AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Audley Travel

Audley Travel Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Audley Travel

Overall Company Rating
92%
Excellent 39
Good 2
Average 3
Poor 4
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 48
Reviews Accepted: 48
Reviews Rejected: 0
48 reviews
Sort by:
Audley Travel by Poollady, 12 Dec 2019
Holiday Rating:

They get a five for half right!

I returned last month from Japan and Vietnam. The Itinerary was Huge for twelve days. It was full of useless information, but lacking in facts that I needed. Japan was hit or miss, but Vietnam was great. In Japan, I was sent to a Ryokan in Hakone for fifteen hours. This was a three train, two bus trip each way. The place was Awful. This was two days wasted of a twelve day trip. I wrote them a three page letter that was never acknowledged. ...

I returned last month from Japan and Vietnam. The Itinerary was Huge for twelve days. It was full of useless information, but lacking in facts that I needed. Japan was hit or miss, but Vietnam was great. In Japan, I was sent to a Ryokan in Hakone for fifteen hours. This was a three train, two bus trip each way. The place was Awful. This was two days wasted of a twelve day trip. I wrote them a three page letter that was never acknowledged. This was an expensive trip for what I received.

Rating for tour operator:

I'm giving it average, because I enjoyed Vietnam. Japan was poorly organized. I have traveled most of the world in the last twenty years. There are much better people out there. I have also planned my own trips.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 23 Jan 2020:

We are so sorry that you didn't find the value in our service. In this case, it sounds like perhaps the services we offer were not a great fit for you as an independent and experienced traveler.

Following your conversation with a manger we are pleased that we have resolved this matter for you directly. Thank you for having an open conversation with us about your experience.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 23 Jan 2020:

As mentioned above, after speaking with a manger we understand that perhaps what we do as a company isn’t right for your needs as a traveler. We are sorry that you felt that we didn't meet your expectations but we are very pleased that we have resolved this matter with you privately.

Audley Travel by Richard , 26 Oct 2019
Holiday Rating:

A fantastic experience. Again from audley

Just returned from a 6week tour of Australia and Singapore. This is our third trip with Audley. It did not disappoint. The hotels were perfectly picked to maximise our time. The trips with out exception superb and the travel arrangements spot on to ensure that this was really a fantastic experience. The advice given was excellent in terms of time of year to visit, locations and what to do. I can highly recommend audley. We will be using their ...

Just returned from a 6week tour of Australia and Singapore. This is our third trip with Audley. It did not disappoint. The hotels were perfectly picked to maximise our time. The trips with out exception superb and the travel arrangements spot on to ensure that this was really a fantastic experience. The advice given was excellent in terms of time of year to visit, locations and what to do. I can highly recommend audley. We will be using their services again

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent

Audley Travel responded to this review on 28 Oct 2019:

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is great to hear you have had a wonderful trip to Australia and Singapore. I will pass this back to your specialist and their manager. We look forward to organising your next adventure.

Audley Travel by JetTravel, 1 Apr 2019
Holiday Rating:

New Zealand and Australia with Audley Travel

My husband and I recently used Audley Travel for a trip to Australia and New Zealand. The destination is great.

My husband and I recently used Audley Travel for a trip to Australia and New Zealand. The destination is great.

Rating for tour operator:

Regarding Audley, the hotels and most excursions were fine. However, you choose a travel agency for help with the logistics--easy directions, smooth travel, etc. This is not the case in our experience with Audley. First, Audley did not have us fly in a day ahead so that if any of the 4 flights to our initial destination was delayed, then we had a cushion. In fact the first flight was delayed. Any company that has been in this business as long as Audley should not have made this logistical mistake. In addition, it is extremely difficult to follow the directions Audley includes in their travel packet: key information is buried in non-essential information about the area, you have to flip back and forth in their book to find where you are supposed to be when. Critical information about hotels or transportation for example was spread out over multiple documents. For their prices, there is no excuse for this. As a point of information, both my husband and I are PhDs and we are comfortable dealing with complex information. Audley's documents are really bad, and this is s systemic issue. In other words, it is not the fault of one bad travel agent at Audley. It is the fault of the Audley process as a whole. At one of the hotels Audley uses, the person at the desk who was helping me with a very confusing Audley-booked excursion mentioned that about half the Audley clients had problems. The word she used for that half was "a disaster." I would highly recommend going with someone else who can make the logistics clear and easy to use. No travel agency gets credit for a great destination (no travel agency created the beauty of New Zealand or Australia). A good agency at minimum handle logistics well. Audley does not in my experience.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 02 Apr 2019:

Dear Mrs Stephens
Thank you for leaving your review. I am very sorry you did not have the experience with Audley you should have, it is very disappointing to read your comments on the logistics and our Travel Pack. Our paperwork is intended to make things easier and not confuse so we apologise for any inconvenience for this. We currently have an ongoing project on our documentation and your feedback is very important to us, therefore I have asked a manager from our New Zealand team to reach out to you to discuss all your feedback in more detail. I hope overall you had a wonderful holiday, it is as you say, a great destination!

Audley Travel by Mrs E A 19, 20 Mar 2019
Holiday Rating:

First Class Holiday

We have just returned from a First Class holiday to Vietnam organised by Audley Travel. Hayley Ryan organised it for us and delivered what she said she would. She even arranged a local sim for our phone just in case we needed to contact our guides. Hotels and tours were all excellent and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Thank You Hayley for an excellent trip, we will remember it for a long time to come.

We have just returned from a First Class holiday to Vietnam organised by Audley Travel. Hayley Ryan organised it for us and delivered what she said she would. She even arranged a local sim for our phone just in case we needed to contact our guides. Hotels and tours were all excellent and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Thank You Hayley for an excellent trip, we will remember it for a long time to come.

Rating for tour operator:

Audley Travel. Hayley Ryan was our tour adviser. She organised a wonderful holiday for us with fantastic hotels and tours nothing was too much bother for her. She kept in touch regularly with us and was very helpful in explaining everything.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 25 Mar 2019:

Thank you for your review it's great to read you had a fabulous trip, and one which you will remember for a long time! We have shared your comments with Hayley and the team.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 25 Mar 2019:

Thank you again and we look forward to helping you organise a future adventure!

Audley Travel by Mike, 1 Feb 2019
Holiday Rating:

Thailand

We visited Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Phuket.

We visited Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Phuket.

Rating for tour operator:

We hired Audley Travel to assist of with planning our trip to Thailand. The agent assigned to us for the most part put together a good itinerary with a few notable exceptions: 1) he failed to inform us that each of our planned excursions from the hotel averaged 11/2 travel hours or more in each direction 2) he didn’t make the effort to secure requested seating on flights and 3) made multitlple clearical mistakes in the intinerary. We requested the best hotels and they were all very good. However, for the fees paid the trip felt “packaged” and not custom.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 01 Mar 2019:

Dear Andrew, thank you so much for your comments and I am happy to read overall you had good time in Thailand. We tailor our itineraries based on our clients requirements and our expertise, so it is disappointing to read the elements which did not live up to expectations. I understand a manager has been in contact with you to discuss your experience thoroughly.

Audley Travel by CATH, 21 Jan 2019
Holiday Rating:

FASCINATING VIETNAM

Audley Travel organised the most efficient and perfect tailor made itinerary for our family Christmas-NewYear holiday to discover a most inspiring Country and People.

Audley Travel organised the most efficient and perfect tailor made itinerary for our family Christmas-NewYear holiday to discover a most inspiring Country and People.

Rating for tour operator:

Harriet at Audley Travel from our very first conversation listened and understood to perfection what our family was looking for and came up with a very professional exciting and just perfect tailor made itinerary which came up to expectations throughout our tour.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 21 Jan 2019:

Hi Catherine, thank you so much for your review I'm so pleased you had a lovely Christmas and New Year with your family, in Vietnam.

Reviewer's images:
Audley Travel responded to this review on 21 Jan 2019:

I have shared your comments with Harriet and her manager, it's great to hear Harriet created the perfect trip for you and your family and we look forward to you travelling with us again soon.

Audley Travel by World traveller, 18 Nov 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great destinations, poorly organised

We chose Audley Travel through their Brochure which promised bespoke holidays. We outlined our itinerary which was Nepal, Bhutan and India. Realising that this was quite a complex booking we were tolerent of errors which our specialist made during the booking process. The mistakes are well documented by email. However once the deposit was in place and the details confirmed we did not expect any further amendments. As we were away for five weeks ...

We chose Audley Travel through their Brochure which promised bespoke holidays. We outlined our itinerary which was Nepal, Bhutan and India. Realising that this was quite a complex booking we were tolerent of errors which our specialist made during the booking process. The mistakes are well documented by email. However once the deposit was in place and the details confirmed we did not expect any further amendments. As we were away for five weeks we decided to book business class for all flights to enhance our luggage allowance. By chance we noticed that the flight to Shimla only permitted 10 kilos. Our specialist seemed unaware of this. As we were carrying 25 kilos each various unacceptable alternatives were put to us. In the end we were driven to Shimla which was time consuming. One hotel had to be changed thus disrupting our programme and there was a general malaise once the deposit was paid. Two weeks before departire we were informed that one hotel had double booked and we would either have to change rooms after one night or move to another hotel. After one week the original arrangement was put back in place. The whole process was very stressful for what was a very expensive tour. On tour our business class ticketing was economy on one return flight so after arguing for one hour and speaking to the local rep who blamed Audley we paid for the upgrade using our dollar cash. We contacted our agent and the refund was transferred to our account prior to us returning home. Several hotels stated that we did not have full board where it had been arranged in Bhutan but we sorted this out locally. On our tour we met a number of people who were travelling with Cox and King who were very happy with their choice. In fact at The Claridges in Delhi we were down graded to an internal room whilst Cox and King clients were upgraded to a suite overlooking the lawn. We did protest and were eventually moved to a room overlooking the pool. The company also needs to update the country booklets which are out of date in many areas. Whilst we made the best of the tour and the car drivers were fine the same agents work for all the major tour companies. A couple of guides did give us the name of other tour operators who they felt were superior. One other flight was economy only as described by Audley. Of course at the airport we discovered business class was available and upgraded ourselves. The toy train also has a first class carriage which again we were told was economy only so we were squashed into a cramped carriage whilst the first class carriage was only half full. At the end of the day Audley produces nice brochures, costs average hotels in to the quote and the client then upgrades which pushes up the cost. We would not use Audley again under any circumstances. As an aside from people we met traveling with other operators only Audley used Jet Airways for the international flights as they cost far less to them than BA, Emirates or Virgin. Jet Airways were regularly in the papers due to being on the verge of bankruptcy. This added to the stress. Audley charges high prices but is low on quality.

Rating for tour operator:

As above

Audley Travel responded to this review on 20 Nov 2018:

Dear Mr Scandrett, thank you for your review, firstly I would like to apologise for the experience you have had, this is certainly not the standard we adhere ourselves to. I know you have spoken with one of our managers here at Audley as well as your personal travel agent who you booked the trip through and I can assure you your feedback has been taken very seriously by both parties. We do apologise if the reasoning behind certain decisions in your itinerary were not communicated efficiently to you; for example the first class carriage on the toy train has only just begun being trialled, and was therefore not guaranteed on all trains which is why this class of travel was not offered to you.

I want to assure you that we have been, and continue to monitor Jet Airways; as part of the ATOL agreement you have with us, our clients are completely covered if the airline was to go bankrupt whilst you were away. If we thought there was an imminent risk we would of course use alternative airlines, but the cost saving for using Jet Airways is passed directly to our clients, with Jet Airways business class flights being on a par with British Airways. In your circumstance they did also offer more timely connections.

It is rare for us to have to change an itinerary after it has been booked, and we would only do this in exceptional circumstances so we sincerely apologise for the stress this caused you, I am aware you were in touch with your travel agent and specialist whilst you were away and am sorry this had such a negative impact on your experience. I want to reiterate that measures have been put in place to ensure communication with all parties involved are more efficient, and therefore your experiences are not repeated. If you would like to discuss any of these points further please do contact us. I appreciate you would prefer not to travel with us again but I would like to offer reassurances that this is far from a typical experience and we would love the opportunity to show you how we usually operate a trip.

Audley Travel by PMH, 24 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Honeymoon Adventure

We did a two week trip of Southern Madagascar visiting mainly National parks to see the Chameleons and Lemurs and other extraordinary wildlife then we relaxed for a week in Mauritius. We had a bespoke tour with private driver and guide in Madagascar and stayed a few nights at each location. There were some long days travelling and some arduous forest walks which were exciting and energetic on our searches for animals. Mauritius was our relaxing ...

We did a two week trip of Southern Madagascar visiting mainly National parks to see the Chameleons and Lemurs and other extraordinary wildlife then we relaxed for a week in Mauritius. We had a bespoke tour with private driver and guide in Madagascar and stayed a few nights at each location. There were some long days travelling and some arduous forest walks which were exciting and energetic on our searches for animals. Mauritius was our relaxing week but we still did a Southern tour, Northern tour, a helicopter flight and I did one scuba dive! A wonderfully friendly country and a fabulous hotel with gorgeous pools and beach.

Rating for tour operator:

From the planning through to the end of the trip Audley Travel was excellent. The Audley Travel staff were totally professional and helpful in every way before, during and at the end of the trip. The preparation notes are the best I've ever had. We turned up in Madagascar fully prepared for every eventuality! All the locals employed by Audley were professional, helpful and fully engaged in their work and made us comfortable and happy along the way. The standard of hotels and food available in every location was outstanding - better than I could have hoped for in a country as poor as Madagascar. The hotel in Mauritius was lovely and fulfilled all our requirements thanks to the Audley staff ensuring we made the best choice. A highly professional, slick operation and I'm already recommending Audley Travel to everyone I know who enjoys travel.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 25 Oct 2018:

We are so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time in Madagascar and Mauritius. It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed a very varied trip and saw the very best the countries have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and tell us about your adventure.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 25 Oct 2018:

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback surrounding your experience with Audley, both from our UK office and our partners in Madagascar and Mauritius. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed each and every element of your trip and would like to thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. We have passed your kind comments on to your specialist's direct manager.
We very much look forward to arranging your next adventure.

Audley Travel by Zoe, 9 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Far exceed expectations

With nio idea of where to go but a vague idea of the type of family holiday we wanted, Audley took the time to talk to me in detail about what each family member would like to experience and then came up with a tailor-made itinerary combining city (Kuching), wildlife (jungle) and luxury beach resort in Borneo..

With nio idea of where to go but a vague idea of the type of family holiday we wanted, Audley took the time to talk to me in detail about what each family member would like to experience and then came up with a tailor-made itinerary combining city (Kuching), wildlife (jungle) and luxury beach resort in Borneo..

Rating for tour operator:

Every little detail was thought through and taken care of by Audley; airline e-tickets, private transfers, private trips to amazing places and stunningly-located villa suites on the beautiful Gaya Island resort. It was the special family holiday we hoped for and which far exceeded our expectations. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 09 Aug 2018:

Thank you for your review, we take a consultive approach with all of our clients, investing time in really getting to know you, I am really pleased the perfect itinerary for you and your family was created allowing all of you to enjoy your holiday!

Audley Travel responded to this review on 09 Aug 2018:

We really appreciate you sharing your experience on what sounds like an idyllic holiday. It is great to hear that you would recommend us – word of mouth recommendations are an integral part of our business model. Thank you again for such an amazing review.

Audley Travel by EdZ, 3 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Audley gave us the trip of a lifetime

In July 2000 we traveled to Vietnam to adopt our daughter. At that time, we promised ourselves that we would return on her 18th birthday to show her the country of her birth. We saved for this trip for 18 years. When it came time to book the trip we worked with Audley travel. Their Vietnam specialist helped us craft a vacation that would give our daughter a sense of her country of birth and the culture and the people there. What they put together ...

In July 2000 we traveled to Vietnam to adopt our daughter. At that time, we promised ourselves that we would return on her 18th birthday to show her the country of her birth. We saved for this trip for 18 years. When it came time to book the trip we worked with Audley travel. Their Vietnam specialist helped us craft a vacation that would give our daughter a sense of her country of birth and the culture and the people there. What they put together for us far exceeded our expectations – it was a marvelous trip. Our trip was capped off by our finding our daughter’s birth family and reuniting with them. Audrey’s travel operators helped us meet with the family and spend two wonderful days with them. Well done Audley, we can’t praise you enough for what you did for us!

Rating for tour operator:

We had three tour operators during the course of our travels. Every single one of them were kind polite and knowledgeable and were totally focused on meeting our travel needs.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 04 Jul 2018:

Dear Edward, thank you so much for your amazing comments, we are so pleased we were able to deliver the once in a life time trip you had anticipated, and that you were able to meet with your daughters birth family! I am delighted you were able to create such special memories.

Audley Travel responded to this review on 04 Jul 2018:

I have shared your comments with our team, thank you again for your wonderful review.