AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
Visions Holiday Group

Visions Holiday Group Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Visions Holiday Group

Overall Company Rating
100%
Excellent 33
Good 0
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 33
Reviews Accepted: 33
Reviews Rejected: 0
33 reviews
Sort by:
Visions Holiday Group by Cusopian, 30 Sep 2014
Holiday Rating:

A relaxing break in a top class villa

We loved the villa - Zakharoula 3 on Skiathos. One of the top two we have rented, the other being in Crete some years ago. The car hired to us by Europcar was a bit of a wreck (32,000km) but got us up and down the very steep hills to the villa from the coast. A climb to 300m above sea level in 10 minutes is not for the faint-hearted nor those with poor clutch control. We used the villa's pool much more than beaches where we found Eleni ...

We loved the villa - Zakharoula 3 on Skiathos. One of the top two we have rented, the other being in Crete some years ago. The car hired to us by Europcar was a bit of a wreck (32,000km) but got us up and down the very steep hills to the villa from the coast. A climb to 300m above sea level in 10 minutes is not for the faint-hearted nor those with poor clutch control. We used the villa's pool much more than beaches where we found Eleni suited us best. Weather was mixed with a couple of big storms, but not a real problem. Skiathos airport is a total disaster, with every flight (14 were listed)badly delayed on the day of our departure. We were delayed by about two hours on both outward and inward flights. This alone would stop us returning to Skiathos, but everything else about the island (apart from Banana Beach) was very pleasant. The quality of Greek food has certainly gone up a notch or two in recent years (no lamb chops burnt to a crisp) but there is still a lack of real choice. All restaurants had almost the same menu. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but would look for a different island next time we return to Greece.

Rating for tour operator:

Booking process was very straightforward, with excellent advice from Zoe. Thanks for recommending such good accommodation! However, the story about the flight stopping in Volos on the return leg in order to refuel as the runway at Skiathos is too short for a plane to take off with a full fuel load is disingenuous. All 14 other flights listed were flying directly back to the UK, some much further north than Gatwick, so fuel load is clearly not an issue. Passengers disembarked and more got on the plane at Volos, so this is clearly a scheduled stop for passenger purposes, not fuel! Why not simply say this? A minor point, but one that irritated us. They do need to talk to Europcar about the quality of the cars they hire out. Ours was an old banger which was dented, scraped, and scratched. Sometimes the central locking worked, sometimes not. I've NEVER had a hire car with 32,000 km on the clock before. It showed its age! We were not told that the villa had a washing machine, which meant that we took far more clothes than we needed to. A small detail, but... Equally, the villa was cleaned every two days, not weekly as we had been advised. Overall, however, we were happy with the service provided and would use Islands-of-Greece again. They just need to sort out a few relatively minor details, get the information that they give to clients correct, and ensure that they don't make up stories that can be easily checked.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 05 Nov 2014:

We are pleased that you enjoyed Skiathos overall, it is one of our favourite islands.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 05 Nov 2014:

I have made Zoe aware of your comments - with thanks. With regard to refuelling, it very much depends on the aircraft size / weight on board as to whether fuel is topped up at the same time as clients embarkation /disembarkation on the return journey. In 2014 it was only the Boeing aircraft that could make the journey without refuelling. We will ensure going forward that it is made clear, this is a refuelling stop as well as a passenger embarkation / disembarkation stop. I hope we can assist with future holidays to the Greek islands.

Visions Holiday Group by Wilki, 17 Aug 2014
Holiday Rating:

Exact ally as they said it would be!

Island. Hopping Greece, all paper work on time and accurate, representatives in resort on time, knowledgeable and helpful, . Excellent support from the start in selecting both islands and hotels. Inter island travel well organised and allowed to make the most of each day not feeling we had lost a day to travel. A professional service based on excellent knowledge of the islands and backed up with supportive staff. Many thanks for all the help.

Island. Hopping Greece, all paper work on time and accurate, representatives in resort on time, knowledgeable and helpful, . Excellent support from the start in selecting both islands and hotels. Inter island travel well organised and allowed to make the most of each day not feeling we had lost a day to travel. A professional service based on excellent knowledge of the islands and backed up with supportive staff. Many thanks for all the help.

Rating for tour operator:

Visions Holiday Group. A first class service from start to finish. Reassuring and supportive.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 17 Aug 2014:

Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your island hopping experience with Islands of Greece. Thank you for leaving your feedback.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 17 Aug 2014:

Thank you very much!

Visions Holiday Group by Malia, 21 Jul 2014
Holiday Rating:

Perfect holiday

Everything was perfectly organized, both before and during the holiday.Any queries were answered promptly via email. The price for 2 weeks island hopping in Greece plus flights was amazing. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff or hotelowner at every port, all transfers went without a problem. 2 out of the 3 hotels were excellent (despite only being 3 stars), the third one a four star a bit disappointing but still ok (Kanapitsa mare ...

Everything was perfectly organized, both before and during the holiday.Any queries were answered promptly via email. The price for 2 weeks island hopping in Greece plus flights was amazing. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff or hotelowner at every port, all transfers went without a problem. 2 out of the 3 hotels were excellent (despite only being 3 stars), the third one a four star a bit disappointing but still ok (Kanapitsa mare on Skiathos). Overall can fully recommend this company and will definitely use again, in fact only found them by accident, I think they could do with investing in some advertisement.

Rating for tour operator:

Zoe delivered an excellent service, always replied promptly and answered questions patiently. The package she put together for us was fantastic and everything was organized well

Visions Holiday Group by Vixen4040, 26 Jun 2014
Holiday Rating:

Cyclades Island Hopping - Santorini, Naxos & Mykonos

We contacted Visions Holiday Group to arrange island hopping, all I gave them were the three islands we wanted to visit and rough dates we wished to travel. I received a quotation the next day, which was absolutely as we wanted and at an excellent price. We had the most fantastic holiday and the hotels were amazing.

We contacted Visions Holiday Group to arrange island hopping, all I gave them were the three islands we wanted to visit and rough dates we wished to travel. I received a quotation the next day, which was absolutely as we wanted and at an excellent price. We had the most fantastic holiday and the hotels were amazing.

Rating for tour operator:

Very efficient and when a transfer did not arrive, the problem was sorted out within minutes.

Visions Holiday Group by Marmite, 19 Jun 2014
Holiday Rating:

Excellent

We hired a villa in Kefalonia. It was exactly what I had hoped for with stunning views, well serviced and very well equiped. Lovely gardens and swimming pool. Kefalonia was fantastic. Only negative was the quality of check in staff from Germania airlines. Absolutely no inter personal skills.

We hired a villa in Kefalonia. It was exactly what I had hoped for with stunning views, well serviced and very well equiped. Lovely gardens and swimming pool. Kefalonia was fantastic. Only negative was the quality of check in staff from Germania airlines. Absolutely no inter personal skills.

Rating for tour operator:

Extremely helpful responded quickly to queries supplied relevant information and up dates regarding a road diversion. Very good at suggesting the type of property I was describing.

Visions Holiday Group by Lanky Yianni, 22 Mar 2014
Holiday Rating:

VALLETTA - MARCH 2014

In March 2014, we decided to visit and stay in Valletta, Malta, for our first holiday on the island. Alan at Visions Group provided us with two options both of which matched our requirements and were competitively priced. We had difficulty deciding which to choose but settled for the small Osborne Hotel, within the city walls with all amenities nearby. The hotel could not be faulted with comfortable, quiet, recently modernised rooms and a ...

In March 2014, we decided to visit and stay in Valletta, Malta, for our first holiday on the island. Alan at Visions Group provided us with two options both of which matched our requirements and were competitively priced. We had difficulty deciding which to choose but settled for the small Osborne Hotel, within the city walls with all amenities nearby. The hotel could not be faulted with comfortable, quiet, recently modernised rooms and a good selection for breakfast. Unfortunately, we had to curtail our stay because of a medical problem. I contacted Alan who immediately re- arranged earlier flights and transfer with the minimum of inconvenience.

Rating for tour operator:

I have used Visions Group for several years mainly to visit Greece and have found them to be excellent. Their knowledge of destinations, accommodation, flights and local agents is based on personal experience, not websites. They take the hassle out of arranging a holiday and are competitively priced. The service is always excellent and I have never had cause to complain. Why go on line and trust your own judgement when you have experts like Alan Garner, who can be relied upon to provide back up if and when required. Give me Visions Group anytime.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 27 Mar 2014:

It's pleasure to assist and always provide you with a personal service based on our experience. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Visions Holiday Group by Alan, 5 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Amazing - as expected and more. Wow was the word of the holiday.

Everything was as we had hoped or better. Most of the accommodation was first class in everyway finishing with Pumba private game reserve - amazing. The only criticism was the upgrade we requested for our car was not translated to when we picked it up from Cape Town. We had to wait and follow up with numerous phone calls before we finally got our double cab - but we got it eventually, a stress we could have done without. All but one of the accomm...

Everything was as we had hoped or better. Most of the accommodation was first class in everyway finishing with Pumba private game reserve - amazing. The only criticism was the upgrade we requested for our car was not translated to when we picked it up from Cape Town. We had to wait and follow up with numerous phone calls before we finally got our double cab - but we got it eventually, a stress we could have done without. All but one of the accommodations was brilliant, the exception being Thylitshia villa guest house. Beautiful location, well appointed and lovely rooms but the flies in the bedroom - prolific. I know it is to be expected but perhaps it is because not only is this accommodation in Ostrich land but we are located right next to a sheep farm. At night even though we may had extinguished about 20 flies. In the morning there were just as many. As a group we felt as though we were back in colonial times - some might like that but we felt uncomfortable with the way some of the gardeners were treated. Again there are situations as visitors we have no control over. We felt uncomfortable. There was no written confirmation in rooms as to the meal arrangement. We were invited to try Ostrich which was gracious and accepted we did not know were having three courses - which just appeared. Of our group two had the full three courses but one only had a salad and veg. We were charged for 4 x 3 course meals and although we had two bottles of wine over two nights, two waters and a glass of white wine. The bill was more expensive than any other restaurant we went to as a party of 4. However, the other accommodation, sights, tastes people, experiences unforgettable. We had a delay on our return, missed our flight from Joburg and had a lot of difficulty finding help to ensure BA met there obligations to sort us with meals and accommodation - very upsetting and with no ownership from BA as to the problem as the service had been contracted to Com Air whose phone was not working. There were many people who missed the connection due to BA and we were all very tired and upset with the lack of service. However - we got home eventually. Our tour operator Lucy from Visions was great and delivered all we asked. Alan had the most memorable 50th birthday.

Rating for tour operator:

As above, professional and prompt, service backed up with extensive knowledge of South Africa - just what a first time visitor required.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 06 Dec 2013:

Thank you for your feedback. I will also be passing it on to Europcar, Thylitshia and Comair. I'm very please you had a fabulous birthday as planned.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 06 Dec 2013:

Thank you for your compliments and I hope you will return one day!

Visions Holiday Group by Alan, 5 Dec 2013
Holiday Rating:

Amazing - as expected and more. Wow was the word of the holiday.

Everything was as we had hoped or better. Most of the accommodation was first class in everyway finishing with Pumba private game reserve - amazing. The only criticism was the upgrade we requested for our car was not translated to when we picked it up from Cape Town. We had to wait and follow up with numerous phone calls before we finally got our double cab - but we got it eventually, a stress we could have done without. All but one of the accomm...

Everything was as we had hoped or better. Most of the accommodation was first class in everyway finishing with Pumba private game reserve - amazing. The only criticism was the upgrade we requested for our car was not translated to when we picked it up from Cape Town. We had to wait and follow up with numerous phone calls before we finally got our double cab - but we got it eventually, a stress we could have done without. All but one of the accommodations was brilliant, the exception being Thylitshia villa guest house. Beautiful location, well appointed and lovely rooms but the flies in the bedroom - prolific. I know it is to be expected but perhaps it is because not only is this accommodation in Ostrich land but we are located right next to a sheep farm. At night even though we may had extinguished about 20 flies. In the morning there were just as many. As a group we felt as though we were back in colonial times - some might like that but we felt uncomfortable with the way some of the gardeners were treated. Again there are situations as visitors we have no control over. We felt uncomfortable. There was no written confirmation in rooms as to the meal arrangement. We were invited to try Ostrich which was gracious and accepted we did not know were having three courses - which just appeared. Of our group two had the full three courses but one only had a salad and veg. We were charged for 4 x 3 course meals and although we had two bottles of wine over two nights, two waters and a glass of white wine. The bill was more expensive than any other restaurant we went to as a party of 4. However, the other accommodation, sights, tastes people, experiences unforgettable. We had a delay on our return, missed our flight from Joburg and had a lot of difficulty finding help to ensure BA met there obligations to sort us with meals and accommodation - very upsetting and with no ownership from BA as to the problem as the service had been contracted to Com Air whose phone was not working. There were many people who missed the connection due to BA and we were all very tired and upset with the lack of service. However - we got home eventually. Our tour operator Lucy from Visions was great and delivered all we asked. Alan had the most memorable 50th birthday.

Rating for tour operator:

As above, professional and prompt, service backed up with extensive knowledge of South Africa - just what a first time visitor required.

Visions Holiday Group by Lancashire Yiannis, 23 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

The Cyclades and Napflion - September 2013

We flew from Manchester to Santorini, staying overnight before catching the morning Seajet to Amorgos where we spent three nights at the Aegialis Hotel. Then followed an early morning ferry to Naxos where we spent the day before transferring to Folegandros (Vardia Bay) for four nights. The evening Seajet then took us to Piraeus, arriving about 11pm to find a taxi waiting 20 yards from the gangway to spirit is to our hotel in Athens (Fresh ...

We flew from Manchester to Santorini, staying overnight before catching the morning Seajet to Amorgos where we spent three nights at the Aegialis Hotel. Then followed an early morning ferry to Naxos where we spent the day before transferring to Folegandros (Vardia Bay) for four nights. The evening Seajet then took us to Piraeus, arriving about 11pm to find a taxi waiting 20 yards from the gangway to spirit is to our hotel in Athens (Fresh Hotel) for another overnighter. The next day we collected our hire car and drove to Nafplion where we stayed at the Amalia Hotel for five nights before returning to Athens and flying home.

Rating for tour operator:

Our itinery was prepared by Alan and Zoe exactly to to our specification. This was not an easy trip to organise and we were mightily impressed by all the arrangements which included flights, transfers, car hire and accommodation. The hotels were first class and included some of the best we have stayed at in Greece. We had a most enjoyable holiday and we have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Visions Group for holidays in Greece. Alan and Zoe know the locations and hotels personally and they use local agents who can be relied upon to deliver. Their attention to detail ensures that all everything goes according to plan with no hassle Thanks for a great holiday. We will use them again next year for another Greek sortie.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 24 Oct 2013:

We really enjoyed working on this itinerary with you and we're please it all worked out brilliantly.

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 24 Oct 2013:

Thank you for your comments about Islands of Greece. I know Alan and Zoe will be thrilled to help with your itinerary again next year!

Visions Holiday Group by Laura&Ian, 23 Oct 2013
Holiday Rating:

Unforgettable - if only every holiday could be a honeymoon holiday :)

We spent 2.5 weeks exploring South Africa. We started in Hermanus with three days for whale watching, shark cage diving, and visiting the penguins at Betty's Bay. This was following with a few days in Franshhoek where we happily indulged in fine dining and wine tasting. Then we had 9 days in the greater Kruger National Park, staying at 3 different safari lodges. It was our honeymoon and simply amazing. Everywhere we stayed was beautiful ...

We spent 2.5 weeks exploring South Africa. We started in Hermanus with three days for whale watching, shark cage diving, and visiting the penguins at Betty's Bay. This was following with a few days in Franshhoek where we happily indulged in fine dining and wine tasting. Then we had 9 days in the greater Kruger National Park, staying at 3 different safari lodges. It was our honeymoon and simply amazing. Everywhere we stayed was beautiful and the staff exceptionally friendly, helpful, with special touches like champagne and candles. The safari experience was simply unforgettable

Rating for tour operator:

The Visions Holiday Group, who we've used previously, were great from the start spending lots of time with us in discussing what we'd like and creating recomemnded itineraries for us to review. They excelled in selecting accomodation that we absolutely loved, organised all the transport (car hire and transfers) which went very smoothly, giving us a detailed breakdown of the itinerary, and recommending / booking tour activities for the whale watching and shark cage diving - which were brilliant! I would highly recommend them as a travel agent

Visions Holiday Group responded to this review on 23 Oct 2013:

It was a pleasure assisting you with your second trip to the continent and a privilege arranging your honeymoon to South Africa for you. Look forward to the 3rd trip!