chobe west , to the Kalahari and back to the delta. This involved getting quite a few flights and transfers, all which were quite painless due to the excellent organization by our travel agent. The lodges were comfortable, the staff welcoming and the food good. The activities were varied and the game viewing excellent.

We travelled to Zimbabwe, Zambia for two nights and then Botswana from Chobe east to Okovango Delta, back to Chobe west , to the Kalahari and back to the delta. This involved getting quite a few flights and transfers, all which were quite painless due to the excellent organization by our travel agent. The lodges were comfortable, the staff welcoming and the food good. The activities were varied and the game viewing excellent.

Rating for tour operator:

Very well organized and good communication. I felt the agent listened to us and found the places and lodges that met our requirements.

Tailor-made Botswana Safari by Dr Bob, 10 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

African skies

Amazing safari experience in Botswana. Surpassed all expectations. The expanse of the Botswana wilderness and the African sky is impressive. Once in a lifetime experience. Can't wait to go back for more!

Amazing safari experience in Botswana. Surpassed all expectations. The expanse of the Botswana wilderness and the African sky is impressive. Once in a lifetime experience. Can't wait to go back for more!

Rating for tour operator:

Marushka from Expert Africa expertly advised us on our camp choices and was always available to answer our question. This helped us be better prepared for our tour and involved us actively in the planning. Our safari was a much a realist of our choices as Marsha's recommendations.

Expert Africa responded to this review on 26 Oct 2017:

We were delighted to hear how this traveller enjoyed his safari experience, and we hope to hear from him again one day to plan another Africa adventure!