AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 49
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by MRae, 24 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Interesting, fun, well thought out. Great food, great stays.

Traveling by train allowed us to visit more of Scotland than we could have in our own in the same amount of time. The places we stayed at were wonderful. And the food was great. Our favorite was Thurso and the Orkney Island tour. And we loved our stay at Spean Beidge and Kingussie.

Traveling by train allowed us to visit more of Scotland than we could have in our own in the same amount of time. The places we stayed at were wonderful. And the food was great. Our favorite was Thurso and the Orkney Island tour. And we loved our stay at Spean Beidge and Kingussie.

Rating for tour operator:

Our tour operator on Orkney was Excellent. A very enjoyable and interesting experience.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Grandprix, 17 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

Exceeded our expectations

A railway tour through Scotland that included accommodation, meals and general assistance in all respects.

A railway tour through Scotland that included accommodation, meals and general assistance in all respects.

Rating for tour operator:

Could not be bettered and responded rapidly to any question.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Mannie, 11 Jun 2018
Holiday Rating:

Trip of a lifetime to Scotland

This was a train trip, a package put together by McKinlay Kidd for people who don't want to drive. It was one of several packages offered by McKinlay Kidd, but seemed always like a personalized trip just for us. Train tickets with reserved seats were included. At every stoop we were met by a representative of that night's hotel, who knew our next destination and who saw to it that we connected perfectly with our next train, ferry or other carrier...

This was a train trip, a package put together by McKinlay Kidd for people who don't want to drive. It was one of several packages offered by McKinlay Kidd, but seemed always like a personalized trip just for us. Train tickets with reserved seats were included. At every stoop we were met by a representative of that night's hotel, who knew our next destination and who saw to it that we connected perfectly with our next train, ferry or other carrier. McKinlay Kidd selected hotels which offered first class accommodation and meals, and whose staff knew and were proud of their region of the country and could recommend tours and excursions.. We always felt that this was a totally personal holiday where somehow everything worked perfectly. Incredible organization!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd put together a tour package that was perfectly organized. Everything proceeded flawlessly. and still, we felt that we were on a totally personal individualized tour. In the holiday, all our communications with McKinlay Kidd, by phone and email. were with friendly, competent and interested people. McKinlay Kidd are a very impressive organization.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by JohnFaz, 9 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Fabulous no-drive tour of Scotland

A great way to see the Highlands and Islands - no driving!

A great way to see the Highlands and Islands - no driving!

Rating for tour operator:

Top notch from start to finish.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by HB and daughter, 3 May 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great value giving amazing experiences. Helpful and knowledgeable staff.

We loved our Scotland trip and this was mainly due to the attention to details in the planning by McKinlay Kidd and the amazing choices of guest houses, tour operators and even taxi services.

We loved our Scotland trip and this was mainly due to the attention to details in the planning by McKinlay Kidd and the amazing choices of guest houses, tour operators and even taxi services.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd did an outstanding job every phase of the trip. They certainly put the money into their customers. - we were so happy with the choices. It was obvious that each place was thoroughly vetted.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by nickie11, 30 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A Grand Tour of Scotland Via Train & Ferry

Our 14 day self-guided tour of Scotland was facilitated by McKinlay Kidd with the travel of the Highlands done via train lines & ferry boats & with the best of the best accommodations arranged. The attention to detail was impressive & enabled us to thoroughly enjoy every minute of our journey.

Our 14 day self-guided tour of Scotland was facilitated by McKinlay Kidd with the travel of the Highlands done via train lines & ferry boats & with the best of the best accommodations arranged. The attention to detail was impressive & enabled us to thoroughly enjoy every minute of our journey.

Rating for tour operator:

See comments above.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Graybags, 30 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A great holiday. Our first ever train holiday or visit to the Highlands and Islands. Very well planned and organised for us.

The holiday started in Glasgow and went via Skye, Plockton, Dingwall, Thurso, Orkney, and Rosemarkie before ending up in Edinburgh. We have never been on a 'managed' holiday before, but are completely converted to the model now. The choice of locations, hotels en route and day trips was excellent. It's so much more relaxing when you know that someone who knows the area and what you want has done the homework for you.

The holiday started in Glasgow and went via Skye, Plockton, Dingwall, Thurso, Orkney, and Rosemarkie before ending up in Edinburgh. We have never been on a 'managed' holiday before, but are completely converted to the model now. The choice of locations, hotels en route and day trips was excellent. It's so much more relaxing when you know that someone who knows the area and what you want has done the homework for you.

Rating for tour operator:

MacKinlay- Kidd, a Glasgow-based independent holiday-arranger, with an intimate knowledge of their patch - in our case this was the northern part of Scotland - and the ability to adapt things to meet our needs. Personable, knowledgeable, flexible professional and with very high service ethic. We'd definitely use them again.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by A pleased traveller., 29 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A wonderful, planned holiday in the north and west of Scotland by McKinlay Kidd.

We had a truly enjoyable holiday in Scotland fully planned by McKinlay Kidd. We would recommend this company to others wanting the same. Everything was pre-arranged fully, and all aspects of the trip were exceptional.

We had a truly enjoyable holiday in Scotland fully planned by McKinlay Kidd. We would recommend this company to others wanting the same. Everything was pre-arranged fully, and all aspects of the trip were exceptional.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd was exemplary to deal with. A very professional holiday planning company, that I would recommend highly for those wanting a lovely vacation with no worries about driving and questions as to where to stay. All accommodations were first class, as were the excursions and travel arrangements.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Stuffy, 25 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

Perfectly organised holiday of continuing delights

A Grand Tour of Scotland by rail with wonderful scenery.

A Grand Tour of Scotland by rail with wonderful scenery.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd found us superb accommodation with a carefully thought out schedule. It was clear they were a well respected company for our hosts and taxi drivers.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by RoystonJohn, 16 Oct 2017
Holiday Rating:

A great way to get a taste of the highlands

Given the number of train journeys and hotels the potential for problems were enormoys but everything went like clockwork

Given the number of train journeys and hotels the potential for problems were enormoys but everything went like clockwork

Rating for tour operator:

Always on hand to sort out any queries not that there were many. We would certainly go back to McKinley Kidd for a similar holuday and would be happy to reccomend them to anyone