AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Absolute Escapes

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 617
Good 20
Average 4
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 642
Reviews Accepted: 642
Reviews Rejected: 0
642 reviews
Sort by:
Absolute Escapes by karlboerge, 13 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Glorious walking in Scotland

We are two elderly danes (71+73) who decided for a holiday in Scotland - For my wife the forst visit--although there are lots of -even danish- travel agencies arranging mostly bus round tours, we found the traditional round tour pr bus not specially attractive: The possibility of combining visit in Glasgow as in Edinburgh with walking The Great Glenn way--could combine: city holiday with nature--and we were not disapointed--all was were well ...

We are two elderly danes (71+73) who decided for a holiday in Scotland - For my wife the forst visit--although there are lots of -even danish- travel agencies arranging mostly bus round tours, we found the traditional round tour pr bus not specially attractive: The possibility of combining visit in Glasgow as in Edinburgh with walking The Great Glenn way--could combine: city holiday with nature--and we were not disapointed--all was were well and extremely good organise

Rating for tour operator:

I never like that kind af questions: Other tour operators are surely very good too-but I only know Absolute Escapes -which in all ways was very fine: We was surely a little annoying, as the tour was scheduled for last autum, but we had to cancel (3 days before) as I fell during running and for a long time was unable to walk etc- Therefore we kind of started again with the planning---I must say, that all the way in the "planning stadium" we knew what we got -and was orientated in all manners- You may wonder, why we not found a danish tour operator ---funny enough we never thought about that possibility-- but we surely will select a "native" operator when we return As a biproduct I had a great possibility to brush my english up-- Not enough, you are free to think !!!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 14 Jun 2015:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your comments. We were really pleased that you were able to re-book your trip and glad your wife enjoyed her first trip to Scotland. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Bobbi, 10 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

All we had hoped for and more.

We had come prepared for the weather and it lived up to its reputation but it didn't stop our enjoyment of all we saw and did. I think one of the things that made our trip so much fun was our guide, Audrey. She was amazing, so informative, obliging and fun. She really went the extra mile to make our trip special. We would love to do another tour with her. Our hosts and hostesses at the B/B's were wonderful and welcoming.

We had come prepared for the weather and it lived up to its reputation but it didn't stop our enjoyment of all we saw and did. I think one of the things that made our trip so much fun was our guide, Audrey. She was amazing, so informative, obliging and fun. She really went the extra mile to make our trip special. We would love to do another tour with her. Our hosts and hostesses at the B/B's were wonderful and welcoming.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 14 Jun 2015:

Thank you for your review and delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour with Rabbies and the accommodation we selected for you. We'll certainly pass on your lovely comments to Audrey. If we can ever tempt you back to Scotland we'll try our best to book another tour with Audrey for you! Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by hilcsr, 9 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

First ever walking holiday - and we'll be back for more

Our family is spread across Scotland, Iceland, and Alaska, and this was the perfect holiday to bring us all together again. We had a stunning three-day walk along the Causeway Coastway in Northern Ireland. The scenery was so outstanding that a full day of rain couldn't dampen our spirits. The other two days were mostly sunshine, and full of interesting side trips to castles, the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge, the Giant's Causeway and more. The ...

Our family is spread across Scotland, Iceland, and Alaska, and this was the perfect holiday to bring us all together again. We had a stunning three-day walk along the Causeway Coastway in Northern Ireland. The scenery was so outstanding that a full day of rain couldn't dampen our spirits. The other two days were mostly sunshine, and full of interesting side trips to castles, the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge, the Giant's Causeway and more. The BnBs were all top notch and added to the enjoyment of the trip--excellent food, brilliant hosts, and on one occasion, live music. We loved it.

Rating for tour operator:

In an era of online bookings, Absolute Escapes stood out for excellent customer service and bringing a real human touch to the trip process. When our tour packet arrived, we were surprised by just how much info they had sent. The book and customised instructions were indispensable, and each night the accommodation was even better than the night before. Absolute Escapes did a fab job pulling together the whole trip for us, and we're already thinking ahead to next year and looking at the other tours.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 14 Jun 2015:

Many thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the Causeway Coast. It's one of our newer walks, so its always pleasing to receive this kind of feedback for a wonderful part of Northern Ireland. It was great to hear that your group travelled from far and wide to walk together - we've always thought walking holidays are a great way to catch-up with family and old friends, as well as meet some news along the way. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Tom, 7 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

We hiked the Great Glen Way to experience the Highlands of Scotland

We hiked the Great Glen Way to experience the Highlands of Scotland

Rating for tour operator:

We chose Absolute Escapes to arrange our hike. We found everyone we interacted with to be quite prompt in communications, very thorough, and overall helpful in planning our hike. We were pleased with the accommodations arranged for us as well as the day-to-day details of our hike, each of our inns, and meal recommendations. We were also pleased with the arrangement to take our luggage each day to our inn, freeing us to hike with just a day pack. There were no glitches. Overall it was a great experience

Absolute Escapes by Kada1988, 7 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

West Highland Way magic

6 of us on the 5 day walking / 6 night package for the WHW, great organisation with great places to stay, the Kinlochleven B&B (Alt na Leven) standing out from a great selection already.

6 of us on the 5 day walking / 6 night package for the WHW, great organisation with great places to stay, the Kinlochleven B&B (Alt na Leven) standing out from a great selection already.

Rating for tour operator:

Thank you Absolute Escapes, we chose the right partner and we could not have asked for any more from the Quote to the trip. you showed the right amount of care, attention and advice.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jun 2015:

Thank you for your kind words about your West Highland Way adventure. Amanda from our office totally agrees with your comments about Alt na Leven - it was one of her favourite places to stay when she walked the trail last year. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Gazza traveller, 7 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Self Drive Touring Holiday package to Scotland

Absolute escapes created a self drive touring package for us that covered the major areas of Scotland staying 2 nights in each stop with 1 night stop overs in Kendal for the journey up and Corbridge on the return journey. The holiday gave us an excellent introduction to Scotland & places where we would like to spend more time at next time.

Absolute escapes created a self drive touring package for us that covered the major areas of Scotland staying 2 nights in each stop with 1 night stop overs in Kendal for the journey up and Corbridge on the return journey. The holiday gave us an excellent introduction to Scotland & places where we would like to spend more time at next time.

Rating for tour operator:

All Hotels were excellent, travel itinerary very well laid out with many recommendations for stopping points, places to eat & places to visit. Ferry arrangements & tour bus for Edinburgh provided as part of the package. Would recommend them for creating such itinerary's & the Hotels they provided were of a very very high standard. If we were to do something similar in Scotland we would use them again but create a different itinerary based on the places we visited & those places we would like to spend more time at.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 09 Jun 2015:

Thank you for your review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your self-drive tour. You certainly stayed in some of our favourite Guest Houses, including Dunheanish in Oban, Medina in Portree and Fernbank House in Speyside. If we can ever tempt you back to sample a few more please don't hesitate to get in touch. Thanks again, Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Mr T C 15, 4 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

A group of seven of us from the USA met in Hawes in mid-May, 2015 for a six day walking trip on the Herriot Way in Yorkshire. We walked four, 13 mile days with two rest days. We had done a similar walk two years ago along the Lizard Peninsula on the SW Coast Path and we like this style of walking trip, without luggage, from inn to inn. Since we had done a coast walk, we wanted to try a different part of the country - Yorkshire it was! Our ...

A group of seven of us from the USA met in Hawes in mid-May, 2015 for a six day walking trip on the Herriot Way in Yorkshire. We walked four, 13 mile days with two rest days. We had done a similar walk two years ago along the Lizard Peninsula on the SW Coast Path and we like this style of walking trip, without luggage, from inn to inn. Since we had done a coast walk, we wanted to try a different part of the country - Yorkshire it was! Our group ranged in age from 58 to 70. The scenery and experience was terrific. The 13 mile trek over Great Shunner Fell in a heavy mist/fog was a bit of a slog, but now we have something to talk about when we all get together! The weather for the rest of the trip was excellent, considering it was Yorkshire in May. We were glad we brought our ear muffs and scarves. We stayed in two B&Bs and two pub/inns: Herriot Inn in Hawes for three nights; Keld Lodge in Keld for one night; Hackney House in Reeth for two nights, and finally, the George and Dragon in Aysgarth for our last night. All accommodations were terrific. Similar to our trip in Cornwall, we were very impressed with the quality of pub food in England, especially since some of us had vegetarian and gluten-free dietary requirements.

Rating for tour operator:

"A group of seven of us from the USA met in Hawes in mid-May, 2015 for a six day walking trip on the Herriot Way in Yorkshire. We walked four, 13 mile days with two rest days. We had done a similar walk two years ago along the Lizard Peninsula on the SW Coast Path and we like this style of walking trip, without luggage, from inn to inn. Since we had done a coast walk, we wanted to try a different part of the country - Yorkshire it was! Our group ranged in age from 58 to 70. The scenery and experience was terrific. The 13 mile trek over Great Shunner Fell in a heavy mist/fog was a bit of a slog, but now we have something to talk about when we all get together! The weather for the rest of the trip was excellent, considering it was Yorkshire in May. We were glad we brought our ear muffs and scarves. We stayed in two B&Bs and two pub/inns: Herriot Inn in Hawes for three nights; Keld Lodge in Keld for one night; Hackney House in Reeth for two nights, and finally, the George and Dragon in Aysgarth for our last night. All accommodations were terrific. Similar to our trip in Cornwall, we were very impressed with the quality of pub food in England, especially since some of us had vegetarian and gluten-free dietary requirements."

Absolute Escapes by NDMCM, 3 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

Relaxing way to see the Spey Valley

Overall, we very much enjoyed the walk in the Spey Valley. As novices, we found the walk a good introduction to this style of holiday. The accommodations were, in general, very pleasant and we appreciated the support provided by Absolute Escapes. The only negative comment I would offer concerns the route into Aviemore at the end of the journey. I found walking on pavement for at least a mile, alongside a busy road, a rather rude awakening ...

Overall, we very much enjoyed the walk in the Spey Valley. As novices, we found the walk a good introduction to this style of holiday. The accommodations were, in general, very pleasant and we appreciated the support provided by Absolute Escapes. The only negative comment I would offer concerns the route into Aviemore at the end of the journey. I found walking on pavement for at least a mile, alongside a busy road, a rather rude awakening after seven days of relative solitude, accompanied only by birdsong. Perhaps the route could be rethought?

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes provided great support and the company was very easy to work with in planning the holiday. We would work with the company in future if planning a similar type of vacation.

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 03 Jun 2015:

Thank you for your feedback after your Speyside Way walk. We certainly agree that it's a lovely way to see the Spey Valley - one of our favourite places in Scotland! I think you're right about the end in Aviemore - it is a bit disappointing to end the walk on the main road through the town, especially when you are in a National Park. I think this has been done in order to assist walkers with accommodation and transport options at the end of the walk, but we will pass on your comments to the Rangers. Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Happy Ottawa Ramblers, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

WHW a great success for ambling Ottawans!

My friend and I enjoyed the stunning scenery, comfy accommodations and great food provided by our Scottish hosts all along the way. Many, many thanks to Andy Gabe and his able team for putting together a fabulous trip that went without a hitch! I cannot overstate our level of satisfaction with Andy and Absolute Escapes. Thanks for their part in a memorable holiday.

My friend and I enjoyed the stunning scenery, comfy accommodations and great food provided by our Scottish hosts all along the way. Many, many thanks to Andy Gabe and his able team for putting together a fabulous trip that went without a hitch! I cannot overstate our level of satisfaction with Andy and Absolute Escapes. Thanks for their part in a memorable holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

Andy went above and beyond in his sensitive response and additional efforts when I lost an item of sentimental value along the way. I'll always remember him for his empathy and extra assistance. He has not lost that personal touch, which makes all the difference!

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 03 Jun 2015:

Thank you very much for your review and we were delighted to hear that you had such a memorable holiday. We really appreciate the comments you have made and we're just sorry that we weren't able to assist you in recovering the lost item - here's hoping it will turn up at some point and we can re-unite you with it. Best Wishes to the ambling Ottawans! Andy Gabe

Absolute Escapes by Ini, 2 Jun 2015
Holiday Rating:

great hiking trip, good ways, perfectly marked, organisation top

we did four days of the Fife coastal path and had a great time. B&B was very friendly and comfortable, Information about the villages, ways and facilities good and everything worked fine. Even the wheather was perfect!

we did four days of the Fife coastal path and had a great time. B&B was very friendly and comfortable, Information about the villages, ways and facilities good and everything worked fine. Even the wheather was perfect!

Rating for tour operator:

Absolute Escapes

Absolute Escapes responded to this review on 03 Jun 2015:

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed walking in the Kingdom of Fife! We hope we can tempt you back to walk the rest of the path in the future. Andy Gabe