AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 49
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by chrismbkoester, 13 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A Grand Tour Of Scotland

Exploring Scotland's Highlands for 14 days via trains and ferries was a great experience. The accommodations were lovely with inn owners and staff consistently going above and beyond.

Exploring Scotland's Highlands for 14 days via trains and ferries was a great experience. The accommodations were lovely with inn owners and staff consistently going above and beyond.

Rating for tour operator:

The logistics of this trip were extremely well organized by McKinlay Kidd. The independent self-guided tour approach was like adult backpacking with all of the details taken care of (places to stay, train & ferry reservations already handled, taxi services arranged, customized tours in locations such as Skye & Orkney.)

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Colin 2017, 18 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Grand tour of Scotland

23 nights of magic in the most beautiful country.

23 nights of magic in the most beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

Just fantastic. Coming from Australia they made it so easy. Everything was planned to the last detail and was so good. Exceeded our expectations. So good I'd give them an 11 out of 10.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Mike, 22 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

A two week tour of Scotland by trains and ferries

We'd been considering a holiday using trains for some time, so a tour around Scotland using scheduled trains, with the odd steam train and ferry, seemed to fit the bill. Starting in Glasgow, we trained Northwards, stopping off just short of Fort William, at Spean Bridge. This was an idyllic spot, marking the real end of work and start of the holiday! We then took the Jacobite steam train up to Mallaig, staying a couple of nights at nearby Arisaig...

We'd been considering a holiday using trains for some time, so a tour around Scotland using scheduled trains, with the odd steam train and ferry, seemed to fit the bill. Starting in Glasgow, we trained Northwards, stopping off just short of Fort William, at Spean Bridge. This was an idyllic spot, marking the real end of work and start of the holiday! We then took the Jacobite steam train up to Mallaig, staying a couple of nights at nearby Arisaig. Then a couple of days on Skye (which wasn't as crowded as the newspapers were saying - but certainly as beautiful). Next stop Inverness, from where we took a boat excursion through the Caledonian Canal into the resplendent Loch Ness. Onward to Thurso, from where we took a day trip to lovely Orkney. We broke up the train journey down to Edinburgh with an overnight stay at Kingussie and the finest dinner of the trip. Finally, three days in Edinburgh, all full of Festival, Tattoo 'n' all. That's what we did, but putting into words how we felt about our holiday is more difficult. Just a wonderful experience made up of a variety of lovely experiences. The scenery to start with - Scotland seems to be green all the way up to the top - and watching it from a train window rather than looking for road signs from a car was a good choice! The excursions we took, the places we stayed, the people we met (who knew, the Scots are really friendly!). the food we ate, the ale I drank, the gin she drank, and finally all the fun of the festival at our final stop. A big tick for Scotrail too - the schedule went to schedule. This was a holiday to remember, and we will do so with great fondness.

Rating for tour operator:

I think it was a car company that once ran a campaign with the tag line "it just works". Well our holiday, with its various journeys, transfers and one- or two- night stays, just worked. The balance of travelling versus staying, was just right for us, and the range of experiences spot on. We didn't feel stuck, or hurried, at any stage. We quickly began to trust "Robert's Recommendations", not least when various hoteliers told us that Robert (Kidd) visits himself. Some say that the planning of a holiday is almost more stressful than the holiday is enjoyable. What stress? McKinlay Kidd took that away, and delivered a special two weeks.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Bagwash, 4 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised.Excellent attention to detail from the initial enquiry to the final destination.

Beautiful part of the U K, very good weather.

Beautiful part of the U K, very good weather.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation,will use the company again.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Louise, 4 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Two weeks in the Highlands

We took a fourteen day tour of the Highlands by train organised by McKinlay Kidd. It was exceptionally well organised with all train tickets, taxis, ferries and other transport all taken care of. The accommodation was excellent.It was very well put together and avoided a lot of the areas heavy with tourists, as well as introducing us to some beautiful areas of Scotland that we would not otherwise have thought to go.There was a glitch due to ...

We took a fourteen day tour of the Highlands by train organised by McKinlay Kidd. It was exceptionally well organised with all train tickets, taxis, ferries and other transport all taken care of. The accommodation was excellent.It was very well put together and avoided a lot of the areas heavy with tourists, as well as introducing us to some beautiful areas of Scotland that we would not otherwise have thought to go.There was a glitch due to a problem with Scotrail which McKinlay Kidd fixed exceptionally quickly, for which we were thankful. We would happily organise another holiday with them.

Rating for tour operator:

Quick responses to emails. The holiday was well organised. We had a small glitch that was no fault of McKinlay Kidd which they quickly found an alternative for. Quality organisation.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by dottydoris, 26 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A magical train tour

My wife and I had an excellent experience using McKinlay Kidd - they organised the whole trip around Scotland. Everything went life clockwork and we were met and greeted when expected and all communication with the company was spontaneous and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend using this company again.

My wife and I had an excellent experience using McKinlay Kidd - they organised the whole trip around Scotland. Everything went life clockwork and we were met and greeted when expected and all communication with the company was spontaneous and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend using this company again.

Rating for tour operator:

A friendly, well organised and efficient running tour operator.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Judyy, 23 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

The best ever!

From start to finish, it was first rate all the way. All I had to do was sit back and enjoy. The lodgings were just perfect, and the food so wonderfully presented that I took pictures of it to send to my friends in the States. The private tour guides were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, so it seemed more like traveling with good friends!

From start to finish, it was first rate all the way. All I had to do was sit back and enjoy. The lodgings were just perfect, and the food so wonderfully presented that I took pictures of it to send to my friends in the States. The private tour guides were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, so it seemed more like traveling with good friends!

Rating for tour operator:

Every thing was very well put together and complete. When I arrived at my hotel in Glasgow, I was presented with the complete itinerary and travel vouchers. All I really had to do was sit back and enjoy!

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by GL, 5 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Great scenery, great food, and all arranged for us.

We did the Grand Tour of Scotland by rail. It was a very good break. All the arrangements worked, the scenery was magnificent, and the food exceptional almost everywhere.

We did the Grand Tour of Scotland by rail. It was a very good break. All the arrangements worked, the scenery was magnificent, and the food exceptional almost everywhere.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd organised everything and all the arrangements worked: trains, ferries, tours, taxis. I couldn't fault them. Several of the hotel managers/landladies also commented that they find them an excellent company to do business with. It was all so easy, and best of all we didn't have to do any driving!

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by CapeCodLight, 4 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Starting in Glasgow, we took the train to various locations in Scotland. Most stops were two nights with 2 being of one night each. Our tour took us to Spean Bridge, Arisaig, Skye (by ferry), Plockton, Inverness, Thurso, Kingussie and Pitlochry, ending in Edinburgh. Our trip also included a ride on the Jacobite Train, a visit to the Isle of Rum (via ferry) and the Orkneys (via ferry). Breakfast was always included, as well as three dinners.

Starting in Glasgow, we took the train to various locations in Scotland. Most stops were two nights with 2 being of one night each. Our tour took us to Spean Bridge, Arisaig, Skye (by ferry), Plockton, Inverness, Thurso, Kingussie and Pitlochry, ending in Edinburgh. Our trip also included a ride on the Jacobite Train, a visit to the Isle of Rum (via ferry) and the Orkneys (via ferry). Breakfast was always included, as well as three dinners.

Rating for tour operator:

We really believe McKinlay Kidd was exceptional in designing a great trip. Their documentation provided was accurate and thorough. Any interactions with staff were helpful and customer focused. They have spoiled us!

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Roya, 2 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

This was an environmentally and socially responsible holiday by train and ferry through most of Scotland including The Isle of Skye and the Orkney Islands. This is a good trip if it's your first time in Scotland because you will get a good overview of the country. It was organized by McKinlay Kidd, I travelled solo, met wonderful people and had a wonderful time. All the difficult parts were done for me. I stayed at locally run B&Bs or boutique ...

This was an environmentally and socially responsible holiday by train and ferry through most of Scotland including The Isle of Skye and the Orkney Islands. This is a good trip if it's your first time in Scotland because you will get a good overview of the country. It was organized by McKinlay Kidd, I travelled solo, met wonderful people and had a wonderful time. All the difficult parts were done for me. I stayed at locally run B&Bs or boutique hotels. Some of the B&Bs were so beautiful and well-run that I felt I was on a movie set. The scenery is breathtaking and if you enjoy long walks in beautiful countryside, this is a good trip to take. The tour also includes Glasgow, Inverness, and Edinburgh city stays to balance out the quiet country life.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd did all of the hard work and were flawless in delivery and performance. I experienced 2 minor glitches during my trip (that were not the fault of McKinley Kidd). They responded to the issues in record time (within 1 hour). I was happily stunned as I expected to deal with the issues on my own. They select beautiful properties for overnight that are well-located, or a little off the beaten path but with good access to nearby attractions. All transfers and transportation were well-managed and comfortable. I would definitely book another McKinlay Kidd Holiday and have already recommended them to several friends.