AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Audley Travel

Audley Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Audley Travel

Overall Company Rating
92%
Excellent 40
Good 2
Average 3
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 49
Reviews Accepted: 49
Reviews Rejected: 0
49 reviews
Sort by:
Audley Travel by Disappointed by Audley, 20 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Audley Sri Lanka - poor rating

The Audley services in Sri Lanka were poor. The driver/guide was not well prepared for our destinations and was quite annoying to travel with for many reasons. I would encourage readers to look elsewhere for tour operators in Sri Lanka.

The Audley services in Sri Lanka were poor. The driver/guide was not well prepared for our destinations and was quite annoying to travel with for many reasons. I would encourage readers to look elsewhere for tour operators in Sri Lanka.

Rating for tour operator:

Audley Tours sound good but didn't deliver in Sri Lanka. Very expensive for poor service.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry for your poor experience in Sri Lanka. We understand you have been in touch with one of our Regional Managers concerning the Sri Lanka element of your itinerary and we do hope they were able to reassure you that your experience isn’t the norm. However you are right to highlight, that due to the ever increasing popularity of Sri Lanka as a tourist destination we have found that client feedback relating to chauffeur-guide quality has occasionally been lower than we would like. This problem is not exclusive to Audley but is due to supply and demand in a fast growing tourist industry. To reassure you we have been closely managing the situation and we are are now working with a number of partners in destination to ensure we have access to the best trained chauffeur-guides. We are sincerely sorry this was not delivered to you. Our Sri Lanka Specialists are all aware of the challenges in the country and should aim to set expectations clearly when discussing potential travel.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 02 Oct 2017:

We can appreciate that given your experience the value of your trip was not evident in Sri Lanka on this occasion which must have been a stark comparison to your other travels. I am pleased we have been able to discuss this with you in person.

Audley Travel by Gavin T, 29 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Ecuador including the Galapagos - dream trip

Excellent tailor made trip with our tastes and requests combined with the knowledge and expertise of one of their country specialists - turning it into an unforgettable holiday. The Cloud Forest staying in El Monte was a wonderful start, followed by a few days in Quito in the boutique hoel La Casona. Then to the Amazon Rain Forest with a long canoe journey to Napo. Amazing wildlife. Then on to a cruise round the Galapagos and seeing an incred...

Excellent tailor made trip with our tastes and requests combined with the knowledge and expertise of one of their country specialists - turning it into an unforgettable holiday. The Cloud Forest staying in El Monte was a wonderful start, followed by a few days in Quito in the boutique hoel La Casona. Then to the Amazon Rain Forest with a long canoe journey to Napo. Amazing wildlife. Then on to a cruise round the Galapagos and seeing an incredible array of unusual wildlife. Truly memorable trip.

Rating for tour operator:

We have used Audley Travel about 5 times now and have always been delighted with the suggestions made and with the organization of the trip. They take into account our preference and dislikes when planning the holiday and you are given a single contact who is a country or region specialist. This makes an enormous difference to getting those out of the way places, memorable places to stay and so on - the depth of knowledge and experience they provide is hugely instrumental. All the details and flight numbers etc are mailed to you weeks beforehand in a wallet and prove very useful throughout the trip.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 31 Jul 2017:

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that Lizzie was able to design such a wonderful trip for you and that you had such a fantastic wildlife experience whilst you were in the Amazon.

Audley Travel by PDC17, 14 Jan 2017
Holiday Rating:

A well planned family holiday that was second to none - Thank you so much

A well organised family holiday to Thailand, visiting Bangkok, Elephant Hills, the rain forest and Khao Lak. Tour guides were arranged during parts of the holiday to meet our requirements & if we did not have the guide we would not have been able to do everything we did or fit everything into the busy but well organised days.

A well organised family holiday to Thailand, visiting Bangkok, Elephant Hills, the rain forest and Khao Lak. Tour guides were arranged during parts of the holiday to meet our requirements & if we did not have the guide we would not have been able to do everything we did or fit everything into the busy but well organised days.

Rating for tour operator:

From the moment I made contact with Audley Travel, they could not do enough for me, offering ideas and putting together a package to meet our needs and requirements. All questions were answered and if my contact was on the phone or in a meeting, Audley called back to help and answer my questions very quickly. I would highly recommend Audley Travel and I am already looking forward to my next trip.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 18 Jan 2017:

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time in Thailand and I will pass your comments on to your Country Specialist and our Managing Director. We look forward to working with you on your next adventure.

Audley Travel by Sandieh, 30 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous holiday in california

We wanted to see California starting in San Francisco and then travelling to Yosemite and into Oregan before making our way back down the coast to San Francisco. The suggested itinerary I was given was tailored to meet what we wanted and I have to say we had the most fantastic time. The suggested places we visited we did - not sure we would have seen what we did if we had planned this holiday ourselves. The accommodation on the whole was exceptional...

We wanted to see California starting in San Francisco and then travelling to Yosemite and into Oregan before making our way back down the coast to San Francisco. The suggested itinerary I was given was tailored to meet what we wanted and I have to say we had the most fantastic time. The suggested places we visited we did - not sure we would have seen what we did if we had planned this holiday ourselves. The accommodation on the whole was exceptional. One of the major things for me was feeling confident that if things weren't right when we got there Audleys would have been able to sort it. They were friendly and professional throughout every aspect of planning this holiday. I really would recommend them as a company. Thank you Audleys - I have special memories of dime very special places.

Rating for tour operator:

Audleys - I would sum them up as professional and experts at planning a holiday giving you the best possible experience. They take the stress out if holiday planning. A great company who give ou confidence that everything will work like clockwork

Audley Travel by Cuban Girl's, 20 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

We are due to go on holiday, and were feeding back our experiences whilst booking our Cuban holiday.

We are 4 friends booking a holiday to Cuba. There was a bit of tooing and frowing to get the package sorted. We accepted a cost of £2700 each plus £32 to change a flight destination and on this basis we paid our deposit and received an e-mail confirming 4 people to travel. We then received an invoice where the cost per traveler was £340 more. We asked Audley for a break down and we were told they could not give us one as they were bespoke holiday ...

We are 4 friends booking a holiday to Cuba. There was a bit of tooing and frowing to get the package sorted. We accepted a cost of £2700 each plus £32 to change a flight destination and on this basis we paid our deposit and received an e-mail confirming 4 people to travel. We then received an invoice where the cost per traveler was £340 more. We asked Audley for a break down and we were told they could not give us one as they were bespoke holiday packages . We then enquired what the additional cost was to cover and were told it was for a guide travel costs, which we could not see how this would cost an extra £340 per person? We are still trying to resolve this matter as they have broken our contractual agreement. We are all disappointed and hope that this matter is resolved to a satisfactory conclusion this week.

Rating for tour operator:

Our holiday did not have the best of starts with some poor communication about the cost of the holiday. The following morning after I had put my feedback on the AITO website, Sarah Smith, Client Experience Manager at Audley responded to me via e-mail she emphasised her responsibility is to look after their over all client experience by ensuring they listen and react to client comments. Sarah has reacted, listened and investigated our concerns resulting in a fair and positive outcome, which we are more than happy with. Audley Travel have committed to the original holiday price quoted, whilst acknowledging there had been less than clear communication with our party. This resolution is the mark of a quality company and we hope to continue to do business with them.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 04 Oct 2016:

I am sorry there was a confusion and thank you for giving me the opportunity to explain where the additional costs came from. The itinerary was priced based on 6 people sharing and when the number of travellers was reduced to 4 during the booking process the cost of the joint services on the trip (such as guiding and transfers) had to be divided between the 4 remaining passengers. Usually this wouldn’t have such a big impact on the holiday price but in Cuba the cost of travelling with a private vehicle and a guide does add significantly to the overall cost of the trip. Due to the Communist government private vehicles are in high demand so unfortunately the cost attached is also high, however to reassure you, this really is the best way to explore certain parts of the country and why we recommend it. Cuba is a truly unique place given its political history and the Communist rule so we always say approach any trip with a flexible and can do attitude and you’ll love what’s on offer.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 04 Oct 2016:

I am delighted this has been resolved to you full satisfaction and I am very pleased that you are looking forward to your holiday in Cuba.

Audley Travel by KTA, 5 Jul 2016
Holiday Rating:

2 week holiday to Chile

We spent 2 weeks in Chile and I would highly recommend using Audley Travel. The initial brochure on Chile was great, the agent was so helpful and devised an itinerary to fit out budget and time constraints. The document that I was sent with all information was amazing, it gave every detail needed. When we arrived in Santiago we were given a welcome package with more information, directions and the ground agents were also at hand to help with ...

We spent 2 weeks in Chile and I would highly recommend using Audley Travel. The initial brochure on Chile was great, the agent was so helpful and devised an itinerary to fit out budget and time constraints. The document that I was sent with all information was amazing, it gave every detail needed. When we arrived in Santiago we were given a welcome package with more information, directions and the ground agents were also at hand to help with everything. All the hotels were lovely, exceeded expectations and the whole trip ran very smoothly. I will definitely use them again for any future bookings.

Rating for tour operator:

Our operator was great, he listened to everything we said in terms of what we wanted and kept to budget constraints, gave us options and we arrived feeling everything had been sorted for us. He was also on hand throughout the trip for any questions we may have had.

Audley Travel by D-Unit, 22 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

A holiday of a lifetime in South Africa - Safari, the Blue Train then Cape Town and finally the Wine lands

Audley took our requirements and gave us the most memorable of holidays. It comprised a safari at the private Madikwe reserve, which was the most luxurious experience imaginable combined with some amazing and thrilling wildlife experiences, where we were able to get up very close to all the animals, munch closer than we ever imagined we could. One of the unexpected highlights was the diversity and beauty of the birds; there are more than 350 ...

Audley took our requirements and gave us the most memorable of holidays. It comprised a safari at the private Madikwe reserve, which was the most luxurious experience imaginable combined with some amazing and thrilling wildlife experiences, where we were able to get up very close to all the animals, munch closer than we ever imagined we could. One of the unexpected highlights was the diversity and beauty of the birds; there are more than 350 different species in South Africa. We then travelled on the Blue Train from Pretoria to Cape Town via Kimberly, this is the height of luxury once again we even had a bath in our cabin! The food and wine were superb too. Cape Town was a delight and we stayed at the Cape Codogan Hotel, which was an excellent boutique hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. The guide we had to how us around Cape Town was excellent and he adapted the tour to suit our needs. Apart from the obvious highlights of Robben Island and Table Mountain, which were very enjoyable, we also particularly enjoyed visiting the District 6 museum, which tells the story of the forced displacement of the people from District 6 under the Aparteid regime. It is a great little museum in an old Methodist chapel and is well worth and hour of your time to visit The food and wine in Cape Town was like everywhere in South Africa superb and incredibly good value for money, literally half the price of the U.K. We the spent the last few days of our trip at Franshhoek in the wine region, which was beautiful and very relaxing. The Drakenstein Mountains are stunning and provide a wonderful I backdrop to the vineyards. We stayed at "The Last Word Hotel", which was also wonderful and the staff were once again incredibly obliging and friendly. The French Connection Bistro in Franshhoek was also

Rating for tour operator:

Audley did a wonderful job with the organisation and all the arrangements were seamless, with the pick ups, tours and transfers, provided exactly as described. Every hotel was superb and we would happily return to every one of them. Dealing with Toby Buckridge was a pleasure, he listed carefully to our requests and delivered a superb holiday and was always on hand to answer any queries we may have. His knowledge of South Africa was excellent and he was happy to share it with us. I would recommend Audley Travel to everyone.

Audley Travel by DavidaA, 19 Jun 2016
Holiday Rating:

Great holiday with mix of organised aspects and self guided

We went to the Rockies on a tailor-made tour organised by Audley. This is the third time we have travelled with this company, each time it has been a tailor-made holiday. We have found that if you go with a clear idea based on your own research the holiday more than meets expectations. The alternative is to go with their suggestion which may or may not meet your needs. From the flights from the UK, the hotels, excursions including Rocky Mounta...

We went to the Rockies on a tailor-made tour organised by Audley. This is the third time we have travelled with this company, each time it has been a tailor-made holiday. We have found that if you go with a clear idea based on your own research the holiday more than meets expectations. The alternative is to go with their suggestion which may or may not meet your needs. From the flights from the UK, the hotels, excursions including Rocky Mountaineer train, bear watching etc, internal flight by sea pane, car hire etc it was as we wanted and meant our holiday went well. They provide suggestions of restaurants, excursions and places to visit in your pack the pack is excellent with sections on important information, flights, itinerary summary, day by day, accommodation, map of the region, country facts plus a copy of the itinerary summary for you to leave with relatives. This is a reliable source of information throughout plus contains vouchers for accommodation and travel and excursions.

Rating for tour operator:

The company has experienced staff who have been to the countries and fully researched the holidays. This means that you can have confidence in their information which is comprehensive.. A very useful service is the emergency telephone number which we have used before and they dealt with the problem.

Audley Travel by Pajan, 14 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

First class service from start to finish - Highly Recommended!

We had a two night stopover in Singapore before embarking on our Borneo adventure! We spent time in Kuching, Sepilok visiting the Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and Sun Bear Conservation Centre, Abai where we explored the Kinabatagan River, the Borneo Rainforest Lodge in Danum Valley and Gaya Island for some R&R. We had the most amazing time and will forever cherish the memories.

We had a two night stopover in Singapore before embarking on our Borneo adventure! We spent time in Kuching, Sepilok visiting the Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and Sun Bear Conservation Centre, Abai where we explored the Kinabatagan River, the Borneo Rainforest Lodge in Danum Valley and Gaya Island for some R&R. We had the most amazing time and will forever cherish the memories.

Rating for tour operator:

We went to Singapore and Borneo April/May this year with Audley Travel and we can honestly say the service was outstanding. The moment we picked the phone up to make enquiries the South East Asia team could not have been more helpful. The booking process, itinerary, flights, accommodation pre and post holiday phone calls were all dealt with sympathetically and professionally and we would have no hesitation in recommending their services to anyone planning a holiday. We will certainly be using their services again for our 2017 trip!

Audley Travel by johns turner, 6 May 2016
Holiday Rating:

St Petersburg with no issues

Booked a weekend to St Petersburg to see the Hermitage and Summer Palace. So in 3 days we saw all we wanted, missed all the queues, eat is some great places as recommended, had a tour guide who was on time, knew what was what and just made it all work. Expert help with flights from Audley. all in all 10/10

Booked a weekend to St Petersburg to see the Hermitage and Summer Palace. So in 3 days we saw all we wanted, missed all the queues, eat is some great places as recommended, had a tour guide who was on time, knew what was what and just made it all work. Expert help with flights from Audley. all in all 10/10

Rating for tour operator:

see above