AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 661
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 686
Reviews Accepted: 686
Reviews Rejected: 0
686 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by Happy Traveler from Minnesota, 11 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Very smooth with no glitches

We were so pleased to be able to hike with no worries about our luggage reaching our destination each night. The accommodations were lovely and we were able to get a hot shower at the end of each day and more food than was possible to manage. Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience. Deb and Tim Graf

We were so pleased to be able to hike with no worries about our luggage reaching our destination each night. The accommodations were lovely and we were able to get a hot shower at the end of each day and more food than was possible to manage. Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience. Deb and Tim Graf

Rating for tour operator:

We never met the tour operator and that was just the way we liked it. Smile. It was a seamless transition for us each day after meeting our host at our accommodation. The tour operator simply sent us our itinerary previous to our excursion and we were on our way.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Jul 2015:

Thank you very much for your feedback, we were really happy to hear that you enjoyed your West Highland Way adventure. Please do let us know if we can ever tempt yourself and Tim back to the UK for another walking holiday in the future! Scott Smyth

Absolute Escapes by Barney, 11 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

The experience of self-directed was a great & valuable time spent.

The paths were well marked in most areas. The second week not too well seen but had a lot of back tracing to do only to find the Acorn hidden with the gate. The first wk we enjoyed good weather, the second week turned more difficult meaning we had a lot of rain later in the a.m. lasting a few hrs at times. The wind & the coolness gave us more time as it became slippery on the slopes. However, the views were awesome & didn't expect the mountains ...

The paths were well marked in most areas. The second week not too well seen but had a lot of back tracing to do only to find the Acorn hidden with the gate. The first wk we enjoyed good weather, the second week turned more difficult meaning we had a lot of rain later in the a.m. lasting a few hrs at times. The wind & the coolness gave us more time as it became slippery on the slopes. However, the views were awesome & didn't expect the mountains to be very challenging at times. The B&B's were very presentalbe & folk were very gracious especially the last couple of days when we encountered difficult walks due to an injury of Trudy's. We ended up doing a tour to Landalou which was vry nice.

Rating for tour operator:

Our self-directed operator using maps & descriptions were our only source of direction. The difficulty was when we encountered so much rain & cold weather. It was difficult to stay focussed. Still seeing beautiful views when we could see over the misty areas.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 16 Jul 2015:

Thank you very much for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your walk along the Offa's Dyke Path, and that the temperamental Welsh weather did not detract too much from the spectacular views. We were happy to hear that your hosts looked after Trudy and yourself after her injury, and you managed to make the most of the last couple of days by visiting Llandudno. Please let us know if we can ever be of any assistance with future walking plans - we would be delighted to help. Scott Smyth

Absolute Escapes by Mac the Scot, 10 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

They Really Listen!

A once in a lifetime, 30 day self-drive tour of Scotland. Amazing scenery, wonderful accommodations and hosts, delicious food, engaging learning experiences--all part of a completely worry free experience. Every expectation was met.

A once in a lifetime, 30 day self-drive tour of Scotland. Amazing scenery, wonderful accommodations and hosts, delicious food, engaging learning experiences--all part of a completely worry free experience. Every expectation was met.

Rating for tour operator:

Well organized. Every detail addressed. Fantastic accommodations. Amazing customer service. A completely worry free experience. Every expectation met.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Jul 2015:

Many thanks for your feedback, and really glad you came by the office while you were in Edinburgh. It was great to meet you both and hear about your trip. It was a real pleasure to assist with your once in a lifetime holiday. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Mr H T 15, 8 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

A well planed walk :-)

Walking from Inverness to Fort William on the great glenway , and a walk to the top of Ben Nevis. We walked from B&B to B&B and the luggage was moved while we walked. All arrangements worked and the B&B chosen was just after our likeing. Friendly and helpfull hosts. All we had to do was to enjoy our walk , and we did.

Walking from Inverness to Fort William on the great glenway , and a walk to the top of Ben Nevis. We walked from B&B to B&B and the luggage was moved while we walked. All arrangements worked and the B&B chosen was just after our likeing. Friendly and helpfull hosts. All we had to do was to enjoy our walk , and we did.

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute escapes gave good information in advance and we felt that the given iformation was very usefull. Details regarding the B&Bs , directions , emergency contact information was good and easy to understand. All planning regarding transport of luggage, pickup (2 times) went without problems.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Jul 2015:

Thank you for your comments and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Great Glen Way walk. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by KayB, 5 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful St Cuthberts Walk

My brother and I chose this Walk after seeing the Tony Robinson programme 'Walking through History'. The walk was brilliantly way marked and the guidebook provided was really informative making this walk a relaxing enjoyable walk. I was surprised how popular this walk was although you still have a feeling of having the rolling hill to yourself. It's nice to catch up with new walking friends at the end of the day to discuss your experiences over ...

My brother and I chose this Walk after seeing the Tony Robinson programme 'Walking through History'. The walk was brilliantly way marked and the guidebook provided was really informative making this walk a relaxing enjoyable walk. I was surprised how popular this walk was although you still have a feeling of having the rolling hill to yourself. It's nice to catch up with new walking friends at the end of the day to discuss your experiences over a drink in the pub. The accommodation was as always first class with hosts being totally clued up on your requirements as a walker. Lovely Claire at the Mill house in Kirk Yetholm booked us a table at the hotel prior to us arriving which was great and the host at our B&B in Wooler made us a pack up breakfast as we had an early start to get to the island. The Manor house hotel in Lindasfarne was the perfect destination for putting your feet up and reflecting on your achievement of becoming a fully fledged pilgrim, with pots of tea and cake in a comfy sofa overlooking the beautiful and iconic remains of the Priory. It's situation was idillic with magnificent views of the Castle and the Gertrude Jekyll designed walled garden. We headed north the following day towards Berwick on the Northumberland Coast Path after a helpfull lift from the chef from the hotel to get us off the island within the tide times. Looking forward to planning another faultless walking holiday as the perfect getaway.

Rating for tour operator:

As always Absolute escapes organised our trip to perfection. From the start having the opportunity to chat with a well informed expert on that particular area. The itinerary and package was first class and perfect down to the last detail. The hotels were well chosen and logistics such as the taxi ride from Harestanes to Jedburgh which was off the trail and baggage handling was perfect.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 11 Jul 2015:

Thank you very much for your review and feedback on your walk. We were delighted to organise another walking holiday for you, and pleased to hear all of the arrangements went well. We would, of course, be more than happy to help with any future walking adventures that you have planned. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Harry, 4 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Absolute Escapes review

Everything was organised very efficiently and all of the accommodation was well chosen - there were no problems at all. The itinerary was completely accurate and very useful with local information.

Everything was organised very efficiently and all of the accommodation was well chosen - there were no problems at all. The itinerary was completely accurate and very useful with local information.

Absolute Escapes by Flo from Basle, 4 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Good but rainy

We walked around Arran. We had a lot of rainfall. One day we got all wet. But we saw a lot of animals (Otters, seals, red dear, red squirrel, sharks, ...).

We walked around Arran. We had a lot of rainfall. One day we got all wet. But we saw a lot of animals (Otters, seals, red dear, red squirrel, sharks, ...).

Rating for tour operator:

The tour was well organized. The luggage was transported and the guesthouse where adequate, friendly and helpful.

Absolute Escapes by Miss L D 15, 3 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Incredible scenery, lovely guest houses and very well organised.

Incredible scenery, lovely guest houses and very well organised.

Rating for tour operator:

They organised everything's perfectly, the itinerary and guest houses were all fantastic, the map they provided was a life saver and the advise about booking in restaurants, for example, was spot on. They made everything incredibly easy which was perfect for a honeymoon as we already had enough to organise with a wedding as well!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 10 Jul 2015:

Thank you for your comments and we were really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable Honeymoon. All the very best for your future together! Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Theresa, 3 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

great walking, food and b&bs

We did 5 days of walking on the cateran trail. It was a great trail, well marked. The b&bs and inns we stayed in were great and the food was really good!

We did 5 days of walking on the cateran trail. It was a great trail, well marked. The b&bs and inns we stayed in were great and the food was really good!

Rating for tour operator:

Provided timely responses, booked us into nice accommodation.

Absolute Escapes by Paddy, 3 Jul 2015
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous

We are a group of six walking the West Highland Way and had a fabulous time. The Scenery was breathtaking and although the walk was exhausting it was all part of the experience.The Hotels and B and B's we stayed in were all good and we were particurly impressed by the warm welcome we received at Braeside B and B in Drymen.

We are a group of six walking the West Highland Way and had a fabulous time. The Scenery was breathtaking and although the walk was exhausting it was all part of the experience.The Hotels and B and B's we stayed in were all good and we were particurly impressed by the warm welcome we received at Braeside B and B in Drymen.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and everything was thought about for us.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 07 Jul 2015:

Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your West Highland Way adventure. We'll certainly pass your comments onto Scott and Colin at Braeside. Andy Gabe