AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 49
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Geoff Lomas, 29 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Scotland by rail

Starting in Glasgow we took trains to Spey Bridge & then on to Arisaig via the Jacobite steam train to Mallaig where we took a full day taxi tour of Glencoe & Glenfinnan monument/viaduct. Then ferry to Sky followed by a full day taxi tour of the island in snowy conditions which served to enhance the stunning scenery. At our suggestion we travelled to Plockton via Eilean Donan castle. Then train to Inverness & after a free day there we moved ...

Starting in Glasgow we took trains to Spey Bridge & then on to Arisaig via the Jacobite steam train to Mallaig where we took a full day taxi tour of Glencoe & Glenfinnan monument/viaduct. Then ferry to Sky followed by a full day taxi tour of the island in snowy conditions which served to enhance the stunning scenery. At our suggestion we travelled to Plockton via Eilean Donan castle. Then train to Inverness & after a free day there we moved to Thurso for the Orkney islands. We did a full day tour of the historical sites. Train to Kingussie then two days in Pitlochry & finally terminating in Edinburgh. Train travel is very relaxing. All taxis had been pre arranged & the whole two weeks ran like clockwork regardless of the complexity. The hotels had been carefully & wisely chosen & we would recommend most of these to friends. Some of them served evening meals which represented a gourmet experience. We were most impressed with the detailed holiday arrangements & the flexibility in meeting new requests/changes. We would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday & the company.

Rating for tour operator:

See above.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Senior Canadian Couple, 7 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Train Travel Scotland booked with McKinlay Kidd

We traveled independently by train throughout Scotland with the tour company booking the trains, accommodation, and transportation. Most of the trip was in rural Scotland and local transportation and tours were also booked by travel company.

We traveled independently by train throughout Scotland with the tour company booking the trains, accommodation, and transportation. Most of the trip was in rural Scotland and local transportation and tours were also booked by travel company.

Rating for tour operator:

Good communication with our travel agent Carol prior to the trip. Every detail was planned carefully so we had all our seats booked on trains, we were met at each stop and transferred seamlessly to each accommodation or activity. The accommodation and activities were excellent and provided a good variety for our 3 week trip. We had one conflict which was addressed within minutes of sending an email when we were not expecting to hear back until the next business day.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Mrs M W 17, 5 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

We had a really great time. . We loved it and feel we have seen a great deal of Scotland. The people were delightful

It was well organised with plenty of variety. The documentation was detailed, clear and expertly laid out. All the hotels were well above average with delicious meals. We had excellent suggestions for walks, excursions and other restaurants The weather was good and the scenery divine. The trains taxis and lifts were all on time clean and comfortable with very pleasant drivers

It was well organised with plenty of variety. The documentation was detailed, clear and expertly laid out. All the hotels were well above average with delicious meals. We had excellent suggestions for walks, excursions and other restaurants The weather was good and the scenery divine. The trains taxis and lifts were all on time clean and comfortable with very pleasant drivers

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent, kind and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble The whole trip was well thought out

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by R & C, 2 May 2017
Holiday Rating:

Stunning West Highlands rail tour

We have had the most marvellous tour organised to perfection by McKinley Kidd. With short hops on trains, steam train and a ferry as well as charming taxi transfers, we saw much of the magic of the Western Highlands. Spean Brisge to Mallaig, Arisaig and Morar, over to Skye and great beauty, Kyle and the lovely Plockton before Fort George and Inverness.

We have had the most marvellous tour organised to perfection by McKinley Kidd. With short hops on trains, steam train and a ferry as well as charming taxi transfers, we saw much of the magic of the Western Highlands. Spean Brisge to Mallaig, Arisaig and Morar, over to Skye and great beauty, Kyle and the lovely Plockton before Fort George and Inverness.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd worked tirelessly to provide a superb experience tailored to our wishes. Courteous, kind, thoughtful and innovative, we highly recommend them.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Rossmag, 22 Oct 2016
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

We were very impressed by the level of professionalism and wonderful organization of our trip! We saw a great deal of Scotland in the 15 days, including a wonderful tour of Skye and Orkney.

We were very impressed by the level of professionalism and wonderful organization of our trip! We saw a great deal of Scotland in the 15 days, including a wonderful tour of Skye and Orkney.

Rating for tour operator:

We would recommend McKinlay-Kidd to anyone wanting a tour that is completely organized, with the freedom to do their own thing at each stop, and also some great guided tours!

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by KarenG, 24 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

ScotlandbyTrain2016

Four of us travelled around Scotland by train, taxi and ferry. It was our first trip to Scotland and it was wonderful.

Four of us travelled around Scotland by train, taxi and ferry. It was our first trip to Scotland and it was wonderful.

Rating for tour operator:

I would highly recommend McKinlay Kidd.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Miriam, 21 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Trip around Scotland

We traveled independently, McKinlay Kidd having made arrangements for our train tickets and other transport (taxis, ferries), our lodging and excursions. We had 10 stops in 3 weeks. McKinlay Kidd furnished us with a great deal of information about our destinations and advice about what to see and do. We were extremely pleased with the high quality of the experiences, excursions, lodgings and their handling of the logistics. We felt we were being ...

We traveled independently, McKinlay Kidd having made arrangements for our train tickets and other transport (taxis, ferries), our lodging and excursions. We had 10 stops in 3 weeks. McKinlay Kidd furnished us with a great deal of information about our destinations and advice about what to see and do. We were extremely pleased with the high quality of the experiences, excursions, lodgings and their handling of the logistics. We felt we were being introduced to some of the best experiences Scotland offers (though I think that wonderful country's offerings are inexaustible).

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd's arrangements were meticulous and everything went very smoothly. They were responsive to our questions and concerns both while we were planning our trip and during our travels. The focus seemed to be on genuinely local and authentic experiences and providers, not mass-produced typical tourist stuff. The people we talked to who operate the excursions and lodgings seemed to have high regard for McKinlay Kidd (one commented 'they treat me really well') and being under their umbrella, so to speak, seemed to smooth our path in a number of ways. We felt well looked after. We will not hesitate to consult them again on future holidays.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Anne, 12 Sep 2016
Holiday Rating:

Beyond Reproach

This was our second year in a row bookimg a McKinlay and Kidd holiday. Both years there arrangements were perfection with all connections working like clockwork, the hotel rooms exactly what we wanted and the dinners at several of tje hoyels of the highest quality. Will definitely book with them again.

This was our second year in a row bookimg a McKinlay and Kidd holiday. Both years there arrangements were perfection with all connections working like clockwork, the hotel rooms exactly what we wanted and the dinners at several of tje hoyels of the highest quality. Will definitely book with them again.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay and Kidd is the best.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by VM from Canada, 14 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Terrific well-organized grand tour of Scotland

The itinerary of our trip was perfect in that it gave us a taste of ten regions of Scotland and we are already starting to think of another trip to revisit some of the places that we would like to know more about. The hospitality in each hotel was excellent and the food in the regions was often among the best we have experienced. We felt that the hosts and hostesses as well as the tour guides provided extra care because they appreciated the ...

The itinerary of our trip was perfect in that it gave us a taste of ten regions of Scotland and we are already starting to think of another trip to revisit some of the places that we would like to know more about. The hospitality in each hotel was excellent and the food in the regions was often among the best we have experienced. We felt that the hosts and hostesses as well as the tour guides provided extra care because they appreciated the business from Mckinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

Amazing planning and ongoing oversight. We will use them again soon.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by colin, 13 Aug 2016
Holiday Rating:

Grand tour of Scotland by train

Very nice hotels with opportunity fo excellent excursions

Very nice hotels with opportunity fo excellent excursions

Rating for tour operator:

Very well spoke of in the trade and could not have been more helpful