AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 71
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 72
Reviews Accepted: 72
Reviews Rejected: 0
72 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Wendy, 11 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland

It was absolutely amazing. The lever of service by each separate accommodation/ your was outstanding.

It was absolutely amazing. The lever of service by each separate accommodation/ your was outstanding.

Rating for tour operator:

Contacted us personally when there were changes in itinerary.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Canadian traveller, 8 Oct 2023
Holiday Rating:

Best experience visiting Scotland

We booked a two-week Scotland train tour through McKinlay Kidd. Their level of organization was outstanding. Every detail was well planned and their recommendations for things to do, places to visit and eat added to our wonderful experience. We stayed in magnificent accommodations, went on memorable tours - all organized by them. Our trip to Scotland will not soon be forgotten!

We booked a two-week Scotland train tour through McKinlay Kidd. Their level of organization was outstanding. Every detail was well planned and their recommendations for things to do, places to visit and eat added to our wonderful experience. We stayed in magnificent accommodations, went on memorable tours - all organized by them. Our trip to Scotland will not soon be forgotten!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd proved themselves to be utmost professionals. They were responsive to our needs every step of the way and the respect their service providers have for them is a testament on how well they run their business. We are so happy to have stumbled on their website and followed through on what turned out to be a dream vacation.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Vic & Tami, 26 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

A Grand “Grand Tour of Scotland by Train”

Wonderful, Amazing, Superb, are but a few of the adjectives I would use to describe this holiday. The food (really enjoyed the haggis), the accommodations, the history, the scenery, the people... All combined, they made this holiday an unforgettable experience. Even when things went awry (partial cancellation of an excursion that was weather related and it wasn’t that big of a problem) those involved, immediately, went into action and developed ...

Wonderful, Amazing, Superb, are but a few of the adjectives I would use to describe this holiday. The food (really enjoyed the haggis), the accommodations, the history, the scenery, the people... All combined, they made this holiday an unforgettable experience. Even when things went awry (partial cancellation of an excursion that was weather related and it wasn’t that big of a problem) those involved, immediately, went into action and developed options for us to choose from. I received a same day phone call from McKinlay Kidd, within a couple of hours, to ensure everything was as it should be. Thank you! If I were to change anything it would be to add an extra day to each location. Every place we went, I did not want to leave. The accommodations and our hosts were some of the most amazing locales and people I have ever stayed at and met. Our hosts made us feel at home and supplied us with a wealth of knowledge and information. Touring by train is a brilliant concept. More people should do it. It frees one to simply sit back and enjoy the beautiful scenery as it goes by. Wonderful, Amazing, Superb… This holiday left me wanting more through McKinlay Kidd.

Rating for tour operator:

If you mean McKinlay Kidd as a whole as the “tour operator”, they have made a holiday experience what it should be. Something that one will always remember. I will use McKinlay Kidd, again, for future travels to locales in the United Kingdom. They went above and beyond. If you mean the personnel of McKinlay Kidd, such as Daniela Rapani, Dora Lilla Crerand-Homanyi, Jeanette Ito and the other ladies and gentlemen that assisted me in developing our holiday itinerary I say thank you very much. They made it very personal to me and made me feel like I was the most important person that they were assisting. It matters. You are the best.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Vic, 21 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland By Train

An amazing journey, by train, starting in Glasgow and traveling north along the western side of Scotland up into the Highlands stopping for 1-2 days at various locations. Proceeding east along the Highlands then down the eastern side of Scotland to the capital city of Edinburgh. Again stopping at various locations along the way

An amazing journey, by train, starting in Glasgow and traveling north along the western side of Scotland up into the Highlands stopping for 1-2 days at various locations. Proceeding east along the Highlands then down the eastern side of Scotland to the capital city of Edinburgh. Again stopping at various locations along the way

Rating for tour operator:

From the start to the finish of our journey, Mckinlay Kidd was there. They monitored our progress and were immediately there if there were any disruption, which were next to non existent. They made all arrangements for our tour to include pre and post tour stays.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Mitchell, 2 Sep 2023
Holiday Rating:

An Enchanting Tour of Scotland

We had an amazing time exploring Scotland. The scenery was beautiful, the people were charming, the food was delicious. We had a few favourite spots to which we would be particularly eager to return, but we also appreciated the variety of towns and villages we got to see; it really felt like we got to sample a little bit of everything that Scotland had to offer. As soon as we got home, we started daydreaming about our next visit!

We had an amazing time exploring Scotland. The scenery was beautiful, the people were charming, the food was delicious. We had a few favourite spots to which we would be particularly eager to return, but we also appreciated the variety of towns and villages we got to see; it really felt like we got to sample a little bit of everything that Scotland had to offer. As soon as we got home, we started daydreaming about our next visit!

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd handled all of the logistics so that we could focus on enjoying our trip. The accommodations they booked were all wonderful, and they provided a wide range of recommendations for restaurants, points of interest, and activities for each stop along the tour -- we were never at a loss for what to do next! They were also quite helpful with a couple of the questions and requests we had leading up to the holiday, providing great customer service all around.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Riva, 29 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland: Amazing!

Everything about this trip met and exceeded expectations. All of the travel arrangements went smoothly, and the written instructions provided were clear and accurate. Each hotel was different, comfortable and unique. Highlights included day trip to Orkney with Neolithic sights, boat trip to Staffa where our boat was surrounded by a huge pod of dolphins, beautiful scenery on and off the train. The suggestions for restaurants, activities in each ...

Everything about this trip met and exceeded expectations. All of the travel arrangements went smoothly, and the written instructions provided were clear and accurate. Each hotel was different, comfortable and unique. Highlights included day trip to Orkney with Neolithic sights, boat trip to Staffa where our boat was surrounded by a huge pod of dolphins, beautiful scenery on and off the train. The suggestions for restaurants, activities in each location were all wonderful. The advice to reserve restaurants in advance was priceless

Rating for tour operator:

Mckinlay Kidd put together a wonderful trip by train, ferry, boat and taxi. We were provided clear and thorough information. Having everything on the Vamoos app made it easy to follow as well

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by LL, 6 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

Rail Journey Around Scotland

Saw the sights around the country by rail, ferry, and tours.

Saw the sights around the country by rail, ferry, and tours.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinley Kidd did an excellent job planning the self-guided tour. Nice hotels and experiences. Lots of suggestions for each day's adventures.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 14 Aug 2023:

Many thanks for your kind comments Laurel.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by john, 4 Aug 2023
Holiday Rating:

17 days without rain in Scotland

Grand tour of Scotland by 8 train trips

Grand tour of Scotland by 8 train trips

Rating for tour operator:

This was a holiday planned with MK for 2020 when Covid hit and cancelled everything. So we planned again for May-June this year - but our request got lost when an MK employee resigned. It took MK several weeks to get our request back on track and another several weeks to repair the Itinerary - but they acknowledged their problems and gave us a wonderful trip in the end, including ongoing personal advice as we made our way around Scotland.

McKinlay Kidd responded to this review on 12 Aug 2023:

Thank you John. We are delighted that this long anticipated trip was such a success, after the communication problems earlier in the year.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Happy Trail Walker, 13 Jul 2023
Holiday Rating:

Scottish Sampler

We had never been to Scotland before and this was a wonderful introductory tour. We covered most of the Western Highlands, from Oban to Mull, Iona and Staffa, Ben Nevis to Isle of Skye, Plockton to Inverness, Thurso to Orkney, and Craingorm National Forest to Pitlochry. Although we only spent a couple of days in each location, it was a great way to find out where we would love to spend more time in the future. We can honestly say each day was ...

We had never been to Scotland before and this was a wonderful introductory tour. We covered most of the Western Highlands, from Oban to Mull, Iona and Staffa, Ben Nevis to Isle of Skye, Plockton to Inverness, Thurso to Orkney, and Craingorm National Forest to Pitlochry. Although we only spent a couple of days in each location, it was a great way to find out where we would love to spend more time in the future. We can honestly say each day was better than the day before. The scenery was spectacular, the people friendly and the lodgings were very comfortable. We are considering longer stays next time in some of the places we visited, as well as adding other regions to enhance our next trip to the British Isles.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd did an excellent job from first quote to final itinerary with many suggestions of things to do and places to eat at each location. They kept in touch if information needed to be relayed timely, and generally gave us a worry free time during our stay in Scotland.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Pookie and Jim , 27 Nov 2022
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

It was absolutely perfect. Every location, every host or hostess, every accommodation, and every connection exceeded our expectations. It was it was choreographed by a master. We loved every minute of our time in Scotland and as I have said say over and over since we departed - our only regret is we discovered Plockton too late. 😊

It was absolutely perfect. Every location, every host or hostess, every accommodation, and every connection exceeded our expectations. It was it was choreographed by a master. We loved every minute of our time in Scotland and as I have said say over and over since we departed - our only regret is we discovered Plockton too late. 😊

Rating for tour operator:

They were helpful, had an itinerary that ticked all the boxes and a boxful of amazing accommodation and recommendations. When something went awry, like a train strike, they were right there to make adjustments for us. Honestly, I will seek their services again.