AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 52
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 53
Reviews Accepted: 53
Reviews Rejected: 0
53 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by A pleased traveller., 29 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful, planned holiday in the north and west of Scotland by McKinlay Kidd.

We had a truly enjoyable holiday in Scotland fully planned by McKinlay Kidd. We would recommend this company to others wanting the same. Everything was pre-arranged fully, and all aspects of the trip were exceptional.

We had a truly enjoyable holiday in Scotland fully planned by McKinlay Kidd. We would recommend this company to others wanting the same. Everything was pre-arranged fully, and all aspects of the trip were exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd was exemplary to deal with. A very professional holiday planning company, that I would recommend highly for those wanting a lovely vacation with no worries about driving and questions as to where to stay. All accommodations were first class, as were the excursions and travel arrangements.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Stuffy, 25 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised holiday of continuing delights

A Grand Tour of Scotland by rail with wonderful scenery.

A Grand Tour of Scotland by rail with wonderful scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd found us superb accommodation with a carefully thought out schedule. It was clear they were a well respected company for our hosts and taxi drivers.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by RoystonJohn, 16 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A great way to get a taste of the highlands

Given the number of train journeys and hotels the potential for problems were enormoys but everything went like clockwork

Given the number of train journeys and hotels the potential for problems were enormoys but everything went like clockwork

Rating for tour operator:

Always on hand to sort out any queries not that there were many. We would certainly go back to McKinley Kidd for a similar holuday and would be happy to reccomend them to anyone

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by chrismbkoester, 13 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A Grand Tour Of Scotland

Exploring Scotland's Highlands for 14 days via trains and ferries was a great experience. The accommodations were lovely with inn owners and staff consistently going above and beyond.

Exploring Scotland's Highlands for 14 days via trains and ferries was a great experience. The accommodations were lovely with inn owners and staff consistently going above and beyond.

Rating for tour operator:

The logistics of this trip were extremely well organized by McKinlay Kidd. The independent self-guided tour approach was like adult backpacking with all of the details taken care of (places to stay, train & ferry reservations already handled, taxi services arranged, customized tours in locations such as Skye & Orkney.)

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Colin 2017, 18 Sep 2017
Holiday Rating:

Grand tour of Scotland

23 nights of magic in the most beautiful country.

23 nights of magic in the most beautiful country.

Rating for tour operator:

Just fantastic. Coming from Australia they made it so easy. Everything was planned to the last detail and was so good. Exceeded our expectations. So good I'd give them an 11 out of 10.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Mike, 22 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

A two week tour of Scotland by trains and ferries

We'd been considering a holiday using trains for some time, so a tour around Scotland using scheduled trains, with the odd steam train and ferry, seemed to fit the bill. Starting in Glasgow, we trained Northwards, stopping off just short of Fort William, at Spean Bridge. This was an idyllic spot, marking the real end of work and start of the holiday! We then took the Jacobite steam train up to Mallaig, staying a couple of nights at nearby Arisaig...

We'd been considering a holiday using trains for some time, so a tour around Scotland using scheduled trains, with the odd steam train and ferry, seemed to fit the bill. Starting in Glasgow, we trained Northwards, stopping off just short of Fort William, at Spean Bridge. This was an idyllic spot, marking the real end of work and start of the holiday! We then took the Jacobite steam train up to Mallaig, staying a couple of nights at nearby Arisaig. Then a couple of days on Skye (which wasn't as crowded as the newspapers were saying - but certainly as beautiful). Next stop Inverness, from where we took a boat excursion through the Caledonian Canal into the resplendent Loch Ness. Onward to Thurso, from where we took a day trip to lovely Orkney. We broke up the train journey down to Edinburgh with an overnight stay at Kingussie and the finest dinner of the trip. Finally, three days in Edinburgh, all full of Festival, Tattoo 'n' all. That's what we did, but putting into words how we felt about our holiday is more difficult. Just a wonderful experience made up of a variety of lovely experiences. The scenery to start with - Scotland seems to be green all the way up to the top - and watching it from a train window rather than looking for road signs from a car was a good choice! The excursions we took, the places we stayed, the people we met (who knew, the Scots are really friendly!). the food we ate, the ale I drank, the gin she drank, and finally all the fun of the festival at our final stop. A big tick for Scotrail too - the schedule went to schedule. This was a holiday to remember, and we will do so with great fondness.

Rating for tour operator:

I think it was a car company that once ran a campaign with the tag line "it just works". Well our holiday, with its various journeys, transfers and one- or two- night stays, just worked. The balance of travelling versus staying, was just right for us, and the range of experiences spot on. We didn't feel stuck, or hurried, at any stage. We quickly began to trust "Robert's Recommendations", not least when various hoteliers told us that Robert (Kidd) visits himself. Some say that the planning of a holiday is almost more stressful than the holiday is enjoyable. What stress? McKinlay Kidd took that away, and delivered a special two weeks.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Bagwash, 4 Aug 2017
Holiday Rating:

Very well organised.Excellent attention to detail from the initial enquiry to the final destination.

Beautiful part of the U K, very good weather.

Beautiful part of the U K, very good weather.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent organisation,will use the company again.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Louise, 4 Jul 2017
Holiday Rating:

Two weeks in the Highlands

We took a fourteen day tour of the Highlands by train organised by McKinlay Kidd. It was exceptionally well organised with all train tickets, taxis, ferries and other transport all taken care of. The accommodation was excellent.It was very well put together and avoided a lot of the areas heavy with tourists, as well as introducing us to some beautiful areas of Scotland that we would not otherwise have thought to go.There was a glitch due to ...

We took a fourteen day tour of the Highlands by train organised by McKinlay Kidd. It was exceptionally well organised with all train tickets, taxis, ferries and other transport all taken care of. The accommodation was excellent.It was very well put together and avoided a lot of the areas heavy with tourists, as well as introducing us to some beautiful areas of Scotland that we would not otherwise have thought to go.There was a glitch due to a problem with Scotrail which McKinlay Kidd fixed exceptionally quickly, for which we were thankful. We would happily organise another holiday with them.

Rating for tour operator:

Quick responses to emails. The holiday was well organised. We had a small glitch that was no fault of McKinlay Kidd which they quickly found an alternative for. Quality organisation.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by dottydoris, 26 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

A magical train tour

My wife and I had an excellent experience using McKinlay Kidd - they organised the whole trip around Scotland. Everything went life clockwork and we were met and greeted when expected and all communication with the company was spontaneous and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend using this company again.

My wife and I had an excellent experience using McKinlay Kidd - they organised the whole trip around Scotland. Everything went life clockwork and we were met and greeted when expected and all communication with the company was spontaneous and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend using this company again.

Rating for tour operator:

A friendly, well organised and efficient running tour operator.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Judyy, 23 Jun 2017
Holiday Rating:

The best ever!

From start to finish, it was first rate all the way. All I had to do was sit back and enjoy. The lodgings were just perfect, and the food so wonderfully presented that I took pictures of it to send to my friends in the States. The private tour guides were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, so it seemed more like traveling with good friends!

From start to finish, it was first rate all the way. All I had to do was sit back and enjoy. The lodgings were just perfect, and the food so wonderfully presented that I took pictures of it to send to my friends in the States. The private tour guides were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area, so it seemed more like traveling with good friends!

Rating for tour operator:

Every thing was very well put together and complete. When I arrived at my hotel in Glasgow, I was presented with the complete itinerary and travel vouchers. All I really had to do was sit back and enjoy!