AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Audley Travel

Audley Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Audley Travel

Overall Company Rating
92%
Excellent 40
Good 2
Average 3
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 49
Reviews Accepted: 49
Reviews Rejected: 0
49 reviews
Sort by:
Audley Travel by Mike, 20 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fantastic Trip Down Under

We had a family holiday in Australia. The first time any of us had been to the land down under. We visited Sydney, the Blue Mountains, and then hired a car to drive up the central and north coast of New South Wales. We stayed at Port Macquaire, Byron Bay, Noosa and Fraser Island in the Sunshine coast and visited The Lakes Way, Coffs Harbour and the Gold Coast as day stops on the way to our next destinations. After Noosa, we took a flight up ...

We had a family holiday in Australia. The first time any of us had been to the land down under. We visited Sydney, the Blue Mountains, and then hired a car to drive up the central and north coast of New South Wales. We stayed at Port Macquaire, Byron Bay, Noosa and Fraser Island in the Sunshine coast and visited The Lakes Way, Coffs Harbour and the Gold Coast as day stops on the way to our next destinations. After Noosa, we took a flight up to Cairns and stayed in Port Douglas for a few days and visited the outer Great Barrier Reef. A truly outstanding trip with great locations, fantastic beaches, beautiful restaurants and hotels. The landscape, the wildlife and the sunshine were magnificent. We were expecting a great holiday and the holiday exceeded expectations.

Rating for tour operator:

The service was great from start to finish. From devising the itinerary to choosing the trips to selecting the best service providers. Great attention was also given to making sure that we got the best possible holiday while managing the constraints of the available budget. The service was attentive and personal with frequent updates. The result was a memorable, exciting and surprising trip that will stay in our memories for ever.

Audley Travel by SK, 15 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Well organised trip

We spent 10 days in Morocco in three different locations. All hotels were excellent and we had a wonderful holiday.

We spent 10 days in Morocco in three different locations. All hotels were excellent and we had a wonderful holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

The itinerary was well organised by Audley with clear communication throughout. All hotels were of a good standard as requested. Private transfers occurred smoothly in well maintained vehicles. There was nothing for us to worry about and was well worth it!

Audley Travel by Jen, 4 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Visit to RSA could have been so much better; recommend using Audley only for online resource

I did not have the time or background knowledge on RSA; I needed help, someone who would take care of research and booking our trip within a budget and timeframe. What happened was that I was offered accommodations then lost them, for more expensive accommodations because no one explained that if I didn't put a deposit down right then they would be lost. I was given wrong information about driving - the roads actually were safe and without potholes, ...

I did not have the time or background knowledge on RSA; I needed help, someone who would take care of research and booking our trip within a budget and timeframe. What happened was that I was offered accommodations then lost them, for more expensive accommodations because no one explained that if I didn't put a deposit down right then they would be lost. I was given wrong information about driving - the roads actually were safe and without potholes, we found an amazing rest stop with a water hole and wild animals! but thank goodness for the maps from the rental company because the maps provided were too broad or of poor quality. I was actually offended that they wasted the ink and paper on some of them. The details of how to get from here to there, what to see along the way, what to see/do once we arrived, all things I would be able to tell visitors about a country I had lived in/visited, was not included in my itinerary. We got lost and needed to ask for directions repeatedly. It was basically here's your transportation and accommodation information. I could have done that. I didn't see where Audley's expertise was applied except in the accommodation suggestions and the recommendations for how to tip. Yeah well, that's all online too. Next time I'll use their website for accommodations and itineraries and do the bookings and research on what to do there myself.

Rating for tour operator:

Travel agent lacked attention to detail both in receiving and providing. Could not see where the cost was worth the lack of information provided to me.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 10 Aug 2015:

Thank you for your feedback from your recent trip and I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the experience. We do take feedback of this nature very seriously, and have started an investigation to find out what happened. In the meantime, your country specialist who planned your holiday would love to speak with you about the trip to hear your feedback and they will be contacting you personally. Many thanks.

Audley Travel by Yorkie, 10 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

excellent 13 days in Canada's Atlantic Provinces

Travelled in Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador seeing as much as we could and taking in a variety of activities, places of historic interest, culture, seeing wildlife, whale watching boat trips.

Travelled in Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador seeing as much as we could and taking in a variety of activities, places of historic interest, culture, seeing wildlife, whale watching boat trips.

Rating for tour operator:

We were allocated a Canada specialist adviser. Having discussed our needs Audley Travel prepared a tailor made itinerary. With the distances involved, and to see as much as possible we decided on an organised coach tour - recommended by Audley. The company made all travel arrangements. We were kept informed at each stage, including detailed information about the places we would visit. Prior to travel our travel walled contained detailed sections for Important information; Flights; Itinerary; Day by day with space for notes; Accommodation; Small maps of each area; Country facts. A section was available for us to give to family in case of an emergency. Everything we could have needed as an aide memoire was there. I would not hesitate to use them again, their knowledgeable and efficient staff advisor facilitated an excellent holiday.

Audley Travel by CandG, 29 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous self-drive tour of New England

Two days in NYC followed by 1500 miles driving through The Adirondacks, The Green Mountains, The White Mountains, the Kancarmagus Highway, coastal Maine visiting mountain tops, deep gorges, waterfalls, forests and beautiful coastline and harbours, finishing with two days in Boston.

Two days in NYC followed by 1500 miles driving through The Adirondacks, The Green Mountains, The White Mountains, the Kancarmagus Highway, coastal Maine visiting mountain tops, deep gorges, waterfalls, forests and beautiful coastline and harbours, finishing with two days in Boston.

Rating for tour operator:

We worked closely with Audley Travel to put together an itinerary to suit our interests in terms of areas to visit and the type of hotels we would like. We made adjustments using their expert advice and our own research to arrive at an ideal itinerary. We travelled with a detailed listing with car and accommodation vouchers with suggested rotes, attractions to visit and restaurants. A couple of small glitches while travelling were soon sorted out via email.

Audley Travel by jeannie, 9 May 2015
Holiday Rating:

wonderful audley holiday in morocco

all planned in every detail drivers guides riads and others just excellent morocco so friendly beautiful and safe

all planned in every detail drivers guides riads and others just excellent morocco so friendly beautiful and safe

Rating for tour operator:

very flexible in planning every detail superb service

Audley Travel by Phileas fogg, 7 Apr 2015
Holiday Rating:

Pay a little more, experience a lot more!!

3 week multi centre to the Far East.. 3 days Siam reap 2 days Hanoi 4 days hoi an 1 night manilla 4 days siquijor 3 days Bohol 3 days Singapore We knew it was gonna be busy to fit all these destinations in 3 weeks but Audley recommended this itenirary and to be honest it was spot on!! They gave us top notch hotels in great locations throughout. All the flights and transfers were arranged so all we had to worry about was ...

3 week multi centre to the Far East.. 3 days Siam reap 2 days Hanoi 4 days hoi an 1 night manilla 4 days siquijor 3 days Bohol 3 days Singapore We knew it was gonna be busy to fit all these destinations in 3 weeks but Audley recommended this itenirary and to be honest it was spot on!! They gave us top notch hotels in great locations throughout. All the flights and transfers were arranged so all we had to worry about was getting up and making sure we had our passports.. Holiday was amazing. Saw all The sights there was to see and had at least A week uninterrupted beach time to relax.. Holiday of a lifetime!!

Rating for tour operator:

Audley travel... It's simple, compare they're quote with someone else And they will probably be a little dearer yes but compare they're perfectly presented itenary (which must take half a day just to create) and review they're hotels and they will be better than your budget quote! I have done a similiar 3 week Far East trip 2 years previous ( incorporating Thailand, Borneo and Hong Kong) and it was £800 a head cheaper! So I struggled initially to accept audleys qoute....but at the creation stage of holiday whilst discussing With cate I knew they were a different league!! When I broke down the two trips I realised that Audley wernt only providing much better standard of accommodation but they Had more destinations, hence more flights and many more private transfers.. We had one issue with one transfer not turning up and they neglected To mention that one airline didn't take 30kg luggage as standard Without charging a fee....now I only mention this as a positive Because on return, they contacted us within two days and said that they Noticed that a transfer let us down so the refund for that is already being Processed and when I mentioned the luggage they said they will refund extra fee!! I didn't have to complain or moan, they just took it upon themselves.. I didn't think customer service like that existed anymore!! Obviously if you are just having 7-10 days in the sun then Audley is probably not of benefit to you but if you want a tailor made multi centre tour then I would strongly advise anyone to contact these people for a qoute first.... Even if you get many qoutes slighty cheaper afterwards, you will be impressed by this firm from the onset and nothing will seem as good!! And I think the same can be said about your oncoming holiday!!! Can't recommend highly enough

Audley Travel by Huggy, 23 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

Wonderful Indian Experience

Delhi, Agra and Jaipur all in a week, saw nearly everything and had it all explained expertly. Fabulous trip.

Delhi, Agra and Jaipur all in a week, saw nearly everything and had it all explained expertly. Fabulous trip.

Rating for tour operator:

It was our first Audley trip, and will not be our last. Everything was handled perfectly and we were treated like royalty everywhere we went.

Audley Travel by Thomasteam, 11 Mar 2015
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic insight into South East Asia

We spent 3 weeks travelling from Northern Thailand, through scenic tranquil Laos, onto the frenetic city of Hanoi. A slightly slower pace for a few days in the beautiful Hoi An, before returning to hustle and bustle in Saigon. Two very special days on a converted rice barge on the Mekong were followed by a speed boat trip up the Mekong to Phnom Penh. The killing fields and S21 were harrowing trips but so interesting and necessary to understanding ...

We spent 3 weeks travelling from Northern Thailand, through scenic tranquil Laos, onto the frenetic city of Hanoi. A slightly slower pace for a few days in the beautiful Hoi An, before returning to hustle and bustle in Saigon. Two very special days on a converted rice barge on the Mekong were followed by a speed boat trip up the Mekong to Phnom Penh. The killing fields and S21 were harrowing trips but so interesting and necessary to understanding Cambodia. Finally 3 days exploring the most incredible sites in Siem Reap. We were guided through each section of our trip by some incredibly knowledgable guides who were great company and driven by excellent drivers. The fellow travellers we met en route, often several times, were often fellow Audley clients and it was good fun comparing notes. We made some good friends amongst these.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent communication in the planning process. Good information re preparing for holiday, assistance with visas etc. They delivered a truly amazing holiday which was very well organised, everything flowed well and went to plan. We felt well supported and comfortable during the whole experience.