AITO: The Association of Independent Tour Operators
McKinlay Kidd

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train Traveller Reviews

Reviews of Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

Overall Holiday Rating
100%
Excellent 49
Good 1
Average 0
Poor 0
Terrible 0
Reviews Submitted: 50
Reviews Accepted: 50
Reviews Rejected: 0
50 reviews
Sort by:
Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Gigi, 12 Oct 2018
Holiday Rating:

Superb Premier Train Adventure through West Highlands

Our holiday was very well planned from beginning to end! McKinley Kidd was prompt in addressing all inquires ( and there were many)! And assisted in additional transportation needs. It was a lovely holiday, unforgettable experience. Scotland captured our hearts!

Our holiday was very well planned from beginning to end! McKinley Kidd was prompt in addressing all inquires ( and there were many)! And assisted in additional transportation needs. It was a lovely holiday, unforgettable experience. Scotland captured our hearts!

Rating for tour operator:

We had five excellent taxi/tour guides. They were very knowledgeable about all the history of the area we were visiting. They brought their own delightful personalities to the experience and captured our interest throughout the day.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by SueG, 28 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train

It was 14 wonderful days/nights and every one was fabulous. We stayed at wonderful B&B's, guest houses, and a small hotel. We had excursions to Rum, Orkney & rode the Jacobite Steam Train, had a private driver on Skye and Orkney. From Glasgow to Spean Bridge, Arasaig, Skye, Inverness, Thurso, Orkney, Kingussie, Pitlochry, to Edinburg excellence every day. It was an incredible 2 weeks that passed much too quickly.

It was 14 wonderful days/nights and every one was fabulous. We stayed at wonderful B&B's, guest houses, and a small hotel. We had excursions to Rum, Orkney & rode the Jacobite Steam Train, had a private driver on Skye and Orkney. From Glasgow to Spean Bridge, Arasaig, Skye, Inverness, Thurso, Orkney, Kingussie, Pitlochry, to Edinburg excellence every day. It was an incredible 2 weeks that passed much too quickly.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd provided excellent service, a well organized trip, all documents (tickets, vouchers, itinerary) necessary were provided. All questions prior to booking were answered in a timely manner. (We live in the USA). Communication was excellent. The properties we were booked into were vetted and were wonderful. A fantastic job by McKinlay Kidd and big thanks to Chris Stewart.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Leigh, 19 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of the Scottish Highlands and Isles

Our two and a half week tour through the Highlands of Scotland was by train, with boat trips out to the Isle of Rhum, and to the Orkneys. All bookings were made by McKinlay Kidd and were impeccably organised. This included accommodation in remarkable and well chosen historic homes, or small hotels.

Our two and a half week tour through the Highlands of Scotland was by train, with boat trips out to the Isle of Rhum, and to the Orkneys. All bookings were made by McKinlay Kidd and were impeccably organised. This included accommodation in remarkable and well chosen historic homes, or small hotels.

Rating for tour operator:

Faultless organisation. They presented us with copious notes about what to look out for at each stage of the trip.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by LadyDi, 12 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Scotland By Train

We had a wonderful tour organised for us by McKinlayKidd which involved train, ferry and bus travel from Glasgow, to Skye, on to Inverness, Thurso, the Orkneys and back to Edinburgh via the Cairngorms. Everything was catered for - all tickets, accommodation, tours - and it all worked really well.

We had a wonderful tour organised for us by McKinlayKidd which involved train, ferry and bus travel from Glasgow, to Skye, on to Inverness, Thurso, the Orkneys and back to Edinburgh via the Cairngorms. Everything was catered for - all tickets, accommodation, tours - and it all worked really well.

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlayKidd ensured that all our information was sent to us before we left home and that all tickets, itinerary, names of accommodation and tour operators etc was delivered to our hotel in Glasgow before we set off. We had no complaints.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Traveling Sam , 5 Sep 2018
Holiday Rating:

Best tour of Scotland

It was really great. McKinlay Kidd made it perfect

It was really great. McKinlay Kidd made it perfect

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd had every detail worked out perfectly. Every hotel operator, tour guide, or taxi driver associated with McKinlay Kidd has the utmost respect and praise for them. They strive to make a great tour perfect.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by GandB, 22 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Great train ride over Scotland

Well organised Good accomodation, B&B and transfer to worthwhile excursions.

Well organised Good accomodation, B&B and transfer to worthwhile excursions.

Rating for tour operator:

Planned ahead. 24X7 phone contact during planing. No surprises. Good access to the whole range of service providers. Good and complete documentation.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Miss R G 18, 20 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

The grand tour of Scotland by train

It was really well organised and they were very helpful. The people at the hotels and the tours were so helpful and friendly. Which was good because I was traveling on my own and I felt so relaxed on holiday.

It was really well organised and they were very helpful. The people at the hotels and the tours were so helpful and friendly. Which was good because I was traveling on my own and I felt so relaxed on holiday.

Rating for tour operator:

She was amazing keeva had everything well organised and so helpful when I had questions and had laugh with her.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Aussietraveller, 20 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

A Great Train TRip with a Difference

I combined their 16 day tour of Scotland by train with a ten day car rental. Their organisation was impeccable. All accommodation and services were of a very high standard. I was well looked after, and found the two different types of travel enabled me to see both scenery and "tourist" spots.

I combined their 16 day tour of Scotland by train with a ten day car rental. Their organisation was impeccable. All accommodation and services were of a very high standard. I was well looked after, and found the two different types of travel enabled me to see both scenery and "tourist" spots.

Rating for tour operator:

Mc Kinnlay Kidd provided a first class service from my initial email enquiry until I flew home. Their organisation and attention to detail was excellent.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by Diana Me, 6 Aug 2018
Holiday Rating:

Grand Tour of Scotland Indeed!

Having never been to Scotland, McKinley Kidd put together a wonderful seamless trip for me. Great coordination and communication. Highlights were Inverness, Kingussie, Orkneys...everything.

Having never been to Scotland, McKinley Kidd put together a wonderful seamless trip for me. Great coordination and communication. Highlights were Inverness, Kingussie, Orkneys...everything.

Rating for tour operator:

Excellent service and communication. Great coordination of trains, taxis, and inns. Seamless transfers. I recommend them highly.

Grand Tour of Scotland by Train by simbabimba, 25 Jul 2018
Holiday Rating:

so enjoyable

superb organising of holiday. first class in every respect and the fact that we were on our own suited us but knew when and where we would be picked up and taken any problems were dealt with quickly and satisfactory. accommodation was first class. we have told friends about it and they are going to book

superb organising of holiday. first class in every respect and the fact that we were on our own suited us but knew when and where we would be picked up and taken any problems were dealt with quickly and satisfactory. accommodation was first class. we have told friends about it and they are going to book

Rating for tour operator:

McKinlay Kidd