AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Wilderness Scotland

Wilderness Scotland Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Wilderness Scotland

Overall Company Rating
99%
Excellent 1084
Good 26
Average 1
Poor 1
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 1112
Reviews Accepted: 1111
Reviews Rejected: 1
1111 reviews
Sort by:
Road Cycling - Outer Hebrides by Andrew Fyfe, 23 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cycling the Outer Hebrides, Summer 2015

Wilderness Scotland provided a first class trip in the remote Outer Hebrides, covering a wide range of terrain, going to remote spots which would have otherwise been inaccessible and supported by top notch guides and with great food and accommodation along the way. Highly recommended!

Wilderness Scotland provided a first class trip in the remote Outer Hebrides, covering a wide range of terrain, going to remote spots which would have otherwise been inaccessible and supported by top notch guides and with great food and accommodation along the way. Highly recommended!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland

Knoydart and the Small Isles by Sleepless in Seattle, 19 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

This was a unique experience in landscape photography with a good guide and like-minded paerticipants.

6 days Knoydart peninsula with Colin Prior professional photographer

6 days Knoydart peninsula with Colin Prior professional photographer

Rating for tour operator:

Not much contact. Two phone calls and several emails - not much to go wrong

Scottish Sea Kayak Trail South by Nils, 16 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Amazing

I very much liked the combination of kayaking, targeted paddling skills training, history and biology. The friendliness of the Scottish people (and everybody else on this trip) was touching and I shall always remember this very positive experience.

I very much liked the combination of kayaking, targeted paddling skills training, history and biology. The friendliness of the Scottish people (and everybody else on this trip) was touching and I shall always remember this very positive experience.

Rating for tour operator:

Organised to perfection and great guides.

Wilderness Scotland by The Wanderer , 16 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Celebrate 70th birthday ocean kayaking and tour ancestral Highlands

The second part of my Scottish Holiday and visit to my ancestral homeland was the Ocean Kayaking, level 8 trip to Orkney Islands with Wilderness Scotland, Stayed at the Birsay Hostel/Outdoor Centre on the north end of mainland Orkney. Very well kept, clean, and quiet. Experienced excellent guides, food, and again as the first tour wonderful companions on this tour as well. The coast lines and the rock formations along which we paddled ...

The second part of my Scottish Holiday and visit to my ancestral homeland was the Ocean Kayaking, level 8 trip to Orkney Islands with Wilderness Scotland, Stayed at the Birsay Hostel/Outdoor Centre on the north end of mainland Orkney. Very well kept, clean, and quiet. Experienced excellent guides, food, and again as the first tour wonderful companions on this tour as well. The coast lines and the rock formations along which we paddled - the "silence" of the surf caressed beaches - the ocean itself was wonderful, giving us interesting changes in its moods, interacting with the winds, and the resulting wave and counter waves off the shore lines, the seals, and birds along the way. The day of kayak surfing, and the delight of everyones smiles afterwards. As always the peace I have always found in these settings of nature - but this trip especially more, since I was visiting for my first time the land of my ancestors - I was at home once more - even tho I had never lived or visited there - I felt the same feelings of having returned to a home I once left long ago - the very same feelings I had when I returned to my own place of birth along the shores of Nova Scotia. I found again more of my roots. I want to return to immerse myself in the Scottish Highlands and isles. Ring of Brodgar

Rating for tour operator:

both tour guides were excellent sources of history, laughter, good food, good companionship, excellent leadership. I was nicknamed THE WANDERER by the tour guide for Wilderness Scotland.

Wilderness Scotland by Alison , 15 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful walking holiday through The Great Glen!

Inspiring scenery and charming towns! Walking the Great Glen Way was challenging enough to give one a sense of accomplishment, whilst still being a pleasant and manageable route. This walking holiday was a very relaxing and invigorating way to see parts of Scotland we would not have otherwise thought to visit.

Inspiring scenery and charming towns! Walking the Great Glen Way was challenging enough to give one a sense of accomplishment, whilst still being a pleasant and manageable route. This walking holiday was a very relaxing and invigorating way to see parts of Scotland we would not have otherwise thought to visit.

Rating for tour operator:

Very personal service, quick responses to any and all questions. They booked excellent accommodations and looked after all the details of luggage transfer. The route information and suggestions provided were very useful.

Walking: Cape Wrath & North West by Ms E B 15, 13 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Cape Wrath and northwest highlands of Scotland

A lovely holiday with good walking, great hotel, delicious food and a great guide!

A lovely holiday with good walking, great hotel, delicious food and a great guide!

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland. It was my third trip with them, all excellent. Will travel with them again and I do recommend them for walking holidays in Scotland. The itineraries are good, accommodation great and the guides very skilled.

Sailing the Inner Hebrides by Jon, 10 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Sailing around Skye on Eda Frandsen

Group sailing holiday around the Isle of Skye on the Eda Fransen. No experience necessary - although need to be happy living on a boat for a week - and helping out with sailing the boat.

Group sailing holiday around the Isle of Skye on the Eda Fransen. No experience necessary - although need to be happy living on a boat for a week - and helping out with sailing the boat.

Rating for tour operator:

Wilderness Scotland organised the trip - although it was effectively run independently by the owner of the Eda Frandsen - James Mackenzie.

MTB - Coast to Coast by Mr Bolly London, 10 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Scotland coast to coast - mountain bike

Wilderness Scotland made what could have been a punishing and unforgiving challenge into a highly memorable experience. The balance between active support and encouragement on the one hand and the scale of the challenge for each of us on the other was correctly assessed by our guide on Day 1. As a result we had just the right level of stretch during the day. There was plenty of good hearty food; warm and friendly accommodation during the evenings; ...

Wilderness Scotland made what could have been a punishing and unforgiving challenge into a highly memorable experience. The balance between active support and encouragement on the one hand and the scale of the challenge for each of us on the other was correctly assessed by our guide on Day 1. As a result we had just the right level of stretch during the day. There was plenty of good hearty food; warm and friendly accommodation during the evenings; and excellent breakfasts. The care and attention our bikes got was also excellent (checked fully every evening) and much appreciated.

Rating for tour operator:

All support and sales staff have been on the trips they are advising on, so they have real insight and knowledge and can be trusted to tell it like it is.

Wilderness Scotland by BostonChicago, 8 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Beautiful countryside and good companions made the WHW an unforgettable experience

My daughter and I hiked the 95 miles of the WHW, our second major trek after having taken the Shivapuri trail in Nepal a few years ago. While the Scottish highlands aren't the Himalayas, the scenery was beautiful and the hike was challenging. We stayed at BnB's along the way and had an excellent experience throughout.

My daughter and I hiked the 95 miles of the WHW, our second major trek after having taken the Shivapuri trail in Nepal a few years ago. While the Scottish highlands aren't the Himalayas, the scenery was beautiful and the hike was challenging. We stayed at BnB's along the way and had an excellent experience throughout.

Rating for tour operator:

We booked the trip with Wilderness Scotland and they were very helpful in arranging all of the details and providing good quality maps/instructions for the trip.

Walking - The Wilds of Assynt by MAF, 6 Aug 2015
Holiday Rating:

Professional and helped ensure I saw the most in the time provided

Guided walking holiday in Highlands of Scotland

Guided walking holiday in Highlands of Scotland

Rating for tour operator:

Professional, thorough and very customer focussed